WorkflowMax Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About WorkflowMax

A single platform for all your job management needs. Coordinate and collaborate seamlessly with staff, architects, electricians, clients, surveyors and other subcontractors. Track time against jobs and work from anywhere with WorkflowMax for iOS. Manage job milestones and keep track of who's working on what. Use custom reporting to see which jobs earn the most money. Improve your estimating and store information about each job in one location. Break jobs down into tasks and costs. Learn more about WorkflowMax

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 104 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 104 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
May 3, 2016

“Our most recommended Workflow management app”

OverallIn our role as cloud app integrators and implementation experts, WorkflowMax is an essential app in Link Solutions' toolkit. We recommend it over and above any other workflow management app, and use it daily within our own business. The depth of features is significant and can be easily adapted to suit most business processes. The flow from lead management right through delivery and then to invoicing saves countless hours of administration and can deliver significant improvements to service delivery. Being a Xero company, the integration with Xero is understandably robust and extensive, and other useful add-on integrations are available. For example, at Link, we use Zendesk to manage our support tickets, and we're able to track our time in Zendesk and have this flow through to WorkflowMax timesheets with associated notes for reporting and billing. Put simply, we think WorkflowMax is a great system that offers exceptional value for money.
Pros* Flexible and extensive feature set that can manage most business processes * General ease of use - while there are some traps for beginners, these are understable given the depth of features available * It's a Xero company, and benefits from the association in terms of a strong integration, customer support standards, and ongoing development * Pricing is excellent and suits a range of businesses from small operators through to large enterprises * Significant job and task templating abilities allow multiple activity streams to be systematised within one application * Powerful reporting engine with the ability to extend with custom reports
Cons* Retentions and variations can be difficult to manage for construction companies * Inventory management is non-existent, which while understandable in a workflow management app does limit use for service-based firms that also provide product * The mobile app could do with further extensions to the range of features available * If you are looking for a fully featured CRM that you need to integrate with a email marketing system (like Mailchimp) you may need to use a standalone app
Source: GetApp
May 3, 2016
Mackenzie M.
Accountant
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2018

“Functionality & Reporting”

OverallWorkflow max helps to solve the issue of effective invoicing of time worked on each client. Workflow max has also helped our firm when it comes to GST time - the way workflow max integrates with Xero makes filing GST returns with Inland Revenue very simple, and lets you easily keep track of GST returns and to make sure that all returns have been filed before the due date.
Pros- Workflowmax has the ability to let the user create and design their own reports, which can come in very handy for workflow planning purposes. Saves staff all trying to navigate through a single spreadsheet! - This is an effective program to record staff hours, which also allocates your time entries to the jobs you are working on, which helps when it comes time to bill clients. - The tax alerts on the dashboard are a good way to double check tax returns after they have been assessed by IRD, which is a good reminder to check any returns that have been assessed as different as it raises a red flag and makes you look into it.
ConsThe custom reporting can be a bit hard to navigate around, especially for any newcomers to the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2018
David M.
Director
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
January 22, 2015

“It does what it says on the tin. Work-Flow-MAX”

OverallI am the director of Right Brain Insights, and CFO for a company called T3 Group - T3 Facility Services Pty Ltd. I help SMEs use data to clarify their strategic direction and boost their business performance. In the case of T3 Group, that's what we've been able to do with WorkflowMax. Eleven months ago, the only thing that could be vaguely understood was total sales to a client. However, in order to understand the cost base and truly drive profit, and link it back to our goals, we needed to be able to break down jobs, and their cost, as well as give the guys one site and the guys in the office something that could allow them to be far more efficient and far more effective at what they needed to do. We looked at WorkflowMax, GeoOp and Connect2Field. WorkflowMax is just a standout, across these in terms of its reporting, its connection with Xero, and its detail. We needed to have really good insights over our cash flow going forward. We use WorkflowMax to strip out a pipeline, so we can see cashflow into the future based on job activity. Our target used to be $50,000 a month, it's now $325,000 minimum and rising. We would not have been able to hit that growth without WorkflowMax. There used to be a fairly substantial lag in invoicing. It used to be around a 14-day delay from the end of a job to actually invoicing it. That's come down to basically 24, at most 48 hours. We pretty much invoice as soon as the job's finished. That's been a really, really tight process and something that's really cool when you link WorkflowMax to Xero. In January our accounts receivable days was roughly 65 and our accounts payable was roughly 40. We've now switched that where our accounts receivable, on average, is about 45 days and our payable is about 48. So being able to switch that and stay on top of it has had a really, really powerful impact. We're just becoming more organised. So we are doing things far more efficiently. We are, through a system like this, becoming more account
Pros- Customised reporting & data fields - Real-time tracking - Xero connection - Pricing (so much cheaper than GeoOp & Connect 2 Field at the time we researched) - Backed by Xero
Cons- Dashboard design. Could be cleaner, maybe customisable - Not life or death, but stronger connection on the cost side. i.e. 'spend money' type transactions linking to Xero.
Source: GetApp
January 22, 2015
Maree M.
Accounting, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: GetApp
June 26, 2016

