Visual Studio Code Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.3/5

About Visual Studio Code

Source-code editing tool for MacOS, Windows and Linux. Learn more about Visual Studio Code

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 323 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 323 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Jefferson B.
Full-stack Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2019

“Best editor I've used for web projects”

OverallSo far it's the best editor I have used for web projects, specially for front-end projects. For some languages though it may be a better idea to use a specialized editor.
Pros- Updated frequently. - Has many useful extensions, from adding support to a certain language to performing simple tasks like auto formatting import declarations. - It works specially well with JavaScript and TypeScript, with fast and reliable auto-completing and linting features, and has an amazing Angular framework extension. - It's very light to run. Even with a lot of extensions active it still runs well on older computers. - It comes right out of the box with a very powerful and easy to use git tool. - Its text editor has a lot of accessibility and quality of life simple yet nice to have features, like easy zoom-in and out, line wrapping, auto trim of trailing white spaces, multi cursor, among others.
Cons- Currently it doesn't work so well with Python and it's very limited with C#, even with both having official extensions. - Its debugger, while very powerful, isn't so easy to set up, and more than once I simply preferred to just use the browser's debugger instead.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Jason H.
Web Developer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Best code editor out there! Love it!”

OverallOverall this is amazing, I wouldn't trade this code editor for anything. I used to use Coda on the Mac, and even though I miss the absolute elegance of that app, the features in VS Code overwhelm Coda to the point where I can't justify using it. I love VS Code. It does practically everything I could ever imagine wanting a code editor to do, and (for the most part) has a very clean and workable UI.
ProsThis is an extremely well-featured code editor that also runs quickly. It is highly configurable and has an amazing plugin system with a huge selection of user-made plugins that can improve your workflow. Despite not being a fan of almost anything else Microsoft has ever designed or created, this software is an absolute TREASURE and the gold standard of code editors. Nothing comes anywhere near it in terms of competition in this space.
ConsThe only thing I find mildly annoying is the documentation. Everything is so heavily developer-centric, and the settings are stored in JSON files. That's fine, but most of the documentation makes a bunch of assumptions about your basic knowledge and doesn't spell out how to actually get things done. Sometimes I have to do a lot of googling just to figure out how to change a basic setting. This is somewhat of a minor complaint and often comes down to the plugin authors, but even Microsoft's own documentation when explaining how to turn new features on is often lackluster and requires a lot of pre-existing knowledge.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019

“Full-featured, user friendly IDE”

OverallVisual Studio Code does it's job as an integrated development environment very well. I use it every single day and it makes the task of editing code as painless as it can be. It's highly configurable and there are thousands of extensions available for getting even more from it.
ProsThe first great thing you'll notice about Visual Studio Code (or vscode) is how easy it is to install and configure. Users of Windows, Mac OS and most Linux distributions will find easy-to-use installers on the website, while other distributions often have their own packaged versions available in distribution-specific package managers. After installing vscode, if you open a file type that has extensions available, vscode recommends an extension to install and manages the install process for you. I work with Go; vscode has very good support for working with .go files (with the help of a few extensions). Installing and using linters, formatters and debugging tools are all taken care of. Extensions are another big positive - there must be thousands available, covering things like support for different programming languages, spellchecking, changing the theme of the entire app, integrations with other development tools, and plenty more that I haven't thought of. Of course, the main job of an integrated development environment (IDE) like vscode is to make coding easier, and vscode does good job of this. As well as support for the standard text editing features that you'd expect from any tool, vscode provides extra features to help programmers, such as jumping to definitions of a function, automated refactoring, snippets, editing with multiple cursors, and more. Oh, and vscode is free, for private or commercial use.
ConsI really don't have much negative to say about this software. It does its job fantastically, and I use it every day. I would say that support may not be on the same level as you would expect from an enterprise level support contract, since it's free software, but I have also never needed support. The team developing vscode are also constantly introducing new features and improving old ones.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Modern and functional code editor - Visual Studio Code”

OverallOverall, I am very satisfied with the Visual Studio Code. It has a nice design and it faster than other code editors available. After using it for years, I have realized that using Visual Studio Code has increased my productivity while coding because of its immense array of functionalities.
ProsI have to say that Visual Studio Code has plenty of features I love and use every day. However, if I have to choose one, then it would be git integration. It is just amazing. It works flawlessly and makes submitting your code into Github piece of cake. I think, after the release of Github pull request extension, support for the git integration is now in its pique.
ConsHonestly, it is very hard to find something wrong with the VS code. But, I must say they need to make top bar panel at least different shade or shape in Linux distributions since it looks very much similar with the Ubuntu's top panel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Aditya D.
Web Developer Intern
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“A hollow shell of an IDE, which given the proper extensions is unstoppable”

