Taxprep Ratings

Overall
4.9/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.3/5

About Taxprep

Taxprep is Canada's most advanced line of tax preparation software, relied on by all 30 of the top accounting firms in the country, as well as thousands of local firms, small practitioners, and corporations. Supported by industry-leading customer service, technical support, diagnostics, and optimizations, Taxprep is Canadian tax return software that gives you the tools you need to increase profitability and offer clients value-added services during tax season and beyond. Learn more about Taxprep

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 20 of 20 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 20 of 20 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Taxprep Software”

ProsI primarily use the corporate and forms taxprep software. What I look most about the software is the amount of tools available to review tax returns and forms prepared within the software. As a reviewer, it is important to keep track of any items that need to be double checked, confirmed with clients, and potentially updated. The reviewer tools, such as the ability to track changes, helps ensure that the returns are completed accurately, and that we have comfort over all the information included in the return.
ConsThere are certain quirks with the software that can clash with the technical treatment of certain items. Sometimes, you may be unable to e-file a tax return if unless you select a certain box or input a number into a certain section. However, the technically correct approach may be to leave those input areas blank. Therefore, the software can in some instances create issues in filing returns. Please note that I experienced this issue very rarely.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Tim S.
Tax preparer
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“TaxPrep”

OverallI have been using TaxPrep since 1991. I find the forms list to be the best feature. All forms in one list, not having to jump around or search to find a form. My overall experience is good. I'm reluctant to call Tech support with a possible error correction as the usual reply in years past was, "We have over a million lines of code to go through and will look into fixing it in next years program." Maybe TaxPrep has improved in this matter.
ProsForms manager - where all forms are in one list New employees find it easier to navigate
ConsCost. I purchased the entire TaxCycle suite of programs for less than only TaxPrep T1 Length of time taken to update necessary corrections after errors reported. Some Diagnostics are quite unnecessary. ie Not all non refundable tax credits have been used. Consider more income or less deductions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Puneet M.
Partner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Moving in the wrong direction”

OverallFormerly, Taxprep has been an essential part of our tool kit and helped us to deliver professional quality results. With the new changes, lack of support and the recent debacle with the ransomware issue, we are reconsidering our relationship with the company and its software.
ProsTaxprep has outstanding features, functionality and ability to handle complex situations and calculations.
ConsThe new platform is not as good as the Classic. If lacks functionality, is buggy and unstable. To compound the problem, the company appears to scaling back its customer support. Wait times during the tax season were unacceptably long; we usually just hung up and did without. It is likely that due to the enormous screw up on the new platform the support team was completely overwhelmed. Formerly, I would have said that the support was one of the things I liked the best. Now, it is a disappointment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
William M.
Chief of Operations
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“CCH Taxprep review”

OverallSometimes the software helps us with certain calculations where our tax expertise may be a little fuzzy. It helps to educate while being reliable.
ProsTaxprep has been an easy to use reliable product for years. We have never had any urge to switch products. We will continue to use CCH products well into the future.
ConsPhysical archive discs. I receive numerous archive cd's throughout the year. Please provide a single USB flash drive once per year with the entire suite of backups.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Sue T.
Owner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“Personal and Corporate Tax Prep”

OverallGood.
ProsEase of use, nice interface, good diagnostics. Reliable
ConsNuisance diagnostics. # of revisions Way too expensive. Too much pushing of other products.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Great product”

OverallTaxprep is very quick to update their software with the latest tax changes. They are very reliable as well.
ProsI love the ease of use, integration with our caseware software and customizability letters. The customer service is excellent, whether it is with tech support, or for assistance with form calculation, the support team is very helpful and wait times are a minimum.
ConsThe things that I like least are very minimal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“The best of the best for tax preperation”

ProsThis is the ultimate in tax preparation. Has best interface, best feature set and the most trusted calculations and up to date information built in. Has mad strides in integration between their other products which makes it even better. Has nice on board pricing for new users.
ConsThe cost can get very high especially when you get the full package.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Kelly F.
Partner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“Tax prep product review”

OverallWe've been using it for over 25 years and it has been a stable, reliable product.
ProsEase of use, bulk roll forward feature, variety of forms
ConsWhen electronically submitting tax forms (T4's, T5's etc) you can only do one at a time and you must log in to car each time
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Cory P.
Partner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Review”

OverallWork flow management
ProsEase of use, functionality, integration with other taxprep programs and iFirm database
ConsThe software works very well but is pricey and costs should be watched for future sales
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Audrey B.
President
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“Taxprep”

OverallEase of use and in depth information available
ProsBest tax software out there. Been using since 1981
ConsThere is really nothing I dislike about it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Steve M.
Senior Accountant
Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Excellent Program”

OverallWe use Taxprep to prepare our Corporate Income Tax returns. The program never disappoints.
ProsVery user friendly, I can easily find any necessary forms that I require to prepare our Corporate Income Tax return. Customer service is always helpful. I also like that most (if not all large accounting firms use this software and so it is well utilized)
ConsIt can be expensive for companies with modest budgets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Katherine S.
Accountant
Oil & Energy, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“Tax Prep Works For Me”

OverallI use tax prep for tax planning and to file corporate tax returns.
ProsI know how to use it so it is easy for me to use. It's always updated regularly.
ConsI would like an option to pay less for the software because I only do tax returns for 3 companies.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Joseph S.
Treasury & Tax Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Review of T2 Taxprep Classic 2018”

OverallI am using T2 Taxprep to prepare corporate income tax returns. Benefits realized: accurate tax reporting.
Pros- great functionality (complete forms) - strong diagnostics - ability to view 2 year Xpress - English translation of Quebec forms
Cons- drop down menu on Sch 9 workchart is short - need to scroll to find an entity - Quebec forms not easy to navigate through
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Bilal G.
Owner
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“Good software”

OverallCompleting taxes with this software is much easier and faster than others. Overall, happy with it.
ProsThe UI and optimizations for taxes. Connect is also a great feature.
ConsSometimes it can be difficult to complete certain forms due to automation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
John K.
AVP
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“Consistent and reliable”

ProsNo surprises with the installation and operation of the software. The layout of the main screen and ease of linking to a Schedule is good.
ConsThe amount of space required for either a local or network installation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Rocco M.
Director Tax
Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Ease of Use ”

OverallAlways easy to use..
ProsFunctionality, ease of use, availability of historical carryforward information.
ConsCan't really think of anything not to like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Richard W.
comptroller
Investment Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“Simple”

Overallvery good
Prosthe great carry forward features from year to year
Conssearch function in help is a bit tricky to find CCH topics
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Matthew S.
Corporate Controller
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Taxprep Review”

OverallGreat overall experience due to consistent versions, upgrades have accurate and current tax changes, diagnostic is a huge value-add to ensure returns are in compliance.
ProsRoll-forward feature, sync with CRA, diagnostic and comparative analysis, print functionality.
ConsCost is a little high for a single user.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Tax prep Review ”

OverallOverall I am very happy with the program
ProsI like the ease of the program and the diagnostics capabilities
ConsThe price is a bit excessive for my use but the program is what i am used to
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Elizabeth D.
Controller
Commercial Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019

“Good software”

ProsEasy to use, provides all the forms I need
ConsI don't love that you have to pay every single year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019