Who Uses This Software?

Owners and managers of rental property. The Tenant File is for residential or commercial property, including single family homes, apartments, light commercial and more.


Average Ratings

24 Reviews

  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall

  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $269.95/one-time
  • Pricing Details
    New product purchase includes 2 months of free phone support/unlimited web
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Free Demo
  • Deployment
    Installed - Windows
  • Training
    Documentation
    Live Online
  • Support
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • W G Software
  • www.tenantfile.com
  • Founded 1994
  • United States

About TENANT File

Desktop property management software for owners or managers of rental property. The software is desktop based for security and speed, but is able to email statements to both tenants and owners. The Tenant File costs a fraction of the competition, is easy to use, and has the features of much more expensive software. This includes separate ledgers for Owners, Properties, Units, and Tenants, a reminder system, check reconciliation, and numerous reports. The support is the best in the industry!


TENANT File Features

  • Credit Check
  • Expense Management
  • Online Payments
  • Owner Portal
  • Tax Management
  • Tenant Management
  • Tenant Portal
  • Vacancy Tracking
  • Website Management
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Commercial Properties
  • Contact Management
  • Credit Check
  • Expense Management
  • Insurance Management
  • Landlord Database
  • Late Fee Calculation
  • Lease Management
  • Maintenance Management
  • Owner Portal
  • Payment Processing
  • Portfolio Management
  • Rent Tracking
  • Residential Properties
  • Tax Management
  • Tenant Database
  • Tenant Portal
  • Vacancy Tracking
  • Website Management

TENANT File Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Excellent Program, Simple Once You Learn, Some Caveats

May 09, 2018
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I have been using TenantFile in conjunction with other supplemental programs at the majority of the property management companies I have worked for. We work with short term, vacation and long term rentals so we usually are using 2-3 programs at a time, and TenantFile is definitely always one of them. They say they can accommodate vacation rentals, which it can, but we need to use a side program with more bells and whistles on the side. It's a good program, not my favorite, but it's up there.

Pros: TenantFile is simple and efficient once you learn it. It's a stand alone program so you pay for it once, then you don't pay any monthly fees unless you want the additional features. 1099 time is super simple (keep your info accurate). And you only pay to upgrade the program. Support is quick and for the most part, thorough.

Cons: Lots of small things to learn. You need to be very careful moving future tenants into a current address, the beginning balances will be overridden. It can make reporting a mess if you don't keep a watchful eye. The program has these little annoying quirks, example, it likes to just quit, then it causes these little artifacts to show up in the bank register. It loves to quit during a money transfer for some reason, it's been happening for years. If the program quits during a transfer, only half the transfer is shown and you need to go in and delete it, then re-transfer. It usually doesn't glitch the second time.

I used TENANT File for over 13 Year

Jan 04, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is easy to read and understand for me and the owners

Cons: I can't run a report on how many owners I have, or their phone numbers, without printing out every single unit under their name. I need to print an easy list of owner names and phone number to take home or on vacations. I don't need a novel to carry around

Overall: I chose TENANT File because it looks easy to use. It gives me all the info I need and is easy for owners to read. There are a few breakdowns I wish it could do, but overall it a very good system.

Recommendations to other buyers: I think your service contract should be based on how many hour or calls a client uses. Every time I pay for a service contract I don't need it until it expires.

Vendor Response

by W G Software on January 16, 2017

Thank you Jayne Ellen for your good review! We appreciate you very much as a long time customer!

First, for an overall view of the number of owners, properties, tenants, and overall system-wide balances, there is the 'General > Statistics' report that provides that.

Secondly, to get a list of owner names and phone numbers, use the 'User Defined Report' which can print any info in the Tenant File on a single line (up to 8 choices). It sorts by the first 3 items selected, so just choose 'Owner Last Name', 'Owner First Name', and 'Phone' (it stores up to 4 phone numbers for every owner, tenant and vendor). This is exactly what you want.

BTW, we haven't had support service contracts for years. All of the paid phone support calls are on a pay-as-you-need basis, and our web support is entirely free for any question you have!

Pretty user-friendly with lots of report options available.

Jan 04, 2017
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Lots of report options

Cons: When entering leases that are going to start at a later date in the year the user must be sure not to enter rent info. so that it's not paid to the owner before the lease begins. Then must delete the future lease info. when it rolls around after typing it over the previous tenant info. Seems like there could be a better way to enter future leases that are going to happen later in the year without having to take those steps.

Overall: I researched several software options for property management and decided upon Tenant File a couple years back. Each year I've learned new things that I can use the software to do. It is a software that provides tons of different types of reporting options so that the various clients/users can see income/expenses/tenant info. in a report that they understand. I highly recommend to managers of income properties.

