HeavyBid Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5

About HeavyBid

Used by more than 50,000 estimators and 48 of the ENR Top 50 heavy civil contractors, HeavyBid estimating software quickly and accurately prepares a detailed cost estimate based on previous work; and then easily convert it into a bid. Plus, compare subcontractor and supplier quotes and conduct self-perform versus subcontractor analysis. Learn more about HeavyBid

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 497 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 497 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Frank C.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2014

“The Best Estimating Software in the World!”

ProsProduct: This is a very fast, user-friendly, automated estimating and bidding system that is particularly effective for Unit-Price contracts. It allows quick creation of accurate estimates, accommodates variations in quantities, allows risk evaluation on an item-by-item basis, and provides the means to price individual bid items so that they reflect the bidder's assessments of quantity, value, and risk for each item. Vendor: HCSS sets the standard for customer support. There is no software company anywhere, of any type, with whom I have had contact that comes even close to the responsiveness and excellence of HCSS' technical support. It is extremely rare that a call is not answered before the third ring by a human who understands the problem (no matter how arcane) and who has the right answer, without sending me to a second- or third-level technician. The professionalism and expertise of the Technical Support team are near-perfect. I tell people whom I am training that if they get stuck on a problem for more than three minutes, they should call Tech Support. The person who answers will have the problem solved, and the estimator will be back in production nearly instantaneously.
ConsThere is little to dislike in a system that works so well and with a technical support team that is so knowledgeable. HCSS takes suggestions from its users and implements them in new releases of the software so that the system is always cutting-edge and fulfills its users' expectations. The system seems expensive to purchase and maintain, at least to the non-using evaluator, but the confidence in the accuracy of the estimate, the outstanding technical support, and the continuous improvement of the software will provide confidence that offsets cost. One caught and corrected mistake that that would have gone unnoticed without HeavyBid's analysis tools, could pay for a dozen licenses for years.
Recommendations to other buyersTry it. Make some estimates, and make some calls to Tech Support. Compare the analysis reports, the ease of estimating and pricing, and the confidence you have in your estimate with whatever estimating method you are presently using. Also, talk to any other contractors you may know (particularly those who regularly bid projects worth $10 million to $500 million); you'll discover that most of them are using HeavyBid for their own estimates. HeavyBid outperforms every aspect of every other estimating system and makes spreadsheet bidding seem absolutely archaic. This software gives me the bid advantage of confidence, as well as the bid advantage of correct pricing. I wish all my competitors would use it. The chance of losing a bid because of someone else's mistake offsets the improved sophistication my competitors would gain.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2014
Joy H.
Payroll
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Timecard, material and equipment tracking”

OverallWith heavy job, we were able to transition our export files to a new payroll system when we made a change. Customer service was excellent at guiding us through the process.
ProsThis software is so easy to set-up, from adding employees, job classifications, to merging employees into the job, to exporting timecards. The setup flow just make sense. Works great for those who have crews out in the field, foremen can use their tablets to record time, material and equipment used on the job and submit. No more paper time cards to do manual entry with.
ConsThis software has "user licenses" you have to buy, so at times they may all be used by other users in the company. It does allow you to "boot" them off, but you better make sure they are not in the middle of something if you do or they will lose the information. A quick phone call to ask if they can log out is best.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Justin L.
Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 28, 2016

“The BEST Estimating Software”

OverallI have been a HeavyBid Advanced user for over 14 years now and its amazing to see how far this small company from Texas has come. I still remember when we ordered the software and a representative from the company came to our main office in CT and over the course of 2 days went over everything from setting up labor, benefits, burden, equipment, crews, bid items (manual entry and DOT import), etc. to showing us how to enter activities into bid items and actually creating an estimate. Such a great overall experience from the early stages of implementation to the countless support center calls at all hours of the day and night before a bid (which were always answered) up to the present day where all of the above is still true today.
ProsUnmatched customer support, ease of use and the ecosystem of programs/applications on multiple platforms that integrate perfectly with each other and will only grow with your company.
ConsRecently I purchased an iPad Pro 12.9" pretty much for the sole purpose of using a handfull of apps such as Projectwise, Bluebeam Revu and HeavyBid Mobile. Well, after emailing HCSS Support I find out that HeavyBid Mobile is no longer supported. I was looking forward to trying something different with HeavyBid on the go, even if it wasn't the full blown version.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you've been searching for an all inclusive estimating software then look no further. The amount of time you will save bidding on projects alone is worth the investment, not to mention the addition of mobile apps such as HeavyJob which ties into HeavyBid so you can export your entire estimate, crews, material, subs, etc into HeavyJob and use it as a complete job reporting application.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 28, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“HCSS Review”

