MicroStation Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About MicroStation

MicroStation's advanced engineering design, modeling, visualization and drawing production capabilities allow infrastructure professionals of any discipline to deliver projects of any scale or complexity. Your team can aggregate their work on MicroStation, including designs and models created with Bentley's discipline specific BIM applications (OpenRoads, Open Buildings, etc.) As a result, you can create comprehensive, multi-discipline models, documentation, and other deliverables. Learn more about MicroStation

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 97 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 97 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Michael M.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018

“Great CAD product which has evolved into the strongest available”

OverallEase of project creation and distribution. The ability to open DGN files that date back to the 90's as well as other formats.
ProsMicroStation has great file sizes. Compared to competitors, MS file sizes are a fraction. The amount of control for many of the elements is beyond comparison! Text styles, dimension styles, references, and linestyles can be controlled and manipulated to the greatest extent. This allows for easy use of these objects. Printing in MS is the most reliable, and predictable, of any CAD product I have used. Some products will shift the print from one user to another, even if the same printer is used. MicroStation can/will overcome simple obstacles and yield the same results from printer to printer.
ConsSome tools that exist in other CAD platforms need to be implemented in MS. The ability to select an element and trigger a tool that would then select similar objects based on type, level, color, etc. The Select by Attributes tool available is nice and highly functional, but requires too many clicks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018
Lorys L.
Senior Microstation Design Draftsman
Civil Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2018

“I have been using microstation everyday for nearly 30 years since intergraph days till todate”

OverallGeographic coordinate accuracy, compatibility with many other software platforms in multidicipline environments. ie survey, mapping, civil drafting, 3d modelling
ProsOf the all the CAD programs I have tried over the years Microstation is the most :- Customisable to user needs and multiply workflows. Intuitive dialog tools. Easy to learn. Prepackaged with excellent tools to improve workflows and can emulate Autocad and work with DWG files in a Microstation environment. Comes with 2d & 3d tools and some GIS features, Backward compatability of old files, that is to say you can open DOS version DGN files from 25 years ago and they still work in the current version.
ConsThe latest version CE has moved away from the traditional interface and adopted the MS Ribbon bar, which I don't like , the change is too radical and looks too much like Autodesk. I'm sure will get used to it eventually but for now I find it clumsy and time consuming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Calvin "Kal" M.
Project Development Engineer
Civil Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“I have been using Microstation to design Highways and complete construction drawings since 1994.”

OverallMicrostation with GEOPAK is a COMPLETE Highway Design and Construction Plans Production Package. All needed tools are included from Survey Data Reduction to As-Build Plans Preparation. I would never switch from Microstation to AutoCAD!
ProsThe command set and menu has not changed dramatically in last 20 years. So as improved versions are released, there is never a completely new interface to learn. The existing drawing command still work in the new releases. New functionality is added on top of existing tools. Complete tools for design drawing standardization and detailed construction quantity takeoff are unique to Microstation with GEOPAK. The Autodesk Civil3D do not have the same capabilities for quantity measurement, takeoff, and tabulation.
ConsThe high cost of each design seat to use the software license. The competition has an LT version for less cost. But you get what you pay for. Microstation with GEOPAK is the MOST complete and advance highway design software available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Steve V.
Senior Architect and Irrigation Designer
Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“Extremely stable CAD platform for professional level production.”

OverallIt's the main platform for our daily production, so it's essential to us getting our work done.
ProsVery stable. Never crashes. Getting started is easier than some of the competition, you can be up and drawing very quickly. Some of the features are more intuitive than other software in the same class. You can get your drawing to look how you want it to look more quickly. Software will let you go as in-depth as you want. If you wish to use it for basic tasks you can, but if you want to dig deep and become a power user, there are many many levels of depth. Integration with newly acquired technologies, points to a bright future for the Microstation platform.
ConsSome of the more powerful features of the software require you to spend some time looking under the hood and learning the inner workings. There is not absolute consistency within every aspect of the GUI. Not every menu etc behaves in the same way, but this is a small nitpick, not a big deal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“User friendly Engineering software”