A Wonderful Easy to Use Program I've Had for Years

Nov 04, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to learn and use, with good support and inexpensive updates.

Cons: I don't have any negative things to say about it.

Overall: I'm a private property owner, not a manager, but I'm sure the Tenant File is fine for both. I've been using this product for about 8 years, and have stayed up with the new releases, which are inexpensive. Especially compared to the high monthly payments of web-base software, the Tenant File is very affordable. It is desktop based so I have control over everything. I have mastered it, but if I do have any questions, I can contact their web support and get an answer within hours. They have paid phone support after the free phone support runs out, but I haven't needed that.

Recommendations to other buyers: I'm concerned about the safety of my data, and what would happen if the Internet goes out at my home business for a while. With the Tenant File on my desktop I don't have to worry about either.

Powerhouse Property Management for a Reasonable Price

Jan 04, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use and reliable software at an affordable price.

Cons: Accounts were a bit tricky to set up in the beginning but easy now.

Overall: After pouring through reviews and comparisons of numerous property management programs, I finally settled on TenantFile for my small property management & leasing business. I've been using it since 2011 and it has suited my needs in every way. My clients are happy with the easy-to-understand reports and I have been happy with the easy file setups and customer service. I highly recommend this software to small property management business - it gives you exactly what you need to run a business without breaking the budget, and you own the software vs. a subscription rate which adds up to $$$$ over time. When you can't figure something out after reading the on-line "help" guide, you can easily get a live person to help figure things out at a reasonable rate.

Recommendations to other buyers: I've used a couple of other property management programs before and the programs were expensive and full of features I didn't need for my business.

A long time user very happy with Tenant File

Oct 22, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: They have made a product very easy to use, and it is desktop based, not web based. I feel that my data is safer and easier to back up. The software is easy to navigate and the reports are just what I need. I really recommend this software to property management companies, or individual property owners like myself.

Cons: Nothing negative at all. Their support has been tremendous. The free phone support helped me get started years ago, and I haven't needed phone support since way back then, probably close to 10 years. If i had a question, I simply clicked a button in the program and sent in a question. The reply was fast and helpful.

Recommendations to other buyers: Try out the demo they offer from the website. They also have a free video that shows you the entire program. Then call and ask lots of questions. They are always courteous and knowledgeable.

This a very cost efective software to manage properties.

Sep 20, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: This is a good software and I will recommend it to any new property management company. I have been using for years and it has not disappointed me.

Pros: Cost and easy to work with when you understand it. It easy for owners to read their statements when you do not complicate things.

Cons: Not able to use from different locations. If it could be used online I believe most companies would start using it.

Don't Put Your Client Data At Risk

Jan 19, 2017
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: local security

powerful reporting

convenient access to data

Cons: need popup menus and retention of data on screen

Overall: In today's internet age I can't trust my client data to the cloud so I keep it locally, on my computer. Tenant File security is the only security I trust.

The software is easy to learn, has powerful reports and the structure of the programs allows one to control all aspects of a property management business.

Works for my needs

Jan 12, 2017
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I run a small management company as a part of my brokerage. The program does well for me, but has a couple of functional quirks that require account adjustments periodically. For example, after I backup at the end of a year, I want to get rid of old tenants and clean up my interface. When I delete an old tenant from the active file, I have to manually adjust the owner's balance to replace all the old transaction dollars (rent received, payments made). It only takes a little bit of time, but it's confusing to owners.

Customer Service is usually very helpful!

Vendor Response

by W G Software on January 16, 2017

Thank you very much for reviewing the Tenant File and we appreciate the high rating and good comments, Marcus!

Regarding your comment about year-end adjustments, you don't need to do that at all! When you make a tenant 'VACANT' it transfers the tenant to the 'Inactive File', but retains all owner accounting. So you should never 'delete' a tenant from the 'active' file, simply make that tenant 'VACANT'. That way the year-end closing will carry forward all of the correct balances. If you don't manage a property any more, you can 'delete' it at the end of the year. Normally you wouldn't delete the property if a balance is still due, but if there is a balance, just re-post the balance in the 'Starting Balance' field for the Owner. It is a single entry. The Tenant File has free web support, so just post your questions and we will provide more detail promptly.

TenatnFile

Jan 04, 2017
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Security

Support

Functionality

Cons: Lack of interactiveness - multiple open windows

Overall: Firstly, TenantFile offers security from the internet and its dangers.

Secondly, I have never seen the high quality, fast support from a software company as I have gotten with TenantFile.

I purchased this software in 2008 as if came highly recommended by my professional management network. From the first time I called for support, people were rude and not helpful at all. I have kept using the software as I had paid for it, but recently I c

Apr 04, 2018
1/5
Overall

2 / 5
Ease of Use

2 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Go elsewhere.

Pros: It originally came as cd install. There is nothing else positive I can say about the program.

