Opfin Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Service
4.9/5

About Opfin

Running a business in India is hard. Our ever-changing regulations, unending bureaucracy, and obscure tax laws mean that even small firms need full-time accountants just to keep up with it all. Even a task as simple as payroll becomes a dreadful endeavour because both businesses and employees dont have access to tools that can help streamline the process. Thats where we come in. Opfin is built by a team of accountants, developers, and designers, familiar with the pain of running small business. Learn more about Opfin

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Abhishek D.
CEO
Renewables & Environment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“Underpromises and Overdelivers - By a huge margin.”

OverallEvery founder needs to be on top of the finances for as long as possible (before hiring an accounts guy). Opfin can help do the same without taking hours and hours of efforts in reviewing and approving. Over 5 years we have experimented with multiple softwares and processes to make things easy for our team (to execute things) AND for us (to keep a tab). Opfin has solved this by making it faster and simpler. Today, my time input to handle all of the below (with some analysis) is hardly 4-5 hours a month. PAYROLL - After understanding the product, I committed myself to Opfin at the beginning of the last financial year (April 2018) for payroll processing. Took some time to understand the working of Imprest and Advance Salaries so have to review the Tax Forms as I did some transactions for the employees directly from my other bank account. TIP: Make sure all your employee-related transactions pass through Opfin and closing your annual accounts will be a breeze. REIMBURSEMENTS - Started using full-time from September 2018 onwards. If there is imprest outstanding, it can directly get deducted from the salary so the onus is on the employees to file before payroll day. Wish I had started earlier because still consolidating accounts for Pre-Opfin days. ATTENDANCE - Soft usage began in January 2019. From April 2019 (15 days till the time of writing), implementing a flexi-timing policy across locations. Geo-tags help audit the non-compliant guys faster.
Prosa) Automated filing of TDS, ESIC and PF (India specific) - they were a pain to do when I had to do them. b) Fast loading of reimbursements helps run through them without an additional resource monitoring it. c) GPS tags in attendance are perfect for passive monitoring. Haven't used their attendance machines yet. d) Payroll is super-simplified
Consa) For a new user, the simplified nature of the product as compared to other payroll products might take some getting used to - apprehensions being "if it is this simple, they must be missing some (compliances)" Needs to be sorted with a good Self Help section. b) You need to transfer money to their account for reimbursements and payroll. Again, a concern that goes away with time but will be a point of concern, especially for bigger payrolls.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Rajneesh N.
Director
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“A great help from the experts in HR/Accounts department”

OverallHR related tasks like - Payroll payments, TDS Payments, Contractor payments. Along with employee attendance management and salary slip computation.
ProsThe software is fantastic for a startup domain and for big companies as well. Our company is a startup for Software solutions and experts in Construction CRM and integration and have a good handle on technology, finding a solution that perfectly caters to all our needs was next to impossible, but luckily we found Opfin. Their solution takes all the complexity out and makes all HR/TDS related tasks a breeze. Their auto-pilot for payroll execution is fantastic. Their product support is extremely knowledgeable and their head, himself makes sure all questions are answered to our content.
ConsDoes not have any native apps for iOS, which will make it easier to keep a tap on the attendance of the employees on the go.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Harsha Y.
Co-Founder
Renewables & Environment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Simple and Effective”

OverallPayroll processing has become quite easy. Reimbursements are more accountable and takes far less time to process and track. Attendance marking system is an advantage for a team like us which is located in multiple cities and have field work.
ProsOpfin has just enough features to make accounting and people management easy. Attendance and reimbursement sections are the ones we use most frequently. Earlier, we used to handle reimbursements through excel sheets or emails, which made the whole process messy. With opfin, the work is far easier for admins and for employees, they know exactly what to track and when they get their reimbursements done. Also, PF + ESI filing is done quite easily in Opfin, which is quite useful for a business like us, which engages tradesmen.
ConsAn app would be quite useful to mark daily attendance without having to login every time we want to use it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Shyam S.
CEO, Founder
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“A boon to any business, making payroll trivial and automated”

OverallFor ReStok, we needed something that would reduce the amount of time I or someone else would spend processing payroll, calculating tax and regulatory compliance, making the actual filings with the government, disbursing salaries and more. Opfin solves all of these
Pros* Opfin is super easy to setup, just needing a csv to get started * Allows users and employees to manage and update their own profiles, documents, tax standards * The team behind Opfin is super responsive, adding multiple features within a day of requesting, with a crystal focus on making the software as easy to use and manage as possible * Works without fail and errors, which is super important for something dealing with money & accounts. * Solves all the most painful part of payroll, from attendance, leave to disbursement, regulatory filings (TDS, Professional Tax, etc).
Cons* UI can be slightly complex * Terminology, and getting started figuring out how to setup your company and accounts will require some exploration, or talking with the super helpful customer support
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Thiru V.
Managing Director
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Perfect Payroll Solution for our business”

OverallWe was a startup company back in October 2018 whereas we were searching for someone who can assist us on the Payroll Handling. Opfin came in at the right time to solve all the needs and really made our life easy. Very supportive team and all requirements are taken care of immediately with any delays regardless of the size of our company. Hope that we continue the relationship with Opfin on a long term.!!!
ProsEase of Navigation, Simple UI that everyone can easily understand and much more...
ConsNothing we would dislike as of now. All good
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Abhinav T.
CEO
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“The Payroll service that I was looking for”

OverallAs a startup, I started using Opfin nearly 2 years back and that time I was struggling with issues like salary structures, how much tax to be deducted on each payment I make to employees/contractors, how to deposit the collected tax and when. All these issues have been addressed by Opfin and it is one of the few software that I recommend to my friends in startup fraternity as it solves a real problem for us and saves a lot of time.
Pros1) It takes care of tax deductions and filing while making payments to employees and contractors. 2) You do not need to manually onboard everyone who you want to pay 3) Automatic salary structuring for employees
Cons1) Automatic salary structure does not specify HRA until the employee enters rent details and it might result in higher taxes for employees.

