MTI Systems

Costimator Cost Estimating Software


4 / 5
10 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Costimator software is used by OEMs and suppliers, including job shops, contract manufacturers, discrete manufacturers, precision and heavy machining shops, fabrication shops, prototype & production.


Average Ratings

10 Reviews

  • 4 / 5
    Overall

  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    Not provided by vendor
  • Free Trial
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Installed - Windows
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • MTI Systems
  • www.mtisystems.com
  • Founded 1982
  • United States

About Costimator Cost Estimating Software

Costimator comes loaded with industry validated Cost Models and Time Standards that the enables the system to support the cost estimating of hundreds of manufacturing processes, including all forms of machining, fabrication, stamping, welding, assembly, molding, castings, forgings, electronics and more.


Spotlight media placeholder

Costimator Cost Estimating Software Features

  • Bills of Material
  • Budgeting & Forecasting
  • Change Orders
  • Cost-to-Completion Tracking
  • Invoice Management
  • Overrun Reporting
  • Percent-Complete Tracking
  • Production Cost Tracking
  • Purchase Order Management
  • Quotes / Estimates
  • Time Tracking
  • Work Order Management
  • Automated Quoting
  • Catalog Management
  • Client Portal
  • Contact Management
  • Customizable Branding
  • Discount Management
  • Pricing Management
  • Product Configurator

Costimator Cost Estimating Software Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Works for mostly everything I need.

Oct 31, 2018
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I can build a cost model for any process based on my own real time data.

Cons: 1-You can not include NRE cost such as Engineering, Programming, Tooling etc and have those print out on the Quotation as separate line item charges. This requires me to make a separate quote for each charge then add them in as added items. Very time consuming because I have to reenter all the Part Information Fields all over again. Should have the option to add individual NRC items bringing over the associated data from the parent quote.

2-The "Cost per Piece" is misleading because it does not display material or purchased items at their cost. They include mark up which is what you are selling the item for, therefore "Cost per Piece" is incorrect. Very serious when you are reviewing your manufacturing costs.

Overall: Works well for almost everything I need it for and is easy to adjust.

Costimator makes our quotes and estimating accurate, consistent, and fast!

Nov 02, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Cost Modeler feature allows the user to make estimating tools that accurately reflect the company's processes and work centers.

Cons: I wish I could modify and save the window sizes so that they open up the same size that I want every time.

Overall: Costimator makes our quoting and estimating accurate, consistent, and fast regardless of the user and their knowledge. Which in turn allows our products to be priced accurately and consistently for the customer. Landoll Corp. has seen it's most productive and financially best years since Costimator has been in use since 2009.

WHAT A MISTAKE!!!

Apr 20, 2017
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Not a redeeming quality

Cons: This software seems to be a series of spreadsheet calculations which comes up with a coarse estimate for costing. Anyone with a excel could do the same thing. Anyone with a modern CAD/CAM system can get more accurate cycle time estimates that this crude software.

Overall: Buying this software was a terrible mistake. We just got training on the software and found out that the software does not take material volume into account when calculating the machining time. This is completely unacceptable! How can you estimate machine time without regard for the stock????!?! After complaining to the salesman, we were told that they don't do refunds. DON'T BUY THIS SOFTWARE

Recommendations to other buyers: My best advise is to avoid this terrible software.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Chuck, I'm sorry you see our software in that light. The reason why so many companies (over 1,700 in 35 years) use Costimator is because while it is not quite as accurate as a CAD/CAM system, it's faster, easier to use and doesn't require a 3D model or CNC programmer to operate.

Costimator does take into account the raw material properties (stock size, shape, speeds & feeds, etc.) amongst other factors (machine min/max RPM, HP, tool change time, etc.) when calculating cycle times. I'm guessing your misunderstanding of what factors Costimator takes into account when generating a cycle time estimates may be related to the fact that you only completed 25% of our training program. We certainly would like you to feel good about your investment in our product, so if you would like to complete the training please let us know and we would be happy to arrange that for you.

moose

Nov 01, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: EASE OF USE, COST MODELERS ARE GREAT, SPEED, ACCURACY

Cons: NOTHING IT WORKS GREAT, MEETS ALL OUR NEEDS

Overall: THE KEY TO SUCCESS IN A JOB SHOP THESE DAYS ARE TO TURN THE QUOTES AROUND FAST AND ACCURATE.

