ACS Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About ACS

ACS Technologies enables churches to manage groups, events, finances, donor relationships, volunteers, staff, child care, schedules, mailings, reporting, Web sites, growth strategies and so much more. Whether online, offline, desktop or wireless, the tools you need to help you connect your community are totally integrated under one roof! No matter the size of your church or organization, ACS Technologies has the products to help extend your ministry. Learn more about ACS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 99 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 99 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Brian M.
COO
Religious Institutions, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 25, 2016

“ACS - great value for churches and small nonprofits”

ProsAs a small nonprofit, we have used ACS General Ledger, People, and Contributions for over 15 years. What I like best is that it is an affordable, integrated, double-entry accounting system designed specifically for churches and small non-profit organizations. The People and Contributions modules allow us to easily monitor pledges, acknowledge donations, summarize gifts by fund, and report on subsets of our donor base using criteria we choose. The General Ledger offers the custom budget-actual reports and statement of financial position (non-profit balance sheet), as well as the summary of restricted accounts that is not found in typical for-profit packages. ACS also allows your administrator to set specific user permissions customization, so you can limit each user to only the functions that he or she needs. Vendor support is key, and we have found the vendor support behind ACS to be very solid. The software does not do everything, but what it does it does well. When we have had problems or questions, ACS technical support has pro-actively worked them out. In most support sessions, the ACS rep is temporarily granted remote control of our local computers and works directly with our data and reports. Support reps are readily available when we call, and they are very knowledgeable of the product.
ConsOverall, we like ACS. I don't have a lot of criticism. The addition of a functional expense statement would be very helpful, since this is the format used by the IRS on Form 990 (required of most 403(b) organizations but not for most churches). Direct delivery of GL reports by email would also be helpful, but printing to pdf and emailing is not terribly difficult. As our number of donor records and years of data have grown, I have found the software to slow down somewhat, particularly when running custom extracts of donor data.
Recommendations to other buyersConsider the reporting requirements for each set of constituents - board of directors, deacons, management teams, donors. Be sure that the software will produce these reports easily and without errors. Test drive it. Find a software that is specifically designed for your organization type. ACS is designed for churches; we have been able to make it work well for us as a small non-profit, but many of the donor analysis features were specifically designed to track church giving and are not necessarily applicable to us. Still, we have found ACS much better adapted to our needs than a for-profit software and much more affordable than the leading non-profit packages.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 25, 2016
Jo S.
Social Media, Ministry Assistant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2016

“Documentation lacking, some add-on modules don't mesh well, reporting in Access sorely lacking.”

OverallIn general, many of the features of your software are frustrating and not intuitive. I was a programmer and it seems your programmers need to spend more time using the product in real world applications. It should be word like in functions like word. Copying and pasting, formatting those types of applications.
Pros#1 Pro is that ACS addresses the most important tasks a church is in need of.
ConsI have found many thing that weren't intuitive. Uploading of photos ok although no way to standardize within the program (cropping sorely needed) and downloading photos isn't intuitive. The modules are limited, all the data in Access needs to transfer into the people suite for reporting purposes. Access pretty useless for reporting purposes. Using the volunteer management is not really practical to use as intended. Although you have made changes where you can transmit data to excel or word. OnDemand stings because you can't save locally in an easy manner. Many times our church has served more or less as your beta testing because we actually try to use all the features and give feedback but we get nothing in return for that. We only do that because it is lacking features or functionality.
Recommendations to other buyersYou need to make an app that actually allows churches to customize it to their church, ie. Have programmable menu items so you can link to our online content outside of ACS like ministry pages on our website and social media. The church life is ok for accessing data on ACS but you need to increase the functionally and allow church branding. Also note: stars on this web form dysfunctional, can't select the number of stars I want to. I give it a 4 stars on all categories.
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2016
Suzanne M.
church administrator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Exploring software for your church - consider ACS.”

