MACRO Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About MACRO

MACRO is a cloud-based electronic data capture solution enabling researchers to quickly collect accurate & reliable data for analysis. MACRO conforms to ethical & scientific quality standards for designing, conducting, recording & reporting clinical trials involving human subjects. Features include self-service eCRF creation (form building), easy export of data, audit trails, user management & much more. ISO 27001 certified, GCP & 21 CFR compliant, meets WCAG2-AA accessibility standards. Learn more about MACRO

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“A good solution for a new clinical trials unit ”

OverallWe use MACRO for all of our CTU studies. It is reliable, secure and easy to use. It has worked well for us.
ProsGood training course (initial and advanced). We use the hosted service (software as a service) which meant we didn't need IT personnel to install and support it. The MACRO support team have been very helpful with quick response times.
ConsFunctionality could be improved. There are a few work-arounds required, particularly with the hosted service.

Vendor Response

By Elsevier on March 28, 2019
Thank you for the five star review! It¿s great to hear that MACRO is working so well for you. We are especially happy to hear that you found our support team helpful and responsive as we place great importance on helping people get the most out of MACRO. As for the hosted service, we know there are improvements to be made and we are looking forward to the release of the next major version of MACRO which is being designed from scratch as a fully hosted system. Many thanks, Helen Harbord | Technical Writer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Paulin A.
Data Manager
Research, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“MACRO experience Germany”

Overallwould recommend but very expensive for smaller companys
Prosvery clear great and fast support extensive trainings many features and possibilities
Consexpenses missing opportunities such as randomisation and Evaluation of data directly Laboratory possibilities are limited and cumbersome changing live eCRF cumbersome Copying cumbersome scrolling in the backend on an eForm not possible no possibility for online Training of eCRF developers

Vendor Response

By Elsevier on March 28, 2019
Dear Paulin, Thank you for your review of MACRO. We are pleased to hear that you benefited from the training and support as we are keen to ensure that our users feel comfortable and confident when using the system. You might be interested to know that we are developing some online training modules for the next major version of MACRO as this is a common request. We will also be improving many features such as the ability to easily copy questions, forms and visits. Thanks again, Helen Harbord | Technical Writer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Sarah L.
Senior Trial Coordinator
Research, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Macro for end users”

OverallWe are working on our units first electronic Trial CRF, the process is going well and impressed what can be achieved through working with Elsevier programming/design
ProsPros - Easy to view patient visit schedule, clearly visible warnings and data queries
ConsCons - unless you have programmers available then reporting functionality is limited/ no way to blank pages from a top level when they are created/saved in error.

Vendor Response

By Elsevier on March 28, 2019
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your five star review of MACRO! It¿s great to hear that your first electronic trial is going well and we are delighted to be a part of it. You might be interested to know that one of our upcoming features is a new Data Reporter tool which allows you to create and save simple to complex data searches via a set of filters, so no programming required. And once a search has been created it can be used by other members of the team. I hope you will find this a useful tool. Many thanks, Helen Harbord | Technical Writer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Alex B.
Clinical database programmer
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“ONe of the best validated eCRF softwares arround”

OverallI could not have wished for a better team to work with, and I really look forward to the new version.
ProsEas of use is their key aspect. And above all, their customer service is one of the fastest best working teams I have ever had the pleasure to work with.
ConsIt leaks some points, but they do annual reviews with customers (Macro User Group) and they always listen to feature requests.

Vendor Response

By Elsevier on March 29, 2019
Dear Alex. Thank you for your five star review of MACRO. We are very pleased to hear that you find it so easy to use and it makes your work easier. We are also proud that you recognize that our customer service team is serving you well. Your appreciation of our annual MACRO user meetings shows that they are valuable to the MACRO community and that the discussions we have there help us to improve our product. Kind regards, Beatrice Schravendeel Implementation Coordinator, MACRO Customer Services
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Maria Teresa G.
Health Data Scientist
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Revier for MACRO”

OverallWith the installation of MACRO, we have been able to provide a robust EDC solution to our researchers who needed a software to collect the clinical data of clinical trials.
ProsIt is easy to use for both programmers and end users
ConsOne of the cons I find is you can only access the design modules through a vpn directly to the servers where the program was installed and can not be accessed via web as other edc programs allow.

