Octopus for Salesforce Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Octopus for Salesforce

Octopus allows you to document all the items in your Salesforce instance. Get information about apex classes, pages, workflows, triggers, objects and much more in a single place. You can also download it as a PDF/Word/Excel file for future reference. Learn more about Octopus for Salesforce

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 47 of 47 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 47 of 47 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Teri W.
CEO
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“A Go-To Free App for Salesforce Documentation”

ProsOctopus lets me see a good overview of a Salesforce instance in just a few clicks. We use this software on each client we work with. And with the no-strings-attached free pricing it is a huge help to Salesforce administrators and reminder of the generosity and community-minded spirit that you so often see in the world of Salesforce users.
ConsI would love to be able to export the results easily to an excel file or generate unique links to this to make it easier to embed the results in a documentation file or wiki, but we have developed some workarounds that suit us fine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Jon H.
Director of Information Technology
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Useful tool with a great price (free)”

OverallLike many others, I adopted an org with a lot of customization and no documentation. I then continued to customize and enhance our utilization without fully documenting all of it. Starting from scratch can be frustrating but having something export metadata details with a few clicks certainly helps facilitate moving in the right direction.
ProsOctopus made it easy for us to export information about almost our entire org in one shot and use as a basis for better documentation.
ConsThe only con, and this goes for every Salesforce documentation tool I've ever found, is there isn't support for Flows (Process Builder or Flow Designer). I think it would be a welcome feature by all users to export a flow diagram of their flows.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospitality, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019

“Useful, but needs to be updated”

ProsWith the price point (free) and feature set, Octopus is a winner. This is the easiest way to get a detailed list of every aspect of your Salesforce instance. There are other ways to access this information individually or by using SOQL queries (like in Workbench) but no other solution I'm aware of that's this point and click easy.
ConsThe interface and output could use an update. The interface should follow the new lightning design language. And the output should/could be more configurable. It ends up looking a bit old style, and for that reason is harder to parse than it should be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019
Cristi H.
Salesforce Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“A Super Useful Tool That Saves Me Tons of Time”

OverallI've been using Octopus for years and love it.
ProsI love the ease of being able to easily export information about our salesforce or without having to go in and scrape it myself into excel. It's a huge time saver.
ConsI wish excel was included in the export formats, though i can easily copy the tables myself using a browser extension.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Johan Y.
Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Get your Salesforce metadata easily”

OverallWe are able to check if fields used in the system easily
Prosability to download the result into Excel, Word and PDF Even you downloaded the information as PDF or Word document, you still can click the Name link to open the real metadata in Salesforce.
ConsIt does not support page layout assignment
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Amber W.
Owner
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Great Tool”

OverallI use it for documentation and is a great tool to review page layouts with clients/end users.
ProsI like using this to gain an understanding of the customizations made to an org.
ConsIts generic and basic looking. There is some limit to downloading all custom and all standard - which requires document editing and can be time consuming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Anthony W B.
Senior Business Analyst
Real Estate, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“Make it part of your toolbox”

OverallIf you are looking for a tool for data research, this is it. I've been using this tool for about 5+ years.
ProsPulls the data tables succinctly and easy to use when looking at the data.
ConsNothing, it does what it's supposed to do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Easy to use”

OverallI downloaded this in order to view components for technical documentation.
ProsIt's very easy to use and I like that you can link directly to the item in the Name column if you need additional information.
ConsI would like the ability to SORT in the 'Details' report. I'm typically looking for items based on Date but can't sort the results, which means i need to copy and past the information into another program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Manny M.
Tech lead - Sr Salesforce developer
Alternative Medicine, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Octopus ”

OverallOverall a very positive experience and I continue to use to this day.
ProsI loved how the entire metadata is available in pdf review. It helped me as a data integrations consultant.
ConsNot allot to dislike. It's a great tool that helps me out when starting a new job.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Octopus works!”

