CSS HTML Validator Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About CSS HTML Validator

Get one-click HTML, CSS, SEO, spelling, accessibility, mobility (Android/iOS), JavaScript linting, and link checking with CSS HTML Validator for Windows. CSS HTML Validator protects your privacy because it doesn't send your HTML and CSS documents over the Internet. This also means that no Internet access is required. Learn more about CSS HTML Validator

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
David B.
Full Professor, now retired
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2019

“An indispensable tool for production and learning environments”

OverallBased on more than two decades using CSS HTML Validator under Windows and, more recently, under Linux, I recommend it highly, not only to anyone learning web development, but also to experienced developers who pride themselves on clean, standard-compliant code, or whose code is subject to the accessibility requirements of WCAG and Section 508, or who need advanced capabilities for website monitoring. A test run of CSS HTML Validator is possible by taking advantage of the free trial offer.
ProsIn the mid-1990s, I found CSE HTML Validator's tight integration of syntax checking with an HTML editor very effective, and its recommendations for fixes and best practices were very much like having a mentor. In the following years, CSE HTML Validator evolved into CSS HTML Validator, and its syntax checking and mentoring stayed up-to-date with evolving standards for web development. Throughout this period, I continued to rely on it because of the enormous convenience of its integration of syntax checking with editing HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and PHP. Some syntax checkers require code to be uploaded to an online service, but CSS HTML Validator's syntax checking is purely local. That means code is kept private, and syntax checking is fast. While the Standard edition is targeted to working with individual web pages, the Professional and Enterprise editions include a batch processor for monitoring and maintaining entire websites. Using the batch processor, I am able to subject a website to an exhaustive analysis, including syntax checking, validation of links, and recommendations for best practices. It can also check WCAG and Section 508 accessibility requirements. CSS HTML Validator may be a Windows application, but I have found that it executes flawlessly on Linux machines using Wine, which enabled me to continue relying on it when I switched from Windows to Linux. A complete technical evaluation of CSS HTML Validator is available on the WineHQ Wine Application Database.
ConsBecause CSS HTML Validator lacks a builtin FTP client, it cannot directly upload web pages to a web site.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2019
Thomas B.
Programmer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“A must-have for web developers”

OverallIt's helped me write robust HTML and CSS, and it's helped me learn the reason why certain things should be structured in the way that allows validation.
ProsThe CSS HTML Validator provides a better analysis of HTML than what is provided by the W3C: the Validator provides clear and detailed information not only of the cause of what problems it discovers, but helpful suggestions on how to solve those problems. It then goes beyond that to provide suggestions on what might be done to strengthen the HTML beyond a mere validation fix, including information on accessibility, cross-browser compatibility, and the like. There's also the added bonus of an online forum where questions may be posted, and the author of the software has always been quick to respond to queries, and he has been equally open to suggestions of new features (e.g., when I've discovered quirks of HTML composition that result from the use of certain JavaScript frameworks, the author has worked to ensure that the Validator responds to those quirks with appropriate validations and suggestions for usage). I recommend the Validator highly to everyone who wants to ensure that their HTML and CSS are rock-solid, and therefore a strong foundation for their application and its use.
ConsIf I could choose the default sound that is issued at the end of validation (a triumphant "ta-da!" when everything checks out, a single low "beep" when there's a problem), I'd probably want that. But the program is so highly configurable that there's probably a setting for changing those sounds that I haven't investigated yet. :-)

Vendor Response

By AI Internet Solutions on June 1, 2019
Thank you Thomas! I'm glad that you have found the program very useful. There are sound settings in the Validator Engine Options where you can turn off or change the sounds that play after a validation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Bryan L.
Owner
Retail, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2019

“A Powerful Multi-function Editor for Web Documents”

OverallI am very impressed with CSS HTML Validator software. It is a powerful editing tool for HTML, XML, CSS and other forms of web documents. The validator saves a lot of time reviewing code for syntax, nesting errors, and other coding mistakes. You can choose the level of error reporting from critical errors only, or add warnings, link checking, and even suggestions on good style practices and appropriate coding for web crawlers. When validating documents, errors are highlighted in different colors, indicating the severity of the mistake. And the validator allows you to choose to validate with the HTML 5 standard or select earlier, transitional versions. The Validator makes writing code quicker and easier than using a plain text editor. You can choose to have your tags auto-closed, and lines auto-indented to help avoid nesting errors. Spelling and syntax suggestions are available on-the-fly. The editing screen can be split horizontally or vertically between two documents allowing for quick and simple cut-and-paste, or side-by-side comparison of two documents, and the edit screen will hold multiple files open with quick-access tabs allowing you to switch rapidly between documents. Although the Validator is not a WYSIWYG editor, it quickly allows you to check the web display of your document using either an internal browser, or your choice of popular browsers through an external link. The Validator constantly follows your cursor, so help from their on-line syntax database is on
ProsEven though this software is heavily packed with features, I appreciate the intuitive layout, the ease of use, and the low learning curve; I was up and running very quickly.
ConsNo What-you-see-is-what-you-get capability.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2019
Alexander V.
CEO
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“CSS HTML Validator role in a website development cycle”