Cons: It is unwieldy, not user friendly or intuitive and personnel are and have been rude for the past 10 years. Find something else!

Vendor Response

by W G Software on April 06, 2018

This customer recently contacted our sales team, saying that she lost her installation disc from 10 years ago (2008) for an obsolete version of the Tenant File software. Her call was handled professionally and courteously by our staff. We politely told her that we don't provide the software on CDs anymore and that we cannot replace an obsolete version of the program, but could offer her a discount on the current version, which is a download (or a CD hardcopy for an additional charge). The customer became angry that she could not get a replacement for a 10 year old version for free, and was discourteous to our staff. That is the only reason this review was written - in retaliation for the recent call. We tried to call her again, and left a message, but she never returned the call.

This is a customer that has been successfully using the Tenant File product for 10 years without purchasing any updates, and is just now complaining that the product is 'unwieldy'. It is a testament of our dedication to industry-leading support that we actually do provide free technical support for customers that purchased our product in 2008, whether sales or technical related. Additionally, over the past 10 years, the Tenant File has kept up with the latest in technology, and has the ability to email owners, vendors, or tenants, to accept rent via ACH, pay owners and vendors via ACH, and upload vacant listings to the Internet. Each update release has provided new features, improved ease-of-use, and made the workload of property managers easier.

It is disappointing to see this type of response because we were unable to provide an obsolete version of the Tenant File for free, as the customer demanded.

Straight forward - basic setup works for small company.

May 19, 2016
3/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Download and go. Can understand flow making this an open and go.

Cons: No way to get question answered without paying - even when software was new. Can't just call someone up - email only lacks any true customer service experience.

Recommendations to other buyers: Outgrow - becomes cumbersome with multiple owners/properties or accounts. Purchase the add-ons when buying will make your experience better.

Vendor Response

by W G Software on May 23, 2016

I¿d like to thank Cathy for taking the time to review the Tenant File. While it is a favorable review, I¿d like to respond to the comment regarding customer service:

All customers that purchase a new version of the Tenant File get 2 full months of free phone support from the date of purchase. (Even current users purchasing an update get 1 month of free phone support). We allow 10 minutes per day, Monday-Friday. This goes well beyond the phone support standard in the industry. During those two months, we also provide unlimited free web-based support through our ticket system. Ninety percent of all questions are answered the same day (usually within minutes) by a personal response from a Tenant File support technician. If a question comes in late in the day it might be answered the following work day, but all questions are responded to fully and by a qualified technician. An addition, we provide a full copy of the Tenant File User¿s Guide (over 120 pages) in a searchable PDF right within the program. With one click in the software, customers can reach our web support page which also provides answers to common questions and how-to videos.

After the free phone support period has expired, we do offer paid phone support, which is very reasonable in price. However, the free personalized web support is unlimited for all customers with one of the last two releases. On top of all of the above mentioned support, the Tenant File is very easy to learn and use, so typically there are very few questions.

Bob's review

Jan 04, 2017
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Customer support

Overall: I'm very happy with my Tenant File program. Customer support is the first rate and the features that I use are user-friendly.

The Perfect Property Management Software

Jan 04, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: User-friendly, increased production, the best accounting by far, overall better than other similar software

Cons: Not Many

Overall: From Day One we found Tenant File 8 to be user-friendly. Managing the properties was difficult until we started using Tenant File. I would highly recommend Tenant File to any Property Management Company that wanted to improve their overall production.

Peter

"Assistant to the Broker"

Sunshine Property Management "Show Low AZ"

Recommendations to other buyers: Have fun becoming a more productive property manager

TF REVIEW 2017

Jan 08, 2017
3/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Small problem- last update removed automatic check numbering when entering printed checks. liked old way so as not to enter check number each time.

BIG PROBLEM- WHEN ENTERING PRINTED CHECKS THE NAME CHANGES FROM OLD CHECK BUT ACCOUNT, POST TO AND AMOUNT CARRY OVER. I HAVE TO X OUT AND START OVER WITH EACH CHECK. I HAVE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES AND YOU SAY YOU CAN'T DUPLICATE ERROR. THE ONLY WAY TO FIX IT SEEMS TO ME IS PROVIDE ME WITH A NUMBER THAT I CAN GET RIGHT THRU ON SO TECH CAN LOG ON AND SEE PROBLEM. I DID THIS MONTHS AND MONTHS A GO, TECH SAW WHAT IT WAS DOING AND SAID HE WOULD CHECK WITH SOMEONE THERE AND GET BACK WITH ME.---NEVER HAPPENED. AT YOUR SUGGESTION I CALLED A COMPUTER TECH. HE CHECKED THE SYSTEM AND SAID SOFTWARE PROBLEM

Vendor Response

by W G Software on January 09, 2017

We appreciate any reviews and comments about the Tenant File. Thank you for your good ratings and for being a Tenant File customer. The current version did not remove automatic check numbering, it was changed to increment from the last check or deposit entered by the customer. To accommodate customers that wanted to enter different custom starting numbers, we later added the option to use either the 'new way' or the 'old way' (which counted from a saved number). Mr. Ward can email us and we'll provide the latest update for his current version. Regarding the other comment, it may be a Windows file that was overwritten by another program. With over 10,000 customers, we have not heard of that situation where the customer has to enter each check individually. Hopefully the update will overwrite any bad files on the user's computer and correct the problem. If not, we'll work with Mr. Ward to resolve it promptly.

