Legal Files Ratings

Overall
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.7/5

About Legal Files

Ideal for corporations, universities, government agencies and insurance companies, Legal Files centrally organizes your contacts, documents, emails, deadlines and other data. Rely on our seamless integration with Microsoft Outlook to save all your file related emails, calendars and tasks in one place. Choose how to deploy the software--on premises or in the Cloud--whichever is best for you. Learn how Legal Files can help you manage what matters to you. Learn more about Legal Files

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Estela H.
Legal Assistant
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 19, 2019

“Legal Files Review”

OverallThe organization of Legal Files is outstanding.
ProsIt is user friendly, easy to learn. You can totally go paperless with this software which saves you money and time.
ConsWhen transferring information from one file to another, it is difficult to transfer emails, you have to do them 1 at a time which is time consuming. It would be very nice if LF can figure out a way to be able to transfer a bulk of emails at a time. Thank you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 19, 2019
Angela D.
Executive District Administrator
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2016

“Great Program”

OverallWe have had Legal Files since 1999 and I can't imagine how I would have been able to accomplish all that I do in any given day without Legal Files. It has helped us tremendously to work as one unit even though we are in 22 offices. As a manager, not always on the scene, it is detrimental for me to be able to access any information I need and it lets me do that without being in the office.
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2016
Susana V.
Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Everything done. ”

ProsExtremely useful in the legal field. It takes time to learn how to use it, but once you get the hang of it it's amazing. The reminders are excellent and you can send reminders to others.
ConsLearning curve. However, you need to think of it as a paper file with the different tabs . It takes some time to learn how to use it but it's great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Jillian P.
Staff Attorney
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“Legal Files ”

Prosthe new web based platform is easy to use and works anywhere.
ConsIn the web based version you can't open multiple windows at once.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Zia I.
Sr Systems Analyst
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2017

“You will not find another product in the market to track your audit/legal needs ”

OverallOur Corporate Compliance uses this app for corporate compliance issue tracking/matter management
Pros1. It runs on multiple DBs 2. Customer Service is great 3. On site Training is included 4. Easy to learn and use 5. It is error free once installed.
Cons1. User Interface is a little oldish and although can be easily assimilated & understood, is not 21st century 2. Every installation is customized. So IT needs some time to devote to it. But once installed, there are no errors or usage issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019

“if you have a legal practice... you need to try this software”

Proswhat I like the most about this software is that it facilitates our teamwork at the office because every document of every case we handle is available to everyone in the office so you don´t need to send them anything, they just need to get use to the software.
ConsAt the beggining it was not easy to understand all the features of the software but as everything it was just about time to get used to it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019
Michal L.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2017

“Does Everything, But at a Cost”

OverallLegal Files is definitely extremely capable software. It is very field-dense, allowing users to keep track of an extremely large amount of data. It does almost everything a law firm needs to have done by practice management software. However, Legal Files needs to be set up correctly to get the maximum benefit of the features. This requires paying the Legal Files support staff (likely) or having someone in-house who knows or can quickly learn the software well enough to do set up (not likely). Firms must also be willing to put in the time necessary to learn the software to get the benefit of the many features. Firms without a culture of innovation may struggle to learn Legal Files well enough to use the features for which they purchased it. Additionally, Legal Files is not cheap software. I do not think it is overpriced for what you get, but it does require a substantial up-front investment for software, training, support (billed separately every year), and either an in-house or virtual server. The fact it is server based makes it less adaptable as firm size fluctuates than cloud-based software.
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2017
Debbie R.
Paralegal
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2015

“Dedicated user since June 2011 and familiar with the software since 2007.”

OverallPros: Immediate access to documents by any assigned user (in or out of the office). Our office is trying (and succeeding) to go paperless, so LF allows us to do so the majority of the time. The ease of closing a file in LF is both time-saving and money-saving with off-site storage fees eliminated for 90% of our files. Cons: Would very much like to see improvements in indexing methods (electronic tabbing, if you will) for final/executed documents when there are multiples; i.e., real estate closings (sales, deeds, affidavits, etc.) or litigation (pleadings, briefs, etc.). I need to remind myself to get up from my desk now that we have Legal Files, because everything is at my fingertips at the touch of the keyboard - no need to go to the filing cabinet, etc.
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Very functional program for small to medium sized law firms”

ProsOutlook integration is key. Additionally, I found Legal Files did not overwhelm the user, which makes it perfect for small to medium sized law firms. Larger law firms may want more complex feeling programs.
ConsI found functionality was not consistent across the various forms of the platform (i.e. web vs PC)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Good software for law firms”

ProsThe features that connect the software to Outlook are very useful.
ConsNot everything is very intuitive about the software. Less experienced computer users have a hard time with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Brett S.
Associate General Counsel
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2015

“Great software and great service”

OverallI have worked with Legal Files software at two different companies now. I find it to be easy to use and very good for keeping our documents and matters organized. The integration with Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Word, and Adobe Acrobat is seamless. In addition, whenever I have had occasion to work with their trainers and customer service personnel, they have been very knowledgeable and helpful. I highly recommend Legal Files.
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2015
Deborah K.
Firm Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2015

“Easy to use & does everything we need”

OverallWe've been using Legal Files for many years, and even the new staff members take to it quickly. It handles any type of case. I am a law firm administrator and so what I like about it personally is that I can customize it myself. Our lawyers really like that they can access Legal Files from anywhere and are crazy about the iPad app. And, we all love the fact that we can save email directly to case files.
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2015
Kay E.
Special Projects, formerly Operations Mgr
Legal Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2016

“Legal Files Review”

OverallA Legal Files Administrator/User/Trainer since 2010 for the Client/Server product. Would like additional report writing capabilities.
ProsThe groupware concept
ConsLimited standard reports
Recommendations to other buyersOne of the few case, docketing/calendaring and document management products on the market.
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2016
Shirley Taft O.
Legal Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2016

“Positive transformation!”

OverallLegal Files became a vital part of our civil defense team. It transformed our practice, and provided an efficient means to meet the needs of complex litigation cases. We appreciate that it is completely customizable, and continues to meet the changing needs of our firm.
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2016
Paula P.
Sr. Paralegal
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2015

“Great for case managment”

OverallLegal Files is a great application for keeping your case files in order. All emails, documents and notes are stored in one place making the job easier and helping the user stay organized.
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2015
Lanny S.
General Counsel
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2015

“Excellent, Simple Solution”

OverallLegal Files is a great solution and the service is excellent.
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2015
Katie W.
Paralegal
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2015

“Legal Files in Corporate Legal Dept”

OverallI have no complaints with the system--easiest way to store files of all types.
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2015
Meredith S.
Attorney
Law Practice, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Works well with a small firm”

ProsEasy to use and navigate for a solo firm
ConsLittle bit complicated initially learning the software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018