MyGeotab Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About MyGeotab

Geotab is a leading global provider of premium quality, end-to-end telematics technology which include its GO devices (simple plug-and-play installation) and MyGeotab software. Geotab's intuitive, full-featured solutions help businesses of all sizes better manage their drivers and vehicles by extracting accurate and actionable intelligence from real-time and historical trips and vehicle data. Learn more about MyGeotab

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019

“Lots of Data, but Requires Dedicated Personnel”

OverallWe were able to become compliant with the new E-Log mandate using GeoTab as well as drive a more safer fleet with employees that understood accountability was inevitable every time they got behind the wheel.
ProsThe features on the dashboard are similar to what other competitors offer, but the layout is much more user friendly. The drop downs are more organized and the navigation to different fields is smooth. I also liked the very near to real time updates to the gps locations and the ability to pull data from the vehicle's ECM such as CEL, hours, and seat belt status.
ConsDue to the vast amount of data at you finger tips its very difficult to monitor all crucial aspects as well as maintain additional responsibilities if your position requires it. I would recommend a dedicated role to benefit from the full capabilities of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019
Chelsea H.
Analyst
Medical Devices, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“Great hardware, software is a little old-school but immensely feature-heavy”

OverallWe could not have had so much success with our Fleet Management project without MyGeotab. We picked them because of their integrate-ability and large list of features. We have grown from 1 to 8 vehicles in the last couple of years and could not keep up without a real system. We have direct access to real-time vehicle location, get instant notification of policy violations (we didn't even have policies beforehand), and can run reports to help us make more informed business decisions regarding the fleet. Our experience with our re-seller, unfortunately, was unpleasant but that is irrelevant to the system's performance and functionality. (TIP: You can always contact Geotab Support directly if your reseller is clueless.) Nonetheless we still have been able to successfully implement the system and have already seen a significant ROI.
ProsMyGeotab has enabled our small fleet management team to more easily gain vital insights into the health and safety of our fleet (about 10 vehicles). The feature-set is immense and very broad - it can be daunting when you first get your fleet set up. We have been able to set custom rules and triggers that have allowed us to match our fleet policy. These rules, such as instant notification of speeding violations or engine codes (via Geotab Hardware), have saved us money and time in vehicle repairs and downtime.
ConsGeotab is a titan in the industry; they're the biggest name out there and they know it. However, they have lost their focus on usability. This application, for those unfamiliar with Fleet Management systems or new to the industry, is quite difficult to adopt. Fortunately, their direct Support is great (we had a troublesome, confused re-seller) and they have an expansive knowledgebase with videos and guides. We use this system in conjunction with Fleetio (direct integration!), and the difference in usability is overwhelming. I actually set up our system so that we never have to log in to MyGeotab because it's so darn hard to use and reconfigure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Cool Functions. Bad Customer Support.”

ProsThe software is explanatory and we are able to monitor everything we want to in regards to drivers and vehicles. We can set up alerts and notifications, about things that happen, to keep us on track with our safety goals.
ConsWe have been trying to get our accounts merged into a single master account for over a year. No matter how often we reach out or try to move forward we still don't see progress.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
kelly s.
Telematics Administrator
Oil & Energy, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Amazing Service and System”

OverallI love our WEX team, and the assistance we get when we need it. They are the best retailer! Any issues I have had were reconciled quickly. I think Geotab does amazing things for our fleet, and the open API is also great!
ProsI love the ease of use, the website, and the data. The Driver Scorecard are great! We currently use this in over 2k light duty units and I am extremely thrilled we have it.
ConsI would like to see the ability to deactivate FOBS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Adam F.
Region Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2017

“Great product. Has saved us a lot of trouble”

ProsThe ease of use and that we can see where our vehicles are at anytime. Great for tracking maintenance for your vehicle.
ConsNot 100% accurate. Does not always show catch the actual road speed. I think it needs updating with actual road speeds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2017
Mike G.
IT Tech
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“False positives ”

ProsI like to track vehicles and see alerts for when drivers are breaking the rules.
ConsA bunch of false positives from slamming doors and the system thought the vehicle was in a crash. Also speeding false positives when gps signals bounce from tower to tower.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
James P.
Business Manager
Events Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019

“Great Tool for Fleet Management”

OverallGeotab is an excellent way to track and monitor your drivers. It monitors all the analytics on the truck as well as the drivers DOT hours and ontime logs. this is a great tool.
ProsPlenty of details and graphs for everything critical to your business
ConsCan be a bit cumbersome at times trying to fix different DOT violations if there is a driver error.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Quick Implementation/No Contract”

OverallIf you are looking for a quick and easy ELD with no commitment Geotab is your huckleberry. If you want a pretty highly captivating platform that will engage drivers and staff no so much. It menu based not icon based which is hard for users in this ultra clicky world.
ProsNo contract!!! Hardware is inexpensive and implementation is quick. And no commitment. It's cheap enough you can keep a couple extra on hand just in case. Which is nice.
ConsIt's not as user friendly as other platforms. It gets the job done but has a bear bones feel. There is a lot of functionality but you have to dig. If you aren't a big company you don't get your own customer rep. So you just leave a message and wait for the sales rep to call back. Ours was super responsive but it would all depend on his work load.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Brenda S.
Controller
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2019

“Geotab”

ProsThis product offers a lot of different features. Our company has used it to alert drivers to potential bad driving habits. This has resulted in savings on insurance and vehicle maintenance.
ConsI can't think of a con. It is easy to use and the cost is offset by actual savings in other areas.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2019
Kyle P.
Senior Safety Advisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“This tracking device is loaded with features to better track fuel consumption, regular service dates”

ProsIt has a high refresh rate while tracking vehicles, sends engine faults, easy installation process, instantly synchronizes engine data.
ConsDue to the fact that there are so many features the operating platform takes a while to get used to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Yasser A.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2014

“Plug&Play”

Overallour experience with Geotab is amazing. It is a simple plug and play ODB that provide secure and reliable information through there amazing online portal Checkmate. The risk management tool at checkmate is really good to compare the driver scorecard with other drivers and can be used for bonuses and competition between drivers.

Vendor Response

By GEOTAB on December 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience using our MyGeotab software (formally known as Checkmate). Also, it's great to know that the scorecard is working well for you and your organization.
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2014
David E.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2014

“Best Telematics Solution Ever”

OverallFlexibility and Reliability in 360 dregrees, describes the solution. Hardware, Software and the extanssion capabilities whith third part solutions defines the wide range of application in fleets

Vendor Response

By GEOTAB on November 15, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review! We are so pleased to hear that the solution matches your needs from all angles.
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2014