MYOB Essentials Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About MYOB Essentials

MYOB Essentials is the fast and easy way to manage your cash flow and ATO compliance requirements. Includes time saving features to help take care of the day-to-day bookwork. Say goodbye to cashflow headaches. Accept credit card or BPAY payments from clients directly from an emailed invoice. Fast and easy tax updates ensure youre always up-to-date. Paying super and staying on top of ATO Single Touch Payroll requirements is a breeze. Learn more about MYOB Essentials

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 74 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 74 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Gavin P.
Chief Finance Officer
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2016

“MYOB in the Clouds ”

OverallWindows based product with very easy to use menus. It has all the bells and whistles of modern accounting software. I particularly liked the Payroll and Budgeting. Its a product that I believe needs to be tested by accountants. I think some aspects would be tricky for bookkeepers whereas other aspects accountants pull their hair out and the lack of reporting options and some silly rules that make it harder to use. I don't get the impression that they listen to your feedback. Sadly the organisation has some arrogance. I noted this particularly when being trained in the product. The organisation would benefit greatly from listening to feedback and improving its report options. For example. No comparative Balance Sheet. No reports which can be produced relating to staff hours. The journal report is woeful, sadly you have to use journal more than you would want. No Fixed Asset Register. On the other hand I love the budget reports, very easy to manipulate. The graphs which come with the budget are useless. The ease to enter pay roll data is awesome. I love the bank feeds and many more aspects of this package. I think if they combine the best aspects of Account right and Essentials to target medium sized entities, MYOB would be hard to beat.
ProsPayroll and Budgeting and very easy to use. Nice features with Invoice design also.
ConsThe Journals report is awful, no Fixed Asset register. No reports on Payroll hours worked.
Recommendations to other buyersOverall I would recommend this product. There is room for improvement. I have high expectations.
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2016
Lee P.
Chief Financial Officer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 21, 2017

“The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.”

OverallFor a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.
ProsGood basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day. Easy to install and set up. Reasonably cheap for what you get. Handles GST well.
ConsNot the best for Job costings. Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger. Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users. Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues. Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response. Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 21, 2017
Karen H.
accounting consultant
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018

“Sold a dummy!”

OverallI have been a business user of MYOB for other companies using bigger MYOB packages for over a decade and find it fairly good although it has serious bugs which are reported by the truckload by all the accountants I know and they are NEVER fixed even after a decade. Like how the excel file download makes all the numbers text and the "manual calculation" field is auto set meaning you have to reformat each and every download twice (format numbers and turn on auto calc) to use the spreadsheet to add up. Designed and run by non accountants
ProsNothing. completely useless. Doesn't comply with ATO requirements unless you have no employees and what business has no employees? Misleading advertising and advice.
ConsI am a small business with single employee. Noting that one touch payroll was becoming mandatory next year I decided to put my accounts on a basic package to comply. I rang up and they sold me MYOB essentials telling me it would fully comply. After upteem dozen attempts to create a single employee which failed I ring up and they tell me well actually this entry level despite having all the menu structures and appearing online to do payroll does not do payroll at ALL and I need to pay almost double. I found the set up very very nonintuitive in its coaching. You start one entry set up the field, then it takes you away to a whole different menu you need to complete and then doesn't take you back to where you were. There are heaps of bugs and going online you see everyone else having the same problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018
Rani R.
owner/manager
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“Great software. Does everything we need it to do and more. ”

OverallGreat accounting, and always updating with new features. Our accountant could just log in and do our end of years immediately.
Pros-Highly customisable for invoicing and parts inventories. -Has great reports. We found if you knew what you wanted to keep an eye on in the business, then you could design a report for it. Not all accounting programs or workshop software can do that so easily. -once it was set up for our workshop, it worked amazingly. Very intuitive
Cons-We were new to this software, and it took a long time to set it up, (6 mnths), specifically for how we needed it to work. (automotive workshop), You almost needed to be a trained accountant i felt. -Support used to take at least 1 day if not 2 to get back to you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Daz .
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Source: GetApp
August 6, 2013

“Okay but . . . . .”