Great Software to keep track of your real estate investments

Jan 08, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use, many financial and non-financial reports.

Cons: n/a

Overall: A great software to use for your real estate. It's easy to use, it has many useful features and reports.

It has all the reports that your accountant needs to do the tax returns at the end of the year, such as general ledger, profit and loss etc. It's flexible.

Recommendations to other buyers: no

It is a good program

Nov 27, 2018
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is not a web based, which nowadays it is for me more secure, since we don't need to share information on the web or cloud.

Cons: So far I don;t have any complaints about Tenant File features.

Overall: Easy to work with, Bank Reconciliations, to do list, reminder of tenants balances, so far is the best option in the market.

Vendor Response

by W G Software on November 29, 2018

Thank you, Nivaldo for the good review! We really appreciate feedback from our customers!

- From the Tenant File Customer Service team

Tenant File review

Nov 09, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Network capable. The ability to email reports. You can keep track of repairs and all the work done on the properties. Great P&L Reports to see what each property is making for me.

Cons: It does not calculate depreciation on my properties. However, I can export to my Accounting programs to do that.

Overall: I found this program and purchased it a couple of years ago to many my own rentals. It has saved me so much time yet it is so easy to use. It was a great investment.

Recommendations to other buyers: The Tenant File has been in business for many years and is a solid program. There are many other programs out there that will cost you a whole lot more money to do the same thing as this program will do for a much less cost.

I love working with the Tenant File ! (long time user)

Nov 24, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I've had the Tenant File for about 10 years, and I would not switch it for anything. It is easy to use and has lots of great reports that I can email to both tenants and owners. As technology has progressed, so has the Tenant File, so I can upload vacancies to the web, receive my tenant rents online, and pay my owners and vendors through ACH.

I wouldn't want to use a web-based program like you hear so much about today. I prefer to keep my confidential information safe behind my firewall, and don't want my entire business to fail if the Internet goes down. Plus, the people at Tenant File have always been a joy to work with - very professional and friendly.

I would certainly recommend the Tenant File to anyone thinking about purchasing a property management software program.

Tenant File

Jan 12, 2017
2/5
Overall

2 / 5
Ease of Use

2 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: They still do not have an update in order for the word processor to stop timing out. They may have it fixed sometime before I retire

Vendor Response

by W G Software on January 16, 2017

We responded immediately to the client about the Word Processor add-on product `hanging up¿ after a certain time period. It is working for thousands of other customers and has been for many years.

Our records show we received a support ticket regarding the Word Processor timing out after a period of use. The customer did not respond to the support ticket, but instead sent an email to the incorrect support address, and an automated 'did not receive' was relayed to the customer with no answer. When finally contacted, we provided a free update in April of 2016 'just in case' this had anything to do with the Tenant File, which is does not as we have explained.

Additionally, the Word Processor is a separate 'add-on' product which does not affect the operation of the main Tenant File program which the client uses on a regular basis.

We have contacted the client separately to offer help with no response. This seems to be a Windows issue or memory issue on the client's system.

Tenant File Review

Nov 09, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The automated functions such as charging rent and posting late fees has made my job much easier!

Cons: I have no complaints

Overall: This program was incredibly user friendly. I was able to use the free phone support for the first two months which was very helpful as I learned the program. Everyone that I've spoken to has been more than willing to help.

Recommendations to other buyers: They have posted some very useful training videos to help you learn the program! Also, make sure you take advantage of the phone support!

Tenant File

Dec 04, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This program is very user friendly and makes it easy to keep track of tenants information.

Cons: There is nothing I didn't like about this program.

Overall: Overall experience is very good.

Vendor Response

by W G Software on December 05, 2018

Thank you for the great review, we appreciate it!

Good product for someone on a budget

Jan 13, 2017
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I like TENANT file but it isn't an internet based product so I can't assess it from anywhere but the office. It does not reconcile every month so it is a little hard to balance the account. For the price, it works for us, though!

Simple software

Nov 13, 2018
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This makes it so easy to track clients on properties for payments

Cons: Infrequently, might have glitch to upload