OverallOverall, HCSS is the best estimating software on the market. Reason why everyone uses it. But it is expensive, and some smaller companies have trouble justifying cost.
ProsHCSS is a very powerful and easy to learn estimating program. Many companies use this software which makes integrating with partnering companies very easy. Endless resources and crew construction abilities. Provides drop down or key stroke options to enter data. Gives many different ways to view costs and code costs.
ConsCons are the limitations on "child" items underneath the parent. Only 3 are allowed as compared to other competing softwares. Also the reports are limited in what is shown.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“The best option.”

OverallLove it. Great customer service. It can be customized to integrate with all your other software.
ProsHCSS's support is the best I have ever delt with. Not only do they offer custom programming to taylor the users tools and reports, but they always answer the phone right away. No machines you the first person that picks up the phone can usually help you with whatever issue or question you have.
ConsClunky reporting with the mobile app. The only thing that is kind of frustrating is the reporting capabilities from and administrative side, but whatever reports you are unable to generate as a customer, they will be able to generate for you on their end.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
David P.
President
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 2, 2016

“HCSS Review”

ProsI have used this system since the DOS days. Todays system and its various styles of reports provide us with quick turn around times in responding to our clients needs. The 24 hour support service is no joke. We introduce HCSS to clients all over the world and with time zone differences of 6 to 13 hours we have called upon theses services at 1 AM and 3AM when we have proposals due in Qatar, Dubai and Zurich.
ConsThe 24 hour service that is so good is also frustrating. Because of HCSS's commitments to its client base our commitments to our clients sometimes suffers as it appears that the 24 hour hot line only travels with one HCSS representative For some reason it always happens to our firm. You need to be able to answer our calls so we can respond and answer our client's issues.
Recommendations to other buyersAs a former contractor and now as a consultant, you have to ask if the software produces a product that represents your thoughts and understanding of the project. Does it "think" like you do. When we present to our clients the various report formats with our narratives they know what and how we are thinking about the construction of their project.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 2, 2016
Kyle M.
Project Engineer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 12, 2017

“HeavyBid”

OverallLike any software it isn't what you are used to, but, once you understand HCSS software (HeavyBid & HeavyJob) it is extremely helpful to managing work both prior during bids, during, and after as a resource for labor rates etc.
ProsGreat for CIVIL work. Lots of helpful shortcuts, like the fact it automatically pins most recent jobs to the main screen (you can also pin bids manually to always be on that screen). HCSS doesn't just hire techs to go around and tech the software they hire real construction professionals that have experience in both the software and industry which is very helpful.
ConsWorst part about the software is the error sounds it makes when you forget to fill out a field and try to move onto a new task (that can be shut off). Great for both new bids and pricing COR work and managing budgets (with the help of HeavyJob in the field)
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 12, 2017
Dustin B.
Estimator
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 8, 2017

“HCSS Heavy Bid is the Heavy Lifter for Highway Construction”

OverallHCSS Heavy Bid is one of the most widely used estimating software for heavy-civil construction.
ProsThe advance calculation routines and checks allow me to have confidence in my costing and pricing. The escalation features is time saver, especially at bid time when final scheduling is provided. HCSS customer service is the best. Never been on hold or transferred. Immediate connection to a friendly person who can help.
ConsThere is a steep learning curve, however, they host user group meeting that can bring beginners up to speed quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 8, 2017
dan h.
Eastern Regional Sales Manager
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018

“I used Heavy Bid regularly for almost 6 years and it was great.”