OverallWe have been using MYOB accounting plus for over 10 years and recently upgraded to the new Accountright 2013. The new version is very similar to the old and this makes it relatively easy to adjust to. There was a bit of dancing converting 10 years of accounting data to the new format and eventually we got that done and away we went. The first thing that struck us was how slow it seems in comparison to the previous software. (MYOB Accounting plus v14). Data entry is not fluid and constant delays in processing. We contacted MYOB support regarding this and "they are working on the problem" so it appears it is a common problem. It is updated with the latest reports and payroll taxes and supposedly compliant with the ATO. There is a greater range of reports available but still the customisation options are limited. What you see is what yo get, give or take a field or two. The "cloud" idea is novel, but due to the speed restrictions it is of little real benefit. Payroll is the biggest change complying with the new regulations, and taxes, but unfortunately MYOB doesn't allow upgrading of the tax tables without paying for an endless subscription which equates to approximately $800 per year. Overall if you like the early MYOB and can handle the speed reduction then its an okay upgrade. If it wasn't for the reliance on MYOB data for the previous 10+ years and the swift talking sales rep that convinced management to upgrade, I would personally be looking at alternatives.
ProsCompatible with earlier versions. Interface is very similar to previous versions.
ConsExpensive for what it is! Slow!!!!! For small or casual use it MAY be okay, but for any real data volume, its just too slow. (Even on the latest PC) Relies heavily on the internet (could be cause of part of the speed problem) Limited customisation
Source: GetApp
August 6, 2013
Avatar Image
Katrina R.
Senior Accountant
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“Solid product for small business”

OverallHas been around for a long time. Tried and tested and is a great product. Starting to price a little higher but still competitive - especially if you have employees.
ProsEasy to use and well laid out for the end user. Is great for small operations without complex needs.
ConsWhilst bank rules are very handy - the auto reconciling of transactions can cause problems if rule set up incorrectly. Would be great if there was an option to make bulk transaction changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Arslan R.
Head Manager
Banking, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“The Software helps me to evolve in my career my much .”

OverallThe benefits are countless. I am really happy and exceptionally relaxed with using this software. By far, its the most reliable and efficient software that I have encountered.
ProsThe systematic features really helps to sort out the accounting issues. I am always leading the task upto the standards and mostly efficiently only using this specialized software.
ConsThe complications of finding a specific set of files is really hectic. I have to go through the whole bunch of files and reenters the balance whenever I have to made some ammendments.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Chris P.
Finance Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 12, 2017

“good value in terms of the price”

OverallThe software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.
Proseasy to use ,A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow
ConsI have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees. I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 12, 2017
Chris F.
Tech/manager
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2017

“ This is great accounting Software thank you ”

OverallI have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well Especially after it went to cloud based
Pros And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds
ConsThe cons are that it is too expensive for what it is
Recommendations to other buyersIf you could reduce the cost your business would expand dramatically
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2017
Nicole G.
Personal Assistant/Administration/Accounts Administration
Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 13, 2018

“One of the top software for bookkeeping”

ProsI enjoy using MYOB simply because it does everything you need for a small business - sometimes needs more explanation with accounting though for new people.
Consglitches with POS machines is really the only thing I ever came across with this program, so not alot from a small business perspective.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 13, 2018
Kate W.
Office Manager
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“Easy to use”

OverallBeing in the cloud makes access to this program easy. It is user friendly and easy to navigate. The cost did increase quite a bit over the 6 years I was using it but it is pretty relative to other accounting software available.
ProsThis program is in the cloud so it can be accessed from anywhere that has internet.
ConsYou couldn't do a recurring transaction.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
Marilyn K.
Office Manager
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 24, 2018

“Processing”

OverallThe background of MYOB needs to be updated to keep up with the updates
ProsThis software is easy to use . It has all the modules you need to run a small to medium business in todays environment.
ConsProcessing is slow and will freeze the screen Myob does not like large files which is a huge problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 24, 2018
Pam D.
Executive Manager Finance & Administration
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 10, 2018

“Small business user”

OverallGood program for small business and very easy to fix mistakes but no audit trail
ProsEasy to use and can have detailed accounts set up,at 4 levels Reports are set up so easy to use out of the box Great program in box
ConsFrom an audit perspective not great as you can renter things without an audit trail No reporting flexibility
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 10, 2018
Adam C.
Chief Accountant
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017

“A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow”