OverallMy experience with ACS has been very good. I started with them when we all had DOS computers and moved up to the windows platform. Now, we are able to have versions of the software on our phone. The system has the capability of being backed up to the cloud and does not need to be kept on your church's server. There is also an alternative for more contemporary churches called "Realm."
ProsACS gives you the total package in church software. It helps you efficiently mange both the "people" side of the job and the "accounting" and numbers side and will allow them to communicate with each other. There are several modules that will allow you to track different aspects of the member or prospect in the life of the church and this system does it very effectively. It has been around for a long time and they have perfected the software.
ConsBecause the software does so many functions and can be tailored to almost any church of any size or situation, it can be a little confusing. Therefore, training is vital. They excel in offering wonderful training through their company and through local trainers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Bulletproof, contains all the core functionality, but dated”

OverallCrucial information that aids in caring for our church family.
ProsI love that this software has been refined and is extremely reliable and fast. Efficient data entry and keyboard functionality. Powerful reporting. Covers the basics of what a ChMS should offer with ease, speed and power.
ConsThis software is dated. It's "cloud" based, but lacks lots of modern communication tools such as text communication, easy email distribution and remote web-based functions like small group attendance, and volunteer management. In all honesty, ACS is so big and has so many add-on features, it can probably do all of these things, but it's hard to know all of the functionality because it's not easily explained anywhere (and I've been a user for 12 years). Also, it's reporting process is not difficult for someone with some background in reports, but it's far too complex for an average pastor or lay-leader to use - which requires a database person to run reports. Also, no customizable dashboards, etc. So, it will probably do most everything you want, but you'll need a ChMS expert to figure it all out and run the reports...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“A Great Product Overall with World-Class Customer Service”

OverallACS is a church software product with several different suites to choose from. I found the People Suite, then Realm, extremely helpful in keeping member records, and the Financial Suite gives the church the reports and information needed for making budget decisions.
ProsACS Realm is a simpler version of ACS People Suite, and much more intuitive. The implementation was smooth and the transition fully backed by their wonderful customer service. I also love getting a live, knowledgeable person on the phone within a few seconds of calling. Payroll is also very easy in ACS Financial Suite.
ConsThe Financial Suite is not intuitive, but mistakes have gotten easier to fix due to upgrades. The church is still waiting to switch to ACS Realm Financials, as payroll cannot be done there, despite well over a year of promises that it is happening soon. It would be helpful for Realm input of donations to flow to the Financial Suite. Also, ACS People Suite gave options for certain reports that cannot be run in ACS Realm.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Great Functionality Needs Upgrade”

OverallWe used ACS for everything for several years, but now only use them for financials. We moved to a more user friendly platform for our users. This is a give and take situation the new system is more user friendly, but not as feature rich as ACS.
ProsThis software will do most anything you want with great support especially with Megachurch support. It is built for all kinds of churches and includes all the modules you would need. ACS is one of the only church management systems that include a financial module that will manage GL accounts as well as POs.
ConsSoftware needs to be upgraded from the backend. Speed is an issue when running large reports and I think SQL would help this. This software is feature rich so it makes it not so user friendly sometimes and it kinda has a 90s look in several areas. NO API ACCESS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Nadine M.
Assistant Director of Small Groups
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2016

“ACS - small group management”

OverallWe are a non-denom multi-site church in the DC suburbs (predominantly African-American) with apx 4000 in weekly attendance and 10,000 watching services online. We chose ACS software over the competition because it was robust enough to meet our needs. And like most churches...our needs are varied and nuanced.
Pros1. The customer support!!!! If I can't figure out how to do something, there are so many ways to get help: Phone calls to a live person that walks me through things step-by-step, webinars, other ACS users in different online communities, etc. 2. The flexibility of the product and how it's grown...and continues to grow...to meet our needs.
ConsThe volunteer management piece isn't as directly integrated as we would like.
Recommendations to other buyersMy advice= talk to actual users to see how we/they are using the product. That information is invaluable.
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2016
Chris S.
Pastor
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“As Great as You Can Make It”