Overalli makes bids more accurate and consistent
ProsIt was the first bidding software that I ever used and it seemed very intimidating at first but it was very simple to get the hang of after a very short period of time. Their live help line is amazing and they are so good at helping an new and seasoned user.
ConsYou can only have so many administrators and i worked in a very large office so if something needed changed as far as rates or crews it wasn't always convenient to get it changed
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018
David K.
Project Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2016

“The Best Estimating Software I've Ever Used”

ProsI love how you can preload your labor and equipment cost into the system and only allow certain people to adjust them as union wages go up or inflation hits. This adds to the accuracy of your estimates. I also like how you can pull in quotes from subcontractors and these are stored on the system. The integration to HeavyJob is seamless. This makes bidding the job and managing the budget simple and efficient. The customer support line is extremely useful.
ConsIt's very expensive and it takes a little while to get set up and can be a little frustrating at first. Once you get the hang of it, it becomes a lot easier and much more efficient and accurate than an Excel sheet.
Recommendations to other buyersYou need to make sure you have the right labor costs and equipment costs. These bits of information are crucial in having an accurate estimate. HeavyBid doesn't do this for you, so make sure your information is accurate before putting it into the system.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2016
Douglas S.
Vice President
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
January 13, 2017

“HeavyBid: the best estimating software on the market.”

OverallGreat product with even better support. This is the best software we use. We have been using this product for over 20 years. HCSS consults with its clients to improve the product. They also have an annual user group meeting that is one of the best educational events in construction to attend.
ProsIt is adaptable to use for any-kind of Construction Estimating.
ConsDoes not provide any take-off products.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you buy it, plan to spend time on development right up-front. Utilize HCSS's people to help with the implementation. This will save you many hours of overhead in the future.
Source: Capterra
January 13, 2017
Mike G.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 25, 2015

“HeavyJob & HeavyBid Review”

ProsI enjoy the ease of use with this product. Although, there is a bit of a learning curve once you get the hang of the software everything comes naturally. I can hop between each program seamlessly to pull reports, gather information, review time, and finish estimating tasks. We use both HeavyJob and HeavyBid for our work and wouldn't consider anything else. Customer service is also top notch and we never have to wait on hold if we have a phone question.
ConsNo complaints about the software or vendor. There are some minor technical things I would like to see addressed in the future but they are mostly minor.
Recommendations to other buyersI think the number of contractors using this program to bid contracts ranging from a few thousand dollars all the way up to over a billion dollars speaks for itself. Everyone can get great use out of the software. It may seem a bit expensive upfront but will pay for itself many times over in the long run.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 25, 2015
ERIK G.
Sr Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 7, 2017

“HCSS Heavybid is the best product on the market.”

OverallLook no further, write the check.
ProsThe power of the system, the ability to manipulate and quickly adjust pricing. Customer support is un-stumpable. The ability to import data from previous bids makes the estimating process fast and accurate.
ConsAs with anything this powerful, you must dedicate the time to learn the system. The ideal program is to bring in a trainer once a month for 6 months to grow and groom the new user.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 7, 2017
Mark J.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“Good Bye Spreadsheets, Hello Heavy Bid”

ProsI like the ease of use with Heavy Bid. An estimator can be as detailed or as generic as he wants to be. You have the ability to breakdown multiple activities and phases within one bid item. The audit checks help identify mistakes. The ease of changing mass amounts of data within the estimate is easy. From tracking DBE dollars to comparing subcontractor and supplier quotes, everything is a the tip of your fingers. You can get a report for just about anything in the estimate. The ability to build in automation is a huge time saver and maintains consistency within your organization
ConsHard question to answer. Once you buy the product, HCSS is on your team. Their support group is fantastic. I don't have any dislikes
Recommendations to other buyersTalk with your peers in the industry and evaluate the possibilities that Heavy Bid can present to your organization.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Juan Pablo A.
Estimator
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 18, 2016

“Bidding with Confidence on Leaner Timees”

