Canto Digital Asset Management Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Canto Digital Asset Management

Canto is the simplest, yet most powerful DAM system on the market. Marketing teams across all industries trust Canto to organize, secure and share visual brand assets with ease. And it gives your team the power to easily tag, collaborate and report on company-wide digital assets in a visual environment. Canto has over 25 years of experience in the digital asset management industry and thousands of brands around the world rely on us to centralize their rich media libraries. Learn more about Canto Digital Asset Management

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 312 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 312 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Laura K.
Business Process Leader
Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016

“Robust features and multiple ways of access”

OverallWhat do you like best? The flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly. What do you dislike? Customizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that. What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you realized? The visibility on where are assets have gone and where they are going is greatly increased, in addition to increasing the visibility of knowing what assets we have while enabling a strong search functionality has decreased duplication of assets and increased productivity and efficiency.
ProsThe flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly.
ConsCustomizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that.
Recommendations to other buyersBe sure to map out your expectations very clearly and ask a lot of questions prior to implementation. Try to think of all the use case scenarios and ask how the solution would address them.
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016
Laura K.
Business Process Leader
Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016

“Robust features and multiple ways of access”

OverallWhat do you like best? The flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly. What do you dislike? Customizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that. What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you realized? The visibility on where are assets have gone and where they are going is greatly increased, in addition to increasing the visibility of knowing what assets we have while enabling a strong search functionality has decreased duplication of assets and increased productivity and efficiency.
ProsThe flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly.
ConsCustomizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that.
Recommendations to other buyersBe sure to map out your expectations very clearly and ask a lot of questions prior to implementation. Try to think of all the use case scenarios and ask how the solution would address them.
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016
Julie T.
Graphic Designer
Graphic Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Software that does what it's supposed to and little else”

OverallOverall, Canto is simply too cumbersome and glitchy for something that should be as "simple" as storing and quickly accessing photo libraries. I'd recommend more of a rows/columns type of user interface for albums, instead of the left side dropdown menu types of navigation. Compared to Canto, I'd prefer Google Drive or Google Photos for asset management.
ProsCanto allows our team to store, share, and access digital assets and photography efficiently enough. Ability to create albums, tag photos, large storage capacity - all of these are appreciated and well-received.
ConsThe Canto interface seems a bit clunky and glitchy much of the time. The left sidebar to navigate through albums isn't very intuitive or responsive. Often, when clicking on an album name to open its drop-down menu, there will be no response. So the use has to continue clicking and clicking on it. Scrolling down through each album's photos, the loading of preview images usually lags. And the longer you scroll through the pics, the more it lags. To bypass this, often you need to refresh your browser which takes you all the way back to the top of the album and you have to begin scrooooollling dooown through all the photos again. (I've tested several browsers - same issue with each one)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Sandra K.
Product Manager
Photography, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2016

“Perfect digital asset management software for our company with many divisions and different needs”

OverallWe´ve been using Canto from canto since ... 4 years in our company. The time before the organization of our marketing material was not ideal. It was a problem to exchange data from division to division (national and international) - we used memory sticks or hard disks. For me, as a windows user, it was impossible to exchange data with a mac user - because we did not use the same network. Data was outworn and there was no version control or right system. Since we use Canto this belongs to the past! The software is extremely customizable and canto reacts very fast and professional to our needs. We`ve created wonderful processes - for example between Canto and jira (a bug- und issue-tracking-system from other software) - for example between our online marketing and graphic design divisions for the creation of web pages or newsletter. I can count a lot of examples :) !!! We use Canto in processes with external partners like design agency, freelancer, and photographers. They use the improved web client. Since we use Canto we have access to data from everywhere - this is a great advantage. We love the search function based on keywords (in any language). Canto will be permanently enhanced - the version 9.1 has a great adobe integration. A lot of people in my company use the batch processing function. Also, the comment function is a great advantage. We daily use it and we love it. It has improved our work!
Pros- endless possibilities - answers for every case of use
Recommendations to other buyersWith Canto, you will not make a mistake!
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2016
Justin S.
IT Consultant
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016

“System management and support services”

OverallThe system is not "heavy" on the infrastructure -it works how you would hope asset management would work. On a few occasions, we have needed to reach out to support for help and they were everything you could hope for. In one instance, my client was not sure if they still had a support contract, but they also had an issue causing some business impact. Due to some turnover and changing of rolls, my client could not find the correct ownership information either. Canto support helped get my client their historical invoices, get them back on a support contract, and help solve the problem. It's important to note: support helped me solve the problem, before my client paid the invoice on the contract. I really thought that was impressive, that Canto recognized the severity of the situation, and was willing to help, when they were perfectly within the right to not help.
ProsAfter getting the old system upgraded, my client was able to offload some of the work the creative team previously did, to an account services team. That team was able to fulfill client requests for images without getting the creative group involved. It helped speed the responses to clients and vendors as well as balance the workload.
ConsSo far we have not had any internal issues or complaints!
Recommendations to other buyersGreat customer support!
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016
Avatar Image
Bethany R.
Senior Photo Editor
Publishing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018