“Value for Money Time and Project Management System”

OverallAs Certified Implementation Partners, we have implemented and trained WorkflowMax for over sixty clients in the UK. Industries have included Creative Agencies, Architects & Engineers, Ecologists, Training Companies and General Consultancy firms.
ProsWorkflowMax is highly flexible and every client will tend to use it slightly differently. Some of the key things our clients like about WorkflowMax 1. Easy time entry - Especially the weekly time grid where you can then easily track who has/hasn't submitted time if using the 'Submit Time'sheet' feature. 2. The ability to develop attractive quotes and proposals. 3. Being able to pull processes and systems together in a centralised location. Often clients are holding project information in lots of different locations/spreadsheets around the office. 4. Huge flexibility through the custom reporting and being able to quickly see Project Profitability. 5. 'Talks' nicely to Xero your Accounting Software, sending through invoices and supplier invoices. 6. Great Value for Money when taking into account the breadth of features.
Cons1. Capacity Planning. There is a Staff Availability grid, but time must be clearly allocated to staff and tasks for this to provide meaningful and accurate information. 2. Expenses Tracking. There are various options for Expense Tracking such as bulk purchase orders, but could be clearer and easier to use.
Source: GetApp
June 26, 2016
Phillip Q.
Web Developer
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2018

“Good product, however timer has bugs”

OverallIf the support team fixes the timer issue, this would be the project management tool to go with hands down.
ProsI like how the product has a timer that you can time your tasks against with start and stop timer functionality and see how much time you have spent on your project and each task. I like that it has Xero integration as well.
ConsI don't like that the timer has bugs where maybe one out of every ten times that you attempt to stop the timer after finishing timing a job, it completely forgets the time that was recorded against it and resets the time to a lower time for some unknown reason. I have contacted support about this issue countless times but have always been pushed away even after following requests to send through supporting testing data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2018
Uwais A.
Senior Financial Consultant
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“WorkFlowMax review”

OverallReasonably happy with the experiences
ProsThe ability to calculate and manage task time automatically without having people try to manually work out their hours is very helpful.
ConsPlanning for longer than a month is tricky if you only link jobs to projects that have been approved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019

“Useful for project costing for an SME”

OverallUsing an app to enter hours saves us time - we are a small company so a large ERP system isn't appropriate. Workflow Max isn't perfect, but it does what we need - let's us do project costing relatively easily while integrating with the accounts system we use. There are lots of 'help' videos easily found to show you how to do things.
ProsThe phone app makes it easy to enter time, wherever you are, and the admins can see easily who has completed and submitted time and who hasn't.
ConsThe reports aren't as customisable as we'd like - you can see that it's built from database fields from different tables, but only certain combinations of fields are available and it takes a while to work out which basic report is the one you need. There are no 'sub jobs' or cost categories, so we need to use subfolders to categorise costs, or separate out project phases, which is a bit clunky.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019
Mark S.
CEO
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“WorkflowMax provides an excellent platform for a business wanting to do time cost recording. ”

OverallEasy to use
ProsWorkflowMax has excellent reporting and export functions which allows for production of meaningful management reporting. Client profitability is easy to calculate and more importantly, the productivity of team members. An excellent overall reporting system.
ConsNavigating from one client to another can be cumbersome. Also, unless the different levels of jobs, tasks, and activities are set up properly, this can result of reports which provide incorrect information. In comparison to CCH iFirm, I think WorkflowMax have a few edits to perform to bring this up to standard
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Daniel M.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
November 10, 2014

“WorkflowMax is very user-friendly”

