Matillion Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Matillion

Matillion provides the only data transformation product purpose-built for cloud data warehouses. Our solution handles: 1) The extract and load of a business data into a CDW, providing the scale and performance needed to power data-driven analytics. 2) The ability to join together a business varied data sources through our powerful transformation capabilities, completing the process to make data entirely analytics-ready. Learn more about Matillion

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 95 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 95 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Graham L.
Solution Architect
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Easy to use solution, allowing rapid delivery of ELT processes”

OverallWe came to Matillion while looking for a tool that would allow us to orchestrate our load processes for Amazon Redshift. We'd used other ETL tools previously, were blown away by how easy it was to pick up and understand Matillion. We liked the simplicity, and the fact that we could always dig into the SQL that was generated. New features are added frequently, and we usually find one or two improvements that directly impact us with each release. Their support team are also very responsive, and Matillion are always keen to help you get the most out of their software, so there's a lot of support if you want it. 2+ years later, and we're using Matillion to run all our ELT jobs across various data warehouse projects, and very happy with it.
Pros- Very intuitive design environment - super quick to learn. - Components map closely to SQL capabilities in Redshift. - Easy to view the SQL generated. - Sample, row count, and data lineage make it easy to unit test as you build. - Powerful management options via REST API (orchestration, Github integration, etc.). - Native AWS integration. - Aggressive release cycle, constantly adding new features. - Easy to document in-workflow. - Lots of third party integrations.
Cons- User concurrency/licencing model (simple, but can't be customised to fit your need). - Exception handling could be improved. - A single Task View would be helpful for multi-environment/project support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Sandeep K.
Project Leader
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Need on the fly connectivity to different instance of Redshift”

ProsI like the bunch of API integrated in Matillion it helps me to directly grab the data from different sources without manually extra and import in my database.
ConsI am using Matillion for Redshift from last more than 2 years. When i setup a project in Matillion with connection to a Redshift cluster, sometimes there is a need to extract the data from other instance of Redshift while running job in Matillion. In that case there is straight forward way of getting the data from other instance of Redshift like you have comments to extract the data from databases like SQL Server, Oracle etc. instead of first i need to run another job by connection second Redshift cluster and extract the records after that run different job to load the extracted records from S3 to main Redshift cluster.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Bruce L.
VP, Data Engineering
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019

“Matillion - orchestrating complex ELT for analytics”

OverallOur business requires us to ingest large amounts of data from customers on a frequent basis. Once typical ELT has been performed, we create customized data stores which are used in a variety of ways including modeling, machine learning and a SaaS front end. Matillion has been instrumental in our ability to move this processing from file systems to Big Query where our performance has moved from days to hours.
Pros- Provides great framework for visualizing complex queries with business users that are not SQL savvy - Logical flow of Transformation builder allowed quick transformation from file based to database based ELT - Just works! We have had very few issues with the tool over the 2 years I have been using it.
Cons- Would like a more robust scheduler - Would like built-in messaging (e.g. for job failures/success) to be able to email out. This is not provided in the version for Big Query that we are running on GCS. - Better source code control (at the transformation/orchestration level, rather than the whole project) - Always could use additional documentation in how to use some of the more complex parts of Matillion.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019
Michael S.
Director, Business Intelligence and Web Services
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Great for pipelining data to warehouse/lake, not getting it back”

OverallIt was easy to get set up, and it worked great for pushing data into Snowflake as a data warehouse. However, we quickly realized that we would need yet another tool to get the data back out to the source systems to synchronize/integrate it. We could sort of do it with Matillion, but it required a lot of custom programming and was not very intuitive. We ended up using a different iPaaS tool that could handle traffic/integration in both directions.
ProsIt is extremely fast and easy to pull data from various sources and pipe it into Snowflake. The graphic interface lets this happen without programming.
ConsThere is almost no ability to get data back from your warehouse into the other systems to synchronize the data. It's great to have it all in the warehouse, but it seems pretty critical to have that data flowing back to other systems that are part of your environment. The pricing model is frustrating. You are billed for when the machine instance is ON, not when it is actively doing something. So, if you have a couple hours of job that run in a day, you have to shut down the machine to save money the rest of the day. With it shut down, development can't happen. So, we had to turn it on and off all the time. It would be much better if they billed as it is used, not as it is on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
KOTESWAR RAO K.
Senior Data Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“Matillion_Koti_Feedback”

