AutoBid SheetMetal Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About AutoBid SheetMetal

Combining advanced technology and years of sheet metal experience, Trimble AutoBid SheetMetal is the fastest, most accurate estimating software for sheet metal contractors. Using input tools such as GTCO Digitizers and Smart Menus, contractors can quickly and accurately create bids. Learn more about AutoBid SheetMetal

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Grayson P.
Lead HVAC Estimator
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019

“AutoBid SheetMetal Review”

OverallI have been a ABSM user since 1998 and seen the software grow with the industry. Our HVAC estimating capacity has had to increase as the company grew and as the Lead HVAC estimator I have had to opportunity to change software and found ABSM to continually lead the industry. I can't imagine using anything else.
ProsCommon database that is shared by all estimators. It's very fast. Anyone can access the software as long as they have a username/ password and a licence is available. Access can be limited on a individual user level. You can build anything you come across. The functionality of the assemblies is incredible.
ConsLabor categories are limited to shop and field in reports though user defined categories are available. i.e. Commissioning/Start-up. These categories do not receive correction factors. New users find it overwhelming. Database and takeoff is now one program so only one can be opened at a time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019
Jason H.
Chief Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 10, 2017

“Using AutoBid SheetMeatl for 10 years”

OverallWe have used Trimble Autobid Sheetmetal and it's predecessor, Quickpen for over 20 years. During this time we have considered other estimating systems and have always stayed with Autobid due to the improvements constantly being made and their great customer service.
ProsEasy to use Great layout of the tools The database is easy to manage Customer service is timely and reliable Reliable software - We have minimal downtime with the software
Cons- Integration between the estimating software and the CAD software is cumbersome. - Generating and modifying the final Rapid Reports is difficult. This is not an issue as we export to our own spreadsheets
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 10, 2017
justin p.
HVAC estimator
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“great software and even better customer support”

OverallWe use autobid sheetmetal for our estimating needs and it has drastically improved our efficiency.
ProsI liked how the foundations were the same for Autobid mechanical. i started there and then crossed over to autobid sheetmetal and its was a like for like change which was amazing.
ConsI haven't found anything i strongly dislike yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Fred S.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019

“better than wenduct”

Overallthis program is so much better than it's competition, which I used for @ 15 years. It was very basic and not easily modified.
Prosit is very versatile. I can customize the program to be job specific very easily.
Conssometimes the level of detail can be intimidating to users. I'm staring my third year using ABSM and am still learning all the ins and outs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019
James S.
Estimator
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019

“Great Program”

ProsI've been using AutoBid for Sheetmetal for nearly ten years now and I'm steal finding new ways and tools that make doing my job easier and more accurate.
ConsThe only thing that would make it better for me is if you'd make it easier to find items in the library
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019
Michael B.
Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 14, 2017

“Estimator”

ProsEasy to use and setup Pivot tables make transferring info to Project Management faster and easier OSV take off is the way to go
ConsGlobal data should be in the main program not a spate launch OSV pdf viewing doesn't always work 100% of the time
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 14, 2017
Joseph C.
Estimating Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“AutoBid SheetMetal”

OverallFewer errors and faster take-off has made our experience positive.
ProsOn Screen Take-off. Ability to see what is taken-off. Speed of take-off
ConsA smart pad used to be offered. Disappointed that isn't an option any longer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Martha W.
Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 14, 2017

“Ease of Sheetmetal Estimating”

ProsAbility to customize for our company needs, flexibility in making changes, and speed and accuracy in takeoffs
ConsI wish it had the ability to collapse crystal reporting more so report didn't have to printout so many pages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 14, 2017
Dylan G.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 30, 2018

“Not a trustworthy software”

OverallThis software is impossible to trust. The developers have known about these glitches in their software and do not share that information with their customers. These glitches are constantly coming up, and not getting fixed. Our company has lost millions of dollars of work due to this software because of major "bugs" in the software. STAY AWAY!!!!
ConsSoftware is not trustworthy. Many bugs that have caused us to lose multiple jobs. When problems arise, the support team has no urgency to get them fixed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019

“Autobid Sheetmetal Review”

OverallOverall, this is a great piece of software that is reliable but costly.
ProsIt's ease of use, especially after we have been using Autobid Mechanical for piping for a while now. Adding this and being able to train people was easy since it was very similar to the Piping program
ConsThe fact that when you are taking off a run of duct you must click "ok" rather than just pressing the enter key like we do on the piping program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“AutoBid Sheet Metal 2013v1”

OverallOverall the program is very good and fast for generic non-detailed take offs.
ProsThe program and database is very detailed and complete. The versatility is quite broad. the ability to break jobs down during take off is a big help especially when dealing with cost codes.
ConsThe "Code Manager" does not function correctly, I have sent AutoBid notices about this issue. as of yet no response to this. The process of setting up the equipment symbols is very cumbersome. we do not use the equipment label for what it is intended for because there is not the time to input all of the VAV boxes from the schedule. Although you can take off the ductwork by AHU label, it is very easy to make mistakes while doing this, it would be very time consuming to go back and make the proper corrections if this happens.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019