OverallThis software is easy to use and organize. This software allows me to track and update information easily and in a timely manner
ProsI like the dashboards that show the flow of information from beginning to end. Reconciling the bank is very easy to do as well as enter in new sales and purchases. It's also very easy to export data into excel if additional analysis is needed outside of MYOB.
ConsGenerating sales reports, P&Ls, and BS is a bit cumbersome. It would also be nice if it had a 'dashoboard' feature, like xero, that shows all the relevant information on one page. Having one spot to go to for most of the day's relevant information would be very helpful
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017
Michele H.
Accountant
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“ease of use”

OverallMakes my work life convenient
ProsHelps a lot with accounting work for clients. Myob essential version allows me to log in and work on in where ever I'm located (as long as I have internet access)
ConsOnly worked when there is internet access available, not available offine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
ELLIE P.
ADMIN & ACCOUNTING MANAGER
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 27, 2018

“Friendly user”

OverallTo be more flexible on forms and reports
ProsEditing and backup easy to manage and restore function for any error or lost of data to be fixed easily
ConsCannot customise report and limited on letters and character to be insert. Control on printing page is not user friendly
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 27, 2018
Karen Y.
manager
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019

“MYOB for business”

ProsI used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB seems the only one which is capable of doing accounting tasks in Australia
ConsI used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB online version seems poorly designed, not suitable for multitasking
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Legislative Office, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019

“Great Product ”

OverallI would recommend it to someone say a professional bookkeeper, I found Quickbooks to be more user friendly for easy bookkeeping soultuons also finding Quickbooks a lot cheaper than MYOB.
ProsVery detailed, Easy to add transactions.
ConsI found the software was not very "user friendly" especially as someone who isn't the greatest at Bookeeping, the terms (words) and navigation was very hard sometimes. I ended up switching to Quickbooks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019
Paul C.
Managing Director
Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2019

“Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper”

OverallWe wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.
ProsAs a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.
ConsWe found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2019
Kate L.
Accounts Administrator
Hospitality, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Accounting software to begin with”

OverallGood for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version
ProsHave most of the function and very stable software.
ConsThe platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Ivan M.
Senior Bookkeeper
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018

“A Solid Piece Of Software”

ProsI have used MYOB for years, it's perfect for getting the job done, and easy to use.
ConsSometimes the ability to change or delete transactions is a little bit dangerous.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018
'Kim's A.
Registered BAS Agent
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2019

“MYOB Essentials”

OverallKeep clients complaint!
ProsThis product makes the day to day task of a business owner more professional!
Consthe Cost of the software could put a few people off!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2019
Jade B.
Office manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018

“Good basic accounts system”

ProsSimple in most cases to use and looks good, integrates with our hire software well , if any issues the help section normally answers the query so no need for customer service.
ConsI have found it to be slow and sluggish at times, some of the processes are over complicated and difficult to understand/process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018
Peter M.
Publishing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 11, 2018

“An industry standard, needs better support”

ProsThis is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations
ConsUpdates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 11, 2018
Karen Z.
Director
Arts and Crafts, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2017

“Mostly good”

OverallI've been using MYOB for many years, mainly to raise invoices and purchases, plus to track the P&L and balance sheet. It's a pretty robust product that doesn't need specialist instruction to use the basic functions, but it started getting pretty annoying when I upgraded late 2013 and now one has to be connected to the internet in order to use it. That means if your internet connection is down or you're out of WIFI reach on the road, you can't do anything with your company files. That's my biggest complaint.
ProsFairly easy to use; robust
ConsYou have to have internet connection to use your company files.
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2017
Nicola B.
Bookeeper
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“Very Simple and easy to use, lacking in a few areas but good for a small business just starting out”

ProsVery easy to navigate and simple to use. Search function for invoices is good now that you can see POs.
ConsWish it would export data to excel!! Had to manually build a database of 300 invoices! Too easy to go back and delete stuff too which then doesn't stay on the audit trail, once it's gone it's gone! Would like to see some detail from the invoice when it searched for rather than having to go into it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Harinder S.
Managing Director
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 3, 2019

“Call center people don't know what they are doing or how to setup licence properly”