Vendor Response

By Elsevier on March 28, 2019
Dear Maria, Thank you for your positive review of MACRO. We are happy to hear that you find it robust and easy to use. We understand your frustration at the lack of an online design module and are pleased to tell you that the next major version of MACRO will be entirely web-based. This means that your team will be able to perform all tasks online including setting up and designing studies, as well as collecting and reviewing subject data. Kind regards, Helen Harbord | Technical Writer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Adam B.
IS Manager
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Enabling academically led clinical trials with MACRO”

ProsCompared with other EDC systems at the same price point (or free alternatives) it offers a cost effective solution for running complex clinical trials in a regulatory compliant environment. Its built in Arezzo language allows for increasingly complex validations and derivations within a study to improve data quality at the point of collection.
ConsThe current version 4 branch does not work on mobile or tablet devices which limits use in some scenarios. This should be resolved in the upcoming version 5 release. MACRO also does not currently support collection of data directly from participants which is a growing requirement in trials.

Vendor Response

By Elsevier on March 29, 2019
Hello Adam. Thank you for your review of MACRO. We are pleased that you are satisfied with its value for money and emphasize the virtues of Arezzo, our engine. Requirements for having MACRO working on mobile devices is a priority for a number of our customers and rest assured this will be possible in the next major version of MACRO. Kind regards, Beatrice Schravendeel Implementation Coordinator, MACRO Customer Services
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Kevin N.
Clinical Database Developer
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Infermed MACRO experience”

OverallMACRO is a good way to easily build Clinical Study databases, with a lot of inbuilt functions and useful modules
ProsThe software has a lot of inbuilt functions that make building studies easy. Edit checks are easily coded also. Most tasks are accomplished with point and click interfaces
ConsIt can have performance issues with poor network connections

Vendor Response

By Elsevier on March 29, 2019
Dear Kevin. Thank you for your good rating of MACRO. We are glad that it allows you to set up studies effortlessly. We understand that MACRO needs good network connections to be fully enjoyable. This issue will be addressed in the next major version of MACRO which will have a lighter weight, web-focused interface. Kind regards, Beatrice Schravendeel Implementation Coordinator, MACRO Customer Services
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Annie D.
Director of Biometrics and Clinical Monitoring
Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“MACRO: An important investment”

OverallMACRO has helped us realise our Risk Based Monitoring Strategy, which is key to a successful delivery of trials to our stakeholders. Implementing this platform across our portfolio has been the most important non-human investment that we have made to date.
ProsEase of use from both a design and user perspective. Value for money.
ConsWe do not have specific cons, but anxiously await the updated software version which will see many changes and improvements.

Vendor Response

By Elsevier on March 29, 2019
Dear Annie. Thank you so much for your positive rating of MACRO. We are delighted to hear that your investment in MACRO has helped you to successfully deliver your trials. We believe that our major version of MACRO will serve you even better by enabling you to complete tasks quicker and simpler. Kind regards, Beatrice Schravendeel Implementation Coordinator, MACRO Customer Services
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Su M.
Senior Healthcare Data Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“MACRO review”

ProsEasy to use and fairly quick to build a eCRF. The help available is quite extensive.
ConsError messages could be more informative.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Leslie H.
Clinical Affairs Manager
Medical Devices, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Excelent value for money”

OverallI very much appreciate the close collaboration between the software provider and the customer - as a customer you rather feel like a colleague than like a customer
Pros- good value for money - extraordinary technical support - regulatory absolutely compliant - outstanding collection of user feedback and incorporation in current updates
Cons- not very modern design - not (yet) supporting mobile devices
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Babatunde O.
Information Analyst
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Feature Remarks”

OverallA very complex patient management is being developed and the have been some good feature implementations but there are instances where much more is desired in terms of identifiable limitations when compared to other mainstream online applications.
ProsFamiliar online data capture interface
ConsThere is need for a lot of dynamism with the interface, possibly with the introduction of features for hiding objects/or controls and collapsing dead space rather than just deactivating them and keeping them in view of the users. It is vital for users to be able to deactivate and unneeded eForm or visits, at the moment this is not the case. Any eForm or Visit activated in error cannot be returned to its inactive state, littering the study with irrelevant form(s)/ visit(s).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019