OverallThis software is amazing one-stop shop for database, scheduling, volunteer, financial, and communication software.
ProsMy title may be odd but it describes this software. This software is very powerful and its capabilities are far greater than any church I have ever worked at has taken advantage of. It is marvelous in it's simplicity but also the sky is the limit with regards to it's complexity in it's ability to create reports, schedule volunteers, and communicate with teams.
ConsIt is a very steep learning curve. Although the customer service is excellent, but it is important to remember that the learning curve is high if you have a transition in staff (give them time to learn and use the tutorials.)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Jean K.
Church Administrator
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2018

“ACS - Finance - People - Headmaster”

OverallWe selected this product years ago, because we needed a church database software that could do a good job with Finance/General Ledger processes. The product we were using at the time did not perform well. We researched a variety of products, narrowed our search to 3, and visited areas churches that were using the 3 products to test them out. At that time, ACS was much more user friendly than the other products. We have now been talking to ACS about converting to Realm. Watching demos, Realm is much more modern looking and ease of use is high. We will be working on transitioning to this within the coming year. After talking to other churches who have made this transition, we will take a gradual approach - activating Realm with staff for a time period first before fully activating with the entire congregation.
ProsPerforms general ledger and accounts payable functions well. Headmaster is used for Preschool/Kindergarten classes.
ConsHeadmaster is a little cumbersome to use, but you get used to it. Heavy on data entry to set up students. We looked into using Event Scheduler, but determined it was too cumbersome for our use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2018
Susan G.
Office Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016

“Best church software I've seen!”

OverallThe software is superb and the customer service goes above and beyond to answer all my questions. ACS offers everything I need to run the church office tasks. From member information, contributions, directory, to financial reports, payroll, taxes, etc.
ProsEase of use; frequent upgrades; makes my job more efficient
ConsI really do like everything about it but if I had to name one thing, it would be the reports part of the program. The reports can be a little difficult to search & display the results you want.
Recommendations to other buyersDon't hesitate to call customer service if you have a question or you've made a mistake in your software. They are the kindest and most knowledgeable of any customer service I've ever had to deal with.
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016
Andrea R.
CPA
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2016

“ACS User For Over 20 years--Using 10.0 Now ”

OverallOur church is medium sized. We love the Flex Contribution Forms and it's layout. Customer service is spot-on. I agree with all other users who have reviewed. Ease of use, love the People and Financial Modules with its reports which we own. Don't know much about REALM but I think we would be interested. What would seal the deal is the reporting for my Boards and administrators.
ProsEase of use--the reporting is awesome.
ConsCould look more pleasing to the eye like most of the programs today. But it gets the job done. I've seen the progression over the twenty years I have used ACS.
Recommendations to other buyersMore development if you plan on keeping it around. Is Realm replacing it?
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2016
Jai R.
Pastor
Religious Institutions, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
2.5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 24, 2015

“Solid, but not exciting”

ProsACS has a lot of features, and customizable fields, etc. Great customer service for problems (for additional fee per month).
ConsUpdates come out very slowly, and the product feels at least 5-10 years out of date. Reports are not very customizable unless you purchase additional module. Not very responsive to requested features. Not Mac-compatible (unless you use cloud version which is more expensive). Have trouble getting staff to use the software - they tend to just want to access it on their phone app. Online Giving is not easy for first-time users. Lots of small group leaders have had trouble using the online attendance tracking.
Recommendations to other buyersReally consider what your needs are. Look at programs like Church Community Builder, ChurchTeams, FellowshipOne, ServantKeeper, etc as well. If you are looking for highly intuitive software, this is probably not the software for you. If you want back-door access via ODBC and are a programmer this might be the best option for you.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 24, 2015
Terry L.
Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2014

“Mostly high marks”