OverallI am the Director of Melbourne-based commercial fit-out and property maintenance company, Symmetry Commercial. After migrating from MYOB to Xero, we were looking for a work scheduling and quotation software, and that's when we discovered WorkflowMax. For us, the beauty of WorkflowMax has been creating a really tight process around purchasing and sending online purchase orders. Typically, paperwork goes missing, emails go missing. But now it's so much easier; we can just log on and see all the information in one place. If we need to re-submit a quote or a purchase order, it's all there. The biggest thing for us is the quotation side of things. What's terrific is that this information then feeds directly through to Xero to create an invoice, which cuts down on invoicing time. Functionality was a focus for us; we didn't want something that was going to be too difficult to use. But WorkflowMax is very user-friendly; we've had new people start here and it's been really easy for them to pick up. WorkflowMax has been great for us in the sense that it has got so much scope. We were looking for something that could grow with us; as the company grows we can actually expand our use of the system. WorkflowMax is only going to get better for service-based industries because they are specialist to that particular type of software. When our business goes to that next level, and we have got more people out there doing project estimating, then I know there are those functionalities within WorkflowMax, and it's something that we're excited to explore.
Pros- Inexpensive - Programmers are constantly improving WFM - Seamless compatibility with Xero - Easy to use and intuitive. Easy to train new comers on.
Cons- Would prefer if it was a bit more Building/ Construction industry centric
Source: GetApp
November 10, 2014
Avatar Image
Marc P.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Integral to our project and time tracking”

ProsEasy to use similar to Xero accounting - integrates with accounting. Good mobile app and great reports. We're finding the leads and quotes very useful - especially for keeping track of projects and potential work, and converting to real jobs. Workflowmax has allowed us to improve our productivity as well as tracking work and hours that we previously would have missed.
ConsA little bit of difficulty linking to Xero accounting - mainly due to our awkward setup. Looking forward to a smoother link between these apps.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Mitch C.
Owner
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
August 12, 2014

“WorkflowMax has changed the way we work ”

OverallI'm a Partner at Greengage - a London based sustainability and environmental consultancy providing advice to a range of different clients on how they can integrate sustainability into their core operations as well as making their developments more environmentally responsible. We used to employ a cumbersome system of spreadsheets for time & project management that would often involve duplicate information. It was not a system we could use to generate meaningful information about how much cost had gone into a job, or how much time or budget we had left and how we we were tracking a fee. When we switched to WorkflowMax, I was surprised how easy it was to get started. All our staff found it very simple, intuitive. The online video tutorials and the support team helped us immensely by answering all of our queries. WorkflowMax provides us the opportunity to run our own reports with a very powerful custom report builder in a very easy and intuitive way. As a consultancy, its having that information in hand to be able to go back to clients where we are with individual projects. The way WorkflowMax enables us to tailor the information has saved us 70-80% of the time we used to spend on that system. In terms of return on investment, WorkflwoMax is a no-brainer. We can recoup the invest on a monthly basis by just having one more hour of consistency. As a business owner, WorkflowMax makes my life easy by having all the information in one place - so we can see where we are at in terms of projects, we can see who is working on it, we can see where we are with invoicing, we can see how much money in the budget is left over and much more. There is less admin involved in the business now. WorkflowMax has given us an unfair advantage to stay ahead of our competitors. Highly recommended for forward-thinking service businesses.
Source: GetApp
August 12, 2014
Kyle P.
Owner
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 22, 2016

“Streamlined job processes”

ProsWorkflowmax is a fantastic job mangement program that has saved APT a lot of time in book keeping. The software covers our complete workflow from Quoting and Scoping a Job, Managing the Job and Invoicing. The Stopwatch feature for time keeping adds a level of detail which makes it hard for cutomers to argue - everything is recorded in real time. WFM allows document storage and collaboration straight to the job, all emails, files and notes can be accessed by anyone working on the job - no searching for lost information.
ConsThere are a few integrations that are available for WFM (eg Xero) which work really well but It would be great if WFM had Zapier integration.
Recommendations to other buyersUse the help and setup guides to help in the process of setting up WFM, there are a lot of features and without the guides it is easy to miss them. The Support department are fantastic and answer very quick.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 22, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
August 11, 2014

“Great product, such a timesaver ”