OverallA+. This IDE is nearly perfect.
ProsThe extensions are what make this IDE so good. This IDE starts simple and small. Built for executing JS code. But, add extensions to run other languages, and it does that too as if it was built to do that from the ground up. And it doesn't just stop at supporting other languages. Because of the sizable amount of Open source and freemium extension developer community, the features that can be added to this IDE is mind boggling. It starts as an empty shell. But boost it up with the extensions and this thing is a beast. And not to mention the themes. Oh the dark themes are love.
ConsAt this point it's nit picking, but the maybe have an user manual or guide for fresh coders. I would suggest everyone who is starting to code to start on Visual Studio Code. But, without proper guidance or the know how as to what to do about certain stuff( eg. setting the debug config json, or the Chrome live server), it becomes a little cumbersome to read stackoverflow and do it. It is perfectly fine for people who have been coding for a while now, but for people who are starting, it would be a big help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Jonathan S.
Designer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Visual Studio Code is a Fast, Extensible Text Editor for macOS”

OverallVS Code is a fast, powerful editor than can be extended by a robust ecosystem of plugins.
ProsVS Code is built on the familiar, extensible paradigm that Textmate, Sublime Text, and Atom pioneered. It is faster than Atom, though the UI is not as polished. It has comparable speed to Sublime Text, though it falls down a bit on large files. The interface is cleaner, and easier to extend than Sublime Text.
ConsVS Code requires some configuration to be optimal. This can be done via its settings.json file and it is still not as fast and powerful as a native editor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Florian M.
Test engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019

“Amazing piece of Software!”

OverallI use it mainly as a replacement for Notepad++ since that works only on windows. After 6 months of use i could do almost anything i could do with N++! Its really super quick (after indexing, mind you) and does everything you need it to do, especially with Plugins.
ProsThere are Plugins for literally everything! Once you have the folder you want to open indexed the following openings are amazingly fast and search in the folder even for text in files is crazy qucik.
ConsStarting out can be quite overwhelming. Some plugins are hard to setup, allthough thats not really something happening on Microsofts side to be fair Somekeycombos can be hard on the german layout
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Ernesto Enrique F.
Web Operations Manager & Co-Founder
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“Fast and full featured development software”

OverallWith VS Code I have found everything I need in a text editor to develop websites, fast, light and multiplatform. It has given me the opportunity to continue programming regardless of the fact that my computer is not so powerful.
ProsWithout a doubt, what I like most about Visual Studio Code is how fast it works on my computer. One click on the icon and it quickly opens with the last document on which I was working. It has a simple interface to use (see cons) and very neat, everything is easily found when you are working. Widely recommended for web development since it works perfectly with languages such as PHP, Javascript and both processed and preprocessed styles. Another feature that I love, is that it has integrated GIT, you can commit, push and version your work directly from the editor. Additionally, it has a powerful search engine to add extensions, turning the editor into an app with an endless number of great features   Finally it has support for all operating system versions, I use it on Mac, Windows and Linux without any problem.
ConsThe editor works perfectly, but it has something that I do not like, when you want to configure something of the application, you have to do it with code and it is a bit complicated to set the parameters since I do not know all the commands available for the configurations. This happens a lot with the extensions that configuring them in the editor is sometimes a headache. I think they should improve the configuration interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Stacey R.
Owner
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“Best editor ever”

OverallI have never been so happy with a code editor. Everything just works so well. Any settings that I want to tweak to suit my style of coding are just a few seconds away thanks to the fact that so many questions regarding Visual Studio Code have already been asked and answered and Google knows all about them!
ProsSo easy to install extensions to make software development a breeze. I use Visual Studio Code exclusively for PHP web development. Support for PHP intellisense and debugging takes seconds to install; just search "PHP" in the extensions library and the best tools (by Felix Becker) can be installed with single clicks. Clear and easy to follow instructions for ensuring debugging works out-of-the-box are provided.
ConsThe default install of Visual Studio Code has a "mini-map" of code on the right hand side of each editor. I find this distracting. It only took a minute, thanks Google, to find out how to get it to vanish. Apart from that, I can't think of anything that let me down with Visual Studio Code.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Alex T.
Front-End Developer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Simple, yet powerful code editor with cross-platform support”

