Data Studio Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Data Studio

Helps businesses understand data with dashboards and reports. Learn more about Data Studio

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 31 of 31 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 31 of 31 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Shruti S.
Project Manager
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Google Data Studio: Pretty Awesome”

OverallThis for me is a phenomenal product. Since I have found this, I've introduced it to multiple people at work. This has been very helpful in depicting data in a simple and easy way to variety of audiences. I wish they advertised it better.
Pros1. It is free 2. It connects to your Google account 3. It can connect to a whole variety of data sources, I have been using several Google spreadsheets 4. The ease of inserting a table, a graph, scorecard, heatmap etc 5. It is visually pleasing 6. It can serve as a live dashboard with custom and malleable date ranges 7. It allows you to easily switch around different chart versions 8. You can embed a Google spreadsheet! and scroll through the live Data Studio file! 9. All sorts of sharing settings 10. Can also download as a static PDF file 11. They have a basic training online, and there is a world of articles and youtube videos to help you 12. You can create new fields, rename them etc
Cons1. You have to link by tab for each spreadsheet, which is tedious. It would be nice to be able to link multiple tabs and spreadsheets at once. 2. There is no option for an automatic refresh if there is a change in the base file -- you have to go to View and hit refresh (not intuitive either). 3. The legend text often gets hidden and is not easy to resize and move around. 4. I couldn't find any option for inserting headers or page numbers automatically.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Andrew B.
Technical SEO Manager
Computer Hardware, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“A Great Free Alternative for Smaller Scale Data”

OverallGoogle Data Studio is great for what I use it for. I would not use it - nor recommend it - for large-scale data projects or projects that require large amounts of data processing. But, for basic dashboards and presentations, it works great.
ProsGoogle Data Studio is an excellent (and free!) alternative to software like Power BI or Tableau when the datasets you are using are smaller in size and the analysis needed is more presentation-based than behind the scenes number crunching. It's a fast way to put together a visually appealing dashboard without a lot of the 'frills' of the bigger players like Power BI.
ConsCSV import is limited to 100mb, which has been an issue in some of the datasets I have used (also why I noted Data Studio is for smaller datasets). This is a nit-picky one, but there is no word cloud functionality, which I really wish they would add.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Research, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019

“Free BI Tool with a learning curve”

OverallIt met me needs for a sales and marketing dashboard without having to spend hundreds of dollars.
ProsIt's free. It's Goolge so you know that it will evolve. It allows you to combined data sources for charts and graphs. One you understand how to use the tool it is fairly intuitive.
ConsLack of supporting materials or tutorials.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019

“Perfect for a ad hoc analysis”

ProsIt has built in integrations for every Google product, so when Data Studio came out it enabled us to deprecate another tool and helped us to keep it simple.
ConsIt's not so straightforward to do some specific analysis, setting filters for example. The tool is limited for more complex analysis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 13, 2019

“Best free reporting tool”

ProsThe best part of it is that I no longer have to spend hours on making reports for our clients. You just make a template, create a data source and it's done. It's one of the best tools Google came up with in the last years. It's very easy to use and extremely intuitive.
ConsCould use a couple more integration (Facebook for exemple) but hey it's FREE and it's very very good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 13, 2019
Nicolas V.
Media Director
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“The Easy Dashboarding solution”

ProsVery easy to use and can collect data from a lot of sources with basic connectors.
ConsNo native connector to facebook, we need to extract data into Google Spreadsheet and then link the SS has a new data source
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Zohaib A.
Co-Founder
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“An Exceptional Tool To Create Reports Using Your Own Data Sources”

OverallLoved having the ability to add our data sources to create intelligent and aesthetically pleasing charts. 10/10!
Pros Great job to Google's team for making this wonderful tool! Data studio is an amazing platform that helps us in terms of creating data reports that are otherwise quite difficult to create on your own when you have multiple data sources at once, this solves that problem rather efficiently. Now we just assign the source for our tables or charts into the data studio and it makes professional reports for us on the go!
ConsNothing to dislike as this has only helped in creating reports that are rather time consuming if you were to create them manually in excel or word
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Dee O.
Technical SEO Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“Great for integrating with Google Analytics for client reporting!”

