PDFShift Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About PDFShift

Pdfshift.io is a high-quality, high-fidelity and powerful HTML to PDF conversion API. It provides an easy-to-learn endpoint with a complete set of functionalities, package for many languages (Node, Python, and PHP) to simplify yo ur work and get you started in under a minute. Learn more about PDFShift

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Rito M.
VP Product
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Great for API-Based PDF Generation”

OverallWe generate consumer-facing as well as internal reports with PDFShift. The service is very reliable, and customer service is excellent.
ProsEasy to use and functional APIs. We've been using this in production systems for some time; and we've faced no downtime so far. I have corresponded several times with the founder and the team, and response time has been terrific; with detailed and helpful answers to all our queries.
ConsThe pricing tiers could differentiate between size and volume of PDFs generated - and price them differently. Currently they are clubbed together and while the pricing in itself is not very high in comparison to most other players in the market, a more nuanced and tiered pricing would help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Greg P.
Marketing Developer
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019

“Stop rolling your own PDF generator - PDFShift has done it better.”

OverallI've been able to build non-core business tools that serve as lead generation for our business that are easy to maintain. They've become one of our most talked about offerings. PDFShift support is great to work with and respond within 24 hours.
ProsI needed to quickly build PDF generation from user generated content. The form and UI came together easily and I set up a simple serverless function to handle the form submission data. I knew I wanted a simple solution and didn't want to maintain a PDF generation server. I found PDFShift on Product Hunt and saw there was an option to pass PDFShift HTML. I had the serverless function parse the submitted data into a simple html page, included the PDFShift NPM module, and submitted a request with the HTML to PDFShift. Integrating and generating PDFShift became one of the simplest parts of my project.
ConsI wish I could use @font-face rules in the header/footer sections of a PDF.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019
Paul G.
Graphic Designer
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Near perfect solution”

OverallI contacted PDFShift for various problems on both sides. Mine because I don't use Composer or Node.js and theirs because there was a default, though minor, in the generated PDF - to mention only those. I had an outstanding response from the support and everything was nicely settled.
ProsThe generated PDF perfectly mirror the CSS (quite modern) and preserve the used assets. It means that with SVG and larger than necessary images, downsized in CSS, you can create high resolution PDF for professional printing. Even with crop marks and bleed...
ConsNot much to say about cons: when you manage to get it working, which is pretty simple, it just works as expected. A better following of your usage could be interesting as well a a bit more conversions for your bucks. (Also the name is quite hard to type: I sometimes forgot the penultimate letter, which was awkward.)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Roi S.
Information system developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019

“Proffesional and easy to use”

Overalli am preparing shipping documents on my website and using PDFshift to print and send them
ProsThis software is very easy to use and the customer support are very fast and proffesional. since i have this software i have peice of mind, it is working very good without any issues.
ConsFor my purposes it is perfect, my use of this software is pretty simple, i have 0 problems
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019
Greg R.
Programmer / Analyst
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Super Easy PDF Creation”

OverallWe use PDFShift to create PDFs using HTML. Before we were using a PHP library to create them and it took a lot of time. We can not create a page in HTML and then turn it into a PDF quickly using the API.
ProsPDFShift has awesome API and documentation. We were able to do the things that we needed to and more. It was easy to set up and start creating PDFs. Being able to use HTML to format and style the PDF was much easier to do.
ConsWe didn't have anything that we really struggled with or that we didn't like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Jordan K.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Dynamic PDF generation was never easier”

OverallWe needed to export user data into a good readable format and send it via e-mail to our customers. We were already able to generate a nice looking webpage (HTML) but we needed a PDF to send it to the customers. So we looked how we can accomplish that. Most packages or services are just not that good.. they don't support css or just very old css tags or they require a desktop environment (instead of a headless server).
ProsThe simple and intuitive usage. You'll register and get directly an api key. The api is straight forward and good documented.
ConsNothing special. Probably I would say the pricing is too high, - but this depends on the viewport I guess. For a big company its a no-brainer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Sergei R.
Principal Software Engineer
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“One of the best PDF converters on the market”

OverallPDFShift is an important part of our reporting service, responsible for generating hundreds of PDFs. Works great!
ProsI tried 6 or 7 different PDF libraries to convert HTML reports to PDF. PDFShift is truly the best. It started to generate high quality PDF with almost no configuration and tweaking (apart from PDF my URL or other tools). It is also very fast and reliable. Would recommend it to anyone who will need cloud-based PDF converter with excellent functionality.
ConsIt works perfectly. Would like to have better monitoring to make sure service is running OK. Maybe add versioning to test new features and updates separately from existing processes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Greg S.
Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Great Service for Modern Dynamic PDF Generation”

OverallWe launched a dynamic quote tool, and use PDF shift to generate and store all the output to Google Drive. Works Great.
ProsSimple to use API & handles modern HTML/CSS/SVG well.
ConsHandeling page breaks is still a challenge for my applications
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Great option for creating PDF's easily”

ProsIt's really easy to use in any kind of programming language and it offers really well made PDF's from any website.
ConsThe prices recently changed to be more expensive and the free plan also changed to have less keys/month.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Parker M.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Well built product!”