OverallWe use ACS OnDemand (PeopleSuite, Attendance, Connections modules) and are preparing to roll out AccessACS to our membership as part of a website re-do. The pros: * Using PeopleSuite and Attendance moved us from multiple spreadsheets (and hundreds of errors/discrepancies) to track member info and attendance. * The Connections module is being used for our evangelism/visitation teams. They were slow to adopt, but their leader has championed its use and they're getting there. * It allowed us to introduce spiritual gifts tied to volunteer opportunities to our membership, and our deacons and volunteer organizers can use it to track involvement and identify volunteers when opportunities arise. * The directory phone/tablet app is very handy for our ministers and leadership (it has not been rolled out to the membership yet, but will be introduced this summer.) The Cons: * Attendance. We are a small/mid size church (just over 1,000 member/visitor files) so we handle attendance manually. The AccessACS module is too clunky for volunteers to enter attendance, which has placed the workload back on our very small office staff. * There are significant limitations to the reporting on member involvement. Customized reports (and access to a report builder) are pricey. * Creating a MS Word letter template is far more complicated than it should be. * Texting capability ranges from bad (integration between PeopleSuite and AccessACS) to non-existent (integration with PhoneTree). Bottom line: We purchased ACS years ago as a stand-alone, one-user model. We're now entering Year 2 of using the OnDemand, multi-user model. It has allowed us to become far more efficient than we were, but it's not where we want to be long-term.
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2014
David W.
Senior Pastor / IT Admin
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Keeps going strong!!”

OverallACS helps us track data, solve problems, and enables us to do ministry instead of having to worry about data. ACS takes care of our data!!
ProsWe are one of the oldest ACS clients in South Carolina, being with them since the ACS for DOS days. Their tech support is hard-working and responsive, and thankfully we don't have to call them often. This software just works.
ConsI have used ACS for decades, and I cannot find anything that I like least.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Zenobia N.
Managing Director
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 12, 2017

“Grateful!”

OverallA very good product. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a flexible system.
ProsAs a small non-profit, we were looking for software to help streamline our data collection and reporting; one which focuses on client management and tracking. When we were introduced to ACS, they were a God-send. It was a flexible system that provided numerous options. We were able to manage our client intake much more easily than in the past. Overall, we found them to be a great fit for our organization.
ConsOnce you understand the main parts, the system works well, however, more integration is needed. Usually, the help-desk representative was very prompt with their answers to questions. There were so many features that we didn't get to learn them all.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 12, 2017
Josh E.
Administrator
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Aching for ACS”

OverallThe customer service at ACS is outstanding and would recommend this company and their products to anyone.
ProsThis software was the solution we needed. When ACS Realm is fully launched, we will find that our questions will be answered with the product provided.
ConsSometimes the software can be clunky and not able to fully customize the solution we need but then the question is asked, "What do I really need to do?"
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“ACS for First Church”

OverallPledgers who are not attending.
ProsReports, tracking a stewardship campaign over several years, customer service is tops.
ConsUses a software that doesn't convert excel spreadsheets into a functional spreadsheet. The columns do not keep the formulas. Therefore you have to make the formulas in a new column. Multiply steps for reports. Should have more reports that are already set up in the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Vanessa F.
Office Coordinator
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2016

“Great Customer Service with ACS!”

OverallOur church has been with ACS for many years. Customer support is the biggest attraction to this company! We've used several of their products - Realm, Extend - and now are looking forward to what's coming next with mobile apps!
ProsLove the customer service! They are great about working with you on issues. It's rare that they cannot solve a problem.
ConsNot as intuitive as I'd like, but still fairly easy to use once you get used to it.
Recommendations to other buyersGreat company to work with!
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2016
Brandon V.
Next Generation Pastor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“ACS was a huge learning curve for me, but its robust database made it worth it.”

