Sample Master LIMS Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Sample Master LIMS

The Sample Master LIMS product provides a total laboratory data management solution that brings the ease and familiarity of Windows-based, point-and-click operability to the laboratory. Sample Master has an intuitive user interface, hot lookups, pull-down menus and allows users to modify screen captions. It features uncluttered screens and dozens of modifiable canned reports. Users can easily incorporate new screens, report forms, queries, pull-down menus, macros and modules. Learn more about Sample Master LIMS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Patrick V.
Laboratory Director
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Dynamic product for testing laboratory both small and large in scale”

OverallSample Master LIMS has significant flexibility that has allowed Farmers Edge to fully customize the LIMS system to our specific needs. The LIMS system has allowed us to fully integrate our laboratory instrumentation where workloads are presented by the LIMS to the instrument software. The LIMS ingests test data directly from the instruments, eliminating data handling workload and data handling errors. Sample Master LIMS has also allowed Farmers Edge to realize automation in sample receiving and registration and the LIMS system allows us to register thousands of tests per hour with a minimal sample receiving staff. In all - consistent, scalable and reliable laboratory productivity can be attributed to Sample Master LIMS, an outstanding product backed by service and support which is second to none.
ProsFarmers Edge benefits greatly from a well designed and flexible LIMS solution that provides a high performance to cost benefit. Farmers Edge has used this software for ten years in two high volume soil nutrient analysis laboratories. Accelerated Technology Laboratories' Sample Master LIMS has exceeded our expectations in managing our analysis workflow from sample registration through to reporting to many internal and external information services partners. Farmers Edge uses Sample Master LIMS in both of our high volume soil test laboratories where the LIMS handles thousands of samples per day and tens of thousands of tests per day.
ConsFarmers Edge is satisfied with Sample Master LIMS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Trevor W.
Laboratory Analyst II
Utilities, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2019

“Sample Master can help your Laboratory Reach the next level”

OverallWe took our 70+ data spreadsheets and consolidated them into one Sample Master database while also automating the necessary data collection that was required from operations to meet our NPDES permit process. Along with those tasks, we also took the entire NPDES reporting process and submittal from a several day ordeal to a mere few hour task. We also worked directly with our contract Laboratory to provide seamless integration of their reports into our Sample Master. The overall improvement of this key function of our facility has relieved a very heavy burden from the facility and its worth is priceless.
ProsThe sample schedule and Task Manager save our laboratory a lot of time. The master query allow for easy data access for Operational and Engineering Staff of our facility. Parser integration from Laboratory instrumentation removed transcription errors and improved our upkeep of control charts, QA and QC.
ConsWhen Sample Master is demoed, SWAP, CEDEN, WRITE-ON, and CWIQS are all told to be viable and proper reporting options. From two facilities, this was not the case. Both times (each facility, separate times) it was told that these functions would be customization. The current CWIQS reporting format is not designed for 2019+ California CWIQS submittal. Their are easy fixes around this but it should be know. QC reports include all run QC batch data. This results in a QC report that could be 10 pages long with a 1 page sample results report. To get a streamlined report that only includes the QC data directly related to the reported Sample is a customization.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2019
Bradley D.
Laboratory Manager
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019

“Migrated to Sample Master from another LIMS”

OverallMy overall experience with Sample Master has been excellent. The main function of my laboratory is to produce environmental water quality data in support of my wastewater treatment facility and industrial pretreatment department. Sample Master has enabled me to collect, store, and organize this data easily while providing a means of quality assurance verification that gives me the confidence as a Laboratory Manager that the data we report is of a known level of accuracy, precision, is of high quality and is defensible (if necessary). With some help (I do not know coding or Microsoft Access) I have been able to set up Sample Master and produce reports for my internal and external customers that quickly provides them the data they need to do their jobs.
ProsThe Master query form allows me and my team to use one form whether we are searching for results, preparing preparation batches, preparing QC batches, work lists, backlogs, etc. Having a single query form for all these functions makes the software very user friendly. I like the ease at which I can set up and configure tests, methods, parameters, QC, control limits, etc. I like that I can easily set up employees to use the software and grant or limit their access to the software based on their position and duties in the laboratory. From an administration point of view this a great security feature.
ConsSome of the canned reports that come with the software, like the Backlog report, don't provide a lot of information. In terms of determining in real time which specific samples had tests that were pending I had to create a custom report. Producing control charts is easy, but through Sample Master you have to do them one test, method, and QC parameter at a time and you cannot save a preset list of control charts that you may wish to view on an ongoing basis. There is a way to do this through an external "Dashboard", but it would be nice to do it within Sample Master.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019
Joe Y.
Lab Systems Developer
Utilities, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Excellent LIMS”

