Budgetrac Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Budgetrac

Budgetrac Systems is a leading provider of accounting solutions designed specifically for real estate developers in the office, industrial, retail, residential and home builders. Developers like you have selected Budgetrac because it is focused on addressing your specific needs with modules like project control, contract management, accounts payable, accounts receivable, general ledger, lien tracking, loan draw, and property management. Learn more about Budgetrac

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Sara H.
Operations Manager
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Budgetrac Software for small to mid-size developer”

OverallOverall we are pleased with our transition to Budgetrac. The training and support provided by to us has been stellar and I cannot praise our trainer enough.
ProsBudgetrac provided us the software to move away from spreadsheets for recording and tracking real estate development costs. We love how the entire general ledger accounting system, specifically accounts payable system, integrates with the loan draw system. Additionally, we utilize the commercial property management component since most of our completed development projects turn into managed entities. We like having all of these needs compartmentalized into one integrated software system.
ConsA few of the screens do not have totals but we understand the developer is working on that for future roll out. It does not "do match" within a field like Quickbooks allows you too, which would be extremely helpful when required to split a cost among job codes, or other general ledger accounts like owner equity accounts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Mindy M.
CFO
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 26, 2017

“Mixed Use Real estate developer”

OverallCustomer service is a big plus. I like that it is specifically geared towards our business. Existing reports are comprehensive and usually will cover any needs, but you also have the ability to create custom reports.
ProsVery good for loan draws which is important as a developer. Very easy to separate development budgets into multiple phases, or consolidate, as preferred by lender, partner, owners, etc. Most software marketed to real estate is intended for builders and is overly complicated. This programs gives us what we need and is a great bargain. The customer service is great and they are very quick to solve any issues or questions that come up.
ConsProperty management module is probably the least flushed out; however, after using if a couple of years, it is adequate for our use. We tend to not hold onto properties for a long time so the shortcomings do not hurt us. Could use better documentation on this module and custom reports, but overall it works well for our purposes.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 26, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Budgetrac review”

ProsCost - based on other platforms BT is a value. Web based - we did not want to manage a server. allows for access while traveling. Import functionality - import invoices and journal entries which saves time and improves accuracy. Reports - decent quality and ok export functionality. Project Budgets - as a homebuilder, we setup a budget for each home, this results in > 200 budgets for some entities. the system does a reasonable job handling this
ConsThere seems to be too many glitches and bugs - at first I thought it was user error, but happens to frequently. User manuals are very basic - not meant to help experienced users. When doing Search / Edit, the user must reset the search criteria everytime - very cumbersome if we need to modify several items. Performance can be very slow at times. Reports have issues, for example there is a AP report we use a lot, but it shows voided checks as positive amounts - makes it challenging to understand what occured without exporting, filtering and sorting. Bank Rec report inserts blank pages what are unncessary. The P&L changes formats if you add the Account Numbers. Some reports use whole numbers (vs two decimals) which creates odd rounding errors. Reports have data limitations which can be cumbersome. Sometimes if you run the report, it will work the 3rd or 4th time. Other times you have to create date ranges and run the report multiple times and than merge your results - cumbersome and time consuming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
MEHEDUL HASAN M.
CEO & Founder
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 7, 2017

“Our Picks for the Best Property Management Software”

OverallSo we interviewed property managers and landlords across the country on the tools they use and the tasks that keep them busy every day. We learned there are a handful of must-haves: the ability to easily collect rent, manage maintenance requests, and advertise to new tenants, as well as robust accounting, reporting, and document management. We found 15 that met our features requirements; from there we tested each one for ease of use and customer service.
ProsFrom there our task was simple: Figure out what property management software had the right features, and then see which were the easiest to use.
ConsWe started with a pretty wide lens, looking at software tailored to residential and commercial properties; for managers of hundreds of units as well as part-time landlords. (We skipped over the niche software - vacation rentals require software that can manage new tenants every week, for example - and preferred SaaS systems to desktop-only options.)
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 7, 2017
Kathy L.
CFO
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 3, 2017

“CFO”

OverallThe software does not require an IT genius to repair if there are issues. I can pretty much go into the system and fix records that are damaged or missing with out calling Budgetrac support. I like that.
Prosease of use. It does what I need for a small contractor as well as record keeping for draw processes. The download into excel capabilities is very useful as well as pdf to send to others.
Consthe Financial statement setup is a bit cumbersome and became too much work to program. I dump the information into excel and modify it that way for presentation purposes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 3, 2017
Karen S.
Payroll
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2017

“Budgetrac works well for tracking construction and maintenance costs.”

ProsBudgetrac is easy to work in, not a complicated system. If we did run into a problem with something we were able to call support and resolve our problem in a timely manner. There is also a payroll module, not all programs include payroll.
ConsThe only thing I wish the program could do is to pull a report with hours on a job for a specific time period. The system will pull hours but it is from the start of the job
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2017
Christian J.
Project Coordinator
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Budgetrac Pros and Cons”

OverallWe are thankful there is alot of help from the Budgetrac team and almost immediate turn overs when issues come up. ***Alot of information when changed gets an Error 547 when certain variables aren't present: Please change this error to include the reason why the error happens, most of the time a variable has to be switched and then the transaction can be changed/deleted,
ProsThere is a vast amount of commercial property management and project management aspects not featured in a basic accounting program. Budgetrac revolves around one point entry, which proves as an advantage in reporting from PM and GL perspectives.
ConsAs budgetrac is a single point entry system, alot of consideration has to be taken into account when inputting information: alot of the information is non-editable once entered and punishes errors in either a long reversing transaction process which results in poor reporting in
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Shelby B.
Purchasing Coordinator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 24, 2015

