Matomo Analytics Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Matomo Analytics

Matomo (formerly Piwik) is the #1 open-source web analytics platform, used on over 1.4 million websites in over 190 countries. Matomo values privacy protection, 100% data ownership and no data sampling. It has two different hosting options - cloud and on-premise. Cloud takes the hassle out of installation, whereas on-premise is the free, open-source and self-hosted PHP/MySQL software you can install on your own server, which gives you max. flexibility. Learn more about Matomo Analytics

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Nick T.
Owner
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2019

“Awesome Open Source and Privacy-Conscious Alternative to Google Analytics”

OverallOverall, Matomo is my favorite analytics platform. It does everything that myself and my clients need. The platform has been around a long time (formerly Piwik) and has proven to be very reliable. Using the API to create custom reports is also easy and super useful.
ProsMatomo is open source and self-hosted. It's easy to setup, manage, and implement tracking. It includes many of the advanced features you'd expect in an analytics platform. The best part is that you're in control of your data and privacy.
ConsThere are a lot of premium features that are pretty expensive. I wish some of these were open source, standard features of the software, but I guess developers have to eat!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2019
Marvin L.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2019

“Awesome analytics for self-hosters ”

OverallMatomo offers a simple setup, a huge amount of features, steady updates and respects the privacy of my users. I really love Matomo.
Pros- Free to host on-premise - Many hosting companies offer a 1-click-installation for Matomo - Easy & straightforward setup - Comprehensive UX - Managed paid plan for people that do not wish to host themselves
Cons- Integration with Google, Facebook & Bing Ads not ready yet (but will be released quite soon)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Farshad S.
Senior Product Designer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“Google Analytics Redefined”

OverallGreat I love it and totally recommend it.
Pros1. You get to own your data 2. It's more clear and better UX 3. It's open source and you can host it on your own server 4. Since you own your data, you can use it for data mining and custom faster data processing
ConsNothing on my mind right now, I can say more plugins can be developed
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Krzysztof L.
Marketing Director
Utilities, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019

“The best Google Analytics alternative”

ProsThis is definitely the best alternative for Google Analytics. I've been using it for a long time and more frequently than mentioned Google Analytics. It's not MA or GA to be used. I use them both. They give me different type of data. I totally recommend it.
ConsDatabase swells as more data come. This is normal, but be aware.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019
Henry C.
Professional Communicator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 2, 2019

“Privacy”

ProsThe main advantage of Matomo is the protection of user data.
ConsNot getting key words from Google searches.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 2, 2019
Lav G.
Lead Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Best Analytics Tool”

ProsI have been using Matomo since it was called Piwik. They have helped us do everything that we used to do with Google in-house which sharing our customer data with Google.
ConsNot much but would be nice of they can improve some of the db queries.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Dave M.
Consultant
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“Your data is yours”

ProsIf you've used Google Analytics (who hasn't at this point) the process for integrating Matomo into your site and getting reports will seem very familiar. That makes it easy to move off of GA. Since you are hosting the backend, you control who has access to the data and no third party can use it.
ConsThe reporting capability is a bit weak, but you can fully export the data in order to use anything you want, anything from Tableau to Excel. Using this with a non-traditional web page such as a React app will require more work to either understand Matomo's behavior and/or generate custom events instead, but this is also true for GA.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019
Magnus H.
Producer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“Your own GA - self hosted, reliable and extremely powerful”

ProsEase of set-up, features & options, frequent updates which doesn't break things, fully featured tag manager, multi-site, speed of report generations.
ConsIt's written in PHP, I do most stuff in node.js
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Léandre K.
Founder
Telecommunications, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019

“Good experience with the tool”

ProsStandalone, fully set of monitoring data and owner of data.
Consrecurring error while trying to update or customize the tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019
Tiberiu P.
System Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“A great alternative to Google Analytics”

OverallI implemented matomo for my personal website because I heard about it at my previous job and decided to give it a try. Since the number of visitors is really small, I rarely use the statistics generated by matomo but it's nice to have it.
ProsFree On premise installation Easy to update Great UI
ConsWith my limited usage of this software I found no issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
MARTIN C.
CEO
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019

“Easy to use”

OverallIn my case I can keep the statistic of what place in the world, as well as what type of devices, or operating system, in addition to which pages interest my visitors more.
ProsThis software is a real alternative to bring statistics to your sites.
ConsIt has nothing wrong with this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019
Kaloyan P.
IT Manager
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“Great use for a self hosted analitycs”

ProsEnhanced features and the level of details
ConsIts a bit outdated the tables that the data is sorted but at least everything is in good order
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019