OverallAs the director of Threerooms, a graphic design agency in Nottingham, UK - I was watching my company struggle to grow because the admin demands were becoming overwhelming. We used to have job bags and job sheets, keep the record of time spent on paper - thats just seem like a historic way of doing things. But since we implemented WorkflowMax, it's been smooth sailing. We use WorkflowMax to manage all of our projects from the start to the finish. The great thing about WorkflowMax is that everything is integrated into one package. I can deal with the quoting part of the process, through to actually managing of the project, managing time, budgets and then move through to purchase orders and invoices -- everything in one system. Because everything is integrated in one system, I can convert a quote into a live job by just pressing one button. When the job is complete - we can just turn it into an invoice, again just at a click of a button, and then seamlessly pushes the invoice into our accounting software Xero. The integration with Xero is just brilliant really. Being able to just seamlessly push sales and supplier invoices straight out of workflowmax into xero is excellent. It gives us a great overall solution for the business. Together, WorkflowMax & Xero must have saved us thousands and thousands of pounds. As a business owner, there is so much to think about - I think WorkflowMax has really given me the ability to hand over some of those responsibilities to my staff. They can use WorkflowMax to manage the project independently without any input from myself. Its given me time to work on the business rather than in the business, which is what every sort of manager really wants.
Source: GetApp
August 11, 2014
Avatar Image
Marc P.
Owner
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019

“WorkflowMax Boosted Job Workflow”

OverallHuge improvement in our job workflow which means we captured more billable time and expenses.
ProsMajor benifit was the integration with its sister accounting cloud service. All time and project billing info is captured in Workflow and financial data is passed to Xero for accounting... huge improvement in our job workflow.
ConsIt was difficult to configure and setup from an invoicing perspective.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019
Nathan C.
Partner
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Pretty good overall, but just didn't work for my business”

ProsI liked the overall workflow of the software, including the quoting/pricing modules. They were pretty flawless and helped me make sense of a pricing system on the fly. Also, there is the intergration with Xero, which is the platform I use for accounting.
ConsI wasn't a fan of how WorflowMax's calendar system worked. I also wanted a task system with Kanban style layout, and that just isn't in there..
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Simon W.
Senior Building Surveyor
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2018

“Timesheet entry standardised and simplified.”

Overall
ProsI particularly like the WorkflowMax app which I have loaded onto my work phone (iPhone). I prefer to use the WorkflowMax app on my phone than the PC as I have a large number of codes and sub-codes that I have to choose from and once I have selected the 'client' it filters out all of the potential entries that I don't need, then I enter 'job' and again it filters down to just what I need to choose from. Like most people, I reeeeeally don't enjoy doing timesheets and yet I can do them in my car or anywhere out of the office quite quickly and I know that it will be updated centrally immediately . The app helps a lot in streamlining the timesheet entry process.
ConsI don't like doing timesheets but that's not WorkflowMax's fault! :) I suppose if I was really picky I'd say that the PC version is a bit clunky compared to the app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2018
Katrin S.
Finance Manager
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 7, 2018

“Brilliant project management system”

ProsIt's a great piece of project management software, easy to use, seamless workflow, very user friendly, great tutorial videos, works well with Xero!
ConsNot much to add, it's pretty straightforward system and easy to use. Definitely would suggest taking time to watch the tutorials to get the best of it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 7, 2018
Ross D.
Web Developer
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2018

“You lose your running time on down times”

OverallPlease develop a front end caching for the timer so it would save it for a couple of hours in the browser cache.
ProsIt's great for timing tasks and has a great customer support as well. Easy operation, you can turn it on and off with ease when there are sudden things that happen that needs you to stop your timer on tasks.
ConsIf the site goes down or has a problem when you save your current running timer, there is a high chance that you would lose that data so keep an eye on the numbers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2018
Boris Z.
Project Manager
Utilities, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2018

“Workflowmax is an excellent product with great value”

Pros- Great value for money - does 95% of what other more sophisticated systems do at a fraction of the price - Easy set up and implementation - Excellent reporting functionality - Very robust and reliable - Leads and quoting functionality
ConsI find the layout a bit clunky While it is great for simple quotes, Workflowmax is not very suitable for complex quotations. Any quotation with more than a dozen lines become hard to follow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 5, 2018
Phillip Q.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Easy to use project task timing online software”

OverallEasy to use time tracking for billable workdevelopment .
ProsI love how easy it is to start timing a job/task for billable time tracking. The website is fast to load and use with a great UI.
ConsThere are a few bugs in the timing feature where you try to stop timing, however it loses your total time at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Dealdiane D.
Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 19, 2019

“Good for time tracking”