OverallWould definitely recommend for agencies! There's a lot more that Google Data Studio can do - we haven't scratched the surface yet!
ProsAbility to create custom reports from Google Analytics data. Ability to style/format reports as you wish - fonts/colours/graphics etc.
ConsCan be tricky to pull in the right data at a first glance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Tanishq A.
Content Writer and Digital Marketing Executive
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019

“Great Software for your Data Visualization Needs ”

OverallI was using this software to track the daily sales conversion data and it always provided a comprehensive picture. This was my first experience with any data reporting and visualization software and I found it easy to use right from the very first day.
Pros1. Easy sharing options across a vast umber of users. 2. Easy to understand reports and dashboards.
Cons1. Reports and dashboards take a certain amount of time to get refreshed and updated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019
Michael W.
Editor
Entertainment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Data Studio Review”

OverallOverall, it's great. I'm newer to the program, but I'm in it each month. It's not very user-friendly to those who are looking to learn more about data reporting, but those who have that knowledge are able to navigate it easily.
ProsIt is great once you get the hang of it. There are issues (see below), but it is great for those using an analytical approach to their job and any who have a reporting aspect. It makes for a beautiful product when complete.
ConsThe inability to leave comments is a bummer. Every other Google product you can leave comments and tag people. Why not this one? The X and Y axis are also frustrating when trying to edit them. The bottom one isn't able to be edited for percentages, which is a lot of what I work with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Nik F.
Director of Marketing
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 18, 2018

“The best free BI dashboarding tool”

ProsGDS is free and that is its greatest strength. It connects easily to Google services, and supports a smattering of other data sources. It is easy to use and has some power under the hood that isn't obvious at first blush, especially with recent updates that permit better data aggregation and transformation.
ConsIt is very good for relatively simple dashboards, but if you are looking for larger scale "enterprise" tools or want more flexibility in data management, it's probably not a good fit. Maintenance of dashboards is highly manual and it is nearly impossible to create template reports or duplicate them for other similar data sources.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 18, 2018
Maria Q.
General Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019

“My favorite Report Platform”

OverallIs my favorite platform to create reports. I just love it, it really changes the Analytics works not only for me and my team but also for my clients.
ProsIt helps me to manage, control and understand data. It´s really useful and saves me a lot of time. I can create entire campaign reports in a few hours, adding dynamic charts, text, maps and a lot of graphic elements that make my reports more attractive and easy to understand.
ConsIt took me a little bit of time understanding how it works; but once I learned everything was easier for me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Makes Our Reports Look Professional”

ProsI LOVE Data Studio because it makes all our clients' reports look professional and easy to read. You can combine multiple data sources on a single dashboard, you can have multiple pages, and puts it into one dashboard that I can customize. We use supermetrics and the data pulls in from Facebook, Google Ads, Bing, LinkedIn, and Twitter with ease. Our clients LOVE their dashboards.
ConsThe data sources sometimes break and you have to go in and re-create another data source. Also, their customer support is non-existent.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Brian K.
Digital Marketing Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2019

“Great value for a free tool”

ProsConsidering GDS is free, it's a great value. The platform has come a long way since it's inception, and in my time using it, has continued to evolve in the right direction.
ConsThere are still a number of functions which can be done in GA which are difficult or impossible in GDS. Make sure you map out your reporting before setting out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Alessio R.
Managing Partner
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019

“Not a Tableau alternative, but it's getting there”

ProsPricing (it's free) Native integration with Google Ads and Analytics New features are being added very frequently Good UX
ConsQuite complicated to create your own functions Weak templating Can't move files to Team Drives Separation between data and visualization is confusing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2019
Avatar Image
James B.
Digital Marketing Executive
Religious Institutions, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“All the info in one place”

Overallwent from manually tracking stats across different places to having it all in one centralised location.
ProsLove being able to use different connectors to bring all of our data into one place - it makes monthly reporting a whole lot easier than it ever used to be
ConsFinding the right connector can sometimes take time, as well as the ever-changing landscape of how different services report info, but patience is rewarded
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Avatar Image
John H.
Digital Marketing Strategist
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“The best reporting platform”

OverallI love Google Data Studio!
ProsGoogle Data Studio makes it so easy to generate dynamic reports for yourself or clients. You can easily pull data from Google properties, and others with support, to create customized reports to observe any and all metrics that guide your organization.
ConsThere are limited features when incorporating data from non-Google sources, which require a third party tool to access easily.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Joost K.
Marketing Manager
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“Great tool! I hope more integrations follow soon”

OverallI'm using Google Data studio to keep track of international SEO performance. It helps us keep overview of the most important metrics. It goes beyond what you can get out of Analytics in this way.
ProsThis tool makes it very easy to connect and display data from multiple sources. Some of the main benefits of this very powerful software: 1. It's easy to setup dashboards, you don't need any experience. 2. You can connect data from multiple points - for example Google Analytics and Google Search console. 3. Styling your dashboards is easy and you have a lot of options in it. 4. There are many many options to visualize the data in your preferred way.
ConsThe only downside for me was that it does not integrate with many other projects yet. I would like it to combine with my CRM system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
ROMARIO G.
Consultant
Retail, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Excellent Free-to-Use tool for BI”