Terrible software. Basically garbage

Apr 20, 2017
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Salesman was very convincing

Cons: Using it. The 3DFX option for solid model import is very weak and the system doesn't account for raw material in its machining calculations.

Overall: We have tried to contact MTI since they responded to our reviews offering to complete training. They are not answering after several attempts in writing. They lied in their response about the capabilities of the software and also lied about offering to do training. This is not a company anyone should consider doing business with.

Recommendations to other buyers: Don't buy it. They up sell a relatively weak software and refuse to refund dissatisfied customers

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Tony, I'm sorry you feel that way but the fact is that Costimator/3DFX does take into account the type and size of the raw material when calculating cycle times. Over 65% of our 1,700 customers use Costimator/3DFX to estimate machining times, the vast majority of which use it to estimate rough machining times as well as finish machining.

Costimator is quite different than a spreadsheet program, as it is a database driven tool that contains real world manufacturing data.

Your misunderstanding of how our tool works may be related to the fact that you did not complete our training program. If you would like to finish the training please let us know and we would be happy to arrange that for you.

Costimator works in Kansas

Sep 01, 2011
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: -Easy to learn and use (even with limited knowledge)

-Keep software current and improving

-Cost Modeler (great feature that allows the user to custom design the software to their needs)

-MTI stays in contact after the sale

-Scan and attach feature (attach documents to software)

-Reports feature

-Notes feature

-Windows based

-Software comes full of features and databases of information

-Pictures showing the different tools for reference

-Webinars

Cons: -Feature for 3D CAD software file

-Easier to create reports (of the information the user wants)

Overall: I really like Costimator. I would recommend the software to anyone that needs a software that is easy to use, comes loaded with accurate information, and has the flexibility, with the Cost Modeler Feature, for the user to design the software to match their companies needs and requirements.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on September 01, 2011

Thanks for the feedback.
-Jay Snow, Marketing Manager, www.mtisystems.com

Consistant Knowledge Based Estimating Software

Sep 21, 2011
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Ease of use

Cost Modeler feature is powerful. It allows you total control of the process you are modeling.

Consistent results

Drag & Drop functionality

Annual software upgrades

Import/Export utilities allow connections to other software

User definable standards

User definable cutting data

After sale support and training

Web based training sessions

Cons: Make report and import/export templates easier to create

More training on template creation

Overall: Costimator brings a level of consistency to estimating that prior methods could not match. I would recommend it to any manufacturer looking for a more consistently accurate approach to quoting potential work.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Thanks for the feedback Mike. If we can help you with any import/export needs you may have, just give us a ring.

An asset to the company, it gets more exciting every day.

Oct 02, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of access, speed, and reliability of all the information in the database. Simple to understand and modify to suit our business.

Cons: Have not come across any to date. Some of the issues we experienced at present are with the way our previous costing package was set up. Our markups are done using factors (i.e. 1.25 or 1.5). In Costimator it only allows for percentages.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Thanks for the honest review Curt. I'm glad the software is working out for you.

Simple and Easy to use

Sep 30, 2017
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software is simple and straight forward, thus the learning curve is small.

The after sale support is good. Have never faced any issue.

Cons: The configuration part is tedious but MTI support helps setting up things .

Some of the internal UI's can be made clutter free.

Vendor Response

by MTI Systems on October 30, 2017

Thanks Dhiraj. I'm glad Costimator is helping you and your company. If we can be of any assistance going forward, please let us know.

Process Driven

Oct 29, 2018
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Dynamic, allows for development of processes.

Cons: More graphing capability to show comparisons