OverallI have been using Octopus for a couple of years. I presented on using Octopus at Dreamforce. The presentation was geared toward new users and to provide them apps I use to help me manage my org as a solo admin.
ProsThis is the best app out there that helps us maintain a "data dictionary". This works really well when you are trying to find out where fields are referenced in formulas or apex. Also helps keep you organized to make sure you are not creating duplicate fields.
ConsThe UI could have a bit of a visual update to match with Salesforce Lightning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Octopus by Astrea Review”

OverallI have to do org assess for a client. Their Salesforce org was 15 years old with lots of customisation. It was a tedious task to document everything. Octopus came in very handy in quickly creating a very detailed documentation that helped my assessment a lot. I got information about all salesforce entities including apex classes, pages, workflows, triggers, objects, fields, validation rules etc. in a single place without any effort. Highly recommended.
Pros - Helps create a very detailed documentation of Salesforce Org - Detail of each selected entity i.e. objects, fields, validations, classes, Visualforce pages, customisations & what not! - A link to each entity in the documentation e.g. click on the link & respective class, validation rule etc. will be opened directly!
Cons - Sometimes if an Org is very heavy in terms of customisation then it takes too much time to get all the data. So I rerun Octopus by selecting lesser items.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Amanda S.
Salesforce Consultant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“Game changer when producing documentation for clients”

OverallCustom configuration documentation (custom objects, custom fields, workflows, process builder, reports, etc)
ProsAs a consultant, it's incredibly easy to set up customizations ad usual then click a couple of buttons and auto-document configurations and setup. Also great that it auto links back to record/setup in Salesforce
ConsI wish there was more functionality with customizing the format/layout of the generated document (both in word and pdf)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Deneen G.
CRM Manager
Building Materials, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“Saved me many hours of time and helped created system documentation.”

OverallWe have used Octopus to document two different Salesforce systems. It saved many many hours. We will continue to use it going forward!
ProsEasy to install and easy to use. The output saved me so many hours when I had to document our system.
ConsWould be great to output an ERD of object we select.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Josh D.
Salesforce Administrator
Staffing and Recruiting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Quick Easy Setup and Gets me the Information I need”

ProsIt is an extremely easy way to let me know what is happening in my Salesforce instance without having to run multiple time-consuming reports or queries.
ConsWorks better in classic compared to lightning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“Quick and painless data collector”

OverallIt's a useful tool to get a view into the back-end without having to click around forever. Reports can also be shared with internal stakeholders from the tool--this saves time and trouble trying to do it by oneself.
ProsI was able to get a quick view of what reports had been made by users but effectively abandoned. Showed me lots of clutter. Very useful in debugging APEX classes or other things that might be hidden or forgotten.
ConsNo complaints. simple enough to use--you might forget you installed it--which is ironic since I used it to find what was forgotten. Can't fix bad habits.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Straightforward with no frills.”

ProsIt allows us to easily document our current system, choose the exact items we want to include and export to a workable format while allowing us to still make comments on what we are taking. The software is simple and easy to use with no frills, but it gets the job done and saves us time in the long run when working with clients.
ConsThe software is a little basic, and the design is a little lacking for those that want something with a more sophisticated look.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Nupur S.
Associate Technical Lead
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“Awesome App”

ProsEase of documenting the components, really saves a lot of efforts
ConsNothing to be precise. It's a wonderful product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Pharmaceuticals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Documentation”

OverallQuick solution to document picklist values for customer
ProsQuickly create configuration documentation
ConsData extract options are limited, report 'look' is not modifiable
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Mike H.
SR CRM Consultant
Information Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Very Usefule App Exchange App”

OverallAs a platform app builder with some admin responsibilities too, I need quick and easy searchable metadata access. There are other apps that do this, but they either cost, or are clunky to install/use
ProsQuick and searchable access to loads of metadata Easy to install Easy to use Onscreen and pdf output Can copy output and paste into Excel
ConsAccess to some metadata takes additional setup That additional setup needs more detailed instructions Highly customized SF Orgs can take a LOOOOOONG time to run, even when selecting only one metadata type. Taking too long seems to "time out" and there is no notification the report will not be generated
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Great free tool”

