Epicor Prophet 21 Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Epicor Prophet 21

A cloud-based business management ERP system for distributors powered by Microsoft Azure. It provides mission-critical, industry specific value to optimize business processes. Prophet 21 runs on any browser improving mobility while allowing access from any device, anywhere. Its built on proven SaaS technologies for lower total cost of ownership (TCO) and is designed to help distribution businesses scale, change, and grow without major system modifications. Learn more about Epicor Prophet 21

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Rod V.
IT Director
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Prophet 21 Review”

OverallWe have experienced a exceptional partnership with Epicor. There have been some bumps in the road but ultimately Epicor listens and responds. We have participated in all of the User Conferences and User Group Conferences. There is an awesome World Wide User Group (WWUG) that is very active and supportive. We have tried to take advantage and apply all of the P21 features that we can and see great return on that effort.
ProsThe application is loaded with features and benefits, particularly on the distribution side of the software. Our business consists of both Light Manufacturing (35%) and Distribution (65%) which is one of the key areas of the P21 functionality. You can search the market and find excellent distribution software and also search the market and find excellent manufacturing software, but try to find one that is excellent in both. P21 is the leader in this area and they are continuing to enhance both "sides" of the application. We also like the Windows environment which makes it very easy for new users to learn the navigation. Epicor has a lot of third party partners and providers that can bring volumes of additional resources and functionalities to the table. The SQL database is open which provides a ton of value when it comes to additional functionalities. I also love the ability to modify the baseline software appearance with Dynachange, and basic functional logic using Business Rules, and many other similar features.
ConsP21 was built on an older database structure and has become limited in modifications such as lengthening the Item ID, or improving speed, and other core database structure. This can be limiting, however the solution most of these has been introduced with the Web enabled P21 application. Otherwise we have had a great experience.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 1, 2019
Hi Rod, Thank you for your feedback on Prophet 21. We are glad you find it easy to use and rich in functionality and connectivity. We also appreciate your views on the partnership. Your feedback really is invaluable. Please reach out to us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and find out more about our reference community. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Brent C.
IT Director
Wholesale, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Great Product - Great Staff”

OverallHave been a P21 "Partner" for over 22 years. I believe that it is the best software fro Distribution on the market, although not the cheapest. They work closely with Microsoft and innovative 3rd Parties as well as internally to continually provide innovation and better performance.
ProsInformation at your fingertips - inventory, orders, sales. Ease of use and scaleability. Ease of forms modification. Keeping up with modern innovations such as cloud and AI
ConsOverall system speed. Base reporting. You can always get what you want in reporting IF you know your Crystal and/or SQL.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 1, 2019
Hi Brent, Thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We're glad to hear that you find it easy to use and scaleable. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Anthony g.
Operations manager
Arts and Crafts, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“P21”

OverallP21 has allowed us to track our production needs, while seemlessly helping us to control on hand inventory levels. Accounting has full visability of all transactions and can easily powerdrill into transactions for support.
ProsProphet 21 offers a complete package with accounting, inventory and light manufacturing modules to businesses of all sizes. The intuitive ease of use, and the ability to customize as needed has made this a very versatile software package.
ConsThis software package is so robust, it feels at times that it is impossible to learn about all of the features within the application. this forces me to depend on consultants and onsite engagements with Epicor employees to find new features that may be applicable to your business process. These engagements while incredibly useful are expensive.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 1, 2019
Hi Anthony, Thank you for your feedback on Prophet 21. We are glad you find it robust and versatile. We also appreciate your comments on further learning. Please reach out to us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share further comments and find out about our reference community. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
John A.
Consultant
Wholesale, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“Prophet 21 ”

OverallP21 is very good in managing my warehouse and all that is in it. The openness of the system allows for easy integration of other product that help make the overall management of the business
ProsWindows
ConsReporting , General Ledger are not very robust.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 9, 2019
Hi John, thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We're glad to hear that the openness of the system is working well for you. Your feedback really is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments. We would like to hear more about the general ledger and reporting and feed this back to the relevant teams. Sincerely The Epicor Social and Communities Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Teresa R.
Controller
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Solid system for distribution business”

OverallAs a 12 year user I'm still learning functionality in P21. It's a good solid system for small to medium business and works well in and for single and multi-location businesses. Support could be a challenge at times but the solutions database and online training has a wealth of knowledge and most of my issues could be resolved there.
ProsAutomation of behind the scenes accounting functions (no more batch processing!!) Navigation is intuitive once you learn the function menus. User group and solutions database is extremely helpful for special applications. 3rd party apps for data query and CRM are easy to connect
ConsEpicor is pricey on custom fixes/solutions Canned reporting is not as strong as I would like

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 1, 2019
Hi Teresa, Thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We are glad that you find it intuitive and easy to connect to. Your feedback regarding canned reporting really is invaluable. Please reach out to us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and find out more about our reference community. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Marilyn G.
CFO
Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“Distribution Software”