ProsIntegration with Xero is great. Timing your work is easy as well although finding your work item could be better
Cons"Remember me" option when logging in would be a welcome addition. Saving drafts could be improved as sometimes you lose them
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 19, 2019
Doug E.
Litigation Technology Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2017

“Excellent features and value and part of the Xero ecosystem”

ProsGreat features such as calculation of unbilled revenue, invoicing, accounting integration, notifications.
ConsNot super customizable, not a true workflow system, no ability to automate steps such as calling APIs instead of having a human do something.
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2017
Joss S.
Director
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2018

“Easiest way to keep track of multiple jobs”

OverallGreat, easy to piece of software that makes my job a lot easier
ProsAll data in one place for each job, making it easy to break down information for clients Not complicated Can be used for so many parts of a job
ConsGetting my head round some of the accountant figures that appear (My lack of knowledge, not the softwares issue)
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2018
Toni M.
Consumer Goods, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
July 30, 2014

“WorkflowMax is working for us”

Overall"WorkflowMax has been like someone turning the light on for our business. We knew our old software wasn't giving us the information we needed to know whether we had been profitable on each job. Manual costings were so labour intensive we didn't tend to do them very often. Now at the touch of a button WorkflowMax gives us a profitability report on each job which is amazing. We share this information with our staff, who really take ownership of the job to ensure good profitability. This and other reports in Xero help give us the information we need to make decisions within our business. Forgive me if I am starting to sound a little bit evangelical, but the change to WorkflowMax really has had a dramatic impact on our business, and put us back in the driver's seat, linking through to Xero and giving us all the information we need. Guided patiently by the team at Equation we undertook a seamless transfer over to WorkflowMax and Xero. Bonnie was able to understand our business and how we needed Work Flow Max to work for us. She ensured we set up and customized WorkflowMax correctly to meet these needs. Not only is Peter May Ltd is a canvas fabrication but a marquee and event hire business. Bonnie has set WFM to cater to both sides of our business."
ProsGood management of jobs, and costs.
Source: GetApp
July 30, 2014
Irene K.
Administrative Services
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2018

“At the end of each day, I go into WorkflowMax and put in my time and it's just so easy to use. Since we are an international company, it is easy for our HR in the UK to see our time and how it is spent.”

ProsThe quick 1-2-3 of putting my time in and the job I did. At the end of the week, I just click one button and the whole week is recorded. So easy.
ConsI don't see any cons at the present time. Everything seems to be pretty well covered. The only thing I think I would like to see changed is, after saving your time for the day, you, personally cannot go in and make a change. You have to have your HR change it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2018
Jennifer A.
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
March 26, 2016

“Great templates for job quoting and scheduling recurring jobs”

OverallWe've been using this for almost 2 years It keeps us on track with quoting, creating jobs and issuing invoices then doing the same steps again for recurring jobs. It's a rinse and repeat kinda thing which works for us in the long run.
ProsGreat and customizable templates for job quoting, tracking and scheduling of recurring jobs
ConsTask section of the Quote Due to the fact that the way the task is set up in workflowmax that the tasks are can be viewed by the employees of the contractor as the sensitive information on the task. We use the tasks for the purpose of providing the quote/estimate only. We create an invoice then we copy and paste the information from task into the cost so we can generate the invoice.
Source: GetApp
March 26, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2018

“Ok for simple businesses”

OverallIt has been OK for production, but it came from a very low base. Good entry level product, but unless you're running a very simple process you'll outgrow it in a year or so.
ProsSimple to use Simple to set up Integrated with Xero
ConsIt's easy to do a simple quote, but if you're doing anything complex... well, good luck. You're better off doing the work in Excel and dropping the numbers into WFM for tracking. It is slower than paper, and has little inbuilt intelligence. You can add costs and tasks, and it will total them. You can't do options or variations, or cost line items. I've asked WFM if there are improvements coming. Its been soon for a couple of years now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018

“Integrates perfectly with Xero but oh so Expensive”

ProsSince Xero bought them out they have had a great product that integrates seamlessly with Xero. Reall does do just about everything for your project management and Customer Relationship management.
ConsThe cost of this software on top of a Xero subscription is too much, particularly if you want something as simple as recurring invoicing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 1, 2017

“Dont use if quoting is important”

ProsIt's OK for tracking jobs once the quote is accepted, and links with Xero quite well. If you have a simple business it'll probably be OK
ConsDespite repeated requests, WFM is not interested in improving this side of the product. WFM cannot handle multi-line itemised quotes, is slow to use and has very limited functionality. While you can add profiles, and append them to orders it insists on blending all the profiles in together, making itemising a messy, manual process. The cost is OK, again if you have a simple business. Don't try to imagine that these costs are anything like inventory. It is basically a free text field. Tasks can't be combined with costs, so you can't organize complex jobs at the quote stage. I believe you can do more in jobs, but this is handling the data twice. I am searching for an alternative and will be gone as soon as possible. The biggest thing keeping me using it is that I spend 40+ hours doing 20 hours worth of quoting and run out of time to search!
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 1, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2018

“This tool allows you to manage several projects online...”