ProsACS is powerful. It holds a whole lot of data and can do everything from help manage group and events to managing payroll. Once you learn how to navigate the software, you are able to dig into a lot of different search criteria and information to find just about any piece of info you would want on a church member. I personally do not work with the financial side, but I hear nothing but great things about how secure and robust the financial info is as well.
ConsACS has a huge learning curve and the user interface is antiquated and pretty hard to navigate. The ACS team knows this however and rather than rock the boat for those who know ACS inside and out, they developed REALM which we have since moved to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
April Y.
Administrative Assistant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2016

“Great Customer Service & Support!”

OverallACS OnDemand church database is not incredibly pretty or user-friendly, but it is very capable software for mid- to large-sized churches to choose.
ProsThe biggest pro is ACS' support team. They will capably answer almost any question about how to use the database when you get stuck, and will remain friendly, patient and helpful throughout the call. A+
ConsThe thing I dislike most is the "look and feel" of the user experience. It just isn't pretty.
Recommendations to other buyersOur church is upgrading from ACS OnDemand to their new Realm database. It looks to be both capable and user-friendly.
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2016
Richard P.
HR
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2017

“Effective for our operations”

OverallOverall, nice evolution of the software
ProsEase of navigation, customizable reporting, effective help menu system. Adjustable to individual user in the settings and screen layouts.
ConsOccasional crashes, if it locks up, you have to re-log in, and via the log in, exit the program that just crashed, then reinitialize.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2017
Ashley P.
Associate Pastor
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2017

“ACS is a must have software for churches. ”

OverallHelps keep up with membership info and tracking.
ProsThe best part about this software is the search ability to locate information. While it takes some time to become familiar with how the searches work, you can pretty much find what you are looking for as long as the data has been imputed correctly. For example, you can locate a certain phone number. However, you still need to know how the phone number was classified when it was entered into the software.
ConsThe part I like least about this software is the difficulty of merging documents for mass mail out. There are many steps and takes some time to master this process. It would be great to simply this process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018

“ACS”

OverallWhereas I can work seamlessly with ACS a lot of my coworkers have difficulties and I'm constantly showing them how to do things they don't do on a regular basis. It has solved the issues of church body data management. Everyone has been trained on how to enter the information into the database. It's just difficult for those, who don't work in the details very often, to get information out of it.
ProsI love that once you understand the logic behind the software it's very user friendly.
ConsIf you don't take a training class on the logic behind the software it's difficult to understand the more detailed inner workings of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018
Aimee R.
summer projects secretary/teacher
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2017

“ACS is okay...”

OverallWe can keep track of our members and visitors and keep good records for visitation.
ProsThe transition from Servant Keeper to ACS was smooth. The onboarding team and the customer service reps are easy to work with and try to be as helpful as possible. The Church Life app is great, and has been a blessing to our church members.
ConsWorking through a separate "portal" is a total pain. The software seems like it's not advancing with the times, and I would much prefer a true "cloud" based system. We are often "kicked off" the portal and have to log in again. We also have difficulty with AccessACS, because it can only be accessed by a Windows based browser (and we all use Mac computers). It's a bit of a hassle to access AccessACS through a separate browser to do the needed uploading tasks and helping our folks with their passwords and such. Finally, they really haven't updated much in the software. It's stagnant, and I see some areas where we may want to explore more modern technology.
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2017
Avatar Image
Andrew H.
Technical Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“It's reliable yet dated church management software”

OverallWe have been ACS users for probably close to 10 years and it works, it does work. However, we are in the process of switching to The Rock and, although it's much more powerful, The Rock also requires a greater size management team with technical programming proficiencies. When choosing your management software, you'll pay for it one way or another. In my opinion, ACS is a great solution for small to medium size churches...say up to 2000 people.
ProsACS is a fairly reliable and robust church management software useful for, among other things, managing your general ledger, giving, kids check-in, and people database. If you're a musician, I could tell you that it's like a Shure SM58 vocal microphone...you can drop it 100 times and it still works great...but other mics sound better...and may cost more.
ConsIt is very much out of date according to today's standards. It seems to prefer a large amount of bandwidth for our kids checkin machines running ACS for checkin...it technically isn't a ton of data, but ACS really seems to prefer having a big pipe for it, network wise. ACS is fairly limited in who can and should have access to different parts of it. My biggest complain, though, would be that ACS just hasn't kept up with the development side of their platform to match the technology that everyone is used to using in 2019.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
David C.
Executive Pastor
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“ACS Financials”

