CheckMark Payroll Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About CheckMark Payroll

Payroll processing tool that enables direct deposit, blank check stocking, and more through tax expense definitions. l Learn more about CheckMark Payroll

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Carolina D.
Supervisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“Software for companies that want more help to manage payroll.”

OverallIt is an excellent payroll software easy to use for small businesses that want a complete solution DIY and the ability to host their own data.
ProsWhat I like most about CheckMark is that it gives me the option to deposit directly in physical checks, its interface is very intuitive and it is very positive that it is compatible with Windows 10.
ConsThe only drawback I can find in this application is that it is intended only to small businesses rather than large companies that handle a larger number of employees. It would be interesting if it could expand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Claudia M.
Dentist
Medical Practice, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017

“Have used CheckMark Payroll from the beginning”

OverallI have always used a Mac since computerizing my dental practice in 1994. CheckMark Payroll has always been user friendly with all of my apple computers, no matter what OS I was using at the time. The customer support has been prompt, courteous and always got the issue solved. The updates are easy to install. It has been so great throughout the years to have such a reliable, easy, yet efficient payroll and year end software for my business. The software and support packages are very reasonably priced compared to other companies. And as I said, customer service has been outstanding and easily available. I especially like the ease of use, since I am the "IT" person in my business, and don't like to waste time on computer issues. I prefer to focus on my patients instead!
ProsUser friendly, Mac friendly, great support. Competitively priced.
ConsNever had any unsurmountable issues.
Recommendations to other buyersI believe it will satisfy your payroll needs, from small to large companies. The program has much more to offer than what I used. It was perfect for my needs as a small business for sure.

Vendor Response

By CheckMark on April 3, 2017
Claudia,Thank you Very much for your review. Team CheckMark
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2017
Rhonda H.
Office Manager
Accounting, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 12, 2016

“For over 20 Years”

ProsSince 1994 I have used Checkmark payroll and MultiLedger accounting software and love it. The user friendly ability to set it up, manage the accounts and update without major learning curves makes this my number one choice!
ConsNo problems on either, they always call back if I need attention, the cost is reasonable for the product. I do wish it had a job costing that was not attached to the MultiLedger.
Recommendations to other buyersIt has been a valuable and reliable system which has saved us time & money for years!!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 12, 2016
Tonette P.
OWNER
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 1, 2018

“Payroll made easy”

OverallI do like this product.
ProsVery easy setup. Being able to add and delete items in the player file. Print forms to screen then email. Best it's always updated I do not have to do this myself.
ConsLittle Frustrating to make changes on checks. Also choosing a month for payroll and reports you have to scroll through every month instead of a drop-down box and making a selection which would be quicker.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 1, 2018
Marlene D.
owner
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2017

“THis program is delightful. The support staff walk you thru problems, never making you feel "a computer dummy". Easy to install. Easy to use.”

OverallThey - CheckMark - have made quarterly /year end reports almost a pleasure. All that is required is to double check your imput.
ProsEverything - set-up and changing employee information- quarterly/year end tax returns. Payroll - each and every portion of the basic payroll program is very easy to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2017
dan c.
business manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017

“Checkmark Payroll”

OverallCheckmark is very easy use, my timecard exports to it easily and it interfaces with my accounting system for a minimum of work on my part
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2017
Roger P.
Broker
Real Estate, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2019

“Payroll Software”

OverallI used the software for years and updated the tax tables manually. After purchasing an updated copy I found out I would have to update yearly. Breaking down the cost for one or two employees every updated year, I decided to go with a full service company.
ProsIt is pretty easy to use and interfaces with CheckMark's Accounting program, MultiLedger. Cost is the same no matter how many employees you have.
ConsThe cost is high if you only have 1 or 2 employees. You can't use it for longer than the current year, requiring an annual software update.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2019
William S.
Accountant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2016

“Simple, cost effective and Efficient..........”

OverallCheckmark makes payroll a seamless good experience. Hiring employees is easy. The best thing is that they support if you stuck anywhere. I am using this software from last 1 year and happy. There is nothing which i dislike. All payroll headaches have been eliminated. No filing of paperwork required. All of our taxes are already calculated and taken care of and we don not have to do a thing.

Vendor Response

By CheckMark on April 1, 2016
Thank you for reviewing our product
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2016
Margaret W.
Marketing and Advertising, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 13, 2015

“Hassle free payroll processing”

OverallHassle free payroll processing
ProsConstant updates and patches, with alerts when you open the program to let you know they are available for download.
ConsI don't believe the program offers the option to file taxes directly.
Recommendations to other buyersRun through a test payroll and see if it has the options that you need for your company. Ask others in your industry what program they are using, and if they like it/or not.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 13, 2015
Cheryl M.
Hospitality, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 26, 2015

“Very satisfied with this product”

ProsI love this program. I had recently tried a popular program for payroll and did not like it at all. CheckMark Payroll loads quickly, there aren't a hundred steps to go through to set up employees; it is very user-friendly and accomplishes exactly what I need for my business!
ConsI cannot think of anything wrong with the program.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you have small business, this is the perfect product.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 26, 2015
Amit G.
Managing Partner
Primary/Secondary Education, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2017

“Good software to start”

Overalloverall good software with good features.
Prosuser friendly, covers all advance fields, different tax fields to meet your need, other modules for extra payments, automated reports.
Consoutlook of the software, need to provide some more features like direct sms, email, other tax purpose forms.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2017
Anne P.
Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2016

“CheckMark Payroll is good”

OverallProduct has many features and is easy to use. Handles all the payroll functions, including reporting .When help is required, support team is there to help.

Vendor Response

By CheckMark on May 4, 2016
Thank you Anne for the review
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2016
Rhonda O.
Office manager
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018

“HR Help”

ProsThis software is fairly easy to use. It requires very little training.
ConsIt is not advanced as I would like for the way I normally do payroll.

Vendor Response

By CheckMark on October 1, 2018
Carolina D,Thank you Very much for your review. Team CheckMark
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018