OverallWorkFlow is a great software, it allows me to save a lot of time and money, when you need to work in a team since this service is available all the time and you can coordinate the work at a distance.
ProsThis has been one of the best software I have used in my work. Its interface is very nice as well as being very easy to use. It allows me to carry out several projects online and that is a great advantage, you can work on them wherever you want, whenever you want.
ConsWorkFlow is great software, there is absolutely nothing that you do not like. You can save a lot of time and money, when you need to work as a team since this service is available all the time and you can coordinate the work at a distance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2018
Lisa P.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
October 1, 2014

“the best thing about WorkflowMax is the payroll system”

OverallI'm the office manager at SA Construct, a construction cladding company in Adelaide, Australia. Previously Payroll used to take a whole day, now it only takes a hour. The time saved is just massive. We enter all the supplier invoices into WorkflowMax as purchases, and then convert them into a supplier invoice. We enter about 100 supplier invoices every month into WorkflowMax. They all go into Xero perfectly. Once a month, I do invoicing through the job, and create sales invoices they get seamlessly transferred into Xero just as well. The integration between WorkflowMax and Xero is as seamless as it can get. We create the invoices in WorkflowMax against each job, and they automatically go into Xero perfectly. All the information within an invoice is seamlessly transferred, so we can we see in Xero which jobs they relate to. For me, the best thing about WorkflowMax is the payroll system. All the guys out on site enter their time straight into WorkflowMax, and I'm able to just use the totals of their hours at the end of the month. It's a really good organising tool, and saves on a lot of paper. Everything we need is in one place.
Source: GetApp
October 1, 2014
Leaine J.
Accounting, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
July 21, 2014

“Timesavings for billing and quoting”

OverallAt Jones Business Solutions we used WFM to move off MYOB Time Billing - conservative estimate that saved around 10-12 hours each month with invoicing. Even better now to have the Tax Practice - previously used an excel template for financials - the combination with WFM, Xero and Spotlight Workpapers is sensational for a small Tax Agency like us. WFM Support is prompt and helpful and we love WFM so much we now regularly implement and support other businesses wanting to get the max out of job costing and reporting. Have tested other similar systems and yet to see something that stands out for a comparable price. We have used since 2011; we operate in a virtual office and users are both employees and contractors.
ProsTimesavings for billing and quoting Seamless integration with Xero Tax practice version - auto synch with IRD Good functionality with reporting Brilliant for our virtual office
ConsWork arounds needed for retentions - but to be fair not really designed for construction industry - but it can work Not too much else that is a problem - especially for the price
Source: GetApp
July 21, 2014
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 23, 2019

“Excellent for Small to Medium business without IT support ”

OverallExcellent if you have small, stable staff numbers and no permanent on top IT support. If you're quite tech savvy, it could probably be achieved a bit cheaper.
ProsBoth the desktop version and the app are easy to use and laid out for keeping the majority happy. Integrations are a must these days and the accounting data flow is most desirable to small business and their often long-suffering accounts.
ConsThe pricing structure "per user " is a big turn off for me, particularly for project-based tools, this is due to the massive flux in numbers of users over a short period. It can get costly to get all your project contractors accessing project documents.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 23, 2019
Connor K.
Accounts Administrator
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“WorkflowMax is very specific ”

OverallIt is a good system but should be used properly and not just for one aspect. This would cause issues either reporting or tracking information. Review the systems functions because implementing to see if it suits your needs/wants
ProsAdmin users are able to create custom reports to display information based on their own needs. This is very useful because you can show certain aspects of your work while omitting others.
ConsOur company uses WFM is a unique way. We focus more on the timekeeping functions rather than the full-functionality of the system. In doing this, we are not able to go as in depth with our reporting or time-keeping accuracy because WFM was simply not made for just that purpose
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Morten F.
Video Editor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018

“Easy to use, haven't had any big issues and good way to keep track”

ProsI love that it doesn't take me too long to get my timesheets in. Easy for my producers to keep track over time spent on projects, down to all the tasks within.
ConsThe layout feels a bit old and clunky. The week overview in the quick-submission software is a bit clunky to get through.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018
Doug W.
Production & Business Development Manager
Defense & Space, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2017

“For the money probably the best option out there for production and distribution.”

