Spreadsheet Server Ratings

Overall
4.3/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Service
4.2/5

About Spreadsheet Server

Spreadsheet Server is specialized in using your ERP's live data right within Microsoft Excel. It eliminates the re-keying or downloading of data into the spreadsheet and makes the spreadsheet an integral part your business environment. Pull your live ERP data right into Excel, create reports right on the spot while drilling down, then automatically distribute reports and other files to you company and departments. Learn more about Spreadsheet Server

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Donald M.
Director Finance
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2017

“Low cost; easy to use; effective reporting solution”

OverallReplaced all our financial related reporting; very flexible and easy to train new users
ProsExcel based; relatively easy to learn; works out of the box with simple install; has replaced all our internal financial and management reporting
ConsConflicts with some other Excel add-ons; occasional issues with some users and PCs; custom GL doesn't have all the features of a standard GL version

Vendor Response

By insightsoftware on August 25, 2017
Thanks for your feedback, Donald! We appreciate learning more about our users¿ experiences. Our recent update, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.4, includes several enhancements. Contact us at customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com to upgrade today!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2017
Karl S.
Accounting Manager
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 1, 2017

“I use Spreadsheet Server only twice a year but at those times it's critical.”

OverallBecause Spreadsheet Server is connected to our general ledger, when we enter a journal entry we get immediate updates in the financial statements.
ProsSpreadsheet Server is critical in allowing us to produce financial statements that are integrated into our financial software.
ConsOur financial statements contain many tables and schedules. Because of this, Spreadsheet Server has to look into almost every general ledger account in our system. This results in an initial load time each day of approximately 15-20 minutes. Excel is unavailable for any other use during that time.

Vendor Response

By insightsoftware on June 26, 2017
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that Spreadsheet Server is such a critical part of your financial reporting environment! Our team has just issued a new release, V 14.6, which should significantly improve your load time. We¿ve received very positive feedback on this enhanced capability. Please reach out to your customer success representative for more details or email customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com . Thank you, The Spreadsheet Server Team
Source: Capterra
June 1, 2017
Vaibhav M.
Analyst
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 24, 2018

“A neat spreadsheet for you detailed reports”

ProsWe had a very peculiar situation where we wanted to make sure that all the data from our project development team, testing team, product implementation team and finally QA team would be on same page and would deliver the product to consumer as required, but the biggest task was how to get 10 different people living across the globe and sharing the same spreadsheet, so we searched and found out Spreadsheet server, that gave instant solution to our long lingering problem. As the same spreadsheet was used to collect and replay the data, it was easy enough to be accurate and to hunt down in case of discrepancy. Super joyed with the software
ConsThere are lot many layers created in the software to "Drill down"to get the results, once you are used to that, you feel it easy. But getting used to the same takes some time and then you can generate reports as required
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 24, 2018
Ayushi M.
Financial Reporting Associate
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Amazing accounting tool. Recommend. ”

ProsSpreadSheet server seamlessly integrates live ERP data directly into Excel. It generates various account based reports that are flexible as per need.
ConsNeeds minor improvements and few bug fixes. Other than that it is a good software. I would recommend it.

Vendor Response

By insightsoftware on August 9, 2017
Thanks, Ayushi! We¿re happy to see that Spreadsheet Server is working so well with your ERP data. Our latest update, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.3, includes several enhancements. Contact us at customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com to upgrade today!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Ray B.
Senior Accountant
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2017

“We use this product as a replacement for Oracle FSG reports for departmental and location reporting.”

OverallReporting times dropped from 3 to 4 days to overnight.
ProsThe product offers great flexibility, looks at the live data and all hierarchies. Distribution Manager and Profile Scheduler really enhance the reporting functionality.
ConsPerformance is slow particularly for transaction based reports. Updating to the very latest software was of great help but we had to move the transactions to a table for quicker queries. This allowed reports to be able to complete overnight (around 8 hours) but we are limited to only a periods worth of data at a time for transaction based reports. The translated ledgers are not currently working but consolidation ledger are so not a top priority but something to fix in the future.

Vendor Response

By insightsoftware on August 25, 2017
Thanks for your thoughtful response, Ray. We¿re happy to hear that you are experiencing success with your reporting times. We have an even more recent update for you, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.4, which includes more enhancements. Contact us at customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com to upgrade today!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2017
Karan U.
Accountant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017

“A good value for money. Highly recommend!”

OverallI am extremely satisfied with this software. It is helpful in creating complex reports and data analysis.
ProsThis software uses ERP live data with Microsoft Excel. You can easily create spreadsheets, has advanced filter options and what not.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017
Matt S.
Sr. Financial Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Great tool for connecting to databases and running reports”

ProsGreat tool for connecting to multiple databases and generating reports with Excel add-in functionality.
ConsIf connecting to multiple databases, report generation is often slow. Can take time running very detailed reports. Can have issues when enabled in Excel when opening a new Excel document.

Vendor Response

By insightsoftware on June 26, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are always interested in learning more about your experience with Spreadsheet Server. Our team has just issued a new release, V 14.6, which should significantly improve your load time. We¿ve received very positive feedback on this enhanced capability. Please reach out to your customer success representative for more details or email customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com . Thank you, The Spreadsheet Server Team
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Gail O.
Sr Systems Analyst
Retail, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019

“SS Server”

OverallWe built quite a few reports but it took fewer than our old system due to ability to run them various ways.
ProsDistribution scheduler allows you to schedule them during off hours
ConsSlow to build reports, slow running really large reports
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019
Yeshuwanth L.
Service desk analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018

“Low cost; easy to use; effective reporting solution”

ProsThe best thing is that I get to use excel to build the reports and make them look the way I want. