Spruce Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Spruce

Exclusively for lumber and building material businesses, Spruce provides information from point of sale to the integrated general ledger. Integrated business intelligence and tailored dashboard views provide full visibility into customers, orders, inventory and vendors. Spruce simplifies your invoicing processes, saving you time and money. Providing instant access to your wholesaler, co-op, or other vendors makes purchasing fast, helps you improve customer service, and win more orders Learn more about Spruce

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Kyle P.
Purchasing agent / IT department
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 10, 2019

“Very Satisfied”

OverallAs with any software of this nature it is only as good as the information you put into it. If you do not input purchase orders correctly or receive the product correctly it will not keep your inventory correct or cost correct. The learning curve is not high but you do have to take the time to learn how to use the software and what the different functions will do. As with any software change or upgrade do your homework first and list out your expectations to see if the software you are looking at will meet those expectations.
ProsVery user friendly. POS works well and is quick to get customer invoiced. The document management built into the software is very good and eliminates the need for paper files. Can easily tag external documents and scan into the software and tag to specific invoices, orders, quotes. Customer support has been great to deal with. They provide a good online help system with videos and documents to explain how to work with the software. There are lots of add on features if you need them. The implementation went very smooth when we switched over from the ECS PRO system we were on. The day we went live we were up and running that afternoon on the ECI Spruce system. The implementation team outlined a course of action over several months to get everything in place and tested before the actual go live date. The key to the success we had was in the planning done by Spruce and on us acting on there advice and getting the training and pre implementation check list done.
ConsCrystal reports (optional add on) does take some time to get used to and is a little hard to use on initial setup. But overall it offers good reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 10, 2019
Kevin P.
Store Manager
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2017

“Growing our Business with Spruce”

ProsWe went live with Spruce in 2009. Like any software change, we had some bumps in the road. Spruce helped us smooth out the bumps and made the whole process simpler then expected. Their committed staff were there to help and assist. Now, several years later, we continue to learn and utilize existing and new Spruce software features that help our performance, reporting, and bottom line. Their Tech Support have been responsive and timely. Spruce is progressive and cutting edge.
ConsOne of the biggest challenges for us is training the staff for change and the benefits for that change. Educating them to see that one upfront work around may appear to save time but in fact creates several hours on the back side.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2017
Danny W.
General Manager
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2019

“Spruce review”

OverallSpruce has helped our business become much more efficient, especially at the end of the month. What used to take us hours to perform now only takes 45mins to an hour.
ProsThe part I like most about Spruce software is the overall function of the "Point of Sales" portal. For the majority of our team this is the only area they use on a day to day basis. Spruce allows our team members the access and ability to check stock, pricing, purchase orders, customer profile information and much more all from the same screen they use each day when entering orders for our customers.
ConsThe area I like least about Spruce software is the crystal reporting that is used. I know there are hundreds of pre-written reports that are available, but having the ability to create reports and change reports within Spruce would be nice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2019
Sunny B.
General Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 4, 2017

“Happy with our change”

ProsThis product is much more user-friendly than our last POS/Inventory management system. We moved from Epicor Eagle. Spruce offers more functionality and is much easier to train new employees on. I am a big fan of the General Ledger module and the ease of use in producing monthly financial reports.
ConsI am not a fan of the Crystal Reports aspect of the system. It is functional, but a bit cumbersome to have to seek out the proper report, download and run it from outside the system. I hope that Spruce looks into integrating this feature in the future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 4, 2017
Richard S.
Owner
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 26, 2017

“Have been a user of the Spruce Software for over 10 years and very satisfied”

ProsThe software is very user friendly. Point of Sale, A/R, A/P, purchasing, and inventory control work seamless.The document management system built into the software is very nice. The dashboard module is very helpful to get a quick glimpse of all activity through the day, month or year. Very dependable software and nice people to work with. Just beginning to work with their mobile software and will be very helpful
ConsNo complains just wish we had more time to take advantage of crystal reports and other reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 26, 2017
Dennis W.
VP
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 4, 2018