“Canto is a very user-friendly DAM”

OverallOverall, Canto has been a great DAM to use and their customer service is very responsive. I would recommend this to other image professionals.
ProsWe moved our image library over to Canto about 2 years ago and I have found it to be a reliable and easily navigable platform. It's very easy to use and out of the three DAMs I've worked with, professionally, it's the easiest and most straight-forward interface.
ConsI have very few complaints. I would love it if we could customize the branding of the platform a little more and it would be nice if there was an option to make the lightbox preview files were a little larger. (There is an option to make them larger, but the difference between the smallest view and the largest view is negligible.) There is also an issue trying to rename files once they have been uploaded. That still doesn't work. If you need to rename a file, you'll have to rename outside of Canto and re-upload.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018
Gio W.
Director of Marketing
Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018

“A "DAM" good decision! So much better than Dropbox”

OverallCanto has really helped our business with the management and dissemination of digital assets. This had long been a pain point for us. I researched a lot of DAMs on the market but couldn't justify most of their pricing. Canto accomplishes what we need at a great value. While the UX can sometimes be a little challenging, I've seen continuous improvement since signing with them, which tells me they're listening and investing in their product.
ProsThe best part about Canto, for us, is the Portals feature. They're perfect for us to provide individual dealers with the authorized assets they need, while keeping our internal non-client ready assets separate. We also love the self registration feature which allows us to control who is able to gain access through an invitation code.
ConsThe UX is not always intuitive for new users. It's unique from other similar products, so there can be a learning curve for the less savvy. Our customers are less technologically inclined, and don't always understand how to do the basics. It takes some training to catch them up to speed, but afterwards, they're usually able to fend for themselves.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018
Robyn B.
Marketing Associate
Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2017

“Great for our Independent School ”

OverallBefore using Canto Flight, we had a huge photo storage problem. We are a K-12 school in the Bay Area with approximately 2,500 students. Having 3 campuses with a plethora of photos being taken at events and marketing photo shoots, we needed a solution that could store a large number of photos, be accessible off-campus (our old system was uploading all of the photos to an on-campus server), and that was easy for our staff to use. Canto met all of our needs! We currently have over 33,000 photos, 100 videos, and 1,000 documents stored, with over 2,000 GB (yes that's right, Gigabits) left of storage. The cloud system makes it easy for our photographers to upload photos and for us to access them without having to be on campus. Though the interface has gone through multiple changes (which has made it hard to train less-computer savvy staff), overall it's a pretty instinctual interface. Additionally, the Canto representatives have always been quick to respond with any issues that have arisen.
ProsLarge amount of storage space, multiple download and sharing options, ability to tag assets with keywords.
ConsSlow to upload (slow overall), the ever-changing interface (making our tediously-made "how to" guides for staff quickly irrelevant).
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2017
Monica C.
IT Project Manager & Designer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018

“Canto has been the solution we were looking for”

OverallCanto has been a game changer for us. We had files all over the place: file servers, personal computers, Light Room, drop box, you name it. Now we use Canto as our single repository for storing assets. Our in-house team of designers has easy access to assets because users within the various business units are contributing up-to-date information. The user interface is much like many popular stock photography websites, so our non-technical users have been quick to adopt it. Our infrastructure team also likes that we aren't sending giant email attachments anymore! We could not be more pleased with Canto.
ProsCustomer Service: If I ever email our account representative with a question or change to our account I hear back very quickly, many times within the hour. User Interface: The UI is very user friendly. We've had no issues with non-technical users adopting the system. Scalability: We love that we were able to start small and grow.
ConsWe've had some challenges with growing our the libraries and how to restrict folders, but our account manager has been working through those with us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018
Jess S.
Lead Archivist
Libraries, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017

“Flight's customer service is impeccable, I get immediate one on one attention.”

