Spike Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.9/5
Customer Service
4.9/5

About Spike

Spike (formerly Hop) brings all of your communication -- your emails, chats, calls, team collaborations, tasks, voice notes, everything -- to one place. Its what your team has been looking for in a productivity and messaging app, but easier, and all from your inbox. Spike works on top of any existing email (O365, Gsuite, IMAP) and is available on iOS, Android, Mac, Win & Web! Giving you a single, unified platform for all your & your team's tasks. Welcome to the shortest path to done Learn more about Spike

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Adam C.
Owner
Financial Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018

“Hop cuts out all the clutter while allowing you to see all all the conversations in a clean view.”

OverallHop allows for clearer communication and saving time spent on email. Allows for better context with a previous contact as well. I have saved a lot of hours on email, and a better experience then browser based email, or any other app.
ProsHop helps reduce the amount of time spent on email. Hop works faster then any email client, and I have tried every one that I could find! The Priority Inbox vs Other inbox saves a lot of time sorting what is important and not important. If others are using Hop as well, it creates a realtime chat between each other. It also allows for encrypted messages between users, which is great when sending sensitive information.
ConsNot much, would like a few other small features like Auto Snoozing, and location based reminders. But really, they have the best email client, and now that desktop will be available, it will be the best solution on your smartphone, tablet, and desktop.

Vendor Response

By Spike on November 4, 2018
Hey Adam, Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are super passionate about we do and love creating more amazing features for you. We're happy to let you know that the desktop app is now available and you can get it at www.spikenow.com
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018
Avatar Image
George G.
Interim Director
Museums and Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Makes email significantly less terrible! ”

OverallI've been using it for over a year now both personally and professionally, and believe strongly that it makes the email experience significantly smoother and more enjoyable.
ProsAmong the various tools looking to make email better, I believe this one does it best. It's strength is in truly stripping the junk away from messages-layers of quoted previous messages, long signature bars, etc.,-and turns it into iMessage/text like bubbles. When you're shooting messages back and forth to dozens of people, being able to keep up with conversations with simple bubbles is a super help. Yet, when you need to see the originally formatted message with the quoted text, it only takes one click to go back and forth again.
ConsIt still acts and feels like beta software. The interface can be clunky at times, file handling isn't as robust as other email tools, moving messages to folders isn't possible. There's been some feature creep too as they seek to monetize, looking to make group messaging and voice/video chats.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Jeffry T.
Freelance Designer
Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“A Chat-Like Approach to Email Management”

ProsI love the approach that Spike take on email management. It uses chat-like interface from mobile chat apps that we grow to love so much. It minimizes the clutters that we get from normal email conversations. Plus Spike is free for non-business email accounts.
ConsSpike could take hints from other email clients to improve its user interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Laetitia M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 24, 2018

“Fantastic”

ProsI love the fact that when I typed in the help box someone replied immediately. That was a huge eye opener. It seamlessly divides emails into priority and others. It also puts all emails from the same person or company together. By doing that you can delete all the emails at once. Not one by one. This is the biggest plus of this app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 22, 2018

“Hop saves a lot of time and is fun to use”

Pros- Best email "triage" functionality I have ever seen - Lots of small features that save time - Very clever designed features to find the piece of information you need - Integrated instant messaging
Cons- The user interface is a little different to the standard email clients, so you have to get used to it. But once you figure out (I still find more "hidden" features that I did not know of every once in a while) all the cool features you get hooked and don't want to miss it. - no desktop version yet (but in development)
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Jockie T.
Senior Consultant
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“A New Perspective on Email Client”

ProsSpike treats emails as chat conversations. It eliminates the long threads and simplifies the user interface. Spike is available in multiple platforms. It also supports multiple email accounts - free as long as they're Gmail.
ConsWork email accounts with @customname.com are not free. Charged per email account.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 10, 2019

“Managing the Multiples Made Easy”

ProsI can easily delete junk and old emails in one fell swoop thanks to the way the app bundles and organizes emails by contact. Its chat-like email view also lets me see all emails in a thread in one consistent feed so I can see everything just by scrolling rather than opening individual headers to find a specific mail I am looking for.
ConsThat it took me forever to find out about it. Its a game-changer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
June 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Mariela L.
Analista RRHH
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“Provides many benefits when sending work information”

ProsWhat I like most about this software is its ease of use and that it allows sending any type of information: messages, videos, images, files, and it can synchronize and save the information directly in the cloud.
ConsIt had left its use for a while and when it came back it was gratifying to see the advances it has made.