OverallGreat at what they do. An industry leader
ProsGreat accounting software package with robust reporting options.
ConsNot able to easily import bills. Wish it could link better with our bank and online billing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Alisha B.
Exec Admin Asst
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2018

“Good management software for churches”

OverallChurch membership management, running reports, accounting and bookkeeping, contributions, etc
Pros- Easy to use - Great customer service - Great customizability
ConsCould look more modern, but certainly gets the job done
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2018

“ACS is overall okay. ”

ProsI like how it stores a lot of information and that the customer service is always very prompt.
ConsI do not like the interface, it is outdated and can be confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Corey S.
Director
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018

“I used ACS in my previous job as a Finance Manager for a church”

ProsI really liked the ease of use and the features that ACS offered for church and school management. Also, ACS's customer service and development teams were incredible.
ConsAt times, the wait time for customer service was rather lengthy, especially around peak seasons like in February and March near tax time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2018
Val S.
Educational Ministries Coordinator
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Not Intuitive, But Great Once It's Going”

OverallACS is good stuff -- if it is set up correctly and consistently. I like it overall. But there is a steep learning curve.
ProsI love how flexible/customizable it is, to fit nearly any faith community. It also can be integrated with other programs (giving, background checks, etc.).
ConsTOTALLY not intuitive. Also, I was assured that the ACS Finance training I was going to was completely for non-finance people and I couldn't follow it at ALL due to the heavy, HEAVY reliance upon accounting jargon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Ashley H.
Assistant
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Easy for those who are not keen with numbers”

Prossimple to use, but a lot of capability. Easy to keep track of giving and make reports for unpaid tuitions.
Consdifficult to use for a school when students drop or change classes after making payments. Wish there was a way to connect to another software to automatically load registrations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Andrea M.
CFO
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2017

“Reporting is not that easy, especially setting up for year end statements.”

OverallMembership interface capabilities. Good product and better than what we had, but I didn't get much training. When we have used customer service/support it has always been good. I am part time, so do not have lots of time to waste trying to figure things out and dealing with customer service.
ProsLots of fields available, good access for members. Info seems to be reliable if entered properly. Easy to fix mistakes.
ConsSetting up reports is not very intuitive and is hard to customize. Not enough directions within the product to guide you.
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2017
Ronnie V.
Campus Pastor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2018

“Endless Possibilities with this, no matter your size.”

ProsACS is great if you need everything. They offer a lot, and have been around for a while, so they know the Church world. Their support is usually quick and knowledgable. You don't have to be an IT master to work with them as they walk you through everything you need.
ConsThey offer everything, sometimes it's better when a software focuses on just what You need not everything that raises costs and may end up bloating software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2018
Edda P.
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2016

“ACS Software”

OverallNew to using the software. Minimal training as the previous person had already left the job. Too expensive for the church to send new hires to ACS Training.
ProsCan make up a Form Letters, Labels etc to send to entire congregation. Can copy someone's address to your clipboard for ease of sending letter/envelope to one person.
ConsHard to do a search for a group of people. Very complicated to get exact list of criteria to get the search results you want.
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“ACS ”

ProsACS is a software that just has worked for us. I have been here for 7 years now and the finance department has loved it the entire time I've been here.
ConsWe just switched from on-prem to on-demand and while we love the ability to use windows or Mac machines, we had to downgrade the number of people who could access it to stay within budget. The 5 usernames is a nice starting point but it was not deemed cost effective to add more users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Donna T.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2017