OverallI like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the additional features.
Pros1) Most of the components are user friendly. 2) Development of ETL orchestrations and transformation consumes less time. 3) Advanced features are available in some of the components makes the complex scenarios achievable.
Cons1) OAuth document does not provide the details of proper permissions and access levels on account_id or client_id which are required for a connector. 2) Differentiation of naming convention of metrics between the console and matillion data model , mapping document of these naming conventions is not available. 3) Connector for Outbrain is not available. 4) Indirect file loading concept is not available , for example if we have five files with same structure , reg ex can not be used to load all files in a single component(s3 load,s3 put or excel) and need to use the file iterator. 5) Loss of properties when the component configuration is changed from Basic to Advanced features , ideally the component should include all the properties of basic and then additional setting should be provided.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Joe E.
Data Engineer
Publishing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“Matillion for Data Engineers”

OverallAn easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the business, it was easy to learn and implement, and as difficult as SQL to master. I think the real complexity comes from optimising complex workflows, the more T you need in the ETL/ELT process, the more Matillion falls down. This being said it is a very good tool for 90% of your work.
ProsIt is easy to use and quick to get started, there are many inbuilt APIs and transformations that integrate it across a broad suite of systems, and enable you to transform data for the business without having to spend too much time thinking about scripts or bespoke batch files.
ConsThe filter transformer is pretty minimal considering the power of the SQL it is utilising, it cannot use compound logic or reference other columns/objects in the query. There is also optimisation issues in very complex workspaces. Both of these have easy to use workarounds but it is unfortunate it is not supported more at surface level.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Despina C.
BI Analyst
Construction, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“MELT”

ProsEasy to learn and use. The knowledge from other products is transferable. The documentation is amazing (one probably cannot understand how good without the experience). Support is always available and of good quality.
ConsThere is no restart-from-point-of-failure option for failed loads. Everything has to start from scratch or remaining jobs need to be run manually.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Francis T.
Head of BI
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Matillion is an Easy To Leverage (ETL) solution!”

Pros- Easy to orchestrate an ETL pipeline - Integration with Redshift and other AWS services provides convenience - Support team is easy to reach and have relatively quick response times - They also support the other 2 popular cloud data warehouses, Snowflake and BigQuery - Some components are available out to the box for easy integration - Task history is useful for debugging and monitoring current state of ETL pipelines - A GUI is provided for implementing complicated workflows, that can be easily followed
Cons- Since it's mainly GUI based, it becomes difficult for data engineers to compare changes between old and new versions of an ETL. - There are hard limitations for the number of concurrent users. This is part of the pricing model which is the reason. - Integration with GIT is not yet available but we heard that it would be coming in the near future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Susan D.
Senior BI Engineer
Building Materials, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019

“Matillion when used with Google BigQuery”

OverallWe are now using Matillion as our TL tool to load into our Google Data Lake which will be the source of all our BI reporting data (replacing SQL servers). Matillion is easy to install (Google Marketplace, one click build), easy to use initially, sometimes lacks a few specialist bits (usually around new things in the Google estate), but theses can be overcome by using scripts or sql statements and I am sure some will become components in their own right. Matillion support is very good - I usually get a response within the hour
ProsFrom an engineers point of view one of the selling points for Matillion (apart from the absolute simplicity of use - at least to start with) is that it produces its own documentation !!
ConsSometimes the error messages can be confusing , but this is often down to the messages coming from BigQuery. Its also not always obvious that it is producing SQL statement 'under the hood' and that can mean breaking sql statement size limits without realising it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019
Alexander H.
Data Engineer
Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Efficiency!”