OverallOver 10,0000 images in our library searchable at the stroke of a button. Priceless!
ProsSuper easy to use, I barely even need to "train" colleagues with how to use, it's actually easier to just let people look around on the site for 2 minutes as it's so intuitive. I have been able to keep over 10K detailed, rare photos organized, located, shared, and clean in terms of duplicates and low/high res files. What I like most is the people though, the attention we got felt like the same as if we were NASA signing up, they took our project seriously and helped us baby the starting of the program right through to checking in from time to time.
ConsThere are a few little keystroke things but when Flight gets updated it seems like the engineers are on the right tracks as things improve all the time. There could be improvements with searchability, for example being able to have the drop down menu when inputting a tag come up with JOHN SMITH when I start with S and not just when I start typing J.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2017
Avatar Image
Kaylee W.
Graphic Designer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2017

“Easy to use DAM system with the features and functionality we needed, at a competitive price.”

ProsSearchability. When assets are uploaded, the system will automatically generate smart tags, and additional tags can be added manually. Our department uses specific file naming and folder structures within Flight, and the search feature makes it easy to pinpoint assets. You can search by filename, folder, metadata, tags, categories, etc. You can also group similar photos together for easy navigating, include the same asset in multiple folders, and create personal "collections" of your favorite assets.
ConsI can honestly say that the system is working perfectly for our team's needs. There were a couple functionality issues and recommendations when we first got started that we spoke with the Flight customer support team about, and they were able to correct and implement new features based on our conversation. The system is frequently updated based on new technology and users' feedback, and the customer support team is always ready to respond.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2017
Timothy H.
Graphic Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“Best DAM offering out there”

OverallI'm not really sure if you are asking me for a meta review of Capterra as a product or Canto but I would say if it seems like it would fit you definitely go into it. You'll find that with Portfolio you'll be searched based and the customizations are there, but it falls short on some key things Canto can have and that's namely that you can bucket everything into orderly categories that make it really easy for the end user to get at. MediaBeacon is also search based and absolutely infuriating to use. If you don't expect your end user to know what they are looking for before they go into it, you'll want Canto.
ConsThere are some really odd quirks about it on the web end of serving things up and having to restart Tomcat service and do some really frustrating hoops in setup is a thing, but if you have good support it's all good stuff and the thing is rock solid afterwards. Initial setup of DAMs is frustrating if you don't live in it, but as said in the pros area of my review it is far better than your other options out there (Extensis Portfolio and Esko's MediaBeacon would be the other two you would look at when going for DAM solutions). Gonna note that the reason I tossed the three stars out there on customer support is that it's a product supported by third party resellers, which is totally understandable
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Josh C.
Engineer
Aviation & Aerospace, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017

“Canto Cumulus is easy to use and provides a great way to organize my pictures and documents for work”

OverallThe software provides a great way to organize, store, and access files in a central location available to everyone in the company. Searching is easy with capability to customize metadata to each asset. Visual thumbnails provides another easy and quick way to find records.
ProsThere are several things I like about this software. 1) Capability to create custom metadata for my files. 2) Ability to search text in documents. 3) Ability to tag files to several different categories (folders) without creating duplicate files. 4) Drag and drop files into categories. 5) Capability to create customized catalogs. 6) Ability to search in multiple fields. 7) Large size limit for uploading files.
ConsI use the enterprise vault and uploading files can be time consuming. This problem is related to internet speed and local firewalls.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017
Kelsey W.
Design and Digital Marketing Intern
Public Safety, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017

“Dependable and Easy to Learn”

OverallProductivity of the marketing department has greatly increased. Flight has allowed company employees easy access to our images. Flight's great search function and organization has allowed us to quickly access the files we need. Our old image management system was the complete opposite of Flight and very difficult to use.
ProsI really enjoy Flight's user interface the best. It has been extremely easy for all employees in our company to quickly learn the ins and outs in a short period of time. I have received many compliments from employees spread across various departments about how much they enjoy Flight and how easy it is to use. This has greatly increased productivity of our marketing department by allowing other employees easy access to our assets. I also love the tagging feature! Tagging our location photography with our product numbers has been a game changer!
ConsFlight includes a feature that allows users to download high res images as 72 dpi jpg files - which is a great feature. The only downfall is that you can only do this one photo at a time. It would be nice to be able to bulk download as 72 dpi jpgs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017
Samo G.
Assistant Director of Licensing
Fine Art, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017

“Canto is a powerful software but it is costly and the customer support is underwhelming.”

OverallAbility to search, access, organize and view large image files quickly.
ProsThe software is able to keep our data organized and provides us with a quick way to view and sort very large image files. Our database has grown exponentially since we have been using Canto and the software has been capable of handling everything we have added without slowing down at all.
ConsI have had negative experiences with customer support and, as a non-profit arts organization, the cost of the product is a big challenge for us. Despite having paid annual fees for maintenance, some of the kinks in the software have warranted additional fees to get resolved. Most of the customer support team has exhibited very limited technical knowledge and troubleshooting with them has been a huge challenge.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017
Jeffrey I.
Photo Collections Curator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“We've been using Canto for over 15 years. It has been pretty consistent and stable for us overall.”

