Staff Files Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Staff Files

Easy to learn and easy to use, Staff Files gives managers and human resource professionals an efficient and affordable way to manage employee information. Store, retrieve and safeguard employee information in one place. Track compensation, benefits, evaluations, training, time off and much more. Staff Files includes pre-written HR letters, templates and staff reports. Staff Files is PC-based and starts at only $295. No monthly fees. 90-day money-back guarantee. Download the free demo today! Learn more about Staff Files

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Kim R.
Human Resource Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2014

“Human Resource and Safey Director”

OverallOverall, Staff Files encompasses majority of our needs in the HR field. Some of the things I'd like to see changed, added or modified are: 1) Vacations to print out in calendar form, per month to hand out in hard copy form 2) A question box before changes are saved to make sure the changes are correct. (Ex. I could have an employee record open and while doing something else could mistakenly hit the keyboard and it may have deleted out the name or changed it. There isn't a safety measure to make sure change is correct prior to auto saving. In fact a "Save" option would be good. 3) Would like to see an undo or redo type of option. As in #2 sometimes need to refer back to the previous info, especially where changed in error. 4) Would like to see more info from Quick Books imported over i.e.; wage info, etc. (maybe a QB issue?). 5) Add search option to find employee name instead of having to scroll down. Note: I couldn't get the star rating to work correctly......Overall is 4, Ease of Use 3, Customer Service 3.

Vendor Response

By Atlas Business Solutions on June 20, 2014
Thank you for feedback! The Absence Calendar (from the Reports menu) is a one-month view that shows at-a-glance when employees will be or have been away from work during that month. The Find button on the toolbar is used to search for employees instead of having to scroll the entire list. We'll forward your suggestion about the save button onto our developers for consideration.
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2014
Amanda B.
Human Resources Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2012

“Good program, improvements needed...”

OverallIts a great program, for companies that need simple operations and user friendly programs. It helps manage our employees and is more efficient to find out information about the employee.
Pros1.One of the cheaper options out there 2.Love the option of reminding us when trainings are out of date. 3.Love the multi-user option, that way different departments of the company can enter information. 4. User-Friendly 5. Simple reports are easy to make, use, and print. 6. You don't have to necessarily look at the employees personal file, when trying to find out information.
Cons1. Had multiple different problems. 2. No option for a one time training 3.Had to buy newest version because tech. support only could assist with the newest version. 4. Program errors where we had to send our database to them in a zip file and wait for them to fix it rather than being able to fix it over the phone. 5. When calling tech support, I once got a tech adviser that couldn't help with my problems and couldn't seem to answer any of my questions.
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2012
Tammy D.
Office Admin
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2017

“Great program”

OverallI used this program for years and found it easy to use and very thorough. Adding the information was easy and finding the information was easy and easy reports as well. Very happy with it.
ProsEasy of use Good reports
ConsI can't think of any cons
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Nice Staff Database program”

OverallThis program easily allow us to track staff information, especially training expiration dates. Very helpful.
ProsThis program is easy to install and use. Customization is available for some fields. A nice basic program.
ConsSome restrictions on customization. Report generator could be better.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Toby H.
HR Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“Highly Recommend!”

OverallStaff Files Pro is a great software package that any HR department can fully utilize. It's very user friendly, easy set-up, and is a tremendous asset to the HR department. Scanning and labeling documents is easy, as is finding documents in a personnel file. My directors have access to Staff Files Pro and they are able to see a personnel file without having to come to my office. We can also email documents to employees and/or directors if needed. The only cons with Staff Files Pro, and these are very minor, is (1) when scanning new documents in that fall under one label (i.e. FMLA leave documents), the newest document is last whereas it should be placed at the front; and (2) there isn't a way to attach "post-it" notes to scanned documents. Again, very minor cons. Overall, however, I have recommended Staff Files Pro to several colleagues and encourage HR offices to use Staff Files Pro!
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014
Monique P.
Hospital Administrator and Part Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2014

“Timr saver!”

OverallI can't tell you how much time this software has saved me and my office manager. We use it for everything. We especially like the User tab because you can customize everything in there and we have it all used up! The reminders in the system helps a lot for evaluations, exams, training periods, etc. The accrual section is amazing. It works so well for us because we have different accruals depending on how long the employee has worked for us, etc. It takes care of everything for us. Thank you for giving us the extra time!
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2014
Austin G.
Human Resource Associate
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“Need more comprehensive reports”

OverallStaff Files is, for the most part, a decent HR system. The only issue I have and would LOVE to see created is a way to export any field at all into an Excel Spreadsheet. You can do this somewhat already by clicking "Reports" and then "Employee List" but when you go there, not all fields are available. If it was possible to create a way that any and all fields are able to be in this employee list, I would bring the Staff Files rating up substantially.

Vendor Response

By Atlas Business Solutions on June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Staff Files! We appreciate your candid comments. In addition to using the Employee List, there are two other alternatives for exporting information from Staff Files into Excel. The other reports available in the Reports menu can also be exported to Excel from the File menu in the Print Preview window. Also, you could create custom reports from the underlying Microsoft Access database. After the reports are created in Access, you can use them directly from the Reports menu in Staff Files.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014
Lori S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“Staff Files”

OverallThis is good software to store digital records for employees. It would be definitely simplify the process if you were able to drag and drop items from your computer to the employee file. It would also be useful that when a link for a document(s) changes that you would be able to delete more than one doc at a time. This process is very time consuming.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014
Nick M.
HSEQ Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“A Great Asset”

OverallStaff files enables us to track, analyse and create reports that helps to simplify our HR process, The reminder function is invaluable to this business for keeping track of licences and training. Support has been good. Overall I would recommend this to any small to medium enterprise looking for HR software that is simple to install, maintain and use.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014
Nicole S.
Administrative Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“Nice Application”

OverallOverall Staff Files is a good application to store information. I would like however if how the information that is stored would be a little different such as when looking into specific details on an employee, if it would be stored by date. That would be more helpful.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014
Christi C.
HR Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“EXTREMELY HAPPY”

OverallI use staff files on a daily basis, and still learning new things that I find makes my job easier. I would recommend to another user.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014
Nicole A.
Vice President
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“Easy to use tool”

OverallI find the tool easy to use and accessible to enter important information as a manager.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014
Karen R.
Finance Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“Ease of Use”

OverallExcellent! Cannot comment on Customer Service, as I have never used the service.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014
P.S. R.
Founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2014

“staff files”

OverallGreat software, very easy to use.
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2014
Elaine S.
HR coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014

“Product use”

OverallI have never used the customer service because I find the product easy enough to use to figure things out on my own. I particularly love the ease of the reports functions. I only use it for vacation and sick time tracking. Well worth the money.
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2014