“Rating of ACS program for Episcopal Churches”

OverallI have used ACS for 16 years from DOS to Windows to Online based. Online was an awesome expansion! There was never down time (except for middle of the night maintenance) and it was always fast. Backups were never a worry. Customer Service was friendly, extremely helpful and patient. On site training was available at extra cost.
ProsCustomization. Online based. Does yearly Parochial Report and sends it to National Church. Parochial Report can be printed daily, weekly, monthly....as many times as you wish for internal reporting to Vestry or Rector. Access to training.
ConsIt can be pricey for smaller parishes/churches. Realm (for smaller parihes) is still young and needs tweaking. When you are used to the fuller ACS version, Realm can be a bit frustrating. Realm only recently had General Ledger talking to the Financial module.
Recommendations to other buyersAsk your parish administrator or church secretary if she has any previous church software experience and listen to her. She will be the person using the software more than volunteers or other non-office personnel.
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2017
Phyllis P.
Parish Administrator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2016

“Love this program”

OverallI use mainly the People side of ACS and it is so helpful with keeping all of my groups together. Love this software.
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2016
Sharon T.
Director of Membership & Hospitality
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2016

“Great company, outstanding customer service, excellent products”

OverallPROS - The best thing would have to be the company and the incredible employees that make up this company. The customer service and desire on behalf of the employees to help you accomplish your goals is superb! The products reflect the needs of and input from the end users. Products have changed over the years as churches changed how they do church. The company is incredibly responsive to customers needs and requests. The support staff is patient and always polite - AND they resolve your issue or explain/teach/show you how to do what you want to do. The introduction of their next generation software - REALM - is the answer we've been looking for. It integrates the best of every product they have into an updated platform that is intuitive. And ACS is literally attacking full force the development of this product to help their customers do ministry effectively. CONS - It is not the most intuitive software, but that is due to the tremendous functionality that has been built into a product that many churches"don't want to change." Some customers want their software to stay the same, others want new functionality and updates - ACS has managed to be responsive to both ends of the spectrum.
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Great for a small church”

OverallWe wanted a way to integrate membership management and giving records. This afforded us that possibility.
ProsThe ease of use was great. First-time users were able to learn it quickly. Also, there are good instruction videos as well as customer call center. Able to meet our needs without stress
ConsFor a small church, the price could be a little cheaper per month or offer a multi-month discount
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Melodi H.
Secretary/Publications
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 19, 2018

“Helpful, but not user-friendly”

OverallAs a new employee coming into the administrative secretary position a few months ago, I was confident that it would take me no more than a couple of months to get familiar with ACS and to be flying through the steps necessary to keep an accurate accounting record. I have a higher than average knowledge and skill base with technology and software. I have been discouraged with how long it is taking me to grasp the full scope of the ACS software and how best to manage our accounting needs.
ProsACS Technologies accounting software for churches has many capabilities that are necessary in the accurate accounting of all the funds coming into and going out from the church. We are able to print detailed reports for our Finance Team to review each month, follow a clear auditing trail, and have up-to-date information on the funds remaining for each ministry team.
ConsACS is not at all user-friendly and requires a great deal of specialized training in order to be up and running within a reasonable amount of time. It is not intuitive and while the customer service phone line is very helpful and readily available, it is extremely difficult for someone to come in as a new employee and take over the reigns in regards to accounting. There are training sessions available, but they are typically only offered in South Carolina where the ACS corporate offices are located. That makes it difficult for a smaller church to afford to send one or two employees for training in a timely manner. There are manuals available for print, but again, weeding through the many pages of the manual is not an easy task for a person who is unfamiliar with the software. The tools needed for church accounting are there, however, they are difficult to master in practice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 19, 2018
Bob H.
Teaching Pastor
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2016

“Awesome Church Management Software”