OverallI manage dynamic photo collections for multiple organizations with staff spread across the US, Europe and Asia. This has been a good solution for providing that staff with access to their event images.
ProsIt is designed for image files and it manages those well. It's pretty intuitive for the end user to figure out how to perform the basic functions. 99% of the time it has been rock solid for us.
Cons1-The interface has changed very little over the 15+ years we've been using it. It seems dated, although it is functional. 2-Server software install is too complex. I don't like having a bug introduced by a software upgrade and then having to pay to have Modula4 help us install the fix. 3-Web Solutions are lacking. We pay Modula4 to use their web interface because Canto's solution is lacking in UI appearance and functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Markus H.
Project Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2017

“Evolving from fileserver clutter to valuable DAM-catalogues and -workflows”

OverallCanto helped us to get back control over our assets. The first step was to replace file servers as a silo for media assets by a sophisticated catalog solution. Within Canto we could build a metadata model that really represents the structure of information we need in order to manage assets in every context. Even challenges like assuring consistency of used terminology and translating metadata could be handled by using the standard functionality of Canto. Now we have a solid basis to meet the demands of media-enriched online marketing towards visual, social, and video networks.
ProsIt's a standard software that allows customizing by configuring and without calling for programmers. The web interface became really powerful and facilitates workflows with external contributors, press contacts, and prospective clients.
ConsWorkgroup edition requires a costly upgrade to provide functionality for managing user groups.
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2017
Oliver U.
Media Designer, Admin
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2016

“Perfect for our needs”

OverallAfter nearly two years of using the software i can say that this DAM fits perfect to our needs. The migration of the old DAM system was accompanied by Canto very professional. The handling of more than 200k of highres assets in several portals is fast and easy. Managing the files with the native or web client is fast and intuitive. Working together with the guys from Canto showed us how close they are to their product. Customized features like an InDesign package download were no problem. The good integration of the software into InDesign was one main reason for the purchase. Using the system as a distribution platform and a collaboration platform helps us a lot to do our work in a very effective way. Until now a very reliable system. Due to the versatile possibilities the software offers, sometimes the handling seems a bit complex. All in all we are very happy with this system and looking forward to a DAM good future.
ProsFast, reliable, many features, company is very close to the product
ConsSupport sometimes takes its time, self managing the system is difficult because of extensive features
Recommendations to other buyersGet your help from Canto to setup the system as early as possible.
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2016
Daniel J.
Archivist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2014

“A great way to organize, locate and deliver assets to a variety of users in a variety of forms”

OverallCanto Workgroup allows us to manage a multitude of assets of varying sorts across multiple folder structures and servers then easily locate them without wandering blindly through the asset terrain. I also like that I can apply a multitude of categories to assets (if I want) making them even easier to locate in a comprehensive way which a folder structure and/or naming convention will not allow. I also like that I can deliver one asset in multiple sizes, color spaces, resolutions and with specific or generic watermarks without needing to maintain a bucket of all these possibilities in the asset server space. Some of the functionality, such as watermarking, is limited awkward and clunky. I often find myself needing to create complex actions in order to accomplish something that I think is fairly logical straightforward and simple using these interfaces. I also find that the interfaces and specific user settings are not particularly intuitively displayed which makes it difficult for users to utilize all of the various features without a lot of instruction. Help documentation can be somewhat labyrinthine. Additonally, some of the asset conversion (especially with regard to the interpretation and conversion of color spaces and file formats) leaves a bit to be desired in terms of final output. Overall, Canto fulfills our needs for an organized system of asset management and delivery with a minimum of redundancy. While it seems that wasting server space with multiple asset forms and sizes is almost inevitable, Canto has allowed us to have multiple "master" asset stores which are mostly uncluttered with bags of redundancy. This is also important because many of our users need to provide one set of assets in multiple varying forms and resolutions, which Canto easily accomplishes without a lot of struggle. Through well-defined naming coventions and folder structures and the manifold software features, our active and legacy files are complete, well organized and easily accessible even after they've been removed to storage media.
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2014
Avatar Image
Amanda B.
Graphics/Web Designer
Executive Office, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018

“Easy to Use Digital Asset Management System”