Vendor Response

By Opfin Software on April 27, 2019
Hello Abhinav, Thank you so much for the review! Regarding HRA allowance, from the current financial year (2019-20), Opfin has changed how HRA is granted and exemption calculated. Now all employees get a default HRA amount (as a percentage of their CTC), and that is used to calculate their tax exemption for the year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Sarah S.
People Operations Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019

“Great Product! ”

OverallWonderful!! Opfin makes it easy & quick to manage our India employee's payroll.
ProsWhile residing in the US but managing 2 offices in India, Opfin could not be easier for helping me with payroll! The system is extremely user friendly, offers all the features I need and is simple to use! Nothing is too complicated, it's easy to add employees, pull reports, run payroll, etc. Also, working with the reps have been a highlight with our Opfin partnership. He's amazing at providing guidance, answering questions & being friendly!
ConsNothing! Opfin is easy & helpful. They are so quick to respond with any questions I may have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019
Aprajeeta S.
Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019

“Best HR and Payroll software”

OverallWe are maintaining the records of our employees, their attendance and leave, payroll. It send automatic emails on payroll finalization, leave approval, invoices etc.
ProsEasy to manage records, fast payroll processing, easy to learn.
ConsThe UI can be more clean and eye soothing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019
Varun S.
Head- Retail Operations
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Opfin- An easu Employee Mgmt Software”

OverallFor a medium sized opfin takes care of all your employee related tasks such as salaries, leaves, holidays. They have made it a lot easier for us to do these tasks with least manual intervention, which is great, we can focus on the things that matter more
ProsIf you arent too bog a company and need technology to manage your financial tasks. Opfin is great, pretty much takes care of everything.
ConsThey are still developing the software, but they could do better in terms of user experience of the product
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Mohor Ray D.
Founding Partner
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Payroll sorted”

OverallOur experience with Opfin for handling monthly payroll has been seamless and simple. The on-boarding process is also fuss-free, and new users are able to get on and get started without assistance.
ProsSimple, clear functionality. Ease of Use. Timely reminders and notifications. Easy access to salary slips, updating details for employees.
ConsVendor and one-time payments get bundled in total payroll amount-this makes it impossible for accountant to track it for records via monthly bank statements. Therefore do not use this for anything except regular, monthly salary payments.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Vinayak S.
CTO
Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Quick Support, Best value for Money”

OverallIt helped resolved our salary management process & attendance system for all employees.
ProsVery easy yo use by anyone. Oneplace stop for all salary related controls. Support team is very cordial and implements your enhancement request very fast. Pricing is economical.
ConsI didnt find any complaining point about the software for now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Sarang G.
Director
Human Resources, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“Opfin is great to automate Payroll for your team!”

OverallOpfin is a very easy to use payroll solution, that can be implemented without significant domain knowledge, coupled with great service, it is a must try for companies who are not very large and want to consolidate all outgoing payments from a single platform.
ProsEase of Use of Adoption, with very simple employee Onboarding. Speed & UX , the platform is very responsive. Service Support, all queries answered very promptly. Capacity to set policies at individual employee level.
ConsAn Employee Forum capability would be great to have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Siva E.
Founder / Chief Executive Officer
Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“A huge enabler!”

OverallI am a US-based entrepreneur. When I decided to participate in a small venture in India focussing on hyperlocal e-commerce, running the payroll in India was one of my concern as our team was not sure about how to handle the tax deductions, filings, etc. in a cost-effective way. I researched and looked at a few companies that provide payroll services. After talking to a couple of companies (looking at the demo etc.), I decided to give Opfin a try for its easy to use platform and no-catch flat fee. Then their excellent customer service made us stay! We are very happy that we made this decision. Of the million issues a startup entrepreneur has to deal with, payroll is the last thing I worry about - thanks to Opfin!
ProsThe platform is very easy to use with all essential features. The onboarding part was well thought out and extremely helpful. I also like the flat pricing model.
ConsNo majors Cons at this point. It gets the job done for what I wanted.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Subhash C.
Managing Director
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Easy to setup and work with but could use better UXX”

OverallOpfin replaced my spreadsheet based payroll management. The time saved alone is worth more than the fee they are charging. Add the peace of mind regarding the compliance requirements, it's a no contest. Unlike other payroll software I considered Opfin doesn't charge any setup fee. This alone proves their confidence in the ease of getting started with their product.
ProsIt's easy to setup and it takes care of most of my compliance worries.
ConsThe page layouts are a little confusing. While almost all info one would need is available, it could be made more intuitive with some effort. The practice of sending money to opfin on promise that they would pay recipients later is a little concerning to a new user. It would be great if they can integrate with banks and initiate transfers directly. That being said, I never had any issues relating to money so far.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Abhideep S.
Founder
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Payroll on autopilot”

OverallSystem works like a charm and support is quick and helpful. Can't ask for more.
ProsI don't have to think about payroll, ever. I can focus on my business rather than spend cycles on payroll. It just happens automatically for us with any intervention for us.
ConsHaving no prior experience with payroll, I was a little confused with all the options available and how to get started. Thankfully the OpFin team was super helpful, the support very responsive and got us setup really quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019