ProLaw Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About ProLaw

Fully integrated solutions to automate the practice and manage the business of law. Learn more about ProLaw

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 27 of 27 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 27 of 27 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Alice N.
Paralegal
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018

“Easy to use and practical.”

ProsIt's search capabilities, the multiple things that can be managed in one software. The auto spell complete feature.
ConsWe might have an older version - but I think the look appearance overall should be more modern. Maybe easier accessibility from feature to feature instead of having to go to the main page each time - maybe you can always have a quick menu option no matter what you are currently working on. For example if I'm entering time summaries why do I have to minimize each window to get to the main dialog box with the main menu as opposed to having the option to go to contacts right on the toolbar that I have while working on time summaries. Even having a tab feature such as web browsers do - to make multi tasking easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018
Rogelio V.
Paralegal
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016

“A Solid Software to kee track of your cases”

OverallI used Pro Law for years at my law firm. I have to say that during the time I used it one of the best things was that we were able to install it on the computers. The new softwares I see now are mostly online only like Rocket Matters. Online only vs on desktop is really what you have to ask yourself. Online you can get access on any computer you use but programs like Pro law I remember were faster and never offline. The down part is that you have to be on your destop. I would suggest getting pro law if you have 1 office and not very many staff members. Otherwise you might want to go with something that is better online if you are always changing offices.
ProsI like how fast and reliable it is for your computer. I like being able to have different users. It does everything you need a software to use for managing your firm.
ConsYou can not access it over a browser at least not the years I used it. You needed the software installed. The them was not very bright but that might have just been my default settings. I assume most people keep their default setting and not change them to make sure they dont mess anything up.
Recommendations to other buyersMy office used and was satisfied with pro law for years then we switched. Try a trial for your firm, it should have all you need however ask yourself it is a software you enjoy using.
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016
Tanya F.
Director of Operations
Real Estate, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 24, 2015

“Great workflow, docketing and document management for law firms!”

ProsIn comparison to programs like World Docs & Perfect Practice, ProLaw offered many additional workflow and tracking features that allowed me to adapt a high volume law firm's ever-changing practices and procedures. This is a full case management system where case notes, tracking, tasking, document storage, billing and timekeeping is all-in-one. My regional client representative at ProLaw treated me like a VIP and was always on call to help get me answers to any new challenges in customizing the system.
ConsThe reporting mechanisms were not the best, and it always took some work to convert data into an Excel format that worked for our staff. Sometimes IT tech support at ProLaw delayed their responses to helpdesk tickets.
Recommendations to other buyersMake a wish list of automated solutions that would help your firm track cases and documents, then meet with a ProLaw rep to get customized examples of how this case management program can meet your specific needs. You'll want a tech savvy operations staff member to come up with questions that your IT staff may not consider.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 24, 2015
Kate W.
paralegal
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Honest review of Prolaw”

OverallOverall I'm satisfied, although I continue to search for a more (back end) user friendly legal software for our small firm.
ProsThe front end of this program is very user friendly. The "files" are easy to navigate, and it's very easy to search with so many options. It's also very easy to keep track of time and billing.
ConsWhat I like least about prolaw is that there is no online support as far as the back end is concerned! I want video tutorials and relevant FAQ for some of the more complicated tasks such as generating and editing documents.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Brandie T.
Legal Assistant
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 15, 2017

“Prolaw was wonderful, but then they UPGRADED now it runs slow and doesn't play well with the other programs that we use ”

OverallEarlier versions of Prolaw were great - - before their latest updates. Now it it really a pain there are functions that require you to basically -- go around the block to cross the street!
Prosonline file management program is awesome. just like having a paper file with everything in its place.
ConsFollowing their latest updates, it is slow to start and causes other programs to freeze up or not work at all. By other programs, I mean things you need, like Word and Outlook
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 15, 2017
Melissa P.
Paralegal
Law Practice, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 31, 2019

“Useful but not intuitive or user friendly”

OverallI no longer use this software and here they have improved, but it would take a lot for me to want to give them another try.
ProsIt has a good bit of automation built in, and they are working to add more. Inputting information is fairly easy and reviewing notes is takes no effort at all. It is great for a firm that deal with fewer, more complex matters.
ConsThe system is a bit clunky. They lag behind some of their competitors in functionality and ease of use. Merging documents can be done, but it is a process. Also, updates often come with bugs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 31, 2019
Sean S.
Chief Operations Officer
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 10, 2016

“Excellent all around product”