OverallSatisfied!
ProsThe collection of components; especially the integration components that hook into a very popular CRM and another quite popular ERP.
ConsThe python component. Depending on the box where your instance is hosted, this component will drag along like a broken train or move at the speed of shooting star.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Erick B.
Business System Analyst
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Matillion Review”

OverallMatillion is a great out of the box product with minimal requirements. You spin the machine up, allow your database's firewall to communicate with Matillion. Start creating jobs, schedule them, and sit back. It helps you focus on visualizing your data.
ProsIt is a pay for what you use type of software. Most other ETL platforms are a flat monthly fee, sometimes at crazy prices. The pay for what you use model makes it easy to justify cost to leadership. You can schedule jobs to make sure you maximize your time.
ConsThe user experience feels a little dated. Some things could be better displayed/ explained.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Agile Data Engineering”

OverallWe use Matillion to produce highly curated datasets for customers. Matillion has allowed us to move this workload entirely into the data warehouse where the final work product lives, and cut processing time from days to hours.
ProsMatillion allowed us to move a legacy ETL pipeline to BigQuery with speed, precision, and confidence. It is now used exclusively by our team for all of our ELT needs. The user interface is clean, intuitive, and allows members of the team to be immediately productive. Onboarding new users has never been easier.
ConsFeature parity between the different flavors (Redshift, Snowflake, BigQuery) is lacking, however, Matillion continues to make progress in narrowing the gap.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Ravi K.
Sr. Cloud Data Engineer
Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019

“Review of Matillion as ETL cloud Engineer”

OverallIt was great working as well learning experience , hope Matillion will come up as industry leader.
ProsMatillion integration with AWS services is flawless and has real time impact in batch jobs pulling data from on-premises to cloud platform.
ConsRestricting the number of user can access Matillion, Lot's of time huge data set get stuck and fail with many other issues lastly better full log specifically for Developer to debug the issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019
Nels Y.
Associate, Data & Analytics
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019

“Matillion Review”

OverallOur experience with Matillion has been great. We've used to greatly improve and automate our data intake and transformation process.
ProsI appreciate the ease of use of the tool. It is very simple and intuitive to build data pipelines using Matillion.
ConsIt's necessary to perform out own server maintenance to support the tool, which isn't too difficult, but can be a pain at times. If this were a hosted solution that would be easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Media Production, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Matillion Review”

OverallWe're using Matillion for all the ETL in our environement: 3000 employees, around 500 BI users, around 30 different systems that we connected to. We were able to switch some existing jobs from Talend and create a whole lot more in just 6 minutes.
Pros+ Fast & easy to use + Completely embedded into AWS environement + Comes light, it's not overloaded with stuff no one uses + Some really innovative features
Cons- Sometimes feels like not "fully under control", e.g. when a component runs into an OutOfMemory, the whole environement crashes. And there are different ways to trigger that... - Scheduling overview could be more sophisticated, it's kind of hard to have a proper overview there - Variable handling seems sometimes to be a bit difficult, e.g. when setting it in one process, it's not always set in sub-jobs - In some cases, one can see that Matillion is still "under development": Same features are available in some components, but are missing in others
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Edward S.
Senior Software Architect
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Geographically disparate data to the cloud in 3 days flat”

OverallPiping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into Snowflake
Pros* If you've done any type of ETL work before, this will be a breeze. If you haven't it might take a few hours as opposed to minutes to get up and running * The trial is full featured, get started today without waiting * The software is on a EC2 instance in your own VPC in AWS. If you have company policies for how/where data can be processed -- you have complete control * You can pay by the hour or the year, no hassle no fuss! If you do encounter an issue the support organization is amazing. All questions were answered the same day, many within the hour.
ConsMore examples to work through on the transformation components would be helpful, but again... it's pretty easy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Mark E.
Principal Consultant
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019

“A Great Cloud-based Tool”

OverallI like it overall. It is easy to quickly learn and get up to speed. It is made to work in the environment I'm working in (AWS) and has a nice, clean browser-based interface to build and schedule jobs in EC2. Email-based support is responsive. However, I sometimes feel it is too expensive compared to alternatives for the value it adds and the ELT model, while beneficial in many ways, hamstrings the component feature-set.
ProsWell integrated with AWS. Great browser-based interface. Develop in the same place where the code will run, as opposed to other solutions I use that develop in Windows and run in Linux. Easy to schedule.
ConsI have mixed feelings on the overall value. The hourly rate really adds up over time. This is probably my biggest misgiving. Otherwise, I sometimes get frustrated with the ELT model because it means if the feature you need isn't supported within Redshift, it's up to you to create Python scripts or Bash scripts to enable it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019
David W.
Data Analyst
Airlines/Aviation, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Great ETL product”

