FUND E-Z Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About FUND E-Z

For 20 years, the best value in fund accounting software. Nonprofits use FUND E-Z to create and track budgets for multiple funds, programs, projects, grants, funding sources, and departments. FUND E-Z is fiscal year independent, with custom report creation capabilities. Nonprofits can properly demonstrate accountability across the board, with fundraising integration, and satisfaction of cost reporting requirements. Learn more about FUND E-Z

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Samantha A.
Finance/Budget Manager
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2017

“Fund E Z is very user friendly and easy to set up, even mid-year.”

ProsThe implementation process was very well thought out and thorough. There were scheduled calls and then homework assignments where information was reviewed and questions were answered. The software itself is very user friendly. There are lots of reporting functionalities, both canned and easy to make custom reports, as well as reports that export nicely into excel. Report queues can be set up to run multiple reports at once. Information is also easy to find.
ConsWhen tracking multiple departments/programs/funding sources, you MUST KNOW the various date ranges required for each in order for the reports to present correctly. The budgeting module is not very flexible and can be difficult to navigate.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2017
Leonard B.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 28, 2015

“Outstanding Fund Based Accounting Program”

ProsThe product allows you to full customize your chart of account as well as reports. They have an advance report module which allows for additional customization. The vendor is extremely responsive in regards to queries and continues to support and improve the product with new revisions and updated versions constantly.
ConsThe switch from version 9 to 10 was drastic with a lot of improvements, but the structure changed to an SQL based software and for users who are used to enter data and scrolling with a mouse there are some drawbacks. Example, if you are in a journal entry and are looking to scroll down and use your mouse, and happen to be on a debit or credit field, it scrolls through the numbers vs. moving the screen, you have to get used to using the side arrows which after two years we still struggle with it. Not a reason to not consider but something you need to be aware of .
Recommendations to other buyersDemo the software, look at the functionality and if it checks off enough boxes consider it. It is a full AP, AR, GL system, with the ability to add Fundraising and other modules. It is a high functioning product at reasonable cost.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 28, 2015
Mary O.
CFO
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2017

“Good Accounting System for the Money”

OverallIt meets our needs at a reasonable price, however lacks a lot of the customization that our previous software had.
ProsEase of use and familiarization of system. Meets our need for separate accounting of programs. System is very accessible and each member of fiscal staff can easily adapt tables and reports to their needs.
ConsCustomization of reports is labor intensive and time consuming. Also, budget set up is at a global level which is difficult when setting up individual budgets. When we first got the software, were told that would have ACH payment available shortly for accounts payable. It is two years and they still are "working on it".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2017
Wendy R.
Payroll Accountant
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 13, 2018

“Easy to learn even without accounting background.”

OverallI would refer any smaller non-profit to use this software.
ProsI really liked how easily it was to learn and integrate into our business. I started from scratch... setting up general ledger numbering, accounts, payables, invoicing and receivables to setting up the layout I wanted to see on the financial statements. I didn't need to use customer service as everything was put into place and ran seamlessly.
ConsSome information I wanted to print was not always in a pre-programmed report. I could always find the information but sometimes had to have other information print along with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 13, 2018
Tiffany R.
CFO
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2017

“Beautiful and Accurate Reports”

OverallOverall I think that it is the best non profit software and it is reasonably priced. I like it better than MIP because you can afford to have all of the modules which eliminates work-arounds because you have half a system.
ProsMany levels of reporting. I can report by general ledger number, grant, program, department, etc. Reports come out beautiful, so no exporting and tweaking necessary. True non profit financial statements.
ConsThe customer service is great however they are on EST and for agencies on CST, MST or PST, it may be annoying when you can't reach customer service after 3:00pm or 4:00pm. They will respond the next morning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2017
Louis H.
Fiscal manager
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 27, 2017

“easy to use and meets our needs”

OverallThis is an excellent program if you need fund accounting. If you have outgrown quickbooks highly recommended.
ProsEase of use, great features. Great support via phone. Regular updates. competitively priced.Lots of options for reports. And they have been consistently enlarging them with the updates.
ConsWhile customer support is great, built in help is thin. the cost is competitive but not cheap. Having used it for years I notice that some improvements while useful, are not as good as they could be because of reluctance to alter the basic structure. But that is true in all software over time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 27, 2017
Jennifer G.
Accountant
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017

“Using FUND-EZ is easy. The setup and toolbars have made the experience very user-friendly.”

OverallIt allows us to generate financials quickly and easily and drill down on the details of our business.
ProsThe capability to drilldown within a report and pull up the underlying detail is the most significant asset. Client invoicing is also made simple.
ConsI wish that I could see on the AP Invoice Detail record within a GL Acct Detail report drilldown a record with the accompanying check number --- knowing whether or not the item had yet been paid from one glance without having to go out and pull up another report would be extremely beneficial and helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017
Catherine R.
Billing Coordinator
Accounting, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019

“Great Software”

OverallI use this daily and it is very effective for the type of business we do.
ProsThis software has continuous updates to improve qualities
ConsPermissions can be a total pain but it is easy to change.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019
Tonia P.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2016

“Fund EZ Assessment”

ProsGreat technical support. They take responsibility for every issue presented to them and don't stop until the issue is resolved. The software in the last upgrade provides almost as much functionality as MIP/Abila with a much more logical user interface. Users can easily create their own report formats. The Pro-writer provides an organization the ability to fully customize their account structure.
ConsIt does not yet have a Spanish language version even though it has robust multi-currency functionality.
Recommendations to other buyersYou can download a full working version of the software.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2016
Matthew B.
Equipping and Discipleship Director
Religious Institutions, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 22, 2017

“Really enjoyed using FUND EZ”

