WipeDrive Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About WipeDrive

WipeDrive enables corporations, government entities, and individuals to permanently and securely erase data from hard drives, removable media, and mobile devices. We provide a cost-effective, secure, and socially responsible way to recycle and retire computers and computer storage. WipeDrive is the world leader in secure data destruction. Learn more about WipeDrive

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“Time Saver!”

OverallI work in Infrastructure and formerly managed Deskside support. I wish all the applications we use and support met the same standards as this one.
ProsWe love the fact that it generates a detailed report for our records. As a Government contractor we must maintain records that every drive has been wiped. Prior to purchasing WipeDrive we had to create those manually. Another feature that saves us time (think equates to money) is we can wipe multiple drives simultaneously making the task much more efficient than our previous method. On the rare occasion when we needed to contact technical support, usually to obtain our custom image when there was an upgrade, they responded quickly with a solution to our concern.
ConsWe really haven't experienced any negatives for our application of the product. We've been using it for several years and have been presented with alternatives but they didn't measure up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
David P.
General Manager
Computer Hardware, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“Data Security”

OverallIt has been a great relationship and the customer service/tech support have kept us as a customer.
ProsOur company has used WipeDrive for several years. We like being able to configure the software on a server so that multiple drives can be wiped and verified simultaneously. The reporting records make for great documentation for customers.
ConsWe have ran into a few circumstances where certain drives would all fail. It wasn't that they were necessarily bad but just were not being recognized properly. We have worked very closely with the tech support department and have received incredibly good response and solutions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Saurabh D.
IT Asset Analyst II
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Features ”

OverallOverall I would say it's good
ProsFirst of all, It's easy to use so not required in-depth training when you ask someone to use. Second, you can have proof of data wipe which is very helpful during the audit or security inspection Third, it can be used in both the ways w/o internet /network or / network
ConsThe thing which i didn't like, I was doing data wiping and suddenly laptop has got powered off. Then hard disk is locked by software. I tried to unlock thru various way by reading your KB,customer support but nothing worked. I couldn't get the proof of data wipe. there must be some mechanism to unlock. Second, You must supply setup other than pendrive if you want global presence. I would need to pay $250 as a shipping charge and I waited till 2 months to get the pendrive delivered in India
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Kevin K.
Technology Buyer/Asset Disposition
Computer Hardware, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Regular User for Years”

OverallWe have been wiping desktop and notebooks with WipeDrive for a number of years and have seen no reason to ever change.
ProsEase of use and support from White Canyon. We were notified immediately once the UEFI-PXE bootable version for WipeDrive 8 was available. Crystal is fantastic!
ConsSo far, WipeDrive mobile only available for iOS devices. Looking forward to Android. As well, perhaps a larger discount for purchase licenses in quantity. :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Insurance, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“WipeDrive does just that....wipes the drive”

OverallWe were a customer of another top selling wipe drive tool but White Canyon provided better customer support, a tool equal to or better than the tool we replaced, at a price that was competitive.
ProsWith Data Privacy being at the top of our priority list when it comes to retied hardware, WipeDrive is a key component of our data eradication efforts. Easy to use, fast, tons of options, excellent reporting, Wipe Drive does everything I want it to.
ConsDoesn't handle RAID array drives as easy as I would like it to. It can handle RAID drives bus sometimes I have to give it a nudge to get through. The software should detect the presence of RAID, ask how the user wants to proceed, and if requested, break the RAID structure and procees with data overwrite.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Bruce S.
V.P./CIO
Computer Hardware, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“WipeDrive user for over 10 years!!”

ProsWipeDrive is the absolute best product for us because of the wide variety of drives we encounter on a weekly basis. Also, the customer support is unmatched.
ConsThe updates sometimes are a bit confusing but overall not that big of a deal
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Eric F.
Sr. Director of Software Development
Medical Devices, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Happy with WipeDrive!”