ProsI like that you have a great control over all the costs involved with entering all aspects of your bid, and consolidate source quotations plus revise quickly critical mark-up, schedulling and productivity scenarios to bid confidently based on your entries.
ConsIt's a bit of a steep learn curve at the very beginning, it's very dependent on a good network connection in order to process quickly, sometimes can be affected by overall bandwidth available from corporate server during peak times, I can only see a passive filtered generated list of multiple bids to review their current status, closing dates, missing steps or things that would assist to coordinate a prioritiezed sequence to close these bids.
Recommendations to other buyersIt is worth to assist a one on one course or an Annual UGM in Houston to shorten your learning curves times.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 18, 2016
Mike R.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 28, 2014

“IT Manager - Review”

ProsAs a product, HeavyBid makes estimating quick and accurate. Our estimators' success rate is quite impressive, and I'm sure they're very thankful to have the assistance of a powerful tool. As a vendor, HCSS has the best support and customer relations around, hands down. Their support is one of the best because they are willing to take on any issue and spend as much time as possible to resolve it. Unlike many other vendors I have worked with, they don't require additional costs for remote support or training during a support session. Their answer rate is very quick, usually only taking 10 minutes to get someone on the phone. Their support staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Their after-hours support is equally impressive. I would highly recommend them based on their support alone.
ConsThey have always resolved any gripes or dislikes I may have had in the past by listening to customer feedback, improving with updates, or through support calls.
Recommendations to other buyersThough I may not have hands-on experience using the software, I can honestly say that having the kind of support that they offer can provide the peace of mind needed with the kind of technology today that can usually add unwanted stress. Rest assured that this vendor will have your back no matter what and is always improving to make your company the best it can be.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 28, 2014
Mike S.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2014

“The best tool in the business!”

ProsI like the ease of data entry and the ability to translate that data into other work items and activities. Also, the ability to use normal reports with the options of customizing each report for each bid saves time and is advantageous in the competitive highway construction hard bid sector. The customer service is very quick and willing to assist with my needs and to get me answers.
ConsYou have to take an extra step when adding resources to an activity. You forget sometimes and try to enter equipment and labor, and it kicks you out to another step that I feel is really more of a hassle than help, especially when making last minute adjustments. Sometimes, customer service has no idea what you're talking about, and this is their system!
Recommendations to other buyersDon't let the initial setup of the database scare you. Once you set the system up, you create a tool that saves costs and will ensure that you produce the best possible bid for your project. Take the time to learn the system and tools, as the reports will be vital in evaluating your bid for overages or underutilization of equipment and labor. The vendor section is amazing and has allowed me to eliminate having someone send out requests for proposal because the vendor section can do this in a few small steps. I am a former Hard Dollar user and was happy with that system. But now, I feel like I have gone from a 1970 Ford Pinto to a 2015 Corvette by using HCSS.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 17, 2014
Marshall M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 6, 2013

OverallPipeline Utilities, Inc. is a General Contractor based in Raleigh, NC that specializes in underground utility installation, maintenance, rehabilitation, and repair. We work on a broad spectrum of types of underground utilities; from water & sewer to underground chilled water & steam lines. Prior to HeavyBid, we were using spreadsheets written in Lotus and converted to Excel. We had used these particular spreadsheets since 1985. We began looking for an estimating software that would help us standardize our process and format while remaining flexible enough to handle the variety of work that we do. We purchased HeavyBid in February of 2010 and have been using it since June 2010. The training and implementation that we received from HCSS has proved invaluable. We initially trained our two estimators, then six months later, we trained the rest of the project management staff. HeavyBid is easy to use, but it takes a little getting accustomed to. HCSS is a great resource. Their support staff is always available. If you forget how a certain function works, the person that answers the phone will be able to help you remember. As far as benefits, we have been able to spend less time performing rote data entry and more time actually thinking critically about our estimates. In 2011, we were able to bid four major projects in two months time. Prior to us using HeavyBid, we would have been limited to only bidding one of them. There are many time-saving functions in HeavyBid, from the COPY routine, to the CODEBOOKS, that help Pipeline Utilities produce better, more detailed, estimates that are more quickly analyzed.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 6, 2013
Adam L.
Project Manager
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 11, 2017

“HCSS works great”

OverallWent to the training/convention for the first time this February. thought it was great. thanks!
ProsI like the quote class system. It's handy to input info as it comes in and compare with others. handy.
ConsOn occasion as I pull items from my codebook in the select bidtiem screen, the description comes across but my activities do not. if I tab through all the cells it seems to work.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 11, 2017
Josh S.
Project Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2016