OverallComing from a background of using AutoCad, it was a little bit of a learning curve. This program is necessary for state/city projects in our location.
Pros3 years ago I made a switch to a new company that solely used MicroStation and I have an AutoCAD background. Once I was acquainted with the general layout and set up my toolbars, it's been very easy to learn the program. I love the autosave feature, that it accepts AutoCAD files, and the way the select function works.
ConsThat they do not have efficient quick keys. AutoCAD quick keys make the workflow easier. In MicroStation, they are not user-friendly, so I draft without. Also, beware of the way they work the network licenses if you accidentally go into a version you do not have extra seats for, it will allow you to work in it and you'll receive a HUGE bill.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Avatar Image
James W.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“MicroStation is no doubt the best software working for the development of 3D models. ”

ProsThe file sizes in MicroStation is great. One can easily control the dimension styles, references, text styles and line styles.It is very stable.For daily production it is the main platform.Integrating with the advancement of new technologies, the future of MicroStation software is very bright. MicroStation software allows us to open and covert AutoCad files.
ConsThe price of MicroStation license is very high but I know it is absolutely because of its quality. So there are no specific cons but there should be some different line styles and font styles.There should be some improvements in word editor. Whatever any thing is, this software no doubt improves our modelling skills.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
Patricia G.
Cadd Technician
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018

“Microstation is much easier to use that autocad. It's less time consuming to use than autocad.”

OverallIt's just easy to use. I use it at my job here and it makes my job easier. I also use AutoCAD but avoid it if I can. Microstation is just much, much better.
ProsEase of use. User friendly. Can use two, three screens which make it easy to copy items to find things on the screen easily. Microstation allows you to open and convert autocad files. YOU DON'T HAVE TO SAVE YOUR WORK!! I just love this product. I can't say enough good things about Microstation by Bentley.
ConsI do like the tabs that autocad uses so that you don't have to open a file separately. The cost of a Microstation license is fairly expensive. I'd like to have some different fonts and linestyles given by the manufacturer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Natalia B.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018

“This software is really a blessing in my work, and it has made my work every time easier for me.”

ProsEasy to use with the friendly users. It's multiple screens helps the user to copy items and  find stuff on the screen. MicroStation is the best software which allows us to open and convert Autocad files. Dialogue box and reference manager are the great features that this software has. So I would say this is versatile with many functionality.
ConsIf i talk about the cost license of MicroStation is a little high but i also know that is because of its quality.There are no complaints about itself even they are improving and bringing some innovations about 3D packages .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“Solid tool suite for multi-discipline integrated design!”

ProsStable platform, excellent visualization and rendering, robust tool set even for just drawing geometry. Discipline BIM tools integrate amongst each other miles beyond the Autodesk realm. All time favorite feature? The reference manager dialog box and using logicals!
ConsClick heavy, users can develop wrist strain easy if not careful. There is ambiguity about how some features work. For example, is it really necessary to shift the global origin in design files anymore? Why is it that level display settings will carry across reference models, but then become broken? Why not a quick fix button for that?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Shameeem Mohammed T.
Senior Structural Draftsman
Civil Engineering, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“A fantastic Design Software to work with!”

OverallMy Modeling skills are improved and Can definitely a much better modeler than, If I use AutoCAD these times. Highly recommend this product over AutoCAD in infrastructure.
ProsI find 3D modeling and and my integration with Civil discipline is lot more easier with this software. As a civil structural Modeler myself, I find Microstation is the best to my industry and Bentley's R&D is one of the best learni g paths one could go through.
ConsNeeds some improvements in Word editor. Its not that versatile as AutoCAD I always find that Microstation can definitely do much better Parametric Cell creation. Needs some improvements there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Craig G.
Roadway Engineer
Civil Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“Easy to use with lots of other capabilities ”

OverallThe easy creation of a 3D model has helped convey design aspects to non-engineers and the public.
ProsThey have a lot of support videos of community forums that have been really helpful on resolving issues or finding best practices for each particular use. The file format makes opening and switching between files much quicker than autocad.
ConsNo complaints about microstation itself but they have been making a lot of improvements and changes to their 3D package. It's been a difficult to keep up with the all the changes as an original geopak user. Once I got used to the new tools it an helped my efficiency working on projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Hunter S.
Transportation Design Engineer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Useful but requires a lot of training”

ProsI've been using MicroStation as my primary CADD software for my job for the past year and a half. The functions and features are numerous and extremely helpful.
ConsWhile it is extremely useful and I have gained a pretty good command over its functions and features, it is difficult and time consuming to learn. I had to sit through hours of tutorials just to learn how to use the interface. Any time I have to learn something new, I often have to search for instructions online or in the help manual. It just isn't extremely intuitive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“Can be very cumbersome transitioning from Autodesk products”

OverallEase of 3D modeling, ability to handle complicated graphics with little disruption. Access to the Bentley website and access to product support and training is fantastic. All and all it is a good software package just is cumbersome to get started in.
ProsMostly the add on software, Descartes, GeoPac, etc. The 3D modeling is fantastic, if they could apply these concepts to the 2D seeds and access to tools, etc. the software would be much better.
ConsText editor is garbage, keyboard shortcuts are very cumbersome, to many options for setting up workspace, almost have to understand programing just to start drafting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Barb H.
Drafting Technician
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“I have been working with MicroStation for over 8 years now. I really like the program.”