ProsThe fact that it's got all of the certifications. There are many free and inexpensive options out there, but they don't have the certifications.
ConsEarly versions had some issues with printing reports, but that's been fixed in later versions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
vineet R.
Business Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Great wiping software”

OverallEase of use and Peace of mind when it comes to data security
Prosflexibility to customise with out organisation.
ConsLack of local support, have to rely on support from US which at times can delay by a day.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Panagiotis T.
Service Delivery Manager
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“I was very grateful that had a reliable individuals to cooperate with.”

ProsWhilst we had our cooperation on the GBT account, in the very beginning had so many questions and always had the answers that I needed.
ConsAs you could understand every transition goes thorough difficult moments, although the team is working for the software make me feel a bit more comfortable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Lisa M.
Accounting Manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“WipeDrive Review”

OverallGreat customer service, easy to use and great prices
ProsCustomer service is great and fast responses when ordering. I don't use this product personally, but we use it for our customers and have never had any negative feedback. The prices are great and we have been using this product for years.
ConsNo cons that I know of. I don't personally use the product, it is used for our customers. I have never had a complaint from our service techs or from the customers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Michael A.
Manager - IT Asset Management / IT Planning
Oil & Energy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019

“WipeDrive for IT Asset Management”

OverallMy group and I have been using WipeDrive for years with great success and will continue to use the product.
Pros- Set it and let it run. No need to sit and watch the process because you know it will do its job. - Knowing that you are using software that will eliminate any chance of anyone recovering any data.
Cons- Dongle for licensing. White Canyon needs to work out a better way to license the product. - Remote use of the product where there is no internet connectivity.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019
Ufuk D.
Managing Partner
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“The Best Solution for Data Destruction”

OverallGDPR
ProsEasy to use with affordable price. Fast Delivery.
ConsNearly Nothing, we have been satisfied with the platform.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Mac M.
Data Security Lead
Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“The good and bad of WipeDrive”

OverallWe are a recycling business so I use this a lot to wipe SSD's that are donated to us. It is quick and I have never had a problem with data showing up when I have tested them.
ProsI like the ease of use to start the wiping process. It did take some time to set it up as easy as it is, but the support staff at your company help walk us though it.
ConsThere is no restart button. When I load the computer and start it up there have been times when I have an unacceptable amount of "good" hard drives that have been loaded. I want to reload without running. The only way to get the computer to read the ssd, that I know of, is to restart and there is no restart button. At this point of the process, I have to run the software, to get to a restart button, or force the computer to shut down.

Vendor Response

By WhiteCanyon Software on July 30, 2019
Hi Mac, Thank you for your Comment! We will work with our DevTeam on what would be required for a Refresh Button and have this added to the Development Timeline. I'll let you know when it's added!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Raj G.
Dir
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Amazing Product , Ease of Use, Great Support”

Overallwe have been wiping HDD , iOS devices. The speed which we get with the wiping box has enhanced the productivity and the portability helps us to get it to customer site as well. Overall very happy
ProsIndustry Best Certifications and wiping speed it gives us has helped us enhance the overall productivity and the reporting gives us all what we need for our compliance.
Cons24 X 7 Support in this part of the world , the wifi enabled wiping for Laptops and Hand Held devices would be great to have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Media Production, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Great Product”

ProsThe ease of use and the support team is amazing. This product can run on anything and wipe any device with a hard drive. It is also very robust on the options and outputs available via the bootable image.
Consthe dongle can be frustrating, but now that there is a could enabled option that help alleviate this issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Jason W.
Technical Manager
Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“WipeDrive Software”

OverallGreat. A solid sound-proof product that does a great job.
ProsI like that I can change the level of certifying drives for DOD and have the ability to change it when needed.
ConsIt is a little difficult to run from a VM, but eventually got it to work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Adam S.
TSR
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Easy to use, comes with all the compliance and certificates”

OverallHelps me be compliant, works for all major federal government contractors.
ProsEasy to use ROI Compliance and certifications
ConsBrand name, invest in marketing so that people know more about the company and product. You are one of the top search results when I look for data wiping tool, that is great. But I'd rather you be proactive and look for people in the industry who might use the tool but are not actively looking for it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Julie J.
Clerk
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Prompt, courteous assistance when needed and effective software.”