ProsMatillion is very intuitive. The GUI is easy to use and fairly easy to learn. The support team is great and they respond to your questions quickly. I like how the Matillion team is frequently looking to add new functionality and features. The new keyword search functionality is very helpful.
ConsMatillion works great extracting data from a variety of databases and is very efficient unloading onto S3 or Amazon Redshift. However, when we attempted to use it to unload large datasets to Microsoft SQL Server it was very slow and we experienced performance issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Oliver S.
Data Analyst
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Fast track to results”

OverallVery helpful support which takes care of all our problems, especially with "stupid" beginner questions.
ProsVery easy to use and very easy to get results. Fast implementation cycles compared to other tools. Best is to loop over variables which enables simple but powerful solutions.
ConsSometimes more flexibilty on specific tasks, e.g. Excel import or csv.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Sandeep M.
Data Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“SalesLoft Matillion for Data Warehouse”

OverallEvaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is difficult to know where to start. We shortlisted three different ETL tools based on the capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification to name a few most important criteria. With a very intuitive development interface, Matillion ETL for Redshift came out as a winner.
ProsQuick development capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification, customer support to name a few
ConsWish to see Matillion having Github control
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Brayden J.
Associate Software Developer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“Matillion ETL For Medium to Large Company”

OverallMatillion has worked incredibly well answering our business needs. We have integrated it into our core business and use it daily with nearly no issues. We began with Matillion ETL for Redshift but soon switched to Matillion ETL for Snowflake and have had incredible success with it thus far. I recommend this ETL tool to any company of any size as it can be scaled to any business needs and you only pay for what you use.
ProsMatillion is easy to integrate into our snowflake system. We use it to build and create materialized tables and views, run scheduled builds, and have used it to create CDC processes. It is slick and intuitive and has a great user interface.
ConsThe browser and platform crashes occasionally, about once a week. The account will log you out, but it works in real time so it usually does not delete any of your work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Venkata Aditya C.
Data Scientist
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“Good ease of use, should improve customer service”

OverallWith the tools given most of the business problems can be solved(not in an efficient way though if you consider SnowFlake), but there's a lot of room for improvement on the customer service side. Also, having the same functionalities for both RedShift and SnowFlake would make it a lot better, for now there are more functionalities and components for RedShift.
ProsThe tool was very easy to use and was intuitive most of the time. The functions and components for RedShift were amazing even though I didn't use them
Cons1. Initially the customer service was good, calls were being scheduled either on the same day or on the next day. But once you start using it, support calls would take weeks. Sometimes support will say they'll get back to you but they don't. 2. In one particular instance, a support executive said they would get back to me because they couldn't find an immediate solution, but even after 3 weeks there was absolutely no response on their side. I got a reply after I followed up again though. 3. There are good amount of components for RedShift which are not available for SnowFlake, I hope they would incorporate them as soon as possible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Dana M.
Director of Technology Operations
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Matillion is working great!”

OverallWe are using Matillion to pull API JSON data from various systems and push that data into Snowflake. Matillion is working rock solid.
ProsI don't have to babysit the software. Using automation and integration with AWS, I can get messages if there are issues with any orchestration jobs.
ConsGetting the API pulls working was a little clunky, but it came together relatively quickly utilizing Matillion's support. Their support team is fantastic!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Paul C.
IT Systems Administrator
Sports, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“Have been using Matillion for past 9 months”

OverallWe have developed Data Warehouse for our business using Matillion. We employ 6k+ people, and Matillion was a perfect match for our needs. Storing data in Google Big query allows seamless access to it from other Cloud Products I.E. Google Data Studio. I love the product, and limitless possibilities it gives us. Pulling the data from anything you may think of, transforming it and then outputting into Big Query is very easy and straight forward.
ProsMy background is development and I love the simplicity of the Matillion, you can very easy transform your thought process into blocks in Matillion, and debug any issues at a very granular level.
ConsMatillion crashes from time to time, meaning you need to log back on to the system, but its benefits definitely outweigh this small issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Roger F.
Software Engineer II
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Responsive to User Needs”