“Budgetrac for the Construction professional”

ProsI found Budgetrac very user friendly. I utilized Budgetrac on a daily basis in my role as Purchasing Coordinator for a Custom Home builder.
ConsThere really isn't anything about Budgetrac that I didn't like. It worked great for what I needed it to do. I processed many subcontract agreements and with that there was a lot of budget related tasks that I used Budgetrac for.
Recommendations to other buyersI would recommend familiarizing yourself with the different modules so that you get the most optimization of the software.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 24, 2015
Caren C.
CFO
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Budgetrac Review”

ProsThis product is user friendly and so far most inclusive
ConsI have not used it much yet. Still new to this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
aman g.
director
Commercial Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 6, 2016

“Property Management Change”

OverallI found this product to really be amazing. Prior to this, we ran our whole rental management and investment business off of excel worksheets. Sure this works, but when you expand you have nothing but headaches. The great part of this company is that it also has software for renovation/real estate development which makes it easier to work with one partner.
ProsI love the usability and easiness of use of this product. It is simple to learn and easy to maintain. Cuts out a lot of repititive tasks.
Recommendations to other buyersI would invest into a quality product, ex: budgetrac, when starting your business and not just growing it to save on headaches down the road.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 6, 2016
Brinomar T.
Process Engineer
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 24, 2018

“Amazing software!!!”

ProsThis software makes life easier since in just a click away I can have what I need. Presentation wise, no other software can be recommended.
ConsI am amazed by this software that I can't recall anything that I dislike with this product. Maybe a edit button for the graphs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 24, 2018
Ann M.
Controller
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 10, 2016

“BudgeTrac Software Review”

OverallI have used BudgeTrac for about 10 years and it has allowed me to track all aspects of a construction project. The software is very detailed and has many capabilities. The accounting component easily exports into our Skyline software.
ProsThe level of detail the program allows for you to utilize. The multiple modules gives you many options for a project.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 10, 2016
Adam H.
Managing Partner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2016

“As of Jan 2016 the software is still in beta version -full of errors and NOT useable. ”

OverallI've used Yardi, Argus, and host of complicated softwares. I mention this to let you know that this is not a user issue. Budgetrac is full of errors. For instance, a $363,000 payment with 10% retainage, it correctly shows retainage at $36,300, but instead of a payment of $326,700 Budgetrac made it for $294,000. In addition to math errors, phantom payments appear in expense reports, while some payments are dropped. Invoices often lockup and you can't delete or correct them before they are processed. Often invoices aren't "posted" which is required for the rest of the system to recognize them. Although they have a Customer Service number, they don't have any personnel - except for the implementation person, who is your only contact and you could wait over a week for him to respond. After 4 months of hearing promises of Budgetrac is correcting the system in the next upgrade, I finally asked for a refund - at which point they went quiet. I eventually had an attorney contact them at which point they offered a percent refund of my investment if I promised not to disclose all the problems I encountered. I didn't accept the offer.
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2016
Tanner C.
Accountant
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 30, 2018

“Budgetrac Review”

ProsThere are lots of different options out there, but budgetrac is an excellent choice. Great for real estate developers and property managers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 30, 2018
Renee B.
IT Manager
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 19, 2017

“BudgeTrac is a joke. They lie. They steal. And now they're hiding.”

ConsTried serving papers to them to sue to get our money back (that they agreed in writing they owed us) - but they've disappeared. Certified mail to the address still listed on their website is returned - left with no forwarding address. Tried several other addresses I found online, but those are returned as well. Emails are ignored. Phone calls get through to a machine, but messages are not answered. They promise refunds of prepaid license fees, but won't ever actually do it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 19, 2017
Cody J.
Property Manager
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2017

“Really good, and robust”

ProsOverall, many Pros. Ability to organize data efficiently and separate items if/when needed. No complaints at all.
ConsNot too many Cons to this SW. My team and I are happy with this product and we would use it again and again.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2017
Chris G.
Realtor
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 15, 2017

“Budget management all in one ”

OverallVery easy to use and effective. Good product!
ProsThis allowed me to manage track and stick to my budget all while using one single platform. The budget planning and tracking was very easy to set up and use. It was also very simple to teach to others
ConsIt would be nice if this software could be utilized as a crm as well. Unfortunately I have to use this and a crm simultaneously.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 15, 2017
Kelly C.
Office Manager
Commercial Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“AWFUL”

OverallThis experience wasn't a great one, and I wouldn't recommend this software to other companies.
ProsWe were in the middle of training process with Budgetrac and sent an email with several questions and issues to review for our next session and we just stop hearing from them. We haven't used the system since. It was a waste of money and awful experience.
ConsWe didn't care for anything. Training wasn't helpful, feedback was at a minimum and again we just stopped hearing from them, but they got paid!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
cesar T.
Financial manager
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 14, 2016

“Love it, and wouldn't trade it.”

OverallI love it, has all the features I need and could ever want, wouldn't trade it.
ProsKeeps track of all my data and can print out reports.
ConsCan think of any...
Recommendations to other buyersIf you have been on the fence about getting this program..... Buy it now. It's going to make your life so much easier!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 14, 2016
Stacy L.
Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 23, 2016

“Highly Recommend ”

OverallCost friendly. Love software. Support is great.Works well for our needs.
ProsSaves time
ConsNone
Recommendations to other buyersHighly recommend
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 23, 2016
Walter B.
Boss
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 23, 2018

“Fairly good product”

OverallIt is easy to install.
ProsIt is easy to use. You just bring it up and all the information you need to use it is right there for you to follow.
ConsSometimes it is confusing. When you start to use it, it seems almost too easy but you have to be careful to fully understand what you are supposed to mdo.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 23, 2018