OverallWe have been using Sample Master over 20 years now and the product has grown tremendously during that time to become the outstanding LIMS that it is today. We are using iMobile to enter data from the field and it is a HUGE time saver. The biggest asset ATL has is their staff and support. We have gold support and there was never a time that they have failed to help us solve any problem. They are wonderful to work with. Fantastic support for a great product.
ProsThe best feature is the ability to customize the software to fit your needs. Sample Master is very easy to use and comes with tons of features, but it is easily tweaked to make customized forms, reports and functions.
ConsDue to the software being Microsoft Access based, additional precautions must be taken to lock down the database.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Gregg O.
Manager of Water Quality
Environmental Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“LIMS like it should be”

OverallI went to PittCon in the mid 1990's to select a LIMS. At that time, most suppliers provided software that was written for main-frame computers and would have led to lots of wasted money for help in setting it up. I wanted something that was Windows based and I could set up myself. I knew LIMS from my previous job and this was a new lab. There were 4 vendors there who provided something like that. I had 3 of them provide demonstrations, and clearly Sample Master was the best. We have been using Sample Master for nearly 25 years, and I still am happy with the product. It has been upgraded as technology has advanced. The vendor listens to our needs, and any thing we ask for is written in to future versions of the software. We took a chance with ATL back then, and have not been dissatisfied since.
ProsIt is well organized, does everything you need in a commercial, production, or treatment plant laboratory. It was easy to set up and get running. The support provided by ATL is the best. Though we rarely have problems, they are available to help at any time and will work with us through to resolution.
ConsNothing. It is simply the best. Many LIMS have come and gone, and Sample Master is still the best.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Paul M.
Supervisor V
Utilities, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019

“Sample Master gets the job done!!”

OverallI have been using Sample Master for almost 8 years. The City of Salem purchased Sample Master in 2010 due to Aspen no longer being supported. With little training I was able to become proficient at using Sample Master.
ProsEase of use Ability to create QC batches and attach required QC Trending Creating reports The City of Salem Willow Lake Laboratory only conducts analyses on City samples. The laboratory is not a commercial lab. That being said the laboratory only uses a small portion of the capabilities built into the software.
ConsIn the past there have been issues with new version pushes. The City of Salem has an IT department that now handles all aspects of upgrading/troubleshooting Sample Master. To create a report I first have to verify all the data have been approved. There is no bridge from doing a result entry search straight to creating a report based on the result search.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019
Edward D.
Director of Water Operations
Utilities, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Using Sample Master in a Water Treatment Plant Laboratory”

OverallWe have been using ATL Sample Master LIMS for 4 years now and we couldn't be happier. We had a very similar product called Aspen LIMS for 15 years prior that. We wanted a next generation product with the same look and feel and Sample Master fit the bill perfectly. Sample Master is sold in modules so we could tailor it to our needs. Overall it continues to be an excellent experience using this very stable product.
ProsThe implementation process went very smoothly and their expert staff came onsite and made the transition painless. We are particularly happy with their parser program to automate the transition of data from our GC/MS, ICP/MS and IC into LIMS.
ConsIf I have to find a fault it would be the vagaries with Microsoft's levels of security in its software running in the background. No fault of Sample Master.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Mark G.
Lab Services Manager
Utilities, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019

“Sample Master/Capterra Review”

OverallWe updated our LIMS from another product and have been extremely satisfied with Sample Master.
ProsThe software is extremely functional for everything we do straight out of the box with very few modifications. The master query function makes retrieving data a snap. And the customizable reporting functions are easy enough for us lab people to create their own reports without IT intervention. Also, ATL is extremely knowledgeable with our methods, so customer support is awesome.
ConsThere are not many things I dislike about the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019
Stuart N.
Business Operations Manager
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Highly Functional ......Highly Customizable”