ProsVisual Studio Code has become my code editor of choice for each of my persona and business machines. The rest of my development team also use this software as their main editor as well for many reasons. Not only is Visual Studio Code incredibly quick, it also supports virtually every major programming language out there, making debugging a breeze. Visual Studio Code, like many other code editors, includes a add-on system where you can install third party packages that can further increase the speed of your workflow.
ConsOne of the most frustrating parts of using Visual Studio Code, in my opinion, is a specific bug that affect the terminal window when opening a project on an drive separate from the startup drive. This bug shows an empty terminal and requires you to return to the next line on the command prompt in order to escape it. It's a small bug but it is certainly a hassle when it is something that you in into on a daily basis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Avatar Image
dishant s.
crowd sourcing
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“Great code editor”

OverallOverall, the VS code is a great tool to do development work. It had improved our overall development speed.
ProsIn simple words, the Visual Studio Code is a gem for most of the programmers out there. With an extensive list of available plugins to install, it has made any development task a lot easier. Visual Studio contains a lot of helpful features like the code highlighter, bug tracking, etc., to help a programmer significantly improve the code.
ConsIt sometimes crashes or got hanged when I am using it in my Ubuntu 18.04. When I tried to contact the support regarding the issue, I didn't get an immediate response which I was expecting from a Microsoft offering.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Vinoch S.
Senior Software Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019

“Best text editor in the market which took over the Notepad++”

OverallVS Code is a best in class product that you can use it as your text editor. Light weight, good performance and have nice visualization (colorful) of showing codes in all languages.
ProsI used to remember the days where everyone used Notepad++ as there text editor even I. Visual Studio Code simply took that place and I can see everyone uses VS Code as their primary text editor. I use VS Code in my Mac and VS Code does heavy work and never got stuck. Provides vast variety of extensions for languages and tools.
ConsIt provides frequent updates which is good at the same time it is kind of irritating. Whenever I open VS Code in a week at least I get two updates which I find it bit difficult to update every time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Juan Carlos G.
Lider de area de desarrollo IA
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“My default IDE”

OverallVisual studio tool is my working tool every day. I wish this was created before in order to concentrate all the tool i use when developing with easy plug ins that help me on the way. I made several frande to change form notepad ++ or sublime ,atom to this tools
ProsFree to use, free to customize, several plugins, terminal( with in Linux capable : i love do ls instead dir),Several lenguage support, working community doing plug ins, comunnity help, customizable appereance, small you dont have to install all the features of visual studio.
ConsSome issues with several terminals in one project , but when you know how to trigger it you can avoid it .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Yasiru G.
DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“Best text editor for a Developer”

OverallOverall experience is really good. VS Code community is really good. VS Code users have support from all types of people in their community. Also the ease to use and user friendliness makes the experience better than their competitors.
ProsAbility to customize the editor according to the user preference is really good. There are thousands of useful plugins which helps users to their workflows easier and better. So no matter what is the language you're using you got plugins. And the User interface is really straight forwards and simple.
ConsI didn't like the way VS Code has integrated Git. It is easier to clone a git repository using the integrated terminal using command line tools.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Sergei Edoardo G.
Sr. Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“It's good. So good in fact, it risks making paid IDEs obsolete.”

OverallVisual Studio Code has removed the need for purchasing an expensive IDE to get a class leading developer experience. We are extremely happy with it.
ProsVisual Studio Code's greatest asset is how insanely good and powerful it is as a Front End developer's main editor, while still being a free product. Out of the box, it already comes with powerful features like Code Debugging and Smart Code Analysis that used to be exclusive to big IDEs like Microsoft's more fully fledged Visual Studio and Jetbrains' Webstorm. And should you need more powerful, it's incredibly extensible nature has you 100% covered. Meaning that if there's something it can't do, odds are there is probably an extension out there that does it for you.
ConsVisual Studio Code's is hard not to like, and even harder to critique being as good a product as it is. But if I was forced to complain, it might be that the stock editor theme is not exactly pretty. Then again, this can be easily switched installing a custom theme.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Ankit B.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019

“If you love to code, you will love it too”