OverallProLaw is an excellent tool to bring all facets of a law firm under one system. Coming from large corporations it was amazing to me to find that there are companies utilizing multiple non-integrated platforms to run their business. Switching to ProLaw has now given us the ability to use a single platform to run every segment of our business. It provides management reporting that allows us to make sound business decisions and provide exemplary customer service to our clients.
ProsIt contains every user function you can thing of. ProLaw provides initial setup and training so that your business and you SOP's are incorporated into the set up. It can save you magnitudes of time. ProLaw offers classes, and can do custom work to your system. ProLaw has partnered with many certified third party vendors to provide additional functions to ProLaw or services to make ProLaw cloud based. ProLaw has fully automated credit card processing through a third party vendor, Clientpay.
ConsIt contains every user function you can thing of. Creating SQL advanced reports is difficult.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 10, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Old school but simple”

ProsI like that Prolaw is straightforward and easy to use. It makes organization of a litigation file easy and things are easy to find quickly.
ConsIt is very old school looking- looks like it was made in 2004. It is buggy at times and gets hung up on certain routine tasks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Michael B.
Assistant County Attorney
Government Administration, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 3, 2018

“2017 Downgrade is apalling”

OverallVery poor system for tracking address/contact changes over time. The ease of data entry sometimes makes it too easy to inadvertently overtype. Bizarre Contacts display system of First Middle Last, without an option for Last, First Middle, even as Matters display only by Last, First Middle. Building search queries requires significant technical knowledge and cannot be done by even seasoned users. Interface is not intuitive. Some symbols are used for multiple functions.
ProsDocuments can be displayed in a number of organizational ways as fits the user's preference/needs.
ConsGetting those documents tagged and into Prolaw is a nightmare. Previous "Profiling" function allowed for filing an email attachment only. That's gone. Now you either have to separate the attachment from the email or click through the email to get to the attachment once it is in Prolaw. Previous "Profiling" function allowed user to easily switch and mix between keyboard and mouse driven-commands. (Such as clicking on a data field and then easily typing "pl + tab" for a Pleading rather than using the drop-down menu with the mouse.) Now the user is forced to use the drop down menu. The size of the "Profiling" work box cannot be adjusted or customized as it previously could be. So when Prolaw displays a useless column between to helpful columns, the user must scroll to get to the helpful information. They also added a pagination system which makes scrolling very tedious.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 3, 2018
Diana S.
Legal Assistant
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 24, 2018

“Last update GIANT step BACKWARD”

OverallIn prior version, when saving an email, for example, if the client/matter number was referenced in the subject, saving the email automatically populated the client/matter number and the email was recognized as such. After the most current update, ALL fields on EVERY document must be entered in order to save or create a new document. This means users are required to enter several times MORE keystrokes than in prior version to accomplish the same tasks. HUGE step backward. VERY time-consuming and frustratingly inefficient. Lord, strike me with a nasty case of pimples if I EVER complain about I-Manage again!
ProsDrag and drop email saving - except the latest update defaults to attached doc/attached doc class/event.
ConsLast update completely reversed the ease and efficiency of prior version. ALL document saving requires that ALL information be entered on EVERY document saved. Client/matter numbers are required, as are ALL info fields for each doc saved. Some of this was auto-populated in prior version. Current version takes users TWICE as long to save docs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 24, 2018
kate h.
Executive Director
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 18, 2017

“ProLaw Review”

OverallThis is the best law firm accounting package available on the market, in my opinion
ProsThis program combines all features needed for timekeeping and billing and report management and it integrates with its other programs such as accounting
ConsBecause it is such a sophisticated program it can be difficult to learn but the installation support/training team is excellent, responsive and supportive
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 18, 2017
Melissa P.
Paralegal
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 13, 2019

“Decent software, but you pay for french pastry and get a glorified Twinkie”

OverallI used ProLaw when I worked for a real estate firm for foreclosure litigation. It did the job, just not as efficient as other programs.
ProsProLaw is not terribly difficult to use. There are a lot of customizable fields and it stores a good bit of information. It doesn't require a lot of training and is for the most part intuitive. Also, many of the quirks/bugs can easily be fixed.
ConsProLaw is one of the pricier programs out there and as I mentioned above, there are quirks/bugs such as reports having different fonts, lost headers and spacing issues. To me, it is a bit clunky looking. While some people love this setup, I prefer a more streamline program without the information overload.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 13, 2019
Susana V.
Analyst
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“OK PROGRAM”

ProsOur office is used to it, so we have learned to use it. Calendaring functions are good and they syncs with Microsoft outlook which is very good.
ConsIt crashes a lot when searching docs. If the query is not specific enough it crashes m.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Dan T.
Paralegal
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017

“Makes searching for legal forms and case records an ease. ”

OverallIt allowed me to draft the necessary documents with proper argumentative support to progress my court cases.
ProsThe database of case records as well as various legal documents. Pro law strips the pain away from combing the web for various legal documents and past legal examples.
ConsThe interface can be improved slightly. Signing into the software requires more effort than most softwares and the constant password updates are tiring.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017
Colin C.
IT Director
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 31, 2018

“Last Update was the Nail in the Coffin”