OverallHorrible experience so far with MYOB, time I have waste every day to get my MYOB going is beyond limit as I have other things to do.
ProsOverall software is not bad but support team is not trained enough to sort out all the issues customer might have. I know my licence issue not been resolved from last two months!!!
ConsI'm trying to sort out my licence issue from last two months but unfortunately it is still keep going. I have to spend couple of hours on phone to get it sorted and they assure it won't happen again but after couple of weeks and sometime every next day it stop working and keep asking for renew your subscription. I'm very much pissed off with support people as it seems like they don't know shit and I'm thinking to change to xero instead.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 3, 2019
Simon M.
Accountant
Insurance, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 11, 2017

“Easy to use”

ProsBasic Accounting functions for the new staff to use. Very good graphical user interface. icons are very clear
ConsPoor budgeting modules when trying to incorporate different departments. Relies on internet with cloud service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 11, 2017
Avatar Image
Marcus Maciej N.
Art Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“The interface is ok but the customer service is terrible”

ProsI liked the layout of the software. It is generally easy to use. The colour palette and general design is quite pleasing to the eye.
ConsIt's quite expensive for a small business and of course they hide a lot of information before you purchase. At per month I could not enter more than 5 expenses per month! Ridiculous! Had to upgrade! Cancelling you account is very difficult and they will try and screw you out of every last cent. I will never ever use this company or software again. SO ANGRY at the account closing process. They might have stolen but it has cost them a customer and I will tell everybody I meet to avoid that software and company like the plague!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“Good software for offline accounting. you can work on Myob for all your accounting &and Bookkeeping”

OverallGood for accounting & Book-keeping offline.
ProsIts functioning is good. You can easily get your Accounting data customized by preparing P&L account & Balance sheet
Cons1. You have to take backup by your self no self backup facility. 2. Difficult to understand the reporting process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Annie G.
Salon Owner
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“Game change for my business”

ProsThis software has made my bookkeeping so much easier, faster and even more accurate. I like when they change a function, that they teach u how to use it with little instruction pop ups.
ConsI find that the dashboard figures aren't always accurate with my bank accounts. Sometimes the layout can be confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Melanie F.
Retail Clerk
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 4, 2018

“Easy to use for Small Business”

OverallI've been using MYOB Essentials for about 2 years now. It's a simple system for a small business.
ProsGreat import feature for bank accounts (main bank accounts are available - some smaller banks are not able to auto import) Simple payroll functionality Easy account reconciliation
ConsThere is no simple search facility across the database - you have to enter each screen to perform a search Reports are hard to find and dates are
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Sarah S.
Law Clerk
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019

“Great reconciliation and payment software”

OverallMYOB is used for all office payments, cheques, reconciliation and staff wages. Creates a one stop shop for all things payment related!
ProsEasy to use interface with quick access to each area of the program.
ConsProgram can be expensive and costs per computer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019
Travis K.
Accountant
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2019

“Fun and simple to use for small businesses”

ProsReconciling the bank, making invoices and categorising expenses is easy
ConsThere are a lot of desktop versions of MYOB and it can be seriously confusing trying to figure out which version you need to open when you receive and client file.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2019
Denise K.
Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“Make life easier”

ProsI have been using the web-based MYOB since its launch back in 2012. The functionalities and the interface/look have been improved over the years. I like it because it is web-based, so I don't need to export the accounts and send it to our accountant, also be able to work on the same and updated info from anywhere.
ConsThe subscription price has been increased a lot over the years. I used to pay around monthly and now it costs around. So, for a light user, it's expensive. But well, I guess I pay for the convenience. The interface is not the most intuitive, but once it's learned, it's easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Liam G.
Electrician
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2018

“I really like using MYOB for my Business as it makes everything very easy and carefree ”

ProsI like MYOB for my business as it is intuitive and it combines many different softwares. It is a 'one stop shop' for all my business needs which is what I need when I am very busy
ConsWhat i like least about MYOB is that other softwares are more competitive in price. I stay with MYOB as I am used to the functionality off it and dont wish to change.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2018
Jason P.
Director
Hospitality, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 27, 2019

“Ongoing extortion, third world support, buggy and terrible reporting”