“Great product for tracking time, materials, subs, costs! ”

ProsThe ease of use for the tablet users like my foreman or superintendents. This product is a great way to track my crews time, costs of labor and equipment, materials deliveries, subcontractors costs, and progress of the project. With this product I can quickly review my job cost to date on a whole or by an activity level. In addition there is always tech support available for any an all questions.
ConsThis product doesn't have many flaws. They have really worked hard on getting this system down for the construction industry. The only complaint I have is the integration between the office to cloud and cloud to tablet is sometimes sluggish.
Recommendations to other buyersThere are some bugs in regards to the credentials website for use between the tablet and office software.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2016
Jose A. I.
Project Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 23, 2016

“Very Robust and trustworthy software group.”

ProsIt is a very comprehensive software group that will meet all your needs for a sub-contractor. From bidding, scheduling, COST TRACKING, statistics, equipment maintenance and fuel, and more. It really have all we needed. And the customer service is amazingly good.
ConsThere is no undo button (Which it is understandable for record keeping purposes). But, in HeavyBid and some instances of Heavy Job, it is a hard pill to swallow. Also, in Heavy Job, COs, POs, could be better handled. Also, Field users do not need to be computer experts, but they do need to be comfortable with computers and software (which it is not always the case).
Recommendations to other buyersIt is a very complete and robust software package. You can buy the part that you need separately, which is a great advantage. Check what are your needs, and select the parts that you need, and then keep adding as you keep growing. Make sure you have the right people to implement and use the software at the office and field.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 23, 2016
Dan J.
Director of Rail Preconstruction
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“Building America”

ProsHCSS allows me to keep all my estimates and bid data in one database. It has the power to expedite and simplify the estimate process so that proper if not advanced analysis can occur.
ConsThe subcontractor evaluation is limited. I want the ability to see scope items along with pricing information real time on the screen. The additional lines need to have the ability to take text input or additive cost input. Without this ability I have no way of knowing if the $40,000 bid of one contractor includese the same scope as the contractor that bid the same line at $35,000. Attaching a spreadsheet or printing a report is only a partial solution to this issue. I need to see it on the screen. Also, the kiosk stand I filled this out on is too short and not ergonimic...
Recommendations to other buyersKnow what your company needs and define it, write it out. If you create or define what you need, your ability to evaluate the software will be far easier to quantify adn/or evaluate.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Michael E.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“HeavyBid Rocks”

ProsHCSS prides itself on innovation and customer service. They are constantly updating their products to keep up with modern technology and the changing construction environment. HeavyBid makes the estimating process streamlined and much more effecient. It helps us bid a lot more work.
ConsThere is not much to dislike about HeavyBid. The only negative that I can think of is that the software (although user friendly) can be very complicated. But that is where their helpful customer service comes to the rescue to help you out.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you need an estimating solution, HeavyBid should be high on your list to try out. Beginners can learn the program quickly and start implementing it with your company. The setup takes sometime, but when done correctly, will help you be much more effecient.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Joseph M.
Vice President
Utilities, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“Great Product”

ProsHeavy Job simultaniously allows us to perform our daily payroll requirements while giving us instant feedback on the productivity of our crews. Double entry of employee payroll hours is eliminated with the exporting of Heavy Job information directly into our Accounting software. It saves us time and gives us immediate information on our daily productivity,
ConsNothing not to like about the vendor of this product (HCSS). They have the best technical support of any company in the software field. Calls to the support helpline are answered by knowledgible staff members and our problems are typically addressed within a few minutes. Great Technical support!!
Recommendations to other buyersDo not leave HCSS - Heavy Job out of your decision making process. Try the others, then try the best.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Danny M.
Vice President
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“VP Estimating with a Heavy Highway contractor using Heavy Bid ”