ProsIts the best IDE out there according to me. First of all its size is super compact and it supports mostly all the popular programming languages. I majorly use it for PHP, HTML, CSS & javascript & it works like a charm. It short cuts & AI closes the unclosed html tags very efficiently. It debugging is also very effective & easy to use. The best part is that its free to use.
ConsOne thing i found annoying in VSC is when we open same named files it renames it to (name number) which sometime effects the type of file & it loose the colors. This should be solved somehow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019
Caleb J.
Junior Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“Visual Studio Code - Powerful code editor”

OverallVisual Studio Code is an awesome source code editor and I urge you to give it a swing, you will not regret it.
ProsAlthough Visual Studio Code is classified as a lightweight source code editor, it is by no means lightweight when it comes to its power. You can consider it to be a balance between a text editor and an IDE because it posses features like syntax highlighting and autocomplete from the text editor side but also has features like debugging from the IDE side. In addition, it has Git commands built-in which allows you to run all your favorite commands without leaving the code editor. If you want more features you can do so by installing extensions to add themes, add new languages etc which will all run in completely different processes which will ensure that your editor remains at top speed and will not experience any lag due to these additions. Visual Studio Code natively supports TypeScript, JavaScript and Node.js; however, it has a large ecosystem of extensions for many more languages, making it the code editor of your choice. Let us not forget that on top of all the power, features and customization, VSCode remains free and you can run it on your Windows, macOS and Linus machines with no limitations.
ConsI would like for it to natively support editing and browsing remote files, rather than using and extension.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Luis Daniel R.
Lead Application Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Best Editor all around”

OverallEvery day at work you'll see me with Visual Studio Code open because it has become a big part of my work routine. I edit scripts on it, use extensions and use it for git management and conflict solving.
ProsVisual Studio Code is amazing! I use this Code Editor for my work in Unity, Ionic, some C# code editing, even Conflict solving. It does everything. The best part about the editor is the insane amount of community and official extensions you can add to it to make it do whatever you need to do. There's live share, there's whiteboard, there's voice chat, there's text chat, git management, git lens and I can go on. You can make it read and detect the syntax of almost any kind of language and work on it from the editor! I love it!
ConsI wish it could edit C# projects by default and not have to rely on some extensions, .Net Core is becoming a big thing and having to rely on extensions or complicated setups to compile or run a .Net core Project from it, can be a tad annoying. Also since it's based on Electron tech, it can take a lot of resources or feel sluggish on older PCs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Pedro P.
web programmer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“best IDE to develope..almost anything”

Overallreally good experience, I used daily and for programmers is a must to use
Prosit's by far the best IDE to develop/programming, it has a large number of plugins, it's fast! especially the search and the integration with git even to do merge!
Conssomething when you update it, it keeps freeze and you need to uninstall and install again, also the notifications for new plugins if you close it, it will show it again
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Adithya U.
Senior Software Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Visual Studio Code : The best free IDE available in market”

Pros* Free and open source software which supports almost all the programming languages out there. * Rich extensions support. * Out of box syntax highlight for most of commonly used languages. * Git integration for easy commit/code maintenance * Fast and can easily work with large codebase using this. * Terminal access which makes it easy to run commands.
Cons* Takes some time to get used to the UI . * Installing new extensions/plugins is not easy process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Claudio Ivan M.
Full-stack Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“One of the best code editors.”

OverallIt is free, so that is a grate advantage from others of its kind (like sublime text), but its also grate. The community makes alot of extensions for it so you can useit for your node js projects, or for coding in java, c ++, c #, python, and more. You can use this software for debug purposeif (again) you find the correct extension, and perhaps this is the key in this, becuse the people constantly are making and improving the extra tools for visual studio code. If you need a code editor, this is a very good and cheap option, no matter if you ares a windows or mac fan, even has a version for linux operative system, so you can useit everywhere.
ProsIt is free, ready for every common operative system, and the extension, of course, are also free. Visual studio code has a simple minimalist source control well based on git so every change on your file, just commit and push it, or pull for new changes. The file explorer show which file has changes and thats helpfull
ConsIf you come from visual studio IDE, i sorry to tell you the keyboard shorcuts (hotkeys) are not the same, but you can customize it as you like, but may be it gonna take a while. Some times you must check your extensions compatibility. Personally i hate when is an up date and the visual studio code show me the update repor as the main page becuse i dont interested in that and by this date i dont find where quit that option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Abdelhamid A.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019

