DigitalPersona Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About DigitalPersona

Free your users from cumbersome login obstacles with Smarter Authentication: - Protects your data & applications, while not getting in the way of doing business - Adaptable authentication based on risk - Multiple authentication methods to choose from - biometrics, SAML, tokens, Phone, PINS +more - Sets up in just a few days - Easily add applications, make changes yourself (without ongoing consulting) - Added Protection for Privileged Identities - Easily expand without ongoing consulting Learn more about DigitalPersona

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Tim S.
IT
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“Relieve end users and increase security with DigitalPersona Altus”

OverallI think DigitalPersona Altus is well suited for every organization and every scenario that involves login credentials. If users have complex passwords or many of them it will be especially useful. If you would like to incorporate a strict login policy that consists of a fingerprint plus pin or password plus pin it is a great solution.
ProsBiometric Authentication. This is a strength because it takes the guess work out of passwords. Login Authentication Policy. Add an extra layer of security by enforcing a Fingerprint+Pin number combination. Easy to use interface. Users can easily update and manage their logins from any PC. Adding new managed login templates for new software or websites is a snap. Users can create their own managed logins.
ConsLack of useful documentation provided to admins. Technical support isn't very knowledgeable. There have been instances where I knew more about the product than the person I was dealing with.
Recommendations to other buyersDigitalPersona Altus is used across our entire organization. We use DigitalPersona Altus for biometric domain authentication. We also use DigitalPersona Altus to store managed login credentials to authenticate with all of our software and websites. We enforce complex passwords in our environment so DigitalPersona takes the guess work out of passwords and instead authenticates with biometrics. Users need not remember their passwords for anything as they are all stored in Active Directory.

Vendor Response

By HID Global on December 2, 2016
Tim, Thanks for taking the time to review our product. I'm sorry to hear your experience with our technical support team. We always appreciate feedback and look for ways to improve. If ever you need to escalate an issue to the next level, please let us reach out to our Customer Care Manager. We want you to be both successful and happy with DigitalPersona Altus.
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
larry f.
Not Given
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“Altus PW Solution Review”

OverallThis product has been the answer to the question of "how do we securely manage passwords with all our users". Easy setup for our users. We no longer get calls from our employees on resetting their passwords or the old "I forgot my password". IT builds the templates for the various applications and URLs and the rest is history. It's actually better than SSO because it is more secure! With SSO, if you step away without locking your PC, your Apps are open for anyone to tamper with but with Altus, this is not so because your finger is needed to authenticate to each App\url that requires a password. A Secure Single Sign-On Solution (SSSO).
ProsSecure
ConsSome websites are tricky to set up a template but very few.
Recommendations to other buyersOur Auditors were impressed.

Vendor Response

By HID Global on December 2, 2016
Larry, Wow...great review and insight! We've had a lot of customers say the same thing about auditors liking the solution. Let us know if we can be of assistance.
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
Joel N.
Data Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“DigitalPersona”

OverallIt's user-friendly and makes authentication way simpler and faster. With accurate and reliable bio-metrics, access is smooth and slick using unique fingerprints.
ProsFirst, there's reliable password management system that is actually self-serviced. This works in such a way that only a set of questions are asked to identify a particular user so he/she can be logged in. So password reset is simple and users are not limited to web access only. Integration is at its best with the tool. There's no need for several user databases as you can have everything working in one place. There's more than one authentication system: multi-factor authentication and Windows authentication. Windows authentication makes thing better for you because you're not only limited to web access. Users no longer require passwords for system access as they can quickly log in using their unique fingerprints and get about their tasks without any hitches. The same users can be switched easily when need arises. Also, it works with a good number of programs so implementation and application is simpler. Good customer service if you need assistance.
ConsOnce in a while the templates may have a bit of a problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
John A.
VP and IT Security Officer
Banking, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“Good Product”

OverallWe have had success with this product. It's worked reliable and our employees love it. I believe it truly increases our security posture. It has been fairly reliable, but we have found certain people just cannot reliably authenticate with it. We have not been able to determine why this is yet. It works with most users though, and works well.
ProsEase of use
ConsNot everyone can reliably authenticate with it.
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
Avatar Image
Robert W.
Production Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018

“Great software for employee authentication ”

OverallThe problem concerning the verification of employee identity is faster and efficient
ProsThere is a free trial version of the software before the buyer makes the final decision It is does the fingerprint and bio-metric authentication flawless
ConsThe one-off price is a bit high and it may form a turn-off to the aspiring customers who would to install the software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Katherine F.
Gerente de Research & Sales
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Excellent tool for authentication”

ProsIn general terms, our experience with this platform has been very good, we like its biometric and fingerprint authentication, it allows us to verify if employees attend and perform their work, very good indeed
ConsSo far we have not had any inconveniences, they have improved over time in their applications and functions, we liked it so far
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Steve G.
CIO
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“Local Government View”

OverallWe have used this product for many years. Easy to use, easy to incorporate into your environment and a great overall value.