OverallIn the past, our media library of thousands of images has been housed in folders on a server. The folders were organized by topic and date, but not easily searched if you didn't know specifics of what you were looking for. Image search and sharing was falling heavily on two people. It was also difficult to share large batches of images, as some of the files are quite large. We have been relying on Dropbox, but it was difficult to track who had shared what images. Canto has made our media library much more accessible to internal and external clients. It's much easier to share images and allows users to size images as needed before they even download them. We also have plans to load print-on-demand and template files into our DAM. Being able to the current versions of files in an easy to access portal will be huge for keeping our brand consistent. We do have some brand assets loaded into the DAM and it has already been a big time saver with the ease that we are able to share those assets as requests come in.
ProsThe part that I like the most about Canto was the ease of getting started. After watching a webinar and an initial training session for the admin area, I was able to set up and customize our DAM immediately. The additional training for users was great as well. But the software is very user friendly and easy to use overall. Customer service is outstanding also.
ConsSome of the more advanced features (portal creation and integrations with design programs) aren't as clearly explained or touched on in initial trainings.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018
Chad M.
VP
Printing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“Canto the desktop and web client are excellent - Portals has been challenging.”

OverallExternally, we have deeper trust from our customers - we had a superior solution for their asset issues. Internally it keeps everything at our fingertips.
ProsThe desktop application meets all of our internal needs. The web client is also excellent and has been liberating when working remote. My organization has to work with many different DAM systems from many different customers and Canto by far stands apart from the crowd.
ConsPortals was released way before it was ready for primetime. It has been nothing short of a struggle trying to help the customers we cut over from Sites. Subsequent releases did fix the issues but not being able to tell me customer when the fixes are going to happen was frustrating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Phillip H.
President
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“Support Customization and deployment was amazing. The level of detail and workflow, amazing!”

OverallTime and cost saving for any large scale corporation. The ability to streamline process, locate and find assets, as well as keeping version control of each asset so that there is always the current one. Most organizations spend a large amount of time communicating assets.
ProsThe ease of use, the ability to manage, share and organize media and content. Image and media processing is smooth and detailed. User management has made it easy to deploy.
ConsDifferent server configurations, having to go from Dev to production process is a little difficult. overall backup and migration process. Needs more Brand landing page control, to make it more weblike in terms of making a front end landing page for each product category to brand page.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Hospitality, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2017

“Great”

ProsThe software does what it promises. You can tag assets and search for them easily. This software can potentially save your organization a lot of time.
ConsCustomer service / technical support has been frustrating to work with at times, other times they've been helpful. I've called in to Canto before and had one of the reps that answered the phone tell me that they don't have a tech support team, the rep was very unhelpful. Other times I've called in to explain the scenario that I'm experiencing and the customer service rep will then have you fill out a support ticket explaining what you just explained to them over the phone. It would be much easier to just call the rep and have them take over the support ticket entirely. If the team revises their support process, I would be very satisfied.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2017
Avatar Image
Amanda C.
Social Media Manager
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018

“Advanced and Visual DAM System ”

OverallIt's been a great experience. We are extremely pleased with the system, even if it has taken awhile to get all of our assets in order.
ProsCanto hit the nail on the head for our company. We really needed a DAM system that was visual, organized and useful for our B2B business. We were in need of meta tag search capability, allowing images to live in many places at once, and a place to store valuable information like descriptions about our assets. Canto does all these and so much more. Canto also has amazing customer service and has always been extremely helpful with answering our questions.
ConsThe mass uploader app did not go over well for us. We uploaded everything in bulk thinking it would be faster but we then had to go back and organize everything, which took an extremely long time. In retrospect, we wish we just uploaded everything in batches so we could have entered all the meta information in at the same time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018
Anna R.
Digital Asset Coordinator
Cosmetics, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“Canto is an easy to use, powerful organizational tool.”

ProsThe customizable catalog settings is my favorite part of Canto. These preferences are easy to use, very customizable, and span all of my cataloging needs. It allows Canto to grow with our business needs. It's also endlessly helpful to have many different record views, and also the ability to send collection links.
ConsThe reporting tools with Canto could use improvement. They're not totally trustworthy for more complex searching and reporting, so we'll usually need to use external tools. For basic reporting they work OK.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Dave G.
Creative Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“Canto can do it all when it comes to digital asset management and really shines in asset searching”

OverallCentralized assets storage and sharing.
ProsMeta tagging is excellent and functions on a deep level. Fully customizable meta templates allow for different asset sets to have specific identification if desired. Search is fast and extremely accurate.
ConsExpensive for the base offering and even more expensive to customize. Unless you have a dedicated systems administrator and software engineer on your staff you will need to pay a lot to customize this from it's "out of the box" initial setup. Plan for long term uses when Canto does the intial launch.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Annie F.
Image Permissions Project Manager
Publishing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“We use Canto to house all of our publishing PDFs and Image Catalogs for the past 10 years.”