“The best IDE I've ever used”

OverallIt has been great so far, I can't see myself living without it anymore. It's been helping me with my web development using languages including but not limited to: Python, NodeJS, JavaScript as well as HTML and CSS.
ProsI certainly cannot list them all here, but I'll try and list the ones I can think of: - Simple yet so powerful - easy to use - Amazing community - Great variety of every plugin you may ever need - Awesome debugging features - Cool remote development feature and much much more
ConsI definitely like everything about it a lot
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Sourav K.
Administrator
Higher Education, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019

“The best code editor out there”

ProsVS Code is free, open source and also cross platform. Being cross platform is wonderful as being a developer we need to work in different operating systems all the time. It is easily the best editor out there leaving behind Atom by a considerable margin. Its beautiful to look at and has Git integration built right inside it. Though we could expand its functionalities using a plethora of extensions I have personally never felt the need for it. It even supports pre-processor languages like LESS and SASS out of the box.
ConsIt will feel a bit slow once we add a lot of projects to a workspace but I guess that could be adjusted by keeping only a few of them in the active workspace at a time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Mihran T.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“A very good lightweight alternative for PyCharm”

ProsThe low memory usage, fast application launch time, easy to debug even Python projects, various plugins, integrated terminal.
ConsSometimes there are short lags while using some plugins related to XML. The issue may be related to the plugins and not VSCode itself. Also the tree view of the folders hierarchy can get a little more work
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Aruna J.
Research assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019

“Great text editor for coding with ton of great features ”

OverallVisual studio is my personal code editor in linux, very easy to handle and multiple folders can be opened separately. Great free plugins are available. I prefer the dark theme. I haven't faced any critical issues so far. I love this tool.
ProsInterface is very customisable, lot of colour combinations available and lot of themes with nice icon packs are also available. Can be integrated directly with different compilers as an example it can be integrated with C compiler. Support Github and other similar version controlling tools. Conflicts can be resolved very easily. This tool is open source and support cross platforms including windows, linux and MacOs.
ConsThis tool adopts features from visual studio but in a cooler way, there are nothing considerable issues happened to me. One thing that I have noticed in linux is that when updating the tool we have to download the executable and should run it manually to update, it is little bit annoying. Other than that it is a great tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Gabriel Oliveira B.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“The best code editor for web applications”

OverallWe started using the VS Code because of the native support to typescript, and then we get used to it and all the plugins that you can install to code anything that you want (even java). It's light and does not take all the memory of your computer, so you can run it without any freezing problems.
ProsWith VS code you have a lot of plugins, so if you need something you will find a plugin for it. You have options for running and debugging your web application, and also a lot of tools that help you when you are programming, like the tool for git.
ConsSome times it's not so simple to use de VS code debugger, you have to make some configurations, some times it is easier to use the browser for debugging your application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Lawrence S.
Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019

“Best IDE I have ever used!”

OverallOverall, I don't think that any other IDE will be able to beat Visual Studio Code in terms of the feature set, reliability, and speed for a long time. I've used Atom, Sublime Text, and even the monolithic Visual Studio Professional and this software is as quick as Sublime Text, but is feature loaded just like Visual Studio.
ProsI can't say enough good things about Visual Studio Code, before this I've been using Sublime Text for most of my JavaScript based projects but I will never go back after switching over to Visual Studio Code! This IDE is fully loaded with tools and plugins that will help to make your code better with every change. The plugin community is strong and continuously getting better, which is one thing that will make this software product stand out among the competition. Not to mention that it is free to download and use, which makes it so much better!
ConsThere are some things like cross mobile development in Xamarin that is not quite supported yet, but I think that it is only a matter of time when it will be supported. Until then, Visual Studio Code is my go to for development in any JavaScript based framework like React or Angular.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Rick M.
Growth Strategist
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Awesome for writing JavaScript!”