ProsThe product is very user freindly and a complete packeage for our estimating needs. We have 8 users and bid many different types of projects from small paving projects to large bridge and highway project. Heavybid allows us to bid as many as 400 plus projects per year. HCSS support is top of the class.
ConsSome specilized reports are that would breakdown the cost and price with showing all the details are difficult to use. Example pricing change order work for an owner that requires the labor, equipment and materials details for submittal but without the cost of each crew item.
Recommendations to other buyersLook at the speed of setup and development of an estimate. This programs allows the estimator to spend the majority of the time working on production and methods rather than the mechanics of a bid.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Chris D.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019

“Best estimating software I've used”

ProsHonestly i cant say there is anything i did not like about this software. Makes your life a whole lot easier and helps you dial in your profit on projects and you get things set up and get some history in the system.
ConsI can't really think of anything i didn't like. Great product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2018

“Limited Fields are Biggest Negative”

OverallIt's great for most estimating functions and it is super easy to copy files. However, the limited description is such a drawback it would probably preclude me from actully recommedning it to others in my field who would invariably run into the same issue.
ProsIt offers lots of options for how to enter bid items. The modules talk to each other well so information does not have to be entered numerous times.
ConsThe character limit in the description field is the most aggravating quality. I enter descriptions that are sometimes three lines long and they don't fit. I have to make up absurd abbreviations because my estimators don't like the Alternate Description feature as they have to toggel between them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2018
Travis T.
Area Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 20, 2017

“HCSS heavy bid is the best estimating software I've used in 22 years. ”

OverallI would and have recommended this software to others.
ProsCustomer support is amazing. There is always someone there to receive my calls at any time and on any day.
ConsSo expansive it's hard to learn all the tricks. It's hard to transfer all the tricks I've learned to coworkers but we have weekly trainings to share information.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 20, 2017
Wes P.
Estimator
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 7, 2016

“Probably the industry standard for construction estimating software”

ProsHCSS offers very good 24 hour support. The program is very adaptable to all levels of construction estimating/bidding and can speak to most well known accounting software. Several levels of the software provide more or less detailed options, depending on your requirements
ConsExtremely structured and difficult to set up database initially. Upkeep is fairly easy, if your initial setup was performed with some aforethought.
Recommendations to other buyersThis should be one of the two or three estimating software that you review for purchase. Take some time to get into the database setup. It's going to take about 120 hours to put a good database together and consists of using an excel spreadsheet and a good amount of logic to set up the system. I've done it several times. I know now what to do.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 7, 2016
dexter k.
Project Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“project manager/estimator”

ProsThey are very good at respondsing to questions and getting answers in a timely manner. This product is very helpul in putting together accurate estimates and tracking the job. This product is very user friendly and could be taught to anyone in a short time fram.
ConsSometimes it wont let me do exactly what i want to. Sometimes navigation is very timely unless you know all of the shortcuts. Some of the reports and information isnt very clearly laid out. If you didnt use the software before navigation can be very difficult.
Recommendations to other buyersTake your time and attend all classes available. Utilize the companies help and always for if you have any questions. This can be very beneficial to leaerning the program faster and much more efficiently. Overall a very good product
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Jonathan K.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 2, 2018

“The Best Estimating Software on the Market”

Pros- Has a plethora of features which create an easy bidding process - Can setup local or global resource libraries to allow a job-specific library with our general materials - Easy to run all reports of all different kinds and easy to read
Cons- Can be a bit buggy when within an activity, which may force it to crash. This is primarily because of user error though and you learn ways to stop this from happening.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 2, 2018
John P.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“working with Heavy Bid”

ProsHeavy Bid contains every way necessary to build a complete bid. The multiple methods allow the user to approach the solution from different angles to come up with a complete, accurate, competitive proposal.
ConsThere are very few dislikes. It has a simple interface but which has at times complex means to a solution. It is not the perfect software. There are a few functions which wcould use enhancement such as vendor solicitation and document control.
Recommendations to other buyersReview the available software. Review all of the different products which can be easily interfaced within the same software and decide from there. HCSS has a number of pertinant applications that easily interface that offer most everything for an efficient construction company to operate
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Scott V.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 18, 2014

“HCSS HeavyBid is Powerful and Effective”