OverallScheduling an organization for manufacturing. The quote process has been made easier and standardized. Ability to keep everything in one location.
ProsEasy to navigate, fulfilled all of our needs for the company as far as manufacturing, scheduling, easy to assign two different employees four tasks. Integrates with our current CRM. For the price I believe it's the best quoting software and Manufacturing distribution and organization software out there.
ConsNot easily customizable. Very time-consuming to set up. And customer service was below average. The video tutorials don't go into depth as far as instructing on customizable features example importing and using customizable quotes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2017
Glennis S.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 10, 2015

“WorkflowMax is essential software for any business needing to manage time and costs”

OverallWorkflowMax is extremely affordable software and has very high-end reporting compared to similar priced products, while it can still be very easy to use for the basic user. It is cloud based, secure, you can easily view your work in progress and it works seamlessly with Xero. Use it for your leads, internal projects, client work (one off and repeat), invoicing, quoting and time sheets. WorkflowMax integrates nicely with payroll software too. If you are paying $150 a user for other software, you really do need to check it out. Being owned by Xero, there is also a lot of development being done to make the product even better. There will soon be an app available - in the meantime it has a mobile site which is fine for time and costs. WorkflowMax suits pretty much any business needing to manage chargeable and non-chargeable time and disbursements or materials. There are some excellent advanced features such as emailing your job with files etc, and custom reporting which you can do yourself - no need to pay WorkflowMax to create reports for you. It is currency agnostic so can be used in any country.
Source: Capterra
June 10, 2015
Todd S.
Founder/Owner
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
March 20, 2015

“Organized task specification and time tracking ”

OverallCatamaran Marketing is utilizing WFM to boost overall efficiency and smoothen administrative tasks that can easily be mismanaged by any entrepreneur running their own business. Its organized structure and multitude of customization options has enabled us to track time on tasks more accurately than ever before. All tasks are fine tuned - avoiding things that fall through the cracks, which in turn, eliminates so many of the technical headaches that business owners waste time and energy problem-solving. Not only has scheduling vastly improved our customer service to clients in estimated turnaround, but its enabled us to process many jobs more quickly than ever! WFM has been the lubrication to help run Catamaran Marketing like a well-oiled machine and I now have more time and energy to devote to scaling up my business.
ProsWe love the job templates. Our business model is to do many things for a select group of businesses. Some are small and some are large. WFM helps us clearly define each type of job and create a template for that.
Source: GetApp
March 20, 2015
Avatar Image
Kara H.
Owner
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“Can't Trust the Document Management”

OverallInterface is ok, but takes several months to setup and get used to. Also managing tasks for employees for small business is based on larger, long-term projects rather than short design projects. I wouldn't recommend it for small design agencies.
ProsIntegration with Xero is really the biggest benefit... also their estimate-to-invoice system is pretty good.
ConsYou can't trust their document management system to appropriately save emails to the correct folders. It duplicates, stalls and, after a month of waiting for customer support, ended up loosing several months of emails, attachments, images and documents that were supposed to be saved to job folders. Very frustrating. When we asked customer service, they didn't know why and didn't offer a solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Phillip Q.
Web Developer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2019

“Good UI, however bad support”

ProsI liked that you can time your projects.
ConsThe support is not very good, I reported multiple bugs to the support team, however the response was that they will not fix the problem (the problem is that the timer sometimes records incorrect times). Another problem is that when searching for projects to time under, it only displays the first ten jobs (if you have more to select from, it simply won't display these, therefore you cannot time those particular jobs).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2019
nick p.
Director
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 10, 2019

“User for over 4 years”

OverallWe need it but it's dated and upgrades are far and few between. It's ready for a competitor to take over.
ProsIntegrates with Xero (but only partly) It has a wide range of features Is very customisable (if you actually need that)
ConsSupport takes 24 hours and is poorly managed No online chat available Reporting is clunky an non-intuitive Extra features in the premium version are seriously overpriced
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 10, 2019
Andrew M.
Director
Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2019