OverallFor us our data quality is better than it was prior to having the software. Everything is where it should be! The automated reporting and billing has allowed us to cut way back on man hours manually creating reports and invoices.
ProsThe software allows companies to develop it to their specific needs. We have been using the software for quite some time and have been able to make it do tasks that are special to our process! In addition the reporting function is completely automated where reports and invoices are automatically created and emailed! Lab users are able to learn quickly how to create and in enter their batch data. Also, the instrument data upload process is quick and easy!
ConsThe software isn't flashy if that is what you are looking for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Kimberly J.
Lab Quality Manager
Information Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“Sample Master LIMS”

OverallOverall our experience with Sample Master has been very good. The team at ATL is so ready and willing to help and they provide a very high standard of service. They literally have a team of experts, so they solve your problems very quickly.
ProsI liked the fact that it is so customizable, which allows you to really make it fit your business rather than trying to make your business fit the software.
ConsThe software has the capability to integrate with different testing platforms; however, it is not included in the package which purchased. The price point to integrate was a bit high. Luckily we have some computer savvy members of our team that were able to come up with a way to automate data transfer from our testing platforms to the LIMS database relatively easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
Richard D.
Laboratory Director
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019

“Sample Master Review”

OverallVery positive.
ProsModular design allowed us to choose the functions that best fit our operations. This translated to less cost for purchasing what we needed with the option of adding modules as the company grows. Also, overall ease of use for a staff unfamiliar with automation. No software is perfect; we have been using this software for >15 yrs with few software glitches.
ConsIf a change needed to be made someone had to make the changes at each individual client computer. However, this did not happen very often. There was a learning curve at the beginning for writing/formatting reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019
Joyce B.
Environmental Laboratory Supervisor
Environmental Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019

“Laboratory Efficiency”

OverallSample Master has definitely made our data entry easier and more consistent. Our laboratory is generating reports in a timely manner. We are able to customize our reports to satisfy the needs of our customers.
ProsThe Sample Master software enabled our laboratory to generate reports that fit each customer and to complete our reports more efficiently. With this software we were able to parse our instrument results directly to the program.
ConsOccasionally, we get error messages but they are usually resolved quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019
Suey H.
Systems Analyst
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019

“SampleMaster LIMS Review”

OverallOverall the program has performed well and has been user friendly.
ProsAccess front end and MS Sql backend. Users and admins have experience with these two platforms already.
ConsCost of annual support. Would like more accessibility to their core forms and functions. Some slowness when database reaches above a certain size. Would like to see next iteration having the ability to mass archive Orders.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019
Dawn C.
Laboratory Supervisor
Environmental Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“Sample Master has been a big help to the lab”

ProsSample Master has helped our labs (water and wastewater) collaborate and easily share samples and data without duplication of efforts. It also intuitive and easy to train new staff members. The customer service is top notch.
ConsIt was a large undertaking to build the static data tables.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Amanda W.
Lab Supervisor
Utilities, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“A great microsoft access based product”

OverallATL is a great company. Their customer service is 5 star.
ProsI like that you can eliminate redundancies in the workplace between analyst and QA/QC person by using this product. Overtime our laboratory has centralized our data into one place.
ConsBecause the product is so customizable, it can be difficult to get the product started in your laboratory if you do not have examples of how other laboratories have used the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
derrick f.
QA/QC supervisor
Utilities, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“LIMS”

ProsCustomer support is great when we have issues. Software is very user friendly.
ConsParsers weren't well when initial purchased the instrument
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Anita M.
Laboratory Supervisor
Utilities, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“Environmental Use”

ProsCustomizable, Adaptable and Ease of Use. Easy to train users.
ConsThe multiple steps of data verification, which isn't always necessary for our laboratory
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
Najja G.
Laboratory Administrative Assistant
Environmental Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019

“Great for keeping large amounts of information but needs time”

ProsI love how it integrates the scanner, printer and label maker into the program. It can keep late amounts of data attached to a specific project. And it saves automatically.
ConsIt can be troublesome learning the minute details of how to work it. Not very intuitive at all. It can also crash whenever it feels like.

Vendor Response

By Accelerated Technology Laboratories on September 30, 2019
Hello Najja, Thank you very much for leaving your review of Sample Master. I'm thrilled that you are taking steps to automate your data management, saving resources and improving data quality! You mentioned that Sample Master can crash. It appears that your organization is not taking advantage of ATL's support options, which means it is highly likely you are using an outdated version of the software. If EMSL enlists in a support plan, you may be eligible for complimentary product upgrades, training, and industry-leading technical support. Please give us a call at 1-800-565-LIMS or email support@atlab.com
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019