MTI Systems

Costimator Cost Estimating Software

3.5 / 5 6 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Costimator software is used by OEMs and suppliers, including job shops, contract manufacturers, discrete manufacturers, precision and heavy machining shops, fabrication shops, prototype & production.


Average Ratings

6 Reviews
  • 3.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 3 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 3.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Free Trial
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Installed - Windows
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • MTI Systems
  • www.mtisystems.com
  • Founded 1982
  • United States

About Costimator Cost Estimating Software

Costimator comes loaded with industry validated Cost Models and Time Standards that the enables the system to support the cost estimating of hundreds of manufacturing processes, including all forms of machining, fabrication, stamping, welding, assembly, molding, castings, forgings, electronics and more.


Spotlight_media_placeholder

Costimator Cost Estimating Software Features

  • Bills of Material
  • Budgeting & Forecasting
  • Change Orders
  • Cost-to-Completion Tracking
  • Invoice Management
  • Overrun Reporting
  • Percent-Complete Tracking
  • Production Cost Tracking
  • Purchase Order Management
  • Quotes / Estimates
  • Time Tracking
  • Work Order Management

Costimator Cost Estimating Software Reviews Recently Reviewed!

An asset to the company, it gets more exciting every day.

Oct 02, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of access, speed, and reliability of all the information in the database. Simple to understand and modify to suit our business.

Cons: Have not come across any to date. Some of the issues we experienced at present are with the way our previous costing package was set up. Our markups are done using factors (i.e. 1.25 or 1.5). In Costimator it only allows for percentages.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Thanks for the honest review Curt. I'm glad the software is working out for you.

Simple and Easy to use

Sep 30, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software is simple and straight forward, thus the learning curve is small.
The after sale support is good. Have never faced any issue.

Cons: The configuration part is tedious but MTI support helps setting up things .
Some of the internal UI's can be made clutter free.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Thanks Dhiraj. I'm glad Costimator is helping you and your company. If we can be of any assistance going forward, please let us know.

WHAT A MISTAKE!!!

Apr 20, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Not a redeeming quality

Cons: This software seems to be a series of spreadsheet calculations which comes up with a coarse estimate for costing. Anyone with a excel could do the same thing. Anyone with a modern CAD/CAM system can get more accurate cycle time estimates that this crude software.

Overall: Buying this software was a terrible mistake. We just got training on the software and found out that the software does not take material volume into account when calculating the machining time. This is completely unacceptable! How can you estimate machine time without regard for the stock????!?! After complaining to the salesman, we were told that they don't do refunds. DON'T BUY THIS SOFTWARE

Recommendations to other buyers: My best advise is to avoid this terrible software.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Chuck, I'm sorry you see our software in that light. The reason why so many companies (over 1,700 in 35 years) use Costimator is because while it is not quite as accurate as a CAD/CAM system, it's faster, easier to use and doesn't require a 3D model or CNC programmer to operate. Costimator does take into account the raw material properties (stock size, shape, speeds & feeds, etc.) amongst other factors (machine min/max RPM, HP, tool change time, etc.) when calculating cycle times. I'm guessing your misunderstanding of what factors Costimator takes into account when generating a cycle time estimates may be related to the fact that you only completed 25% of our training program. We certainly would like you to feel good about your investment in our product, so if you would like to complete the training please let us know and we would be happy to arrange that for you.

Terrible software. Basically garbage

Apr 20, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Salesman was very convincing

Cons: Using it. The 3DFX option for solid model import is very weak and the system doesn't account for raw material in its machining calculations.

Overall: We recently bought this software only to find out that it is extremely limited. Their solid model import utility sends erroneous and incomplete information to the costing system which is a glorified spreadsheet system.
Our CAD/CAM software does a better job of handling solids and gives us much more control and accurately estimates cycle times where Costimator does not.
Costimator doesn't even account for rough machining time for the perimeter of the part!!!
When we complained, they apologized but don't give refunds. DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!

Recommendations to other buyers: Don't buy it. They up sell a relatively weak software and refuse to refund dissatisfied customers

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Tony, I'm sorry you feel that way but the fact is that Costimator/3DFX does take into account the type and size of the raw material when calculating cycle times. Over 65% of our 1,700 customers use Costimator/3DFX to estimate machining times, the vast majority of which use it to estimate rough machining times as well as finish machining. Costimator is quite different than a spreadsheet program, as it is a database driven tool that contains real world manufacturing data. Your misunderstanding of how our tool works may be related to the fact that you did not complete our training program. If you would like to finish the training please let us know and we would be happy to arrange that for you.

Consistant Knowledge Based Estimating Software

Sep 21, 2011
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Ease of use
Cost Modeler feature is powerful. It allows you total control of the process you are modeling.
Consistent results
Drag & Drop functionality
Annual software upgrades
Import/Export utilities allow connections to other software
User definable standards
User definable cutting data
After sale support and training
Web based training sessions

Cons: Make report and import/export templates easier to create
More training on template creation

Overall: Costimator brings a level of consistency to estimating that prior methods could not match. I would recommend it to any manufacturer looking for a more consistently accurate approach to quoting potential work.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Thanks for the feedback Mike. If we can help you with any import/export needs you may have, just give us a ring.

Costimator works in Kansas

Sep 01, 2011
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: -Easy to learn and use (even with limited knowledge)
-Keep software current and improving
-Cost Modeler (great feature that allows the user to custom design the software to their needs)
-MTI stays in contact after the sale
-Scan and attach feature (attach documents to software)
-Reports feature
-Notes feature
-Windows based
-Software comes full of features and databases of information
-Pictures showing the different tools for reference
-Webinars

Cons: -Feature for 3D CAD software file
-Easier to create reports (of the information the user wants)

Overall: I really like Costimator. I would recommend the software to anyone that needs a software that is easy to use, comes loaded with accurate information, and has the flexibility, with the Cost Modeler Feature, for the user to design the software to match their companies needs and requirements.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on September 01, 2011

Thanks for the feedback. -Jay Snow, Marketing Manager, www.mtisystems.com