OverallIt's my go-to IDE for everything JS.
ProsEclipse is a pain when writing JS code, but Visual Studio Code makes it a breeze. There's no slowdowns when you have a missing bracket like with Eclipse. Plus, it autosaves.
ConsIt doesn't do nearly as well for PHP as it Eclipse, so while I've switched to using VS Code almost exclusively when it comes to writing JS, I still use Eclipse for PHP.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2019

“Superb software for software coder”

OverallSuperb experience with Visual Studio Code no doubt this software specially made for software development coding.
ProsVisual Studio Code software i am using from last 2.5 years because as a software developer this software helped me lot for fast and clean coding. This software provide internal console for development command . i am using this console for angular javascript framework for web app development. Visual Studio Code also provides thousands of free plugin for development which help every developer for quick code writing and auto code suggestion guide.
ConsSoftware coding is headache but Visual Studio Code provide lots plugin which help me lot when i forgot the code or not remember the code. Also the user interface of software in very handy for me support lots of feature which other software not provide.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“The best free multiplatform IDE ”

ProsI like the user interface and the fact that is as light as a normal text editor but much more powerful and extensible.
ConsSome extensions suggested by the IDE are broken or not working as expected Configuration requires editing json files, could be improved with a visual ui on top of it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Cory S.
Web Content Developer
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Fantastic, flexible, affordable option for development”

OverallI currently use Visual Studio Code for front- and back-end web development, using it to code in Java, Python, and PHP, as well as create and edit YAML and JSON files. Switching between any and all of these is effortless.
ProsThe wide variety of extensions allows for a near limitless customization potential and the ability to use a single, relatively lightweight application for all of my most common development tasks.
ConsIt is easy to spend too much time browsing extensions, and depending on how customized your environment becomes, it can be more difficulty to adjust to different systems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Alex V.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“Really Solid IDE Choice”

OverallI've used VS Code almost exclusively since I learned about it, and most tutorials I follow use it as well (which improves my learning). There are good alternatives out there as well, but I really like VS Code.
ProsFor a free software product it is really robust and customizable. Many users have made custom pluggins that are really helpful as well.
ConsSome languages aren't supported fully, which means you have to find a pluggin to help or just deal with some standard text formatting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Osamah A.
Student
Computer & Network Security, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2019

“An essential compiler for every programmer ”

OverallI am absolutely satisfied with Visual Studio Code, it has hundreds and hundreds of features, its rather easy to use, although it might be a little overwhelming at first, over the past 5 years, I have used many different IDE software, but the VS Code, is -without doubt- in the top of them!
ProsWhen typing programming codes, you want to know what exactly is happening, and the VS Code provides us with the perfect experience, by highlighting the pieces of code in such an organized manner, so that you never are lost!. VS Code has support to pretty much everything I need, from the plug-ins to the amazing integration with Git!
ConsThe file search feature is extremely slow when working on big projects. When you run multiple instances at once, you may get tons of "out of memory" messages, despite being a "lightweight" software and regardless of your 16GB RAM.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2019
Pablo S.
RPA Developer
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“My own experience using Visual Studio Code”

OverallMy overall experience using Visual Studio Code is really good, but I would recommend it to those people who are seeking for a SW application in which develop their HTML, CSS, PHP (etc.) code. If you are just seeking for a text edior, a simply one, I would recommend Notepad++ instead Visual Code. I would say that Visual Code is more for programmers.
ProsWhat I most like about Visual Studio Code could be found as below: - Help to autocomplete the code - Cool interface - Good tree architecture at the left panel in which you can easily see all the files and folders of your current project - Very usefull to read any kind of file
ConsI don't really dislike anything in Visual Studio Code, but if I would have to say something, maybe it would be the lack of good plugins installed in the main version of the software. You can add almost anything but is not easy to do as others text editors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Peter R.
Web developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019

“Best editor for Web development”

ProsI've tried many editors for web development, but Visual Studio Code definitely stands out. It's lightning fast, provides numerous great plugins and it's visually pleasing.
ConsSome third party plugins are not extremely reliable. Sometimes it has problems with formatting of pasted text.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019
Manikant S.
Full Stack Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019

“A Ultimate Editor with good feature”

OverallAs a full stack developer i like this tool from starting to till now in my development carrier i am continuously using this tool and every time it give me better result with good satisfaction because i am worked from starting in large group of team so its very helpful.
ProsVisual Studio Code has a unique place right now in the market just because of its feature i have no words about this tool.One of the best thing of this tool is that Github support so we can commit our project without any command with using of this.We can comment our multiple line code in short way just press of "ctrl + /". CMD feature is another ultimate feature of this or also we can open our project in vs code with the help of command prompt.So finally it is totally wordless platform for development.
ConsI am using this tool from last one year but i just faced till now only one issue if your project size is little large so it create some hanging problem with that in the opening of starting.Otherwise its ultimate editor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019