Vendor Response

By HID Global on December 2, 2016
Thanks Steve for your review and continued support!
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
Stephen R.
Network Manger
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“Upgrading to Altus was pretty much straight forward.”

OverallWe ran into a few bumps during the upgrade process to Altus with the readers and some templates. Once these were resolved the project was completed successfully.
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
Mark S.
Director of Engineering
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2016

“Need to work on frequency or product updates and bug fixes.”

OverallProduct upgrades (new version even if minor revision number change) require new fulfillment each time. We have used this product for many years. In that entire time, we have not received notices of new updates or upgrades to the software even though we are on a support contract. We must constantly check for bug fixes or product updates which have not been very regular. We have waited at times a more than a year for corrections to allow operation with current browser versions. When it does work we have been pleased with its operation.
ProsWhen it does work it works well.
ConsWe have had issues with comparability with current versions browsers such as Mozilla in the past. The time it has taken to correct these problems has been long. It doesn't always detect login screens and dialogs. No automatic notices of updates r bug fixes.
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2016
Daaniyal K.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“DigitalPersona Altus Review”

OverallWe use this software to easily authenticate at different portals, including logging into the workstation, different websites, etc. The software requires a physical device to scan your fingerprints. The authentication can be linked to the Active Directory in a domain environment as well.

Vendor Response

By HID Global on December 2, 2016
Thanks Daaniyal for the review! Although a lot of our customers like using fingerprint biometrics as part of their multifactor authentication, we have many other ways to authenticate including Bluetooth, tokens, SAML, passwords, PIN and more. We also work with the built-in fingerprint swipes that come with many of the laptops out there today. You can choose any combination of our available authentication methods. Thanks again!
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
Nancy P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Works Well!”

OverallClient Software Installs with no problem and with very little issues. Server side/group policy installation is a little tricky and requires a higher level knowledge of Active Directory group policy and schemes. The only issue we have encountered is frayed cable (more than 15 after about a year's use and the length of the cable. The UareU 4500 devices should be provided with a shorter USB cable. The length of cable must be the reason the cables become frayed so easily. Setting up AD schemas is difficult and would not risk a migration to Altus without technical support. Client software is very easy to use requiring very little training.
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Chris M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“Employees love the ease of use.”

OverallOur employees love the bio-metric fingerprint readers for logging into applications. It is much easier for them than remembering a bunch of passwords. I recommend this product.

Vendor Response

By HID Global on December 8, 2016
Thanks Chris for the feedback. DigitalPersona Pro is used in over 140 credit unions and although many like the convenience of being able to log into programs and networks with their finger instead of passwords, we are finding credit unions are expanding out and trying the other login methods of logging in as well. One credit union told me they liked it because they had less password reset requests because no one ever forgets their finger! Thanks again!
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
Adrian P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016

“One of best solutions in Market”

OverallI've been using digital persona U. are U. since 2005, and at beginning, readers were not so great, but over years the product has improved for better and in this company we have been using it since 2010. Support is where we think needs to improve because when there is an issue it takes the time to answer.

Vendor Response

By HID Global on December 5, 2016
Thanks Adrian for being a long term customer! I was here when your company first started with us. Like you, we have a lot of long term customers. We appreciate the review and feedback. I'm sharing your feedback with our Customer Care Manager to review and determine how we can be quicker. Thanks again!
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016
Mike P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“Utility Services of Alaska”

OverallOverall, this product saves us a ton of time because there are no user passwords to reset. Since we are a water utility, every once in awhile someone's fingerprint gets messed up and then we will need to re-register their fingers. We have been using this product for over 15 years and it just works!

Vendor Response

By HID Global on December 2, 2016
Mike, Thanks for the positive review and for continuing with DigitalPersona products all these years! Much appreciated!
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
Ashley S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2017

“Great Software”

OverallFor the most part I wouldn't part with the software. Since Crossmatch bought out digital persona the support level has dropped considerably. We usually have to get really upset before a problem gets addressed.
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2017