ProsEasy to use help is easy to use and get the help you need the features it has are exactly what I need to complete my day to day activities Easy to search for features snapping is great functions to what I need Able to bring in almost any format that I have access to
ConsNot able to export to Excel Not able to export to ArcMap sometimes it drops tags, I have had it delete every tag in a project, and have it unrecoverable. Some other glitches like, changing something, saving it. Then later going back and having it not save it at all.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Johannes V.
Application Engineer
Civil Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2016

“CAD is simply easy”

OverallBentley's interoperability between Applications like OpenRoads, OpenPlant, ProSteel, ProConcrete and AECOsim makes it easy get up to use. All Applications work from same dgn format file and do not have to export. All Application is build on top of MicroStation and CAD used can easily understand new applications.
ProsSmall file size, once workspace been established the software forces a standard in the office, easy CAD tools, good 3D capabilities, can open most CAD file formats,
ConsTakes time to get workspace set up, license system complex.
Recommendations to other buyersDo not think small companies understand the interoperability between disciplines and the ability to share data between offices without having to export.
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2016
Rick L.
Senior CADD Designer
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“CONVINENCE FOR DESIGN WORK”

OverallI am able to work thru many project and agency cross the nation, I hope more and more client could accept MS to be the official design software
ProsThe mega project is cross different offices and company, the Project Wise integration with associated software are allow me working at anywhere I need, which is making the production and design process without the boundary
ConsThe most common conversion with autodesk software sometime is not fully convert to what I want and hope the later version can make the integrations more detail and complete
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Alice C.
Senior Software Development Engineer
Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018

“The most user friendly software with excellent visualization. ”

OverallIt is really easy to use software. I like all its features as it is making my work easier day by day. I would say it is the most preferable software for performing multiple tasks.
ProsI love everything about MicroStation. Its most interesting features include text styles plus dimension styles as well as references and line styles can be easily controlled through this software. There are fantastic ways of designing highways along with complete construction designs. It is the most reliable and excellent software. The best part of this software is that it never crashes.
ConsThis software works perfectly. I can hardly find cons in it. One of the cons is that MicroStation license is quite expensive but if we look at its quality and output, it surely deserve high price. One thing I want to suggest is that it should include some different line styles as well as font styles.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018
Sean L.
Civil Eng. Tec.
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018

“30 years experience in Civil roadway design. But 15yrs or so with Inroads, 3yrs with Microstation”

OverallFaster Road design with Inroads running inside of Microstation
ProsFairly stable platform doesn't crash to often. Nice that there are no large "Ribbons" that crowd the screen. I do like the multiple view tabs changing between them is a snap. Lots of on line video's. Control of Xref's is fantastic.
ConsSetting up a CAD standard for the office to use is a bit confusing. Need to improve the selection method for selecting multiple objects. Full snap button should include the parallel snap option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018
Nikolay V.
Senior Technical Manager
Events Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018

“the excellent cad software that offers complicated tasks finish with ease.”

OverallThe software growth with your knowledge and expertise. It has all you might think for cad software, render, solar study, photo-matching etc. etc. etc.
Proshas multiple disciplines under one hood. solid, surface, feature and parametric modelling, with very high quality of the visualisation and animation.
Consnot very intuitive or user friendly interface. Some tasks are not very hard to follow and requires full attention. 3D mouse control used as internal programming, that does not support all the features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018

“MicroStation is fairly simple to use and is highly adaptable to our uses (Landscape Architecture)”

OverallIt is easy to learn and works well with State Agencies (DOT, Colleges, Etc).
ProsIt is built at "actual scale" so scaling onto sheets is very simple. It's well integrated into GIS and most state entities use it. Because the plans are geolocated, if you merge adjacent areas, they fit seamlessly
ConsAddressing tech issues is extremely burdensome. Most of the first level IT is in the far east and responses can take a day. This means low priority issues can drag on forever.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Neal S.
Project Engineer
Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018

“Adaptable and powerful software.”