OverallUnfortunately, we were forced to switch away from this software in our first 6 months because the larger organization adopted different software. However, we used implemented this software ourselves and really enjoyed using it. The best thing for us was the ease of use. Training time was significantly lower than the software we used before. This saved us so much time and money. Highly recommend!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 22, 2017
Jinhong Z.
Consultant
Non-Profit Organization Management, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 2, 2015

“Simple, Low Cost and Easy to Use”

ProsFund E-Z is very simple and easy to use. It has all the functions needed to do the job and no more extras to confuse you. It is very affordable.
ConsThe product is still desktop. In today's world, we need cloud based applications. I will they will make it cloud based soon.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you are looking for clound based solfware, use Quickbooks online. If you are looking for a desktop version, Fund EZ is a good choice.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 2, 2015
Praise A.
Director of finance and administration
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 22, 2017

“Just right”

OverallThis is one of the best products for small nonprofit organizations. It's also cost effective.
ProsEasy to use
ConsA bit more features
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 22, 2017
Sabrina C.
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 20, 2014

“Great NPO accounting software for small-mid size NPOs”

ProsWe love that we have many options to be able to filter different data and the ability to export in a variety of formats. Technical support has been useful so far on any questions we have had.
ConsIt would be great if more filter options and fields were available to be included in reports, as would the ability to compare budget vs actuals each quarter with reprojections.
Recommendations to other buyersI would recommend this software to other small-to-midsize NPOs that are looking a one-time payment for software that has the option to be able to track by grants and projects and sub-grants/sub-projects, in addition to being able to slice and dice reports in many different ways. It's a great investment and a huge alternative to Quickbooks, yet it meets the budgeting of accounting software when compared with other companies.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 20, 2014
Lexie K.
Receptionist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 14, 2016

“Good Product”

ProsBoth were very helpful. The best part is they give an amazon gift card just for reviewing there product.
ConsIt could be easier to use. Was a little confusing the first few times around. This product fits my needs as of now. I haven't come across anything that I didn't like yet besides the fact it could be a little more user friendly the first time around.
Recommendations to other buyersVery good product. Evaluate it because if you do they will give a free amazon gift card. This vendor helps you find the exact product you need for your business. They also give you a free quote in helping you find one that does exactly what you need with added features you didn't think of in the beginning. Very useful product in making the business more successful.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 14, 2016
Allison T.
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2015

“EZ Fund my review”

ProsThe after market support. My department has confidence in the company that in the event of issues we can immediately contact someone in support to work with us on the technical problems. We are also very happy with the fast turnaround response time either for employees to return our communication or complete work.
ConsCritical information from some workers may differ sometimes. Steep learning curve on product. Expensive.
Recommendations to other buyersTry it in your company for a while before deciding not to use it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2015
Stephanie C.
Accountant
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2016

“Good Product”

ProsIt works seamlessly with what I need. Does exactly what I want it to and more. I don't know I've gotten by in the past with out using this product for the business.
ConsI have not found anything I don't like about it. Both the product and the vendor are and were very helpful in fulling my needs. Definitely the best place to get accounting software. Would recommend to a friend.
Recommendations to other buyersA little confusing on first time use. Very valuable software once I figured it out. Was very easy to figure things out on the second time using it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2016
Linda W.
Philanthropy, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 5, 2015

“Good system”

ProsFund E-Z offers an account structure that allows for entering transactions by fund (unrestricted, temporarily restricted, or permanently restricted revenue), by account number (eg. cash, accounts payable, individual donations, salary expense, etc), then drilldown by cost center 1 (programs), cost center 2 (activity within a program) and cost center 3 (funder) - or variations of this setup.
ConsWhen Fund E-Z updated to version 10, a lot of keystrokes were no longer applicable, making data entry much more time-consuming. Also, it is not easy to update to subsequent versions.
Recommendations to other buyersCompare costs of other products, and try it out to see if the account structure works for you.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 5, 2015
Darlene L.
Manager
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2016

“Would recommend ”

OverallWould recommend to others. Very very user friendly. My employees were able to learn it very fast.
ProsUser friendly
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2016
Haley M.
PR/Marketing Intern
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 31, 2016

“Helpful Program for Fundraising Events”

OverallI used this program as an intern at a small nonprofit. It was easy to understand, and if I had any questions, customer service was extremely helpful. I love having this sort of help for doing fundraising for important events that primarily funded our organization. The program was clear and concise with great functionality.
ConsIt was a little pricey for our small organization.
Recommendations to other buyersTake advantage of customer service! They are excellent
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 31, 2016
linda s.
CFO
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2.5/5
Features
3.5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 24, 2016

“New user to fund EZ”

ProsVery customizable. Love the indirect allocation features
ConsNot enough set up in the way of select pre made /formated options. not enough sort optons flexability.
Recommendations to other buyersmake sure youve scheduled in alot of time to build your reporting and processing needs.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 24, 2016
Brittney W.
Accountant
Civic & Social Organization, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 14, 2016

“Not for profit accounting ”

OverallI really like this software because it is easy to use. It's easy to learn and has many features.
ConsThe cost could be cheaper.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 14, 2016
Ryan W.
Accountant
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 31, 2017

“EZ way to track your budgets!”

OverallThis is a very basic software that takes no time to figure out how to use. It's a great place to access all your data. This is good weather it's for a profit or nonprofit growth.
ProsThe many features the software offers are great and it's no extra cost!
Recommendations to other buyersThe only thing would be to set time aside when your not as busy to establish your reporting and processing needs.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 31, 2017
Sarah B.
Vice President
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 6, 2016

“FUND E-Z Fund Accounting”

OverallSeems to operate on a stable platform without constant computer maintenance.
ProsVery easy to use Excellent Customer service Excellent Technical Support
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 6, 2016