OverallGets better and better with each release. Keep up the good work!
ProsI've been using Matillion for about 2 and a half years. I've seen the software improve so much in that time. If I ever found a feature to be lacking, it would be included within the next couple release cycles. The software really seems to adapt as user needs have been evolving. Some of my favorite recent features are the ability to configure some components with just text (really saves me time) and the many Grid orchestration components which allow me to greatly reduce the complexity of the orchestration jobs.
ConsUX is sometimes lacking or inconsistent. For example, let's say my goal is to replace an existing job with a new job of the same name. I delete the old job, and import the new one with the same name. All Orchestration components that used that job will understand to use the new job, but for some reason the scheduler doesn't. Also, jobs will have validation errors simply because the components haven't been validated (grey borders). It can be confusing because you may be searching for an error in your work when all you actually have to do is revalidate the job.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Shun L.
Analyst
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Good Tool, good technical support but customer support team goes down year 2.”

OverallThe tool got us to where we needed to be, but the fact that they overadvertise their bespoke service and dont keep their year 2 pricing after sign-on somehwat in line with year 1 leaves a bad taste. The original suport was fantastic, but they seem to switch you over to lower tier support once you reach year 2.
ProsFlexibility compared to other tools. Allows for easy debugging and getting workarounds done without the need of them building something new or customer support. Great for postgres/redshift integrations.
ConsThe pace of development isnt as fast as I would like. They sell you saying that if a feature isnt in development, they will glady build connectors to benefit the software and the user. However, I have not seen that to be true, their API connector tool is quite frankly not usable. And support around it seems uncertain. Each call I have had with them resulted in some sort of bash/python sort of fix instead of using the component.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Amit S.
Data Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Does the job very well”

OverallI have been using Matillion since September 2018 and at the beginning i didn't like it very much as i dont had hands on experience using Matillion. But later my work has increased a lot using Matillion. So far i have had integrated bunch of sources using Matillion to data warehouse. I am liking it at this moment and no complains.
ProsMatillion ETL is web based ETL tool and very easy to use from anywhere. It has most of the connectors for all data sources which makes my job to complete end to end development.
ConsOne thing I did not like about Matillion is, there is no need of Transformation job. Everything should be done at one place(Should be in Orchestration job). Also, the list of components are different in Orchestration and transformation jobs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Ryan Allen A.
Data Engineer
Insurance, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019

“Matillion for BigQuery - United HealthGroup Data Engineer Review”

OverallVery useful tool. If you're looking for a tool for your analytics data warehouse which is fast, convenient and easy to learn, then this is the tool for you
ProsIts very easy to learn. The UI is great and easy to navigate. It utilized the ELT approach which makes the data integration fast. Security and access control is well implemented and there are a lot of components to use.
ConsIts a one way ETL, I'm using the BigQuery product and all the destination are in BigQuery, it would also be nice if we can load data to the sources.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019
Jesse B.
AVP, Technology
Marketing and Advertising, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Great turnkey solution to ETL and data migrations”

ProsMatillion offers a powerful feature set within a robust UI. There are other options but none have the ease of onboarding that Matillion offers. The API adds a powerful layer to do advanced integrations.
ConsSome threads have become unresponsive while running. This has been rare and was easy enough to resolve by resetting the service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
John S.
ICT Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Powerful, useful, not the easiest thing I've ever learned”

OverallWe are trying to automate as many of our recurring tasks as possible -- things like grabbing data from an API endpoint, manipulating it for our purposes, and updating our own databases for clients. Matillion lets us do a lot of that on a regular schedule and once it's set up, our humans are free to focus on things humans are better at. I found it clunky to use at first, non-intuitive. I did not find the online documentation to be very helpful, I never did find a video tutorial that spoke to my needs, and some of the terminology ("orchestration" and "transformation") I still find a bit opaque, and the division of different types of functions into the blue and green widgets doesn't always make sense to me. But I've managed to put together a fairly complex set of components that does most of what I want it to do, no small thanks to the support team, who are fantastically responsive and offer really good, specific advice within unreasonably short time periods. Their personalized attention is very much what enabled me to get going. I went from essentially hating using Matillion to really enjoying it over the course of a month or two. I'm sure I've only scratched the surface of what it can do but it's very clever and clearly quite powerful.
ProsIts ability to automate repetitive tasks. Also, it has some quite useful built-in database functions that I wish MySQL had -- for example a search/replace function that can use regular expressions.
ConsIt's not very intuitive and not very easy to learn (although the support team is amazingly responsive and helpful).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Brian R.
Enterprise Data Architect
Security and Investigations, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019

“Making my life easier!”