OverallEase of use and ability to customize.
ProsWe like the customer service, the stability of the product and our ability to customize it to fit our ever-changing needs as a company. Canto grows with us instead of us "outgrowing" the product.
ConsWe have noticed some features that we have used disappear with new updates and we would like to be made more aware of what changes will happen with new updates. Half of our company also uses the web version of Canto and we would like to see the features of SITES improve to mirror the benefits we see with the native client.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018

“Have your images served up quick!”

OverallHaving a centralized image gallery for our organization is fantastic!
ProsThe simple design and intuitive interface of Canto makes archiving and retrieving images or other documents quick and easy. When onboarding images, take the time to properly tag everything so finding specific photos later on will be easy. Once you begin typing a tag into the search filter, images will begin to quickly populate the desktop are of Canto's user interface. Despite being an online archive, thumbnails appear faster than if I were simply browsing my PC using Windows Explorer!
ConsIt can be a little slow to upload or file away images when onboarding. Also, when organizing folders or albums the software occasionally gets hung up and displays an error message which tells you files are still moving in the background but you may continue to work. If you go back later to check on things, all data eventually gets placed exactly where you intended so it's just a matter of waiting for them to appear where they're supposed to be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018
Cathy C.
Associate Manager, Digital Assets
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“Canto is a great mid-range enterprise DAM solution straight out of the box and easy to use. ”

ProsIt's a tool that's easy to learn and administer from both an admin and user perspective. It supports a wide range of file formats and is simple to configure for automated tasks, metadata templates and user permissions.
ConsTheir end-user interface has changed quite a bit in recent iterations and eliminated key functionalities. The company appears responsive to client needs, however, and seemingly addressing these issues in later updates. Also, their reporting/analytics functionalities leave much to be desired.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Ricardo E.
Director
Photography, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017

“We have been using Canto since 2008 for the Image Bank of the Federal Mexico Tourism Board, ”

OverallEasy of use, stable, intuitive, good UI, can convert photos to many resolutions and formats, can configure user rights, easy to configure fields and views.
ProsIt´s easy to use, intuitive and have an excellent UI, I like very much that it can convert the files to many resolutions and formats on the fly , we only need one version and Canto convert it to as many resolutions as we need and also can be edited before download.
ConsI would like to have Portals with more features like Sites, like maps, and more help information on how to configure this web app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2017
Heather A.
Creative Services Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017

“Cumulus is easy to use and works well for our purposes, we use primarily for catalog asset managemen”

ProsEasy to use, ability to assign meta data to make assets super easy to find. We use for catalog image management but often share those assets across other channels so someone working on an email campaign can quickly find all images in a particular furniture collection.
ConsIntegration with Indesign, really touchy sometimes, that I can't set to overwrite files if someone uploads an image that is already there it saves a s a new version versus overwriting, should have option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017
Phillip V.
Application Adminstrator
Apparel & Fashion, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016

“Broad and Innovative”

OverallOver the past few years Canto has worked hard to push their software to meet the increasing Data Asset Management demands of the corporate world. Canto has become a business critical system, cataloging hundreds of records a day. It has allowed us to streamline our production workflow and maximize our efficiency. Their improved API has let us integrate Canto with our other systems, making it the nucleus that delivers content throughout the company.
ProsThe product is solidly built and does what it promises.
ConsLike with most enterprise software systems, there is a learning curve when first configuring a deployment
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018

“Simple, Effective Asset Management”

OverallWe have been able to store our finished assets and make them accessible to the marketing team. We have non-sales assets that we need to reference. A great example is our tradeshow display materials which we make available for our field teams to select from for their shows.
ProsWe purchased Canto because it had the key features we needed. Tagging, searchability, categorization. Simple implementation, easy-to-use. We needed a way to store our assets outside of the sales org and Canto provides an easy way for doing this.
ConsI dont have any complaints about Canto, sure there are features in other tools that are more advanced but we got what we needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018
Mark S.
Sr Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2017

“It was very easy to get up an running quickly and the user interface is intuitive and simple.”

OverallWe provided our channel partners with access to a wealth of our corporate marketing and sales assets very quickly and easily.
ProsI like the ability to easily create branded, multiple portals where the user experience is best. It is very user friendly where finding content is easy. The syncing to outside file storage apps like Dropbox is handy There is version control and duplicate look ups. The cost of ownership is good, we can users easily and affordably.
ConsThe reporting ability is average. It is hard to look at how people are using the content. And only admin can pull reports. Also the Intro email is not very customizable. So the user may get confused where it is coming from. Last it does not any integration with Salesforce.com, this would be a nice to have feature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2017
Brad C.
Director of Web Development
Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017

“We're a long term user of Cumulus cataloging assets for many customers.”