ProsHelps with data governance and change management
ConsProvides a very large PDF, would love a way to filter out the report
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Amanda S.
Salesforce Admin
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Great for Overall Review of SF Instance and Documentation”

OverallCleaning up old processes set up that are no longer in use and documenting current and new processes.
ProsThe ability to export fields, workflows and other automation rules really helps evaluate everything set up in your instance. Coming into an org after another admin had already set up Salesforce really helped me get a sense of what the previous admin had set up and help document current state and new automation and setup as we build.
ConsI wish the export was easier to manipulate once exported (maybe excel would be helpful)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Octopus Review”

OverallReally great free tool.
ProsAllows me to easily document my clients SF org. Easily get info with one click. What a great product!
ConsThe Octopus for Salesforce software has no cons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Great free tool ”

ProsFor a free product, it is a great way to easily access metadata and settings in salesforce
Consformat is not visually appealing, and there is no ability to pull flows
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Keegan A.
Business Ops
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Good product though the ease of use could be better.”

OverallWe wanted to pull data on all our triggers and workflows without having to go in a manually get it. This made it easy to do and saved us a lot of time.
ProsI love how this allows you to pull workflows, trigger, and apex class information. Many other apps that are similar to Octopus only pull fields.
ConsThe outputted document could be better. It is hard to filter for the data you actually want to see so you have to search for it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Octopus is a valuable tool for any Administrator”

OverallDocumenting an instance is time consuming. Octopus frees you up to perform other important tasks.
ProsOctopus is very intuitive to use. Documenting an instance is critical to understanding and supporting your users. Octopus is perfect for this.
ConsNothing really to complain about. Maybe a bit dated in the interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Mahesh D.
Sr. Tech Architect
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Octopus for Salesforce”

ProsEasy to document whole salesforce instance information
ConsIf it support additional components then it will be helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019

“Documentation Guru for salesforce”

OverallI liked it and used for many instance where cutomer ask for documentation on technical aspects
ProsProvide all documentation like objects, Classes, permissions, Record type, Triggers. It provide documentation of all most all type whihc is required by a developer
ConsLinking between documentation can be better
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019
AJAY V.
Consultant
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019

“Know Schema”

OverallLove overall for the option to select user specified schema.
ProsGood that, its easy to know all Apex classes, schema in a document of all items. Provides an option to select required schema and not all of them everytime.
ConsWould love if custom object schema is provided in Excel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“It's an Awesome ”

OverallWe cut down lot of hours by using this application
ProsUser experience is the best. Getting the expected results is a simple job now with this application. It simplified our work, rather life
ConsI hope it will be also available to other platforms
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Will C.
Functional consultant
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Honest review”

OverallOverall good experience
Pros- Some clients love system documentation and this really does give everything they want
Cons- The layout when generating the documentation is old, would be good to have the option to select from some themes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Airlines/Aviation, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019

“An indispensable tool for a Salesforce Administrator”

OverallOctupus offers additional operational maturity for a small business without extensive overhead.
ProsThis tool is critical for backups, documentation, and appropriate change management. It provides one with a 5000ft view of the Salesforce design that can be reviewed prior to deploying changes for caution.
ConsIt's rather simple in features but that's not necessarily a bad thing - it accomplishes my goals.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019
Dawn A.
Consultant
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“Great software”

OverallI use Octopus to analyze customer systems, it gives a great overall picture of how the system is being used.
ProsEase of use, easy download and install. It organizes data in a readable usable way with simple output.
ConsOutput to other programs did not format data correctly. Had to use a screen capture to get some of the data in a different format.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Cathy S.
Director of Operations
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“easy to use!”