Vendor Response

By Spike on November 5, 2018
Hey Mariela, Thanks for sharing your love for Spike! Lots of new features and updates to the app. Have a look at www.spikenow.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
Avatar Image
lily s.
secretary
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2018

“The Future of Email Client is Here Today”

ProsHop Email, now known as Spike, hits many right buttons regarding an email client. But choosing to design email conversations to look like mobile chats is genius. It hides all the clutters and makes it easier for users to comprehend the content.
ConsWhile managing free email is still free for Hop users, managing business emails is not.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019

“SUPER enjoyed this app - just so easy and useful”

OverallEverything becomes faster and simpler. I get through my emails super quickly and I can't complain about anything. I love the features that this app offers and the amazing mobile dark mode.
Pros- The design is clean and beautiful - The conversational view is a lot better then the normal one and now I can't go back. -
ConsI didn't like the logo I wish they had integration with task management but the lovely support informed me that they are working on it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019
Andinga T.
Teacher
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“I really liked the app. This app provides everything one needs in a mail app. ”

ProsI can unsubscribe any mail without launching external browser. Also I can block unwanted mails. The ui is good. Another addition is that the mails can be opened like chats. It is pretty good as it declutters everything and I can mail easily.
ConsNothing that I can think as of now. I have been using it everyday and has not faced any problems. It has made my mailings simpler and easy to use. The developer should release more updates with other features.

Vendor Response

By Spike on November 5, 2018
Hey Andinga, We're happy you live Spike! We've released tons of new features and some pretty awesome updates - including the Spike desktop version! Check it out at www.spikenow.com
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Mayo L.
Teacher
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018

“New Perspective on Email Management”

ProsIt brings a new perspective on email management by using a chat-like interface to interact with email conversation. It's also free to use with personal email accounts.
ConsUsing Spike with business email is not free.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018
Sabine B.
Sales Service & Marketing
Photography, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2019

“Fast, uncomplicated, cool - E-mail messenger with super features”

OverallI'm saving a lot of time with my daily emails (I receive a lot of mails every day).
ProsI really like the messenger chat style and the priority inbox. Makes communication more efficient, you can share docs etc. within groups and much more. More featured than other apps included, you don't have to switch between different apps, all what you need is included in Spike.
ConsDesktop version could have more features, dark mode on Desktop.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 30, 2019
Bill H.
Project Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 25, 2018

“Love it!”

ProsI enjoy the chat based email look. It is quick and intuitive! I like seeing when others are responding to my messages too1
ConsThe only negative at the moment is it is web based. Looking forward to having an App for my Mac in the future!
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Retno W.
English Teacher
Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019

“Treat Your Email Conversation Like Conversation”

ProsThe main concept of Spike is to treat email conversation like mobile IM message. So you won't see the long thread of previously replied emails, just the reply. It also tracks replies.
ConsWhile the Gmail accounts management is free, you need to pay for each managed business email.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 26, 2018

“Best email client I've used”

ProsHop keeps me on top of my game. I email much faster, never miss emails, and love snoozing. I'm able to search and find attachments very easily - major convenience and time saver.
ConsI'm waiting for the Send Later feature to be added. Receiving read-receipt notifications would also be useful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 26, 2018
Nick K.
IPA Property Advisor / Buyers Agent
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 6, 2018

“Excellent”

ProsEasy to use. Great app. Quick email and I like the fact, that I can read the email in coversations. Support is excellent.
ConsI would like to be able to adjust the font size when read email. Or zoom in as sometimes the font is small
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 6, 2018
Patrick S.
Researcher
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Not for everyone, it wasn't for me”

ProsIt's a really cool idea, and it's implemented exactly as promised. It can be fun and lower-stress to reply to work emails like they're an iMessage on your phone.
ConsA lot of my work emails don't lend themselves particularly well to a response akin to how you'd reply to a text message. Reading emails with HTML images wasn't good either.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018