ProsThere is no end to the amount of detail you can get simply into a bid with HeavyBid. Once you figure one part of a project, you never have to do it again on future bids. Once you build an activity, it can be used as a starting point for future work and modified quickly. Once you set up labor, equipment, material, crews, etc. in the system, it is quick, simple, and precise. On the fly changes are easy to make, and I can be sure that my costs are covered. Being on the lower end as far as size contractors who use HeavyBid, i have never felt that i am treated as less important to HCSS than their largest user. HCSS has always been a delight to deal with and I consider them to be an important partner in our business. And they make us feel important to them.
ConsThe only thing that would make me like it better would be if it were free. But the constant improvements and excellent support make ownership costs easy to justify.
Recommendations to other buyersLook at the experience and history of the program. No one else comes close to knowing heavy highway construction and understanding what we do and how we bid/build projects. Just looking at the companies who use HeavyBid should be it's biggest selling point. Experience matters.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 18, 2014
Dustin B.
Estimator
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 27, 2018

“Gets the job done correctly ”

ProsHeavy Bid gives you a lot of flexibility for determining where to put costs and revenue. Overruns/Underruns are handled with ease.
ConsThis is a steep learning curve for heavybid however, their support is world class. No waiting and instant help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 27, 2018
doug e.
Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 12, 2018

“Heavy Bid is great”

ProsVery functional. Can modify bids very easily and create and remove bid files very quickly. Customer service is great.
ConsThe quote form (I believe Crystal reports) loads and closes very slowly. Calculation routines are complicated
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 12, 2018
John T.
System Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018

“This software gets the job done. With good planning you can have a smooth rollout!!”

ProsDispatcher is invaluable for us. Heavyjobs also does a great job of tracking hours. Both save us time and money!
ConsWe wish it would work seamlessly with our financial management program. Right now, we are manually entering the information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018
Riccardo F.
Business Process Manager
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 8, 2018

“Excellent product for Civil Construction Projects”

ProsIt's like a giant spreadsheet and helps you to manage several parts of your project Really great auditing features
ConsProgram is still based on an old and archaic data structure that sometimes requires maintenance Not very good for complex mechanical projects
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 8, 2018
Tara C.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2017

“Great product”

ProsGreat features. HCSS offers wonderful classes at the UGM each year to make using products easier. Great for use on projects of any size.
ConsStart up can be slow. It takes some time to use the product to its potential and integrate all the software together.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2017
Josh J.
Project Engineer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 18, 2017

“HCSS is the bomb.com”

ProsAllows you to customize your bids to your liking. Bids can be streamlined for customers and/or you can copy what the owner has set up.
ConsTHE SELECT BID ITEMS FEATURE NEVER WORKS. EVERY TIME I TRY TO ADD BID ITEMS THROUGH THE SELECT BID ITEMS IT DOESN'T WORK!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 18, 2017
Dylan M.
Project Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“Great Product for the Industry”

ProsThe codebooks are very helpful if setup correctly. Being able to bring in activities with a states standard item code speeds the bidding process up tremendously. Also, Support is second to none. Call anytime and someone will be there immediately to help. They wont get off the phone until the problem is resolved.
ConsSome very minor tweeks might need to be changed, but if you know what they are they can avoid them. However, if you do make the mistake, you can still find it in the end under the Estimate Review.
Recommendations to other buyersAs soon as you have a question, call support to get help. If you make changes to the "system" module or "Master Estimate" it could affect all the other users in your division
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
edward f.
estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2017

“great software”

Overalluse it every day. dont know where i would be without it. even when the rare issue arises, support is always avaialbe and very professional. anyone looking to keep their estimating at top notch needs this program.
Prosease of use and its overall functionality
Consalmost too indepth
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2017
justin a.
Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 13, 2018

“Excellent software for estimators and construction managers”

ProsInsanely powerful program. The cost database from previous jobs make estimating far easier when old numbers are at your fingertips. Great customer service.
ConsTakes a while to understand program and use features effectively. Once the ins and outs are learned, the program becomes intuitive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 13, 2018
Jonathan K.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2017

“HCSS Heavy Bid - Top of the Line Bidding Software”