OverallIt's been great. The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues, tuning our instance, and helping to understand the nuances of how it works. It's been a significant reduction in development time since we migrated to Matillion.
ProsSimple, intuitive interface. I replaced a complicated series of scripts, "ETL" products, and Python code with a simple-to-understand Matillion instance.
ConsWe use it on Snowflake for Azure, so there are several features that have not been migrated from the AWS version, yet. An option for a larger server by default in the Azure Marketplace.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“Best and very much compatible ETL for Redshift”

Pros1.)All the components and transfomrations availability 2.)Specially oriented for data ingestion process using all aws services like rds, s3, sns, redshift 3.)easy admin, ssl setup 4.)very easy diagromatical representation of jobs
Consthe latest button change for "switch version"
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Chaitanya M.
BI Engineer
Building Materials, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Simple and easy ELT”

OverallVery nice. Easy and simple tool. Yet a lot possible with python scripting feature.
ProsIntegration with GCP API calls and cloud storage. Easy of access from anywhere. Self documentation. Customer service. Automatic updates.
ConsFailure capture process. Any changes made not needing to be saved. Accidental changes are considered saved at click of the button. No front end customisation available to distinguish between different environments. Having to use 3rd party add ons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
PRANAVKUMAR S.
Project Lead
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019

“Good tool for workflow management”

OverallI am happy with this tool and it has good UI.
Pros- It has very good UI to design the workflow. - It is easy to design the workflow. - It has very good support with persistence storage. Like snowflake, redshift, etc.
Cons- It should also support Azure data warehouse.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019
Christoph L.
BI Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019

“Solution that works fine for almost all applications”

OverallIf you really use your data and work on a daily basis with your data warehouse you should consider using Matillion. We had no downtimes and the service is brilliant. We connected all of our data sources and it works really well. But it got its price. Compared to other solutions the pricing is good for growing businesses.
ProsConnectivity Really good customer service Individual solutions if necessary No downtimes Hosted on Amazon
ConsPretty expensive A bit hard to set up initially
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Marcus Vinícius S.
Back End Developer
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019

“Matillion Usability”

OverallI really like Matillion ETL but I was a bit disappointed with some of its limitations and quirks, like when Twitter updated his API all my jobs stopped working and the only thing I could do was develop everything again without using the Matillion component. When I was trying to make upsert procedures on RDS Databases, I was thrilled that the Matillion component has that option, bit it simply didn't work. It seems like these functionalities haven't got the same attention of the others, I contacted the Matillion support which is simply great and these things are still going to be fixed. When I wanted specific libraries of Python, I couldn't get it working on my instance because pip was out of date and it couldn't be updated. I tried to update and I messed up with my instance. Overall, Matillion is great, when you're creating a flow of data migration and you need to parse the data before and do some automations, but there are some cases when you need something a little more specific, that's when it becomes a pain.
ProsThe ease to use, Matillion has a great set of tools that make complex and difficult process more simple and fast to develop.
ConsThere are many tools in Matillion that doesn't have enough attention and because of that these tools are fragile, while some of them do not work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Online Media, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“First class ETL for everyone”

OverallWe've been able to concentrate all data sources in one place and do a proper transformation and normalization of data to feed the Visualization layer.
ProsEasy to use for non-tech (engineers) users.
ConsLacks testing stage before production and more flexibility to sample data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Adel H.
Tech Lead Engineer
Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“Extremely easy to use, but hits hard limits when dealing with lots of data”

OverallOverall experience isn't so great for the price we pay. Because of our hard limits we have to pay for two instances in order to handle our job loads. That wouldn't be a problem if we were able to scale the EC2 instance the software sits on. It makes no sense why an application has a specific hardware limits. Surely if we can spin up two separate instances to run concurrent jobs that are unrelated to each other, the same principle can be applied when scaling up with more cores/memory etc.
ProsThe ease of use is definitely the strongest aspect of Matillion. The GUI is exceptionally intuitive and even though the application flow speaks for itself, the documentation is also great for additional support.
ConsYou can hit a hard limit quite fast with the hardware when working with concurrent jobs running (Java Heap issues etc). You cannot increase the size of the instance (m4.xlarge) which means it becomes increasingly difficult to optimize. We are always trying to find work-arounds with the amount of data we need to load.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Is Great”