OverallWe use the software to run the business and it does fine, but we have to have a lot of other tools to allow us to do some of the critical pieces of the business like procurement . It is not designed to do a highly level analysis need in the supply chain.
ProsThe software is relatively easy to use and the on-line training making bring new staff on board easy.
ConsThe software needs to have a better ability to create custom reports and produce financial statements. The inventory module needs to have more stability to it. We find errors often. The purchasing system is not adequate for a high level supply chain.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on September 26, 2019
Hi Marilyn, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21 We're glad to hear the solution has been easy to learn. However, we're sorry to hear the inventory module has not been stable. Please send us an email to socialmedia@epicor.com with your contact info so we can assist you in delivering a solution. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Greg K.
VP Operations
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Perfect for the Distribution Industry”

OverallWe have been pleased with our choice of software and think Prophet21 is a good partner
ProsFlexible and extensible Priced right Widely used in the Fluid Power Industry Good 3rd party support.
ConsProduction order scheduling is missing at the current time but on the roadmap.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on September 26, 2019
Hi Greg, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the solution is working well for your business. Your feedback is invaluable, and if you would like to send us an email to CustomerReferences@epicor.com, we would be pleased to receive additional comments and tell you about our customer reference program. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
James M.
President
Wholesale, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“15 year user”

OverallWe manufacture and wholesale products and this software is very capable
ProsRobust software that has high end integration modules. SQL platform allows custom integration.
ConsDoes not easily allow mail or email advertising integration. Has a electronic payment module for credit cards, but lacks integration for ACH, Wire Transfers or integration to your banking platform

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 9, 2019
Hi James, thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. We're glad to hear that the integration modules are working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments. We would especially like to hear about the electronic payments and email integrations in order to feed this back to the appropriate teams. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Kevin K.
Quality Assurance and Compliance Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2019

“Prophet 21 Since 2004”

OverallWe incorporate more government regulation obstacles into the software. The software helps so we can plan our next strategic steps.
ProsAdaptability makes the software current with economic trends. We can update with modern technology and still use with legacy equipment.
ConsGlitches that occur during product revision updates. More proof testing, with novice and seasoned users prior to release date might expose issues before a release.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 4, 2019
Hi Kevin, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the software adaptability is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program. Many thanks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2019
michael a.
president
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“User Friendly”

OverallPricing and ordering guidelines are accurate and easily set up. Processing speed is good. Reports are easy to create.
ProsEase of use and almost no down time. Inventory, A/R, and pricing are all "real time".
ConsNewer versions seem to jump around e.g. trying to open one application and getting another.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 1, 2019
Hi Michael, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We are happy that it has been easy to use and set-up. However we would like to hear more about your issues with the newer versions. Please email us at socialmedia@epicor.com and we can assist you. We look forward to resolving it quickly. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018

“Great option for distribution”

ProsIt is widely used by distributors of all kinds of industries. The independent user group is an incredible resource of users that are very helpful to everyone in the group
ConsCosts and resources needed. This is a very robust software package and will need your time to get it setup the way you want it for your business. The good news is that it can be setup for your business.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on September 11, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all of the feedback you have provided. It is great to hear you are involved in the independent users group.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018
Jeff S.
CFO
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“P21”

ProsEasy to use and follow the menus. Very functional.
ConsWeak on reporting capabilities. Can be difficult to deal with credit card payments.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on October 9, 2019
Hi Jeff, thank you for your feedback about Prophet 21. Your comments really are invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to learn about our customer reference program. We would especially like to hear more on the reporting and credit card payment issues in order to feed this back to the relevant teams. Sincerely, The Epicor Social and Communities Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Miguel G.
IT Manager
Furniture, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Solid ERP, not great with customizing features”

ProsIs a solid system, can't remember the last time we had a problem in the last 3 years.
ConsIs hard to find support outside of EPICOR and is not easy to customize.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on September 26, 2019
Hi Miguel, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the solution is working well for your business. Your feedback is invaluable, and if you would like to send us an email to CustomerReferences@epicor.com, we would be pleased to receive additional comments and tell you about our customer reference program. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018

“A robust program with many different options”

ProsThere is so many thing you can do with this program as it relates to your business. Specifically with each customer, their orders, etc along with inventory.
ConsAs mentioned above with so many options, the complexity and different ways to locate the same thing can be overwhelming and take time for those new to the program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2018
Amanda H.
Client Service Rep
Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Epicor Prophet 21 ”

OverallI did learn the system really fast. I love the ease of access.
ProsWhat I like most is how organized P21 is. It keeps all the orders organized and clean. It makes it easy to see what's happening with the order.
ConsThis software can be very glitchy at times. There are times where you can be in the middle of doing something and it will completely shut down on you and close you out of the application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Samuel H.
Sales Representative
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 5, 2019

“EPICOR Potential”

ProsBecause EPICOR uses windows base it makes navigation easy for first time users. Also its DOS orgins still offers the speed of keyboard fast paths.
ConsWhat I like least is actually a function of the restrictions my company puts on us being able to reach peak potential. It takes a lot of training to truly understand the functionality
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Doug S.
Technology Services Manager
Music, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018

“Epicor Prophet 21 is still around and breathing”

ProsStill functions and can help your company get business done.
ConsOutdated and seems a bit de-emphasized by the software manufacturer.

Vendor Response

By Epicor Prophet 21 on September 11, 2018
Hi Doug, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback you have provided. At Epicor, we are committed to the continual improvement and investment in Prophet 21. We will share your feedback internally. Thank you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018