“Poor Service”

OverallAverage
ProsNothing Particularly excites me about this software
ConsThe support is terrible, reports are clunky at times and you need to pay extra to unlock half decent reports
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2019
Jeff M.
Board Member - Advisory Board - Masters Of Analytics
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
March 14, 2016

“Great Product for Quoting / Job tracking / Timesheeting”

OverallMy team have been using WFM for around 4 years now. It took quite a while to harness the full potential of the App, and really we needed 5+ people before it really took off. With 15+ people now using the app to manage weekly quotes, jobs, timesheets, and invoicing, it is a massive timesaver for our company.
ProsGreat timesheeting / job tracking and quote generation abilities
Consinterface took 2+ years to be updated. The iOS app is still very basic and doesnt allow me to check or add quotes on the go.
Source: GetApp
March 14, 2016
Sarah L.
Business Development Manager
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
June 12, 2015

“Seamless Workflow for On The Road Coaching”

OverallAs a consultant travelling to my clients I find Workflowmax invaluable. i can use it for leads to jobs to billing. It sends me reminders and I never forget to follow up. I can use it remotely and from my office. I get to track the jobs and status of leads. I can see what time and cost I soend on my clientrs and therefore what I shoudl be charging to make money. Its seamless integration with XERO really helps make themonitoring of my business performance, and therefore my own performance, a breeze. I wouldnt be without it!
ProsEase of use and access Reminders
Source: GetApp
June 12, 2015
Kyle P.
Managing Director
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
March 11, 2015

“Accurate intelligence and time saving”

Overall We are using WFM as the hub for our business - a central point for all our job related information. The key saving for us is the ability to create a quote accurately which then turns into a job with tasks and costs. The tasks can be quickly assigned to a staff member and costs can quickly be organised using purchase orders. Staff can also self-manage their productivity as they can see the billable vs non billable time. The change to WFM & Xero has halved our accounts admin time - a saving of approximately 10 hours per week! This has allowed us to focus this time into marketing and business development - further amplifying the savings. Moving to cloud based job and accounting software has given our staff more flexibility in where they work - no need to be at the office now.
ProsCustomer support team is fast to answer questions
ConsMore features and customisation in the reports to make them present better would be good
Source: GetApp
March 11, 2015
Boris Z.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 14, 2017

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 14, 2017
Carl F.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2016

“Very cost effective job management product”

OverallWe have implemented and support WorkflowMax for multiple clients across different industries both large and small. It is an extremely cost effective product for all of the features you get to manage jobs and have all staff entering time sheets and disbursements. We routinely set up custom templates for quotes, invoices etc for clients bringing on their own branding which works really well and is simple to use. The reporting is great with the ability to customise your own and add extra fields throughout the system, the reporting is however limited when compared to more advanced systems such as SQL based systems as WFM does not allow you to set up your own data containers or queries to get all of the information you sometimes need on a single report. All in all an extremely good, cost effective solution that integrates well with Xero and all of our clients are always happy with the solution.
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2016
Todd D.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2016

“User and Implementation Provider”

OverallWe use WorkflowMax (WFM) to manage our consulting business. WFM is a comprehensive system that allows us to manage leads from initial engagement through to project quotes and estimates. All information is then transferable to our jobs allowing us to capture time against tasks, manage our time frames and account for related project costs. With all information flowing from initial input we benefit from significant efficiency with not having to double enter information. We also integrate with Google Drive for document storage and Xero for financial accounting which means between WFM and Xero we get great visibility regarding job and financial reporting. Highly recommend this product as it is usable for many different industries and has great flexibility when it comes to customisation. We now offer implementation services for WFM which we would not do if we did not believe in the product.
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2016
Michael M.
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
February 23, 2016

“Workflow Max”

OverallAs accountants, we have used WFM for around 6 years in our practice. We have recommended it to many of our clients and once you have it running well - its a dream. Because we use it daily we are able to support our clients as they run and develop their own business, so WFM is a natural progression for appropriate clients.
ProsCan do anything you want from a job management perspective
ConsIt can do so much that there is always something new to learn.
Source: GetApp
February 23, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“I like it. It keeps all my workflow in one easy place”

ProsI like the fact that my staff can log time against individual tasks allowing us to see where most of our time is being spent.
ConsI don't like the fact that you have to allocate tasks to each individual. It would be better if anyone could put time against any task loaded.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018