OverallI am able to model and deliver plansets for roadway designs quickly and efficiently. More so than AutoDesk products at this point.
ProsI like its adaptability and ability to work with other Bentley software packages. Additionally I like the ability to customize it and create macros that speed up the work process.
ConsIt can be buggy when working with 3D Modelling software and often crashes. Large files take a very long time to load as does switching between drawings with many references.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“The Backbone of our Company Draftsmen”

OverallA cheaper and more lightweight AutoCAD. If you spend some time with it, you can do anything you need to do on AutoCAD with it.
ProsIt uses way less resources than AutoCAD. Microstation has lots of capabilities of custom code and it runs way faster than AutoCAD.
ConsThey keep on trying to force you to update to the newest version however our custom macros will not be supported. They took away our large volume discount after we refused to upgrade.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Mike E.
Survey Project Manager; NCPLS
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“I have enjoyed (and cursed) MicroStation for many years. Since the DOS days, to be specific.”

OverallIt is a very versatile and efficient mapping software.
ProsIt is very versatile with a lot of functionality. For just about anything you can think of, there are two or three (or more) ways of doing it. I like that you can build in a virtual real-world environment and that there a lot of tools to help with that.
ConsBecause of its versatility it's also quite complicated. Trying to do something that is not familiar can be quite the challenge.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Brian L.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“I have several copies of usta and it is very versatile.”

OverallThe use in a civil and structural design firm is invaluable for the daily design of projects.
ProsThe ability to interact with autocad and other cad systems directly. The system can interconnect with other programs that are available for highway design, structural design, drainage, etc.
ConsAs with any cad system, there is a learning curve. With each new version that comes out, they rearrange the location of the tools and they must be relearned.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Raghavendran S.
GM Technical (GIS) and Business Unit Head
Utilities, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018

“I have been a MicroStation evangelist since MicroStation 95 version and will continue to be...”

OverallProductivity, Automation, Discipline specific implementations/services
ProsThe collaborative working platform with plethora of tools that MicroStation provides for Engineers. The advantage of several discipline specific solutions on MicroStation
ConsSometimes you get lost in the world of MicroStation with so many functionalities to work with. This is not really a cons, but may be for a novice user.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“I thought I was an AutoCAD devotee until I met MicroStation”

ProsExcellent array of civil tools, great for structures, best training available through Bentley Learn, compatible with all Bentley programs, easy to create everything from sketches to plan sets
ConsHarder to use than other CAD software I've used (but so, so very worth it), requires seed files for best results, can be expensive to implement for small firms.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
lina monica a.
BIM specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“There a lot of ways to do the same outcome with the ability to customize.”

OverallI've taken to like the flexibility and robustness
ProsI gives you option to customize with the option of preset shortcuts to increase productivity. Plus doing 3D is easy with the understanding of views and help from accudraw
Consbecause it has the ability to customize there is a risk of each doing their own way. That is unless the CAD manager have set up a way to standardize the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Richard B.
CAD/BIM Team
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“Great tool for 2 & 3 D, versatile and easy to learn and use ”

OverallIs very useful for our CAD/BIM team and for the project that we are working currently, easy to use and share between team members, etc.
ProsReference & Level Manager and Display, printing settings, Import & Export tools Compatibility with other CAD software,
ConsI am not very comfortable with the lack of shortcuts, keyboard commands. The icon commands are great but still I like more typing my commands.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Sam C.
Engineer
Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019

“Professional Accurate Drawing tool”

Overalldaily use of MicroStation. Great software overall.
ProsIntuitive to use. full functions for any drawing needs in my fields. widely accepted by engineers and architects
ConsThe select series 4 v8i upgrade includes a few wacky bugs such as the print organizer being problematic when two print sets are being applied to respective subsets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Alula K.
engineering
Utilities, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“very useful ”

Overallpretty awesome love using the software for drawings.
Prosthis software have a lot of futures that you can use. i love how its ease to move items copy and past, the 3D option of the function is very useful and helpful for drawings. lots of short cuts that you can use with keyboard and its very helpful once you understand it and master the way how the product work.
Consfor beginners the software is very complicated and hard to use . need to develop friend user options
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Boris P.
IT Network and Communications Software Tester
Shipbuilding, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Microstation v8i”

