Live Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Live

Wavetable for the music industry Learn more about Live

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Omar e.
Music Producer/DJ and Mix Engineer
Music, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2019

“Ableton Live is worth it.”

OverallLive is my go to performance tool, when it comes to Djing, looping and liver performance. It's my secondary recording tool when I'm looking for inspiration, or a different work space.
ProsAbleton Live is an amazing and intuitive tool for music creation. Something it does differently than other digital audio workstations on the market is the 'session view.' Creating clips and testing them on the fly feels a lot more like a performance instead of the tedious music creation process of working in a linear view that most other DAWs employ. Other things that make Live work well for me: - Easy sidechaining and routing options within the native plugins - Unlimited input channels for effects and signal processing. - The ability to route audio and record into another empty audio channel from a channel that has a vst or synth on it. - Very in depth Dj and performance tool. - Lives built in effects, synths and samplers are top notch. - It's among the most popular DAWs on the market, so there's tons of tutorials available all over the web to help you learn Live quickly!
ConsThere are a few complaints I have about Live, as a whole: - I wish they could set up better sidechaining for third party vst plugins. As it is now, sidechains are easy to set up with Live's native plugins but you need to complete a strange work around for any third party plugins. - The mixer could have a bit more functionality added to it such as, mixer snapshots so you can A/B mixes, VCA channels, and different panning modes. - Ableton Live recording could be better. Things like recording lanes and audio comping could improve the workflow. - Deeper midi would be great too. - One of the most expensive DAWs on the market.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2019
Chuck E.
Campus Worship Pastor
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2019

“Amazingly Versatile! And Amazingly complicated!”

OverallLive Helped is get started running a metronome and tracks with our band. It smoothed out transitions between service elements. Also, was much more affordable option for upgrading our keyboard sounds than purchasing a new keyboard. For theatrical elements it is a great sound board for FX. But most important, it open our eyes to an amazing new world of possibilities when it comes to live performance!
ProsAbleton Live can do a lot of stuff! There are so many need that It has met. These include: running background audio tracks, editing audio, recording, triggering sound FX , a keyboard sound module, metronome, etc. I have used it for each of these, and it did amazing!! It can also automate your lights, projector slides, and more! Also , you can render you set list to a single folder and share your work to with ease. This came in handy when we didn't have a live programmer at another campus. One person could program and post the master folder online so the other campus could easily load the set into their computer with out having to physically drive all over the place. Not only does it run tracks, but it also alows you to change EQ, compression, verb, pitch and tempo of the tracks.
ConsThere is a bit of a learning curve. For a mostly volunteer ran organization , like ours, this can be challenging. But it really depends on what you need it for. If it's a sound module for a keyboard player or if running tracks in "Session Veiw", it can be simple to program and operate. But the more advanced features that make it truly a special peice of software take a bit of time commitment. They also require some more than average technical and musical knowledge. We previously used ableton weekly. In recent years, it gets used a little less. This is mostly because others apps like, "playback", and "loopcoommunity Prime", offer more user friendly and quicker results. That is , if your just doing tracks and metronomes with simple transitions. There are sill some features that live does best. so, we still keep it in use for events that require more customization and variety. However it is usually not a volunteer who will program or run it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2019
Aaron D.
Student
Business Supplies and Equipment, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Daily Ableton User”

ProsCompared to other DAWs, digital audio workstations, Ableton has a cleaner and simpler looking layout. This simplicity helps producers to navigate through the software with much more ease. Everything is integrated into one window, which really helps the workflow. It eliminates the need for cluttering multiple windows plus plugins, thus giving it a very clean and enjoyable experience. Furthermore, Ableton's session view is awesome. It presents clips in almost a grid-like format, almost like a spreadsheet, thus giving a sleek and easy to follow layout.
ConsWith Ableton, there is a learning curve. Compared to other DAWs, it is a bit harder to learn and understand the process of "making" music. You must put in the time to learn ALL the components in order to truly use the software to its full potential. The price of Ableton seems to be a bit high. Also, compared to other DAWs, like Logic, Ableton seems to lack in their production tools. Its EQ, compressor, effects, etc. seem to lack compared to others.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Matthew B.
Owner / Music Director
Music, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“The best and most creative music production software”