ProsCSS HTML Validator makes sure that aqua-calc.com with its more than 800,000 pages runs free of any HTML issues since 2011, providing for quick and reliable way to check any web page in development. Its batch wizard allows to stay on top of any inadvertently introduced errors during a development phase. CSS HTML Validator is a significant part of aqua-calc.com nightly builds, ensuring that search engine bots will not not find any HTML issues within the website. Lastly, but not least, in my experience, CSS HTML Validator provides stellar support, responding promptly and efficiently to any and all questions.
ConsIt takes about 10 hours for CSS HTML validator batch wizard to scan aqua-calc.com, but sheer amount of pages within the website makes it unavoidable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Michael S.
Executive VP/Dir of Marketing
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2019

“The best HTML and CSS validator, and yes you need one even if you use a content management system”

OverallHas helped immensely in Webpage design--especially before the era of content management systems. Remember, if someone doesn't like the looks of your site, he will switch off in three seconds. Also useful when doing bulk e-mails, using such programs as Atomic Mail Sender. This stuff has to look perfect to even have a chance of being read.
ProsDoes a complete validation of your web page, checking for essentially all possible errors. If you want the best look and functionality of your site's pages, the code has to be correct. Sure...browsers are more forgiving these days, but why take a chance? What's more, by having coding errors exposed, you learn how to design the pages better!
ConsIn some rare cases, the Validator can get too picky. e.g. For MailChimp e-mailing software, certain aspects of generated inline CSS coding are technically wrong, and will actually not render if corrected to the Validator's standards. Note that this is not a problem with the Validator, but with MailChimp. This sort of thing can also occur in WordPress. Thus, the user must be aware of those rare instances when being absolutely correct can be a problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2019
RC J.
The Boss
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“CSS HTML Validator Pro 2019”

OverallI have been using this program for a few years now. When creating my web pages I was never sure if there were any technical issue with with the layout or format. The CSS HTML Validator Pro has been extremely useful in finding all of my errors! In the beginning I had no idea of how "bad" my pages were. Now they are formatted correctly with out errors. This really helps when the search engines go through looking for things. Good stuff!
ProsPretty easy to use, fast and very accurate.
ConsThe updates sometimes kill me when I find a technical issue that was not reported before. This calls for a decision on how many hours to I want to spend correcting old pages or just correct the newer ones or when they are naturally updated. Not sure if this is really a CSS HTML Validator Pro issue or the standards group.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Media Production, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Great for webmasters”

ProsI think this software is great. The pro version is the best because it analyzing the entire website and not just individual pages. I've used google webmaster tools but I prefer CSS HTML Validator because it really fine tunes the code mistakes i typical mess up on. There's no builtin FTP client, Which is a bummer but overall it still allows me to clean up errors and make my code on the sites load faster across windows and Linux.
ConsBesides no FTP, I havnt had any cons about the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Peter B.
CEO
Printing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“Can't Imagine My Business Without It”

OverallMakes my projects easy and accomplished in record time.
ProsThe frequent updates keep up with the many changes in the market. Easy to navigate to any and all of its features. Priced Right !
ConsNothing comes to mind, it's all good as is
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Eric J.
Marketing Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“Worth Every Penny”

OverallNever put a page live, without using this to check it first. Highly recommend it.
ProsEasy to use, gives you virtually instant feedback and helps insure you pages are properly formatted.
ConsNo complaints. Easy to turn off warning messages, if you don't want to be warned about a specific error.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Michelle R.
Programmer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019

“Excellent tool for programmers ”

OverallOverall, pretty solid. Honestly don't have any major issues to report.
ProsProgramming is what I do... each and every day. As a result, I find myself working with a lot of software, as well as trying out things to make my code easier to edit , so markups, or debug. This is personally what I use to markup and edit my code I plan to use for websites . It is not really commercial, just for personal use.
ConsHyper markups are a finicky beast at times... seems you are always missing something. This software catches a lot, but doesn't always edit or mark up everything I need it to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019
Matthew J.
Director of Engineering
Entertainment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Complete Validation in One Product!”

OverallFantastic product, that I have used for many years. I use it to get an overall validation of a webpage.
ProsFast, and powerful. The software will do accessibility validation, HTML validation and best practices all in one sweep. Once it is done running the audits it will give you a complete list of items that need to be addressed.
ConsThe cost of the upgrades. I wish I could purchase once and then each update would cost a small amount, I sometimes skip versions to wait for better features to warrant the upgrade price.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Quinn M.
composer/conductor
Music, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Really helped out my website!”

ProsOne use of this software and I was able to locate and fix many of the problems that made my website ineffective before. The layout made finding everything easy, so I was able to work quick.
ConsThe pricing for the full version can sometimes be a little steep and beyond my reach as a student.

Vendor Response

By AI Internet Solutions on August 2, 2019
Thank you for the review! I'm glad that CSS HTML Validator really helped your website. As a student, you may qualify for the educational/academic discount. Please visit our website for more information about this discount.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019