ProsIt is an old program version for DGN drawings but it is fast and good alternative to other software. You can open DWG drawing, import AutoCAD files. It is programmable by adding more functionalities using MACRO VB Scripts.
ConsWhen comes to programming, not that resourceful documentation. That is, with this version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“Easy to use and incredibly functional. It has led to significant increased in productivity. ”

ProsMicroStation has many advanced parametric modeling features we just haven't found anywhere else. Our professionals are presented with lots of data and are easy able to model them. Our workflow has strengthened and our quality of work has increased.
ConsAny time we bring on new applications, we consider the impact it has on our current workflow. But once we began using MicroStation fully, it became clear that the integration between many specific programs would not be an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Derek B.
Survey information Manager
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018

“Having switched fro Autocad I have found Microstation a better option”

Overallto be able to use other Bentley products like Pointools, Descartes
ProsMore features within the product, maybe too much sometimes, but I have found it easier to manipulate, view, rotate
ConsDoes not feature as many plug ins as Autodesk based product, is subject sometimes to stalling, not happy with the level naming, and perhaps could be made simplar to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018
Joshua S.
Equipment Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018

“Using this CAD system, I have had no issues.”

ProsI really like the user interface of this software. There are many options within the program for producing designs and many different features which can be added to models and prints. The level of customization with the design using this program allows it to be an outstanding option when considering a CAD system to use.
ConsWhat I like least is that sometimes it can be hard to keep track of all of the little options. While I really liked that so many options for customization of a design exist, I wish that it could be in more of an organize fashioned. It is organized to a degree, but it is not the most intuitive organization.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018
Richard H.
UK Division CAD Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018

“Overall experience is very good.”

ProsNo one thing I can say I like most. Generally easy to use. The the option to open menus as tool boxes or select from drop downs.
ConsI do not like the Keyins. I much prefer the Autodesk command line & the fact you can add & modify command aliases. Too heavy mouse driven. Too much dependance once menus.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018
EC V.
Project Enginer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“Love it, love the customization features!”

ProsCame from other cadd software but once I learned Microstation, I am loving it! Ease of use, and easy collaborations with other teams! Most of all, it's realiable and easy to learn!
ConsPerhaps incorporate others 3rd party tools like Axiom into Microstation to be more complete... my wish list
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Nina K.
Designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“It is powerful program, good to use when transportation and large site projects. ”

OverallGood to work with other teams (reference from electrical, civil, mechanical and other groups). Comparing to AutoCAD it is quite powerful in matter of using references.
ProsPowerful program, easy to use (however it took time for me to start). The program is logical (i.e. when working with plans, for example, it is easy to imagine the logic how it should work). Easy to work with references (moving, clipping, rotating etc.). Works really well with quite large in volume matter references..
ConsAt the beginning some commands seemed difficult to remember, some commands took time. Accudraw could be improved (sometimes to follow where to click, snap etc. is kind of annoying). Making it a little bit more user friendly could help
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Billy L.
drafter & designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018

“Have used this software for over 20 years and have witnessed it evolve.”

Prosthe customer support is probably what I like the best, but the software is very reliable and I think with using it so long it seems to be very easy to use.
ConsThe cost of maintaining with the select subscriber has been going up every year which being a small shop is of some concern.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018
Dan S.
Engineering Specialist
Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“Answers for Open Roads and SS4 - poor performance and issues with new software bugs need work around”

OverallWorking on 3D Model development and workflows
ProsI like they are moving to doing design in 3D - software from what I seen the interface in Open Roads looks easier.
ConsHelp files are poor - difficult to set up standards and information on setting up standards is hard to find - using software seems tricky very picky on the prompts new users can not get a grasp - need to use heads up prompts than switch to key board - many bugs in SS4 difficult to move standards forward - trying to develop work flow is cumbersome - using Project Wise is another issue with their own Bentley software - difficult to snap to elements in SS4 tentative snap works funny - changed printing dialog so every time a user hits enter on the dialog it send a print - difficult to mange new setting like this when using multiple version of the software behaves one way in SS2 and another in SS4 - Support closes tickets without asking if issue is resolved - support page selection for area needing help on needs updating - Plan prep in open roads very lacking -
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Ivan N.
Highway Design Engineer
Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“I use microstation on my daily highway projects. ”

Prosit is easy to work with. its user interface is great. all the clients i work with require to use microstation as the basis software.
Conssometimes attaching many references and attaching raster images can slow down microstation. printing pdf files can sometimes take a while.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Suja M.
Quantity Surveyor
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2019

“MicroStation best for Road Design”

Pros* Easy to learn * Easy to work * This application is not heavy like other application
ConsI am using MicroStation for the last 4 years. This is a very good application for road designing most of the government sector using this one in the UAE.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Laura J.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018

“MicroStation is a good software for designing and modeling, I like to design complex object on this.”