OverallHCSS Heavy Bid has numerous essential features that other bidding software just do not have. They improve the ease of use and efficiency of almost every part of the process. They also allow for easy integration into their HCSS Heavy Job software, if you win the bid. After having used multiple bidding software, this one stands out as the best.
Pros- Ease of use for adding custom items and making changes after the fact - Well laid out and easy to navigate menus - Ability to have multiple tabs open
Cons- None
Recommendations to other buyersUse this software and do the training modules with HCSS.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2017
JT W.
Project Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“Heavyjob- Worth the Grind”

ProsBefore coming to this event in Houston I liked how intuiitive the HeavyJob software is. It allows for easy production tracking and therefore easy field adjustments that can benefit the individual job, the company, and the future jobs within the company based on information gleaned from the results of the tweaks. After attending this event HCSS has proven to be highly nowledgable of their own product and ready to work to make it even better.
ConsThe lack of easy transition from not usong the software to using the software for primarily field employees has proven challenging. Also there is not a great way to quickly take copies of field tickets and incorporate them into a pdf of daily reports.
Recommendations to other buyersDon't hesitate when investing in using HJ. Like anythjing you only get out what you put in and the benefits that can be had from dedication to learning the system far surpass any challenges encountered when trying to use it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Erik P.
Senior Estimator
Utilities, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2018

“I have not had an opportunity to find this much detail in any estimating platform in over 20 years of estimating.”

OverallI would highly recommend this to any business that is into production estimating. Once you are set up, and ready to go you can estimate a lot of work using the stored information quickly.
ProsThe ability for me to create an estimate that can be handed off to a project manager that doesn't have him asking me 100 questions. It is all there for them and helps them get the project started off right.
ConsThere is a fair amount of learning that goes into it, and if you are not careful about the set up you can really have problems that multiply through the estimate.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2018
Brian D.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 18, 2016

“Learning experience but can't imagine estimating without it”

ProsCustomer support is 2nd to none. Phone calls answered in quickly and responses have always been correct. Techs are knowlegable and personable and will explain what was wrong and what had to be done to correct the problem(s) which are typically a user problem not a software problem.
ConsThat I don't know how to use everything that it offers nor would I need to. What I least like about HCSS is that it's not closer to home (Maryland).
Recommendations to other buyersTo learn as much as you can about the software and speak with all personell from sales to engineers to customer support
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 18, 2016
Corey S.
Project Manager
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“Heavybid review by grading contractor”

Prosheavybid is the easiest and most user friendly estimating software that i have ever used. Heavybid can be used by any employee with very little training.
Conscant speak of any problems or concerns we have had with the project. we have used it for numerous years and if we have had any problem it has been handled quickly and professionally. no problems to speak of and cant think of any problems in the near future
Recommendations to other buyerstake your time in evaluating. heavybid has some much power that a user cannot comprehend in a short time. take your time and this program will more than cover your needs
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Eric N.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“My experience with this product is for Heavy Civil estimating”

ProsWhat I like best about this product is the many ways that you can get the same result. I also like that you can customize almost every report to give you what you are looking for.
ConsWhat I do not like about this product is that it can be time consuming and confusing on how certain things are supposed to be entered. sometimes it is not clear what report it is you need to run in order to get the report you want
Recommendations to other buyersMy recommendations would be to look closely at your business and what your focus is. Look at what your needs are as a company and match the software to your needs.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Alex B.
Estimator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016

“Easy to use ”

ProsThe software is a great time savers. Being able to integrat Heavy Bid, Heavy job and the Saftey system is nice. Great customer service and timely help with any issues. I also like the estimate check features to check for errors and missing costs. Being able to copy from previous estimates is also a great time saver.
ConsNew copy function does not pull in resource plugs from master list
Recommendations to other buyersI wouldn't want to bid a project without it. it's very user friendly and easy to become efficient with. I like the quote folder system for subs and suppliers.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Heavy Bid - Expensive but worth it”

OverallHeavyBid works well for us and we have no plans of changing. We like the concurrent licensing vs a per user model. It isnt cheap, but it is at least manageable.
ProsHeavyBid software makes quoting large construction jobs manageable. with the import function we are able to get accurate costs and estimates for projects that we bid.
ConsSystem works good even though it looks like it was developed 10 years ago and hasn't gotten a facelift...but it works.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019