Coderbyte Ratings

Overall
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Service
4.7/5

About Coderbyte

Grow intelligently and affordably with the #1 technical assessment platform for qualifying engineering talent in your pipeline. All plans include unlimited candidates, assessments, and user accounts. Learn more about Coderbyte

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Yair A.
Engineering Team Lead
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2019

“Solid new contender”

OverallWe just started using Coderbyte to help automate and standardize our engineering pipeline. Setup was easy, and we were able to preview our assessments and send them out to candidates in < 1 hour. Looking forward to seeing the impact on our recruiting processes - optimistic so far.
Pros- Straightforward setup, easy to send challenges to candidates - Support has been very responsive so far - Software seems to be frequently updated - Enterprise offering allows for custom domain and branding - Inexpensive - Library of challenges is a nice plus
Cons- Some questionable UX choices + unexplained features (how does scoring work?) - Need to email support to set up ATS integrations

Vendor Response

By Coderbyte Enterprise on August 6, 2019
We're thrilled that you're seeing so much value in Coderbyte, and are excited to continue improving the platform and enterprise feature set.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Linda N.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“Useful tool for candidate prescreening”

OverallWe use the tool for candidate prescreening - a 20-30 minute technical exercise before a candidate is invited for an onsite interview. We've had some success with the tool but are having some difficulty tuning the questions such that the score is a decent indicator of a candidate's success.
ProsPreconfigured questions and test cases that allows users to use an online IDE to submit a coding sample. Relatively low price point to other tools evaluated.
ConsDifficult to tune the prescreening questions to meet our needs - we're still working through a balance of finding questions that aren't a time burden on candidates but produce a decent amount of code to review for quality (not just accuracy + time as is auto graded).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Duangrudee P.
Senior Product Manager
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2019

“Wide range of predefined tests , unlimited invitations and good value for money”

OverallWe used to spend a lot time interviewing unqualified candidates. Codebyte saves us a lot time by screening only candidates with the skill set that we are looking for.
ProsPricing per month and the amount of invitation I can send per month is unlimited. The platform has sufficient list of predefined questions.
ConsMost of the questions are algorithm oriented. If there are more questions on DevOps , and data science. It will be great.

Vendor Response

By Coderbyte Enterprise on October 10, 2019
Thank you for giving Coderbyte a spin. We're adding more assessments for more roles every week you can find the latest platform updates here: https://headwayapp.co/coderbyte-changelog
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Networking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2019

“Some quick feedback”

ProsThe price is definitely competitive. Playback of candidates doing the challenge is good for inspecting 'cheaters'. The candidate summary is very useful.
ConsThe fact that I cannot easily add custom tests is a big con. No pair programming with webcam.

Vendor Response

By Coderbyte Enterprise on October 26, 2019
Hello, Thanks for being a valued Coderbyte customer! We appreciate your feedback and are excited to soon be releasing some major updates to our pair programming product. Also, we understand that adding custom tests could be faster. Right now, we apply an expert review to all custom tests to ensure that the candidate experience remains excellent. On other platforms like HackerRank, the lengthy and tedious challenge descriptions create a terrible experience for candidates. We want to make sure that never happens on Coderbyte so that our customers can continue to hire top talent, rather than drive them away! Thanks, Coderbyte
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2019
Eric M.
Business Development Lead
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2019

“CoderByte Review”

ProsGood price for the product, and ease of use
ConsThe test were not really customizable to real life experiences, that most of my developers deal with
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Smitha B.
Director
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2019

“Coderbyte for Employee Assessment”

OverallOur overall experience has been excellent. Coderbyte has been easy to setup tests for our assessments. We are able to run multiple tests in large numbers and evaluate students for our campus recruitment. This has reduced our TAT in scoring and evaluation, help better our hiring process and made it very objective. The candidates also find it easy and engaging to use.
ProsThe time based scoring for the result. Coderbyte not only evaluates on completion of assessment but also on the time taken to complete the assessment. It also checks for plagiarism and this is a very good feature when we are conducting assessments for recruitment.
ConsInability to withdraw/cancel invites. Sometimes wrong invites get sent out or candidates are not interested, in such cases there is no option to withdraw or cancel the invite. Also if a candidate has already received an invite but for any reason not got the email, there is no option to resend an invite.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Nitin K.
Product Director
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2019

“Helped us recruit best from the bests :) ”

ProsWe were looking to hire best programmers and one of the biggest challenge was to check their Logical Skills. Coderbyte helped us to prepare different level tests for different positions we had and also it has very nice reports such as score %, Plagiarism, recording of their tests and many more factors which really helped us to take decisions. Amazing tool!
ConsThe UX of Admin panel could be improved. There were times where I had to find a candidate but couldnt find easily.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2019
Amol R.
Lead Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2019

“Quick onboarding, good platform.”

Pros1. Easy setup to a quick start and with minimum investment. 2. Really good library with having support for multiple languages.
Cons1. It does not evaluate problem solution against time complexity. If somebody submits a really bad solution still score will be the same. 2. Test URL is not unique, One can submit multiple solutions by using different emails.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2019
Dorian M.
Manager of Talent Acquisition
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2019

“Great for small teams!”

ProsI'm part of a small talent team that works with education & education technology startups. Coderbyte is a great way to assess large numbers of candidates for technical roles - the set-up is easy, as is the review of candidate scores. This is a great way for me to fast-track strong candidates over to our data team.
ConsNone that stand out to me at this time - perhaps some option for customization in future, but we specifically chose Coderbyte for its library of available challenges (vs. something like HackerRank).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2019
Pablo V.
Co Founder
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2019

“CoderByte allowed us to launch a new company without a big commitment ”

OverallVery good as it has allowed us to start a new business without a big upfront cost.
ProsPricing plan is monthly with unlimited candidates and tests.
ConsIt has some small bugs and needs better ux
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2019
Cristina B.
Talent Acquisition Lead
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2019

“Great value for money”

Pros- user-friendly interface - good variety of challenges to choose from - great customer support
Cons- HR analytics could stand to be improved
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2019
Jose A.
IT Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“Great Software ”

OverallConfirm candidate's skills
ProsAble to evaluate and confirm candidate's software skills.
Consone-week trial was too short to find weakness in the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Analisse D.
People Operations Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2019

“Easy to use, a perfect tool for hiring developers”

OverallOverall, it is just what I needed and there is always support if I ever have questions or concerns.
ProsThe ease of use, the vast selection of coding challenges, and the customization of the platform.
ConsNone have come up since i started using the platform!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2019
Will I.
IT Strategist
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2019

“Coderbyte is price competitive and feature rich”

ProsEase of use, and pre-built programming challenges.
ConsThe customization aspects are a hint difficult to prescribe for engineers and is more focused on developers only.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2019
Riza Herzego F.
Co-founder
Human Resources, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Great product with great price!”

ProsIt help us to create online problem solving challenge, for unlimited candidates, with good price
Consthe solutions of all of the problems provided in this platform can be found in google

Vendor Response

By Coderbyte Enterprise on July 26, 2019
We're excited about our partnership with Zenwork! Currently, our SQL and front-end challenges are entirely private with no public solutions. Coderbyte also detects plagiarism in case candidates copy and paste. And, with feedback from Zenwork and other leading brands that partner with Coderbyte, we will be extending our library to include many more private challenges quite soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019