MarginEdge Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About MarginEdge

MarginEdge is the only solution to offer restaurant operators a platform to process their invoices digitally plus integrate with their POS system, to bring paperless efficiency to their back-of-house operations. For multi-unit operators and independents alike, MarginEdge radically streamlines key activities, like invoice entry and vendor bill payment, while providing powerful tools for live budget and cost-tracking, inventory and recipe management, and online ordering. By simply taking pictures. Learn more about MarginEdge

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Greg C.
Owner
Hospitality, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Count me a Fan!”

OverallExceptional, the Margin Edge team has leaped through hoops to help my team become more efficient. The tools this software provides are PERFECT in so many ways. Not only do we pay more attention to the daily spend, but we track it against budgets in live time. The experience has translated to more bottom line dollars -
ProsRecord Retention - before Margin Edge came along, we saved every piece of paper - not any more. This tool was also extremely useful in managing the spend through the month, the category and profit loss tools are excellent bell-weathers for operations
ConsIn our case, our units are independent in terms of menu, so gathering group information has some steps that could be alleviated - I believe this is being worked upon for next version. There were a few other minor issues which the Margin Edge Team was so helpful in teaching my staff how to handle and view their
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Ryan J.
Director of IT
Restaurants, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Ease of use, less data entry”

OverallMargin Edge's unique combination of offerings allows for simplification of in-store restaurant operations and the administrative management.
ProsMargin Edge combines an easy to use inventory and COGS platform, a kitchen recipe viewer, and a data entry service. Our managers really appreciate the additional time they are able to spend on the floor instead of in the office entering invoices. I find the team at Margin Edge extremely open to feedback about the product and very responsive to support emails. From an administration standpoint, the software is user friendly and direct. The removal of the duplicate maintenance of two recipe databases (one for kitchen viewing and one for target costing) has significantly lowered the number of hours required to run our business.
ConsThe system is still new, so there are some features that competitors have developed which are still being developed for margin edge.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Mark C.
GM
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Game changer”

OverallI have used ME at 2 different restaurants and it gives you such insight into your day to day purchases and costs. ME really helps you manage all of your controllables.
ProsMargin Edge truly opened our eyes when it came to menu item costs. ME takes into consideration all of the little things that when building your menu you sometimes overlook from the seasonings that you use to even say bread crumbs. It made a huge difference in costing out our menu.
ConsWhen it comes to entering your recipes some of the conversions are difficult but well worth the time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Henry B.
CFO
Restaurants, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“Fantastic Restaurant Management Software”

ProsStreamlined back of the house administrative processes while simultaneously offering real-time, actionable insights into our COGS that has enabled our managers to add multiple points back to the bottom line and stay on model.
ConsIt can sometimes be difficult to pull raw data out of the platform. The reporting suite within MarginEdge is fantastic, but the raw data behind the platform is not always intuitively accessible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Chris T.
Co-Owner
Restaurants, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“Margin Edge is a Great Product”

OverallExcellent product that is, for the most part, very intuitive and easy to use. Customer service is amazing.
ProsThe best part about Margin Edge is that it makes life easier for the restaurant level (through online ordering, inventory, invoice tracking) and for the back office (through automated sales reporting, invoice entry, dsr polling, vendor statement reconciliation, price tracking, etc).
ConsWhile you can plug in budgets to track performance vs budget, you can't do so for each month or period at once. (You have to update budgets each month/period.) It's a small thing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Jason O.
Dir. of Operations
Restaurants, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019

“Awesome Product!”

ProsMarginEdge has been instrumental in developing our menu and optimizing our margins as a new business. It was intuitive and easy to set up recipes and verify we had our menu priced correctly. We were also able to quickly identify problem areas and make changes in real-time. The ability to see actual invoices is vital for our company with locations in two states and an off-site accounting office. Customer service staff is very responsive and the best we've worked with!
ConsOnly drawback is no labor module currently available. This is in development so only a minor negative.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019
Anang M.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Transformational ”

OverallI use it daily to monitor the kpi's and recently added my second location so I now can compare sales and expenses across locations.
ProsNavigating complex business challenges require data and the ability to easily use data to analyze and understand spend and revenue patterns, price movements, vendor spend and so on. This solution truly enables all of that and more. Where else can one get a P&L at the clock of a button for a date range of my choosing
ConsI could always use more functionality and would love to see the mobile solution offer more of what the desktop version offers
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Trey H.
VP & CFO
Restaurants, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“MarginEdge - A Game Changer”

OverallOur overall experience with MarginEdge has been outstanding. The sales team allowed us to proceed with the evaluation at our own pace, without ever being rushed. The implementation team was extraordinary -- they did most all of the "hard work" and then just trained us on functionality. Customer support remains extremely responsive and helpful. Again this software, and just as important the associated MarginEdge team, has enhanced our financial/accounting operations exponentially... and far more quickly and easily than we could have reasonably expected.
ProsIn a matter of days, MarginEdge increased our accounting and financial reporting efficiencies literally by an order of magnitude. It has also reduced human error associated with prior data-entry activities and enhanced our reporting processes.
ConsThere are opportunities for streamlining certain mapping and reporting features, in my opinion (sometimes it's hard to know exactly "where to look" for certain features). A minor issue for sure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019
Tom M.
CFO
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Getting started is easy!”

OverallNew to the platform and anxious to discover all the ways this tool can help our business.
ProsWe are just implementing Margin Edge across an organization currently operating in 6 locations. The implementation team supporting our start-up work has been quick and accurate...very easy to work with. And, connections to POS and accounting software is simple and streamlined. I look forward to enjoying all the benefits this platform brings into our organization.
ConsNot really a "software con" but fact is that many of these functions (Bill Pay for example) can be handled by our Bank, our accounting software and MarginEdge. It is difficult to figure out which will best serve our specific workflow. Bottom line...I guess this is a good problem to have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019