Overallit helps me but sometimes is slow
Prossimple, affordable, collaborative with salesforce
Consglitchy, sometimes slow and hard to maneuver
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Renaud H.
Developper
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Generally nice to use”

OverallSatisfying
ProsNice user experience Easy to navigate through pages
ConsHard to reason about Not used with SalesFoces: steep learning curve
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Thomas P.
Salesforce Admin
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“Great product to quickly learn about instance”

ProsEasy to install and start using right away
ConsThe descriptions on fields were shifted in the outputted report but it was still very helpful
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Entertainment, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Complex, yet efficient”

ProsCovers all the Data sources on the platform
Consnot very user-friendly. It could use some robust toturial as well as documentation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Tina M.
developer
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“ Octopus by Astrea Review”

OverallIt showed great promise a year ago and if there have been additions it will be a solid app for people.
ProsI liked the reports and the format everything came out to read and follow along for users
ConsI didn't like how we had to go to an outside site and there wasn't enough documentation or speed of contact to stick with the app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Package/Freight Delivery, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“A great way to get to know your Salesforce instance!”

OverallGreat product! I've used it in many instances and love how there are various options for the output and there's the ability to save it for historical reference.
ProsEase of use! Makes documenting your org much easier.
ConsI really cannot thing of any negatives.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Garima T.
Salesforce Admin
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019

“Octopus Review”

OverallOctopus is a small but overall a good app. I have used this app mainly when I have to create a technical doc which contains information regarding all the classes, objects, Automation process, etc(Used in a project)
Pros1- Easy to Use 2- Easy to configure 3- Download as a pdf, doc 4- Can see many objects, apex class and other information only on one page
Cons1- Does not work for lightning component
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019
Razae M.
CRM Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Custom field ease of use ”

ProsEasy to install and the descriptions and data type of fields on custom objects is very helpful
ConsField description does not capture only the help text . The field description is what is used to explain to developers and it not end-user focused
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Nick S.
Lead Architect
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Octopus for Breaking Games ”

OverallWe are bringing Admins, Developers, and Architects up to speed very quickly.
ProsWe can figure out all the issues for any software impact for an older legacy system. We have a five-year-old Salesforce Ord, where multiple developers have modified without any documentation. This tool documents the system
ConsThe tools need an interactive with a search meta type of UI
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Building Materials, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Org Snapshot - Great Product”

ProsIt was very easy to use to get a snapshot of our overall org in order to document all the custom processes that had been built out.
ConsMy use case was pretty simple, I didn't really have any issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Samratha E.
Salesforce Amdinistrator
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“Great Product”

ProsThis is very helpful tool to pull a report on Salesforce customization in our org. It is just one click button to get neat and clean data where Salesforce was not able to provide these features, luckily found this product. Happy customer!
ConsSo far it is capturing all my requirements. No cons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Jacquelyn O.
Sales Operations Manager
Chemicals, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Great Tool When You Inherit an Org”

OverallI joined a new company and took responsibility for a 3-year old instance with zero documentation. Octopus made the scavenger hunt much easier and I reference this document often.
ProsSuper easy to implement from the AppExchange Analyzes your org in minutes Options to view online or download as PDF, word or Excel Hyperlinks to pages and processes
Conswould have loved additional field data: i.e. where it it used (what page layouts or record types) and how often is it used (Number of records and % completion)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Uday S.
Business Analyst
Consumer Electronics, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“Octopus use”

OverallWe had a gap where we did not have a developer on board and as a Administrator was able to identify the custom class used for an object easily
ProsI got what I want - Easily able to find the Apex class used in a certain area
ConsEasy to use - able to extract the results what I want to find
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Mah N.
Salesforce Admin
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“It is easy to use ”

OverallOctopus good to document what it has implemented in Salesforce, so far.
Prosyou will get most of the information but not all of it.
Consyou will get most of the information but not all of it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“A bit rudimentary but gets the job done”

OverallHas been useful for mapping out current state Salesforce orgs.
ProsEasy to install and runs fairly quickly. Does allow me to get a quick read on all objects and their fields (primarily used to do current state analysis on Salesforce Classic to Lightning migrations).
ConsCan only run reports on one object at a time; can't get a full report of all objects/fields in one pass.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019