OverallA can't imagine a business could do worse than this product, go elsewhere and save yourself the hassle.
ProsIt didn't fail on install... that's about it!
ConsI paid for the full version of the software and not even 12 months in they are forcing me to pay for a subscription service as well! Having disabled single touch payroll for offline users they have made the software obsolete. Support is terrible and slow, you'll quickly get sick of the on hold music. Doesn't matter once you've identified yourself as soon as you're transferred you'll have to do it again. And the reporting is a waste of time (and paper), you can't even print a list of employees with their birthdays!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 27, 2019
DAN F.
Bookeeper
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Easy to use Accounting Softeware for SMB ”

OverallI have used MYOB for many years and have not felt the need to change. We are currently able to solve all our accounting with the software. If the company was to expand then we would consider Xero instead.
ProsI think MYOB is a good product and it does mostly what I need. It's very easy to do most accounting tasks. I do prefer the software versions rather than the Live/Cloud versions. though.
ConsThe customer service can take some time to get through to. and limited use of 3rd party payment gateways.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Kerry F.
Director
Cosmetics, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016

“Easy accounting”

OverallI have used MYOB in different formats and found this the simplest and quickest to use and would recommend to anyone running a business.
ProsQuick to use
ConsReports
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016
Yvonne A.
Finance Management
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019

“MYOB uses visuals to explain the numbers”

ProsMYOB uses visuals to explain the cash in and cash out of the business in a way that makes it easy to see the big picture of what's going on. This makes it easy to explain the information in a way that my clients can understand
ConsIt can take some getting used to set up all the accounts you need to run a business. But that's the same for any accounting software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Bruce Y.
CEO
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2019

“Need to be dragged into the new century”

OverallWe have been stuck on it - and are currently planning our migration away from it.
ProsCommonly used across small business which makes it easier to find bookkeepers who have experience in it
ConsNeeds to have a major overview from a features, functionality and user experience perspective. Nearly no new features in 15 years. An upgrade in technology, but delivering using out-dated tech stacks and restrictive implementation. Not a wonder people are moving in droves to other products.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2019
Glenn L.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 12, 2017

“Can not export or import anything useful. Locked in.”

OverallI would avoid unless you only want to use it for a small business with no plans to grow to the stage where you need to upgrade your accounting software. Also requires a internet connection to run.
ProsEasy to use for a small business. Its web based so you dont need to install any software, and you can use it from any location where you have internet access.
ConsImport and export data options VERY limited. Can only import items and contacts, can only export a account and journal summary for your accountant. This means you cant use Essentials with a 3rd part system, or export your data if you later decide to stop using Essentials, effectively locking you in. Would make it difficult for a growing business to upgrade to a more advanced accounting system, you would need to manually enter all your records from scratch.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 12, 2017
Russell E.
Group Financial Controller
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Not exception but does the job”

OverallI have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees. I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone. However the taxation reporting is very user friendly and makes very monthly reporting and payment very easy to use. Overall, the price is very good and for the purposes of just payroll it does the job reasonably well
ProsTaxation reporting
ConsCustomer service
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Andrew K.
Financial Planner
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019

“Cloud based computing ”

ProsCould based software makes it easy to log into from any computer and phone to make changes or reconcile transactions. Really like MYOB Essentials
ConsMoved from a once off payment for the desktop version to a monthly subscription based system which costs a lot more to maintain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019
Steve S.
Accountant - Manager
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2019

“Good Alternative Cloud Accounting Package for the MYOB Faithful”

ProsCloud based and extremely speedy. Bank feeds are easier to navigate and interpret than competitors. Support is good.
ConsHard sell to clients who are aware of other market leaders in the cloud accounting space. Practice level reporting and tools aren't up to par compared to competitors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Kirsten R.
Accounting Contractor
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2018

“A good option”

ProsThat it is pretty user friendly and you can do most functions you want to
ConsYou need to have a good understanding about bookkeeping
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018

“Product to keep your accounting and bookkeeping needs. little bit difficult to change & edit reports”

OverallI suggested this software to my friend for daily bookkeeping. she is satified from this product.
Prossimple use for data entry within the software, simple offline product to use for accounting & bookkeeping.
Consdifficult to import the transactions with the help of excel. and little bit difficult to change and customize reports
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018
Renae P.
Consultant
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: GetApp
June 22, 2017

Source: GetApp
June 22, 2017
Janet G.
Owner
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: GetApp
January 4, 2017

Source: GetApp
January 4, 2017
Tom W.
Technical Operations Director
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: GetApp
October 14, 2016

Source: GetApp
October 14, 2016