“Great for front end web designers”

OverallHandles all my web design needs and is free and uses very little resources.
ProsLightweight, simple interface. Great for htmls/css javascript that a front end web designer needs. Extensions allow for formatting, styling and added options. PHP, etc also not an issue. All I need in a free app.
ConsNot quite as powerful as big ticket software such as PHPStorm, but that's not what I'm looking for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“Great Code Editor for most environments”

OverallVS Code is great, I personally mainly prefer it when dealing with javascript, typescript, dart etc in my opinion is does well in those setups and it has definitely made my life easier. It's a great piece of software that's light and it can be setup for whatever you may want to develop
ProsI like that it's not fixed to one specific language/environment but I can use it between different languages by merely adding the necessary extensions There have a lot of extensions that help with productivity. It's free and it's more lightweight compared to other environments. It is highly customizable If it detects a new environments it suggests the suitable extensions which makes life easier
ConsI feel like every time I open it there's always something to update, also the auto complete isn't the sharpest but I guess it maybe that I will be using the poor autocomplete extensions. While having a lot of extensions is good at times it means one may pick the ones which are high quality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Extensible Code Editor”

ProsVS Code runs on most OS (Windows, Mac, etc.). This code editor supports a lot of programming languages - through its extensions. I develop applications on Force.com platform (Salesforce). Even Salesforce have decided to use VS Code as their supported development environment.
ConsIt takes time to get familiarized with the shortcuts. And many times, we need to create our own shortcuts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Furniture, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019

“The text editor that does everything, with anything”

OverallGreat, the UI is simple and intuitive, there's an extension for almost all types of file that I ever needed to use, and there's been a lot of file.
ProsVSCode is super versatile and has a huge extension list that provide us to do everything with anything. I can create SQL queries as well as write PowerShell scripts and HTML web pages.
ConsSince it's made in Electron, it's a bit heavy and slow on opening comparing to other applications.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Furniture, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“The "Real" Coding Tool”

OverallWell, like i said, i use it every day, to edit or create new SQL scripts, to code my Qlikview scripts, and even when i need to write something down very quickly i use it too, if you never used it, at least give it a try, i assure you that you won't regret.
ProsIt's perfect, it suits almost every need you can possibly add when coding, i mean, lots of in-app plugins, etc. You can code your SQL scripts, your C# code, C++, and so many others without changing platform, and the way it works, the shortcuts, the possibilities are endless. It is a must have when it comes to coding and well, for example, I have colleagues that use it just to take notes and stuff, it fits us all.
ConsWell, since it is a very simple and Powerful tool I can't really notice something to dislike, basically fulfills what's promised. The only thing that you need to take in consideration is that it consumes a bit o RAM but since i upgraded my laptop to 12Gb of RAM it is perfectly OK.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Hubert B.
Student
Primary/Secondary Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“Extensible text editor that knows your needs”

OverallWorking in VS Code both on personal and work projects I found it extremely flexible tool. You can start with a simple view and gradually add things like linters, autoformat, vim-style navigation as your needs grow. Developers pay attention to issues and feature requests from the users and as a result every release notes contain a new feature / design change that rings the bell 'hey, I thought this should be changed like that'. This is how software should be developped.
ProsFeature-rich as a text editor, lightweight and extensible as an IDE; Configuration through GUI or text files allows easy backup of your settings; Design is fresh and minimalistic; Interfaces designed with keyboard users in mind, handy shortcuts, autocomplete and navigation; Built-in terminal window with good rendering performance and customisations; Decent support for many programming languages through extensions - work in almost any language learning just one editor; Active development fostered by Microsoft and a welcoming developer community on GitHub Constantly improved support for editing Jupyter notebooks (interactive Python) as if they were plain text. Very decent Git support with diff view.
ConsSometimes configuring certain functionalities is tricky, like getting reliable Python support on Windows. This gradually improves over time, documentation is decent.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019

“Best service and useful tools”