ProsIt's relatively simple software and the installation and upgrade process is pretty straight forward. The desktop clients are very powerful and easy to use.
ConsThe web interfaces could use some major work. They are typically very buggy and released before they should be. Most complaints we get about the software is related to the various web interfaces. I would highly recommend moving away from Java to something a little lighter on the server side.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017
ANDREINA H.
Creative Director
Design, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2017

“We are very satisfied and happy with CANTO!”

OverallOur institution has a huge photo archive. We have a wonderful and TALENTED photo department that is up-to date with new software and technology. Our photographers were introduced to CANTO and we were able to follow up and purchase the software. Product is wonderful for our needs; customer service is also great. It is a great platform, easy to use, practical, accessible and worth its value. We all love it over here!
ProsAccesible, functional and easy to use!
ConsUpdates have been tricky, but customer service was able to solve some challenges
Recommendations to other buyersIt is wonderful, no other complains!
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2017
Elizabeth R.
Advertising Manager
Museums and Institutions, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“Everything we were looking for”

OverallOur images used to be held in numerous departmental databases (PR, advertising, membership, exhibits, etc) and our designers could not find what they needed without a lot of searching. Worse, staff kept photos on their computers or local drives and then no one could find them at all. Canto brings everything together, allows us to easily track copyrights and use restrictions, allows us to share one or many photos with just a couple of clicks, and the customer service has been fab.
ProsIt is intuitive, fast, and has a great UI.
ConsWe cab re-size and crop images but I would also like to be able to reduce file sizes. Otherwise there is nothing about it we do not love.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
Hollis W.
Graphic Designer
Museums and Institutions, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2017

“Graphic Designer”

OverallWe have been using the Canto Digital Asset Management system at the Museum for years now and it has made my job as a designer considerably easier. My clients can set up gallery for to look at for photos they like and i can also review photos for multiple projects and send galleries as well. It also haas taken a huge burden off of Photography department so clients and the Design department can access photos and not bog down the photographers.
Proseasy to use and make galleries for clients
Consneed to be able to view images larger before downloading
Recommendations to other buyersnope
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2017
Avatar Image
Ben C.
Digital Marketing Manager
Entertainment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2018

“Fantastic product for image library sorting and tagging”

OverallWe handle a LOT of photos year over year and need to to be able to pull up specific images wuickly. this tool has saved us HOURS of digging through photo archives.
ProsThe sorting and tagging functions for our photos are extremely useful. They also allow us to very quickly collect images of a certain type and share them with someone outside our core team.
ConsHonestly i don't have much to complain about. I suppose i wish there were some more affordable options for smaller businesses or personal use - but for our organization it's certainly worth the money.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Environmental Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2018

“Canto - The Best in Brand Company Management”

OverallWith Canto, our marketing department is able to help the rest of our company achieve brand success nationally. We are able to send files quickly and with ease. Communication has become so much better.
ProsCanto allows you to manage your brand elements with ease. They work with you along the way to help set up all your core marketing needs. The product is user-friendly, secure and very intuitive. Their customer service is the best I have seen as they help to answer your questions and fulfil the very best in your company's marketing goals. They are there to help your brand succeed.
ConsI would love for the product to format to different social media sites (Linkedin, Facebook, Instagram). It gives us better use of those platforms.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Benjamin A.
Social Media Coordinator
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017

“We use Canto DAM to archive all our photos from across 13 states”

OverallI can provide digital assets to any employee across 13 states as quickly as possible, which helps them do their jobs efficiently too. Coworkers in other states often comment on how quickly we can supply them with dozens of photos for a project
ProsI like how intuitive the search feature is; our archive is set up to where all keyword associated with any folder a photo is in will be found in a search.
ConsCurrently we are installing the Cumulus Client on each individual computer as needed, so few people have access to the archive. However, this may be an inefficient way it was organized before I started at this org.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017
Avatar Image
Rosie P.
Manager, Design and Curiosity
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017

“Easy to use and a great way to share photos or have team members look for what need on their own.”