OverallDespite that it's not the best functional BI tool, it really solves a lot of data needs.
ProsWhat I most liked about this tool is that it makes so easy and secure to share reports with people in my organization (we have G-Suite accounts). Also, this tool have a perfect integration for reading data from Google Sheets.
ConsAs I said, the Free-to-Use comes at a cost: it lacks a wide variety of functionalities. For example: is not possible to connect to SQL Server databases, lacks support for a wide variety of charts (gauge) and is not possible to modify chart labels.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Godwin E.
Data Scientist
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019

“Best for creating Report”

OverallIt has helped us create good monthly reports for our organisation and stakeholders. To better show what we have done and how far we can go.
ProsI like the feature that I can directly get my data from my Google Bigquery and create a good report for them. It has made it easier organise reports using the charts and tables.
ConsIt requires some level of expertise to be able to use. It is not beginner-friendly
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019
Milena O.
Risk manager
Gambling & Casinos, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“Easy to use program”

ProsGDS is no longer beta!! Google Data Studio has the ability to create your own visualization Community Visualization and ready-made reports can later be used as templates.
Consonvenient interface. Data Studio is free and does not require the installation of additional software, which can be considered its most powerful advantages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019
Stuart W.
Digital Marketing Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“Reporting made easy”

ProsObviously there's lots more you can do with Data Studio other than just reporting, but for digital marketing this has made life so much easier creating reports as often as needed, and even have them emailed on a schedule via PDF.
ConsSometimes filters don't allow you to get as granular as you would like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Thaddaeus H.
Deputy CFO
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Not easy to visualize my data”

OverallIt does the job but I would prefer that it included the speedometer graph. That is what I really wanted.
ProsI like the way that I can take my data, visualize it and share it with my team members who seem to only be able to understand by looking at graphs. Plus it is included in my Google Suite.
ConsI found it very hard to begin building my first data presentation. The format is not intuitive and the documentation is hard to find. I am visualizing OT data and I wanted to build a pie graph but I still cannot figure out how to do it. Every time I try it only shows one selection out of three. I also wanted to include a speedometer (red/yellow/green) but that graph is not included.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Saksham K.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Very powerful yet very complicated”

ProsPros: Lot of options to bring in your data You can apply custom SQL queries and manage different sources based on that Ability to customize your view as per your preference
ConsCons: Very complicated interface once you start to bring in your data Applying SQL queries is good but again very difficult & complicated
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 30, 2019

“SATISFIED”

OverallPRIVATE
ProsORGANIZED FUNCTIONALITY, AND THE MANNER IT RESOLVES VARIOUS KINDS OF BARRIERS.
ConsORGANIZED A LOT OF SECTIONS OF CORPORATE AREAS I AM WORK IN.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 30, 2019
Mussie T.
Regional ICT Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“Data Studio Rocks!”

OverallWe mostly use it to create dashboards for periodic analytics reports and analysis. I'd recommend it to anyone
ProsIt's intuitive, loaded with all kinds of functionalities you can expect and is easy to learn.
ConsTo be honest, nothing. It's been a while and I still like the heck out of it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Gets basic work visualisation done quickly in web environment”

ProsAbility to connect with multiple sources, especially Google sheets and it's almost at zero cost!
ConsThere is no granular control over elements. For eg- I cannot drill down within all countries in geographic visualisation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“A great way to setup beautiful dashboard that my entire team can view”

OverallDecent dashboarding tool that extends beyond our current BI tool.
ProsIt's a great way to create nice looking dashboards based on my Google Analytics website data. I can share the link with my team and they can view results on a recurring basis.
ConsIt can be tricky to navigate and setup the dashboards. There is a learning curve to setup everything just the way you want to see it. Difficult to integrate external data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Andres L.
Building Materials, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 5, 2019

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 5, 2019
Maimoona A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 3, 2019

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“My favorite new Google program”

OverallMy SEO analyst uses this software every month to deliver my website data reports and I've LOVED the reports she has sent me. They're so easy to use and understand and I highly recommend this program to anyone trying to organize and present data in an interactive way.
ProsI like that the data is interactive, easy to understand, and so clear and organized for the viewer.
ConsThe Google share settings annoy me but that isn't specific to this program, just Google as a whole.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019