Overall If you are new coder, I highly recommend to use it. It is commonly used platform at this area and it is easy to learn. It provides a lot of features for you. If you are not new coder and you do not know Visual Studio, I suggest you to discover it.
ProsVisual Studio is one perfect IDE product by Microsoft and I am really glad to have this experience. It is user friendly, easy to learn, quick debugging etc. On the other hand visual of product makes programming experience enjoyable. It supports multiple languages: I have used it for c#,c, python and java projects but I know it also support c++ and PHP. You can write and control your code very fast, and it gives you very good ideas how to fix your code. I recommend it especially for complicated coding projects due to efficiency and performance of product. Lastly Microsoft updates product regularly and takes consider of costumers view.
ConsThere is not too much to say as negative. It is really good IDE platform after you use others. But I want to add that error messages are not sometimes clear and do not help me. Error messages can be improved for more understandable messages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019
Avatar Image
Ajanthan V.
Senior Software Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019

“Best Code Editor”

OverallI'm a Backend and Frontend Developer VS Code Brings to me more helpful features do my work effectively. such as Auto alignment, Code suggestion, Speed, etc.. so I don't think any other software to develop a program, I have VS Code I can do my work...
ProsVisual Code features are awesome, Previously I use sublime there are many features now switched to VS Code, the Main point, I can migrate sublime features in VS Code also there are soo many plugins available in the market place, I can easily customize my editor which language I use. I like these features in VS Code, - Multiline Edit in the same time - Connect the FTP server with Code and easily deploy the system - Inbuild GIT library so I can track my project. - Terminal Facility so I don't move another window to use Terminal Command etc..
ConsSome Plugins work properly, I use Mac and Windows Platforms. in windows some time it takes to time load the prog
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019
Saket S.
Student
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Best Free Code Editor out there”

ProsFast, customizable IDE with lots of community plugins and a wide variety of language support.
ConsIndexing on a large project can be slow. Symbol lookups may not always work as expected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Taddes K.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Visual Studio Code is by far the best development tool!”

OverallDaily programming usage. Develop in Python, JavaScript and React.
ProsVisual Studio Code is by far the most useful development tool I use. Aside from being an excellent general IDE, it can be as light or heavy as you want it to be: you can emulate Sublime and lighter text editors or work as a heavyweight terminal, text editor, GitHub integration, full debugger and on and on! I love the features, active community developing plugins and tools, as well as customizable themes and behaviors. It makes development faster and more reliable.
ConsAlmost nothing. The only tricky thing is getting emmet shortcuts to respond as expected as well as adjusting formatting for certain programming languages so indentation and formats work on the fly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Judah M.
Gameplay Programmer
Computer Games, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019

“Great for programming in C#”

OverallIt's currently being used for Unity development and works great.
ProsIt's integration with Unity is one of my favorite features. It's easy to setup and requires minimal tinkering to get running. It's auto-completion is incredibly useful, and it has keyboard shortcuts for pretty much anything you could need. In addition to its tight integration with other softwares, it has a built in compiler that is literally one click away.
ConsIts user interface is really intimidating to new and beginner users and I can see many getting scared away. The amount of features available is overwhelming at times. Also, while the keyboard shortcuts are great, because there are so many of them, one accidental key press can mess up a whole project.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Sanjeewa D.
Computer Science Instructor
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“Best source code editor”

OverallVS code is free and easy to use as a code editor because of its intellisense. Code completion and code hinting is excellent specially in java script.
ProsThis provides an integrated terminal which I can code and run on the same software. Also code completion is at its best.
ConsOnly the memory consumption is higher in VS code. Honestly it is hard to find a bad thing about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Trabelsi H.
Web developer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019

“Best free IDE solution ”

OverallIn 12 years of development I switched from an IDE to another until I tried visual studio code 2 years ago and from that moment I knew that I found what I expected from an IDE a good developer experience and a high level of customization.
ProsAs web developer the choice of the IDE is very important. visual studio code brings the power and maturity of visual studio and the simplicity of a text editor and all that for FREE. The huge extensions list makes the development experience even better you can customize the editor to match the language you develop with.
ConsExcept some memory leaks when you install a lot of extensions nothing to report.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Orkhan M.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Free IDE for all languages”

OverallAs I am a software developer, I am using this tool at my work and this is very useful for me. I like this tool because it is very lightweight and does not take too much resource from your pc.
ProsThis tool is the right tool for the developers who are writing codes in different languages and who wants simple and easy to use IDE. You can download this tool for free and use it immediately. The software supports all the languages and it is not a problem to change to other language within application. Just create a folder and start writing your codes.
ConsThe only problem with this tool is that it does not provide autosave, for example if you writing some HTML codes you need to press save button each time, the changes will not be saved automatically. Moreover, for specific languages you need to download third party software in order to have code completion and error checking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019