OverallWe have been using ACS software for over 14 years. It handles all of our church needs. I can recommend it to any church! It handles all of our financial and people needs.
ProsACS has a new version of their software that is called REALM. It is all online and extremely user friendly. They have online help for every aspect of the program.
ConsThe only con is the small learning curve to begin using.
Source: Capterra
November 4, 2016
Wendy S.
Office Manager
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“ACS Technologies that we use for the Church is super easy”

ProsWe are able to keep a complete database of members, associates, visitors and children. We are also able to keep track of tithes and offerings
ConsWish there was the ability to print pictures of people and then there name, so that if you don't know the person's name.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Mark D.
Community and Families Pastor
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 25, 2017

“A proven product but a lot of training is required.”

ProsACS does everything and more than what we need. Customer support is excellent. Cloud based for remote access is very helpful to work from home or office.
ConsACS is not intuitive at all. It has been around for decades and often feels like it is old software with a lot of patches to make it work with new ideas. Customer support is great, but you shouldn't need it frequently. We spent a full week training our staff on ACS and the modules we have added. It seems like we frequently get "kicked off" and have to log back in to keep using the software.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 25, 2017
Avatar Image
Nicholas S.
Student Pastor
Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Look elsewhere for a ministry database”

ProsThere are several desirable features with this software. A primary one is the high amount of customization. However, this customization is only available to administrators and people with understanding of coding.
ConsImmensely outdated and not functional. While using this software, I felt I put more work into using the software than actual results it gave. I would steer clear of this software if you're looking for a simple, user-friendly and intuitive experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Bob L.
Retired Minister
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 24, 2018

“Great Church Software Management”

ProsI like the way this software allows you to access other church members along with photographs to recognize individuals within the church. I currently am assigned the process of checking roll in our Sunday School class which I do on this software and submit without the need for paperwork.
ConsI really haven't discovered anything negative with this software yet. However, having only used it for a about a year, I am still learning it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 24, 2018
Francine S.
Ministry Assistant
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2016

“ACS Technologies”

OverallHave been using ACS for 1 year now. Still learning how to best utilize the software. Especially enjoy the ability to track and communicate with the church family.
ProsAble to easily track our members.
ConsFreezes up and/or kicks me off the system randomly.
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2016
Kristin B.
Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2017

“ACS is an okay program I feel it is very outdated and needs some major updated to be compatible.”

ProsNavigation with this software is quite easy to use, I enjoy the ability to search for my contacts easily, but once again it is slow and outdated and could definitely use a face lift.
ConsAs stated before in my previous comments above, ACS needs to be updated to reflect more modern graphics, and accessibility. I think it would be wonderful to have an app that links to your phone.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2017
Amanda G.
Receptionist
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2017

“Perfect for a church new to church management software”

OverallI was new to my position at a church and ACS was the program we had in use when I started. It was a great program and was easy to learn with very minimal training.
ProsOrganizes a lot of information for you church members and also can keep track of the contribution side of your ministry.
ConsThe look and some functions are a bit outdated. They are constantly doing updates and the cost is a bit expensive.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2017
Shawnette D.
Administrative Assistant
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2016

“Pretty Decent”

OverallWe have been using ACS for awhile now and recently switched to ACS on Demand. Our experience has been positive overall and I think that ACS offers a great product. My major complaint with ACS is that with a church our size, there is no easy way to input contributions. We have staff who have to manually input each person's contribution and it takes a lot of time. Otherwise, ACS is perfect for us.
ProsPretty easy to use
ConsNo easy way to input contributions
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2016
Dan R.
CFO
Religious Institutions, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 6, 2016

“Excellent financial management with considerable flexibility”

ProsResponsive, professional, high quality, the integration of the various modules
ConsHas a cloud-based product but still transitioning to the cloud environment
Recommendations to other buyersknow what you want & need, evaluate your own accounting expertise & how it fits with the software tools
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 6, 2016