ProsThe workflow and routing systems within Ableton offer a ton of flexibility and creative methods and approaches. The support and integration with Max4Live is an absolute beauty. Always being a fan of open source and community contributions makes this software on the whole much more of an integrated and firmly entrenched cultural software.
ConsThe price for upgrades and perhaps for Suite overall is too high. For traditional analog board users, the workflow might present initial challenges but if you can get through it and adapt you realize the vast creative potential it offers
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019
Kyler S.
Production Tech
Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019

“Ableton Is King”

OverallAbleton Live is for users who want full control over their music and backing tracks. From sending midi cues to other programs, to splitting backing tracks into multi-out puts, Ableton is the king when it comes to recording DAWS
ProsThe ability to do just about anything you can imagine audio wise both recording, and multi-track outs. All around just amazing.
ConsIt does have quite a learning curve, due to how in depth the program is. I still don't understand everything Ableton can do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Entertainment, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Why would anyone use anything else?”

OverallThe best music software ever made.
ProsEverything. The workflow is perfect. Everything is right in front of you and once you spend a little time with it, it will just keep showing you more and more. As far a production software goes, there is nothing better.
ConsIt has become pretty heavy on the CPU usage but I'm sure 90% of that is because of my computers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Daniel D.
student
Music, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Ableton live is a great to make music and samples.”

OverallI have been using this program for a long time, and it has been a great benefit throughout my music career to share my music with others.
ProsI loved how there are so many sounds and gadgets you can use to produce many songs and samples to share throughout the world. It is a great program to use when I want to edit a certain song and create many remixes and sounds.
ConsI wish there was a more descriptive tutorial of how to use all of the programs and details of how to create sounds and edit songs and etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Marc L.
Web and Graphic Designer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019

“Ease of use, VST support, TIME-STRETCHING!”

OverallI have yet to utilize Live for live performance (ironically). I have seen several artists use to to great affect.
ProsI moved from Reason to Live due to the time-stretching abilities & VST support of Ableton. Using Ableton reminds me of the ease of use I had back in the day when I started on Acid Pro (over 20 years ago). This software has the power to support recording in live and plays nice with all of my VSTs. Highly recommended, top tier DAW.
ConsNothing really. There is always a learning curve with DAW's. Ableton is no different. That said, you expect something of a learning curve when you're using such a powerful application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019
Timo K.
webdeveloper
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“I simply love this software.”

OverallBest DAW I have used so far.
ProsThe way you work with ableton is significantly different to all others DAWs I've tried. Especially if you combine it with ableton push, the ease of use by having all possibilities intuitively available is just awesome. The only downside is the price, but I've never regretted buying it about 8 years ago and doing all the upgrades. Since about a year I haven't used it anymore because I travel and have no equipment.
ConsI found it sometimes hard to deal with external devices if you record the output. There is a latency which needs to be properly configured. There is a setting for this on each track but I haven't figured out how to configure it correctly that it works all the time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Glenn M.
Technical Director
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019

“Amazingly powerful”

ProsThe possibilities are endless. With Live, one can make the music that they love, mix and master it, and perform live sets as well! The built in plugins are some of the best Stock plugins in any DAW.
ConsThe thing that might be enhanced would be a place to see multiple channels plugins all at once.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Amazing DAW Great for Making Electronic Music and More”

OverallMakes playing live without acoustic drums a reality!
ProsAbleton has lots of built in instruments and reverbs and a relatively easy-to-understand interface. My favorite part of Ableton is it's functionality with the Push 2 controller. The Ableton Push makes playing live using samples, loops, and effects fun and a breeze.
ConsAbleton sometimes feels less intuitive than built-for-recording programs like Logic, Protools, or Reason. Interface feels "backwards" compared to other DAWs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Thomas B.
Music Producer
Music, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“The best DAW out there”

ProsThe modularity, the ease-of-use, the vast amount of available instruments
ConsI don't think there's any real cons. Just good stuff.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Blake B.
IT Student Representative
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“Very innovative software”

OverallIt has been a longer learning process than with other DAW's, but Ableton is the best software by far to use for live use.
ProsThis software us unlike any other DAW I've used. It is not quite as intuitive initially, but once you understand the features it is incredibly powerful and user-friendly.
ConsIt is somewhat complicated to learn, but there is not much you can do about that since that is the nature of the approach the creators used.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019