OverallBefore Flight team members would request photos and it would take time to find exactly what they needed. With Flight team members can search through the photos themselves and discover images they didn't even know we had making them even happier!
ProsFlight is easy to use and has many options for all levels of use. We were able to quickly upload thousands of photos, plus organize and tag them so in the future we can locate what we need quickly. Another wonderful feature if you are looking for a large number of photos is to save what you like to a custom folder and download them all at once.
ConsWish Flight had facial recognition for tagging. We have thousands of photos to tag and this feature could help identify people and save hours and hours of time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017
Felix B.
Senior Manager Global Advertising
Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017

“Practical tool but barely innovative. ”

OverallCanto enables me to grant file access to many of our departments world wide.
ProsCanto seems to be simple enough for even unexperienced users. It is clearly structured and all functions are easy to spot and use.
ConsFor a software that was recently developed it seems rather simple in style and function: we only received what we specifically asked for and there is nothing wrong with it but a bit of innovation goes a long way. Why not connect it with actual folders on our operating system Microsoft Windows like Dropbox: At some point, we will need to store all files somewhere anyway to upload them to Canto, why not allow a direct uplad from a designated folder windows without having to open the browser? Make that folder accessable via FTP connection, too to have backup access when Canto is down or when there is a browser problem. Image previews and navigating through Canto should easier: navigating through it takes time, sometimes you might select a wrong image due to bad visibility of small thumbnails and even going back one step wastes precious time due to loading time and selecting a new image. I would suggest a slide show feature like the standard picture viewer in Microsoft Windows. Same goes for Video previews. I like working with Canto but it always feels like we are working with a beta version, waiting for the shiny real thing to arrive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017
Fabian W.
Webdesigner
Design, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017

“The software is easy to use, but sometimes Canto gets down for some time.”

OverallShare, organize and select files easy. Set metadatas, informations and tags for different file types.
ProsIts a pleasure to create and share own collections. Organizing Files is a easy and set tags, informations and other metadata to eassily find and select files such for licence relevant use or other cases.
ConsSometimes Canto is down and not that stable. The longest time in the last month was something about 30-45 min. Before that we had the servers down for like 1 - 1 1/2 days. I work with a graphicdablet and the right click and scrolling doesnt work well with Canto.. sometimes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017
Jennifer B.
Administrative Assistant
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Canto Is My New Favorite Asset”

OverallBeing able to locate the pictures in one spot so they don't have to be stored on an external hard drive.
ProsThe ease of searching and storing images. We upload thousands of pictures a week with different content, and Canto's software lets us tag and order photos with very little effort.
ConsWe wish it had more sharing options since we use multiple platforms to send photos internally.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2018

“Saved us from our server!”

ProsWe started using Canto as an option to share within our company so that everyone had access to pull assets. Prior to Canto we had 1-2 people that could actually find pieces within our server so they spend a ton of time just finding things for people, with Canto in place and all of the metadata features they're able to find what they need most of the time and have freed up those other people to work on bigger processes and pieces within the company that showing impact versus spending so much of their time digging to find assets for others.
ConsWe have yet to find anything that we would change about Canto - it's truly been a time saver for us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2018
Caroline M.
Digital Asset Intern
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2017

“major help with accessibility, very streamlined form of asset management ”

OverallThe software streamlines communications across the companies and offers easy search-ablity for anyone using the software.
Prosthe tagging system allows for easy search-ability. folders and albums allow for organization efficiency. the plug-in with In-Design makes it possible to easily connect documents and files with flight.
Consthe way that tags are done could be streamlined so that users could "apply all" to certain assets rather than retyping the tags over again. another option to highlight images that you would like to go back in look at could be useful (there is something like this currently, however, the assets are all in a giant folder and you cannot make further distinctions between files)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2017
Avatar Image
Gordon T.
Web Designer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018

“A good product to start with in digital asset management”

OverallWe struggled with finding digital assets before Canto, and our previous tools didn't allow for shared access. Now our whole team has access to all our assets, and sharing outside the team is easy.
ProsCanto has made managing our digital assets and sharing across our design team and enterprise far easier than with our previous tools. It automatically makes metadata searchable, and it's pretty easy to import assets from old systems.
ConsI'd like more integration with Adobe Creative Cloud software. There is an InDesign plugin, but similar tools for other programs would be helpful. The organizational structure can be a little clunky and limiting, due to this being a web-based tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018
Kim N.
School Photographer/Social Media Coordinator
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“Great product!”

ProsAs a small independent school with many digital assets, we have been able to organize and share our files more easily with different departments at our school.
ConsThere is a bit of a learning curve for the users, but for those who want to learn it does not take long to understand how to find the asset the asset they need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Jared W.
Design & Website Manager
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“Stepped Up Our Digital Asset Management Game to Canto”

ProsWe had been using a simplified asset management system, but realized we needed something more robust. Canto was able to deliver what we needed. We needed something that was easy to use, had the ability to add many users for internal access as well as the ability to share externally, and needed very good cataloging/search tools. It does all that and much more. Canto has been great for us as we now have all of our media assets in one place.
ConsNot necessarily a knock on the software, unless there is a solution to this problem. But mass uploading takes some time since you have to go back in to organize & tag everything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018