OverallOverall extract and load data strategies is very powerfull
ProsIs easy and is real pay as you use, that is very important for latinoamerica business
ConsThat you can't write in other destinations
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
E-Learning, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Matillion Review”

ProsMatillion is very easy to use. It's simplicity allows you to drag an drop components to easily create orchestrations. It also simple to create shared jobs and use the components.
ConsAlthough there is a decent set of components, they are not very versatile, hence I end up using a SQL script instead. For example, the S3 unload component does not allow one to specify some criteria and some fields are mandatory whereas I would not have to specify such specific criteria when doing this from an SQL script.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Tobias O.
Senior Enterprise Architect
Marketing and Advertising, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“very good ETL Tool with some growing pains”

Overallit helped us a lot to build our Redshift Data Lake from the Scratch
Prosvery easy to use, fast and good Customer Support, many API Connectors out of the box, well integrated in AWS Infrastructure
Conssome Problems regarding Out of Memory lags, sometimes it's better to write custom Code instead of using the Out of the Box API Connectors (faster and more stable)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“A good solution for a one man data shop”

OverallIn the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and running in hours starting from scratch. After a while, it's pretty hard to figure what is where and if more than one user contributes to the flows it can be painful to understand changes.
ProsEasy to learn Visual interface Pretty reliable
ConsVersion control Search Explaining dependencies
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Martin H.
Business Analyst
Media Production, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019

“Intuitive & Flexible”

ProsI love the GUI that Matillion employs - it makes creating and adjusting tasks very simple and transparent.
ConsThe scheduling of tasks is a little tricky, as we have to separately have to schedule the virtual machine to fire up and down. Once this is done though, it works faultlessly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“Great ETL Tool for Business Users”

ProsLogic drag & drop of ETL steps makes the design and documentation of each ETL processes much simpler.
ConsGetting it setup and connected to our data warehouse seemed to be unnecessarily complicated. Luckily tech support is great and helped my DevOps team throughout the process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Ellis C.
Marketing Intelligence Analyst
E-Learning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Very useful product”

ProsThe features and ease of use are good. The transformations act as a documentation for the self because of the readability.
ConsThe customer service is very poor. When they eventually respond to messages it is with an unhelpful response. Generally they will blame us for issues on their end, or they misunderstand the problem completely. It's not what we need from a tool The paid training we took was also pretty basic
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Deepaank Satyam S.
Sr. Associate
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Great product for handling big data flow automation”

ProsThis tool helps in automating etl process.
ConsIntegration with python is limited. Need this feature
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Sudheer S.
Dat Architect
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2019

“Great ELT tool ”

OverallWe use Matillion ELT to manage Data Warehouse. Support team provides consistent work around for issues.
ProsConnectivity to Saas sources. Reliability and Customer Support team
ConsRSD creation for Saas sources that do not have built in connector.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2019
Spencer B.
Analytics Director
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Excellent Product”

OverallWe are able to quickly execute on ongoing ETL projects and ad hoc needs.
ProsEase of use and breadth of functionality.
ConsWe had a billing issue at one point when trying to renew but that was mostly due to AWS Marketplace and not Matillion as a product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Jagdish W.
Senior software engineer
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“User friendly and Advance connectors ”

OverallI was developed around 20 to 50 mapping using Matillion and I don't see any difficulties right know.
ProsUser interface is very easy and any one can mange development things without too much of knowledge. Matillion have very content on official site and It help's a lot to make hands on on this tool. In few click we can connect any database weather it is on premises or cloud. I have extracted data from different source system and loaded in to redshift in very easy and fast manner.
ConsI don't see straight forward job Audit framework. Please try to build nice job monitoring and audit framework.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Karan S.
Data Scientist
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Matillion Review - Excellent overall”

ProsEase of Use and excellent support which makes this software likely to use in comparison to other ELT tools.
ConsDoes not compatibility with Genetics connector like VCF or BAM
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019