OverallAVOID!
ProsDocument automation - and even that is wonky. Timekeeping is a bit easier, but is still a nightmare.
ConsWhere to start? The last update completely broke our reports, LEDES billing, and there are still numerous glitches. (Worst part about it, we paid for a migration and upgrade, and then we had to pay for them to fix what broke!) The profiling add-ins are a nightmare, and it feels like we took a big step backwards with it. Our billing is still not working correctly, randomly assigning incorrect rates to matters. Customer service is lousy and doesn't care.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 31, 2018
Colleen C.
Deputy County Attorney
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 11, 2017

“Timekeeping not user friendly”

OverallThe timekeeping system should be more structured to ensure consistency among attorneys entering time.
ProsThe case management system does uploads into our Outlook calendars. I have never used any other case management system.
ConsThe timekeeping should be integrated with our Outlook calendars to automatically incorporate meetings, deadlines and court appearances. There should be a timekeeping tracking in real time as the attorney is working on a motion. Figuring out how to generate reports is very complicated and I still don't know how to print reports with a narrative. The help index is not helpful.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 11, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“Very expensive product for larger law firms”

ProsIt allows a larger firm to management documents effectively and efficiently. The platform is also very easy to use
ConsThe expense of this product makes one search for other solutions. It is on the verge of unaffordable regardless of how much the firm produces
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Lysa S.
Office Manager
Law Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 12, 2016

“Prolaw Review”

ProsThe product is an all in one solution which makes my job easier
ConsTraining - The online courses have terrible moderators
Recommendations to other buyersThere are other software companies that offer similar products, but if they give Prolaw a chance it will be well worth it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 12, 2016
Avatar Image
Mary T.
Paralegal
Legal Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019

“ProLaw”

ProsThe ease and ability to pull documents and calendars into one program.
ConsIt's a little bit confusing and rather hard to learn.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019
Charles C.
IT Manager
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“ProLaw not worth the money”

OverallVERY unsatisfactory.. would NOT advise anyone use this Frankenstein collection of poorly coded modules.
ProsMany features promised. Competent support staff
ConsNavigation, utility, lack of compatibility / comparability restrictions, numerous bugs / errors that have yet to be addressed. Overall software is an utter shambles of committee designed modules that integrate poorly, bugs and errors are numerous and fixes take forever. It has caused staff to quit and has adversely affected the over functioning of our offices.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Awesome! ”

OverallI have used ProLaw for years and will continue to use this going forward.
ProsGreat webinars! Easy to search for CLEs and to purchase. The interface is easy to use and to navigate. The content is succinct and straightforward, which means they are picking great and experienced speakers. I've been very happy!
ConsNothing! I suppose the only thing I could wish for is that the CLEs were free?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Prolaw does what it needs to do, but boy does it look like it's from the year 1998”

OverallThe legal firm I worked with migrated out of another database software to ProLaw. ProLaw looks and feels like a Windows 98 computer. It's also like Evernote, which means that if whoever set it up did it poorly, then the whole system breaks down.
ProsIt organizes all of our legal documents, and the data is solid. No data issues so far. Once you get the hang of it, it's pretty easy to find clients and the files you saved in there.
ConsIt's so stupidly clunky. To create a matter, it requires multiple steps upon multiple steps. To upload a file, you then have a assortment of options to choose from, which all do the same thing. ProLaw could use a UX designer to modernize things.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Adam W.
VP
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 6, 2018

“I captured more hours of work”

ProsThis program is so much better than our prior software. We are capturing more hours and collecting more money.
ConsSometimes the help menus and customer support are not as good as they should be. The program can be hard to learn.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 6, 2018
Bob R.
PA
Law Practice, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 6, 2018

“user friendly”

Prosvery user friendly, makes it easy to learn and integrates well with all other programs that we currently use
Constech support can be tricky to get ahold of, they like to go around the problem instead of getting right to the point of helping
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 6, 2018
Susana V.
Paralegal
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“earlier versions of ProLaw were better”

Overallorganization and document review and management.
ProsVery intuitive and easy to use and navigate. It feels like having the actual paper file with all the tabs and documents.
ConsIt is low and freezes a lot. I am not sure if it has to do with my system, but it is a little slow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Coby W.
Lawyer
Legal Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019

“Easy to use service”

ProsProLaw is great, easy to use software that can help many lawyers' practices
ConsThere is not much to complain about, but I would like easier search mechanics.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Judiciary, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“prolaw”

Pros-I like that it syncs and imports well with outlook, word, excel, dictation software. - It generates documents and auto populates, which saves me a significant amount of time - The document can be used by the entire firm and everyone can have access to the documents at the same time - billing is easy to use and is build into the program
Cons- it is very slow and can sometimes freeze. This happens when I have too many cases open, which is understandable, but it can get annoying -the ability to make personalized documents can be frustrating because it often takes too long -I find that I sometimes get locked out of the billing feature when I don't use it for a long time. -billing descriptors are limited so you have to generalize to find what fits
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019