OverallWe use this software to wipe and reset laptops for resale in our shop. It always does a thorough job. The rare instances in which we have required technical support, the WipeDrive team has never failed to be quick to respond. They are courteous and always provide accurate solutions to our issues.
ProsThe software is easy to run, with an auto-launch and step-by-step guide that ensure the computer will be fully erased and restored with minimal effort on the user's part.
ConsVery occasionally the software will fail to auto-launch. But this is easy to get around as you can go to the directory and launch from the USB drive manually.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Bruno P.
Desktop Services Lead
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“WipeDrive Use”

OverallWe're satisfied with the product. We've purchased a number of licenses in the past and continue to do so.
ProsIt's very easy to use and provides many different options for wiping drives.
ConsWe've had numerous wipes fail and they end up taking up a license. It would be great to see a feature built into the product that would only use up a license once the hard drive wipe is completed successfully.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
John S.
Senior Asset Management/Tech Coordinator
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“User Friendly Product”

OverallCertified ITAD software, which is nice.
ProsIt is easy to use this software for our purposes. Access from the cloud is great also.
ConsThe wipe time is too long. It takes a long time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Kevin O.
President
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Easy to use and works very well.”

ProsOur company has been using Wipe Drive for about 3 years now as part of our IT retirement process. We have been very satisfied with the job Wipe Drive has done for us and our clients. It's easy to use menu makes wiping a hard drive a snap. We would recommend Wipe Drive to any IT department or IT company needing a safe and easy solution to wipe data from hard drives.
ConsThe licenses only last a year. So, if you have any unused licenses left over when your year is up you lose them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Corey K.
VP - IT
Food & Beverages, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“Simple to use”

ProsWipeDrive did what we needed, with ease, every time without creating inefficiency with bloated functionality.
ConsIt took a small amount of additional preparation to get WipeDrive to save reports to a network drive... it was minimal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Ufuk Metin D.
Managing Partner
Security and Investigations, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Best Erasure Solution Ever!”

OverallHighly experiended company with a great solution set + excellent customer support.
ProsEasy to use, effective & most trusted solution on the market.
ConsLack of management console, hope it is on the way!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Dag A.
President
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Good value / responsive customer support”

OverallSmall company but not too small. Responsive in customer support.
ProsProven track record Brand recognition Responsive Technical support
ConsHBAs that arent supported Challenges with servers
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Lauraine M.
Director
Business Supplies and Equipment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“WIPEDRIVE OVERVIEW”

OverallWipedrive is assisting with drive formatting of sensitive data which makes it possible for these machines to be re-used or redeployed to institutions such as NGO's, schools etc for use in their facilities.
ProsThe ability to format the hard drive of a machine remotely from a central location.
ConsLicence recovery from the blue dongle usb device should the device be mislaid. At present licence recovery is not possible in this scenario.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Maciej S.
Technical support
Telecommunications, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Serves it's purpose very well”

OverallUseful tool when traceability is required.
ProsThe most useful feature is the ability to boot from USB and ability to run without internet connection.
ConsSoftware serves its purpose well, can't think of any cons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Cindty M.
IT Operations Mgr
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Secure Clean”

OverallWe have stand alone computers and the software cleans the cache and other unnecessary files computers. Makes them run faster.
ProsVery user friendly. Easy to install and configure. Great support team and customer service.
ConsI have no issues, I have no cons about the software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Michael R.
DevOps Manager
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Needed a dependable solution in a bind”

OverallQuick and fast. I reached out received quick responses, purchased it and used it.
ProsEasy to use, works fast, provides a great output for documentation/reference.
ConsNo big cons that I can think of. Only recommendation is a more accurate time stamp of expected completion time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
atul k.
Senior Procurement Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“Features of Wipedrive”

ProsIts an easy software to Use, don't have any Bug. smooth .
Consnothing as such. its a nice software to use in our system, work is easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019