“Not happy with software”

OverallWe were using ECI Next Gen which the software worked but customer support was terrible. ECI is discontinuing Next Gen so had to switch to Spruce. The fist problem is Spruce has no Payroll. So we figured out a way to handle that. On Next Gen we could have customers sign the paper invoice they scan it so when we sent out statements our customer got a signed copy so they would who picked up material. So I understood Spruce would do that. Ten I found out the only way to capture a sign in Spruce is through a signature pad like you use when you use a credit card. So I had to buy one for every sales terminal at over 600.00 ea. Then the problem is you can't get signature when you deliver to the job site without buying a android phone for every truck and paying a monthly fee for mobile aps. Also we belong to Orgill to buy hardware now we find out you can't download invoices from Orgill. We have to either hand enter each PO or buy another android phone enter our store items on it then send it I think to excel or something and some how get a PO. Is anyone else having these same issues? We are a lumber yard/ hardware store.. If you are on Spruce and can tell me hoe you handle these problems please call support team Also our support fees almost tripled..
ProsThe support people have been good to work with. The inventory part of Spruce is much easier than Next Gen.
ConsThe EDI invoice download does not work, you can't capture customer signatures without a lot of expense. The special order system requires too many steps.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 4, 2018
Dan G.
CFO
Building Materials, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 16, 2019

“Spruce, the software that makkes our Business work”

OverallWorking with Spruce has been great, every time you work on an issue it is very personal and the follow up makes you feel like Spruce is there just for us.
ProsThe customer service, the ability to work outside the box to solve our specific issues so that Spruce works for US.
ConsI struggle with this, maybe once something is voided or deleted it is gone, no recovering it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 16, 2019
Earl B.
Operations
Building Materials, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 16, 2019

“Good Software”

OverallWas a rough start but smooth now. Overall great for inventory and sales, but could use some more details areas on the back end like AR and GL.
ProsAll applications are integrated into the same software
ConsBeing a .NET software, customizing and enhancements take a very long time if ever approved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 16, 2019
Jeff H.
Managing Partner, Commercial
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2017

“invested - Digital Paper Weight - Horrible follow through ”

OverallPurchased this software in 2014. Tried for 18 months to implement for over 16 months. We are a specialty supplier, not a hardware or lumber yard, but the Spruce sales person promised they have a robust special order system that would work great for us. Went through demos, each time we asked for a specific task, the response was "we dont have that module loaded, but we do have that feature". Purchased server upgrades they required, never had a working P.O.S The task of setting up Spruce requires full time I.T. & Accounting persons to focus on mapping, and setup, then we find out it does not do all the accounting features that even Quick Books will do. Will not track payroll expenses by department or individual, only as a single line item, and this has to be done as a GL entry. We tried for nearly 2 years to get ECI to honor what Spruce promised, to no avail. I would not buy this product, its a lot of smoke and mirrors and broken promises. Might work if you a lumber yard, but be prepared to speed the software price to implement the package, and they leave it all on you to do it. Over priced, over rated digital Junque.
ProsNever had full use of the program to run our business.
ConsNothing is as they present it to be. Expect to spend hours and hours of time, and a lot of capital to get it running.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2017
Courtney B.
Social worker
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019

“Great features, hipaa compliant!”

ProsLoved that I can use this for hipaa compliant communication with my students and parents
ConsWish there was a complementary case note part of the software, or a different software that links with this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2019
Patt O.
VP of Finance
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 10, 2019

“Spruce Software”

OverallWe have been able to better control our inventory with the daily reports from Spruce. The reports have been very beneficial for management and analysis of the business.
ProsWhat we like most is the ease of using the software and the ability to go paperless.
ConsUsing the help section can be a little frustrating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 10, 2019
Eileen M.
Owner
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 9, 2019

“Poor service ”

OverallNot great
ProsWindows based
ConsNo feedback from developers when we send in issues with the software
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 9, 2019