ProsA great workstation and with simple interface and one can continuously save the files, the range of tools for drafting are good. It doesn't require much of a training and also has the quick load time. Lots of other software takes forever to load. Its super easy to navigate and very user friendly.
ConsManagement of shading patterns can be improved and no default keyboard keys makes the navigation sluggish and as compared to Auto CAD it lags a little. If these issues can be resolved, I don't find a reason to switch to another software ever.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018
David M.
Mine Planner CAD technician
Civil Engineering, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“Long time user”

ProsHave been using this software for over 25 years and has always been at the forefront of CAD systems
ConsChanging updates and having time to use/learn new functionality of the software, network issues,cost of software and addins
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Son P.
Transit Priority Engineer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“I have been using Microstation for several years as part of my work for the City of Ottawa.”

OverallImprove my work. Valuable job skills.
ProsThe software is very smart and integrated. I like that I can review, measure, and modify drawings produced by road construction projects. Even though I am not from a Civil engineering background, I can work on Civil projects accurately because of the Microstation software. Microstation family of products are very sophisticated. This would mean a higher learning curve. However once learned, you can apply it to real-world engineering and fortunately, Bentley provides many free online learning resources.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Sharon J.
CAD TECH
Utilities, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
January 6, 2017

“I would recommend”

OverallI use MicroStation everyday for work and find it very user friendly, the keyboard shortcuts are a great way to save time. If I ever have any issues the help section always gets my questions answered
ProsEase of use
ConsSome functions like curb copy sometimes crashes the system
Source: Capterra
January 6, 2017
RAGHAVA R.
BUSINESS MANAGER
Business Supplies and Equipment, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“The experience on the product is very good & the tools & user interface are very much ease to work.”

Overall1. File size for 3D drawing is minimal compare to 3D file of AutoCAD. 2. Microstation is having the Integrated Structure Model option, in which the drawings in Microstation format can be directly import to other Bentley products like STAAD, RAM connection, RAM element, ProjectWise, etc
ProsThe capability of handling heavy files, the functionality of tools, reducing the user work load are some of the best which i like in the software.
ConsEase of Use, Reducing the investment on hardware, Availability of product from recent to very old versions which are more helpfull to work with out any difficulty.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018
Jocene Y.
Engineer
Civil Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2018

“20 years of civil experience, programmed for Microstation and used it as a design software”

OverallIt helps with my design process. This is the only design software that I am familiar with, and I love it.
ProsEasy to use and easy to learn. I learned Microstation by myself first since I need to write a program for Microstation using MDL. Then I used this software as a design tool. I also taught Geometric Design class with this software, and my students can learn this software quickly.
ConsSome of the help topics are not easy to follow. When the new versions come out, it is hard to grasp all the new features unless you use it over and over until you are familiar about it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2018
Scott S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2016

“Microstation”

OverallI use microstation to develop roadway plans. I like the customization to setup my tool bars, and I like being able to bring images in to do overlays on.
ProsEase of printing and custmoization
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2016
Kyle W.
Highway Designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“easy to use”

Prossimplified easy to use, basic, user friendly, not having to remember hot keys for demands instead its a click to needed tool
Conssoftware crashes often. Wish there were more tutorials about roundabouts. complicated process when gpk is involved
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Elizabeth N.
Architect
Design, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018

“microstation was always our company go to, great for 3D and precision, but not recently :-(”

Overallwhen I first began to use it in the early 2000s it was easy to customize for our company standards and get what we wanted from the software as far as 3D and extractions. Now it has become too cumbersome to have to redo all of our standards for the new 3D capabilities, no money to create all new customization
ProsWhat I like most is the ease of use and precision it provides when doing 3D structures and extractions as well as sheet files.
ConsIt is no longer adaptable to new ways of use for company standards. It has been difficult to keep up our standards in the new releases, just too much customization. Even the standards we had for previous 3D info is no longer useable and new ones just take too long to create and implement so we have had to go with other software to do our work now, which is really sad for me as Microstation has always been my go to software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2018