OverallAutomated a full time job with a lot of confidence so that person can spend more time on what they were actually hired to do rather than filling a business need of constantly creating PDFs from product data that is very dynamic.
ProsThis is not the first pdf generating product I used or was exploring, but I am so happy I found it! With full support of CSS3 it takes a lot of the guess work out.
ConsDocumentation could be built out a bit more
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Martin P.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“OK as a start into PDF generation”

ProsIt's easy to generate PDF files.
ConsUnable to calculate VAT properly for businesses. Unable to use a password manager for logging in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Donna P.
Principal
Translation and Localization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“An easy way to generate pdfs from html pages”

ProsWe needed a way to (re)generate hundreds of attendee invoices in a corrected format. With PDFShift, we were able to easily accomplish this. Calling and using this software is well-defined and a piece of cake. It made an onerous task much easier. Highly recommended!
ConsThere were really no cons for using this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Jacqui M.
Software Engineer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Works exactly as advertised”

OverallWe have a need to programmatically generate complicated, data-heavy reports as PDFs from our internally-written APIs (golang). PDFShift provides a simple-to-use API for us to offload the pdf generation part of this feature.
ProsPDFShift is easy to use, but most of all I love that it works exactly as described: it will generate good-looking PDFs from our html templates, quickly.
ConsNot applicable - no cons so far with this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Andrew W.
Developer
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019

“PDFShift”

ProsPDFShift has a very easy to use endpoint for PDF file conversion. As a developer of a custom report generator software, the common usage and acceptance of PDF files by our users has made PDF file generation very important. As the report files are webpages generated from a backend script, it was crucial to be able to convert the HTML code into PDF - PDFShift performs this very well as compared to other solutions
ConsPDFShift works very well and I do not have any complaints
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019
François S.
VP of Engineering
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Perfect”

OverallReally smooth experience
ProsEasy to use, efficient and clean. The clear documentation has been really helpful to begin
ConsI had a few bugs, but I found workarounds or real solutions with the PDFShift team so nothing to worry about
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Perfect fit for our customer”

OverallOur customer wanted to save dynamic pages as PDFs to print out and also email to their potential customers. PDFShift solved our problem of not wanting to install and configure a custom application on our customers limited backend.
ProsIt was easy getting started and getting something fast.
ConsThe documentation could be a bit clearer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Andreas D.
Software-Architect, Developer
Wholesale, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“PDFShift is awesome”

OverallWe're creating PDFs from generated html. With PDFshift we've found a true value, because it's pretty close to our needs.
ProsThe use is pretty easy. It took seconds to implement.
ConsI have nothing to complain about, so we're totally good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Raghav K.
Software Developer
Education Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Great API and Service”

OverallVery good. Would recommend to others.
ProsIts simplicity of integration. The documentation was also great.
ConsThe occasional errors it returned and the rate limiting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
shashank s.
Software developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Work at ease”

OverallGood
ProsI like the mose easy to use and package library they provided with multiple options so that we can manually covert html to pdf with the way we wanted with different fomat size paper and styling.
ConsSometimes the page broked when table structure data and some of the fonts are not available. they provided less pdf with basic
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Kai R.
Developer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Pdfshift review”

OverallDynamic report generation
ProsEase of use, consistent output with different output option
ConsUnable to include customised headers even with api
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Stefano E.
web programmer and developer
Computer Networking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019

“An amazing software”

Overallit is like when you like a girl, really a lot, you think she's the one.,AND SHE THINKS THE SAME ABOUT YOU! :D love you guys keep on the wonderful work
ProsThe easyness of the usage, installation, and the perfect pdf created.
Consi spent 5 minutes thinking about it, but i didn' find anything you are amazing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019
Jack G.
Director
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Easiest PDF generator out there”

OverallI used PDFShift in a client project to streamline saving and printing outputs of an assessment generator - effortless integration.
ProsEasy implementation in PHP. Fastest rendering that I've tried to date
ConsPricing is a little high for start-ups that have little cashflow but high demand for PDF conversion
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
April O.
Photographer
Photography, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019

“Great! ”

OverallFantastic!
ProsIt's perfect. Works really well. Does exactly what I want it to do. Never had a problem. Thank you PDF Shift!
ConsNothing negative to say. Experience has been completely positive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019
Tanner E.
Developer
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“The best for the price”

OverallI can't talk about the specific software PDFShift was used for, but It saved our development team a lot of time and money! Overall, the product is great and the customer support is even better! Don't stop improving PDFShift.
ProsPDFShift uses an extremely friendly API, and supports almost any language you would want to use it with.
ConsThe PDF file size caps can be very restrictive. PDF's are much larger than their webpage counterpart. A webpage may only be 5mb, but once converted to a pdf it could be 50mb! I ran into some trouble with this - so be careful and test your use case before committing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Gerson R.
Web Dev Intern
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Very good and did what I wanted”

OverallVery good and eventually got it to work how I wanted
ProsHow simple set up was, and making a request to get a conversion
ConsCould convert differently than I wanted, sometimes had to fiddle with what was being sent
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
H. d.
Student
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Straight forward ”

ProsIt is very straight forward I used it for a school project and it turned out to be perfect.
ConsI did not really have issues with pdf shift
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2019

“Great way to solve a common problem ”

ProsHow easy it was to generate custom invoices with it.
ConsBatch processing could be faster but not a big issue
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Newaz C.
Digital Marketer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Convert HTML to PDF”

ProsConverts html files into PDF. Useful if you're trying to get code turn into a pdf. It's also FREE.
Consnone. Maybe they can add more features like CSS conversion in the future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Vic C.
CTO
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“My Review”

OverallEasy, I have created not a lot of PDF's, but I choose this option because was way too easy to implement with python.
ProsIt's way to easy to imlpement in our API, that is such a huge advantage.
ConsThe login is not that easy, it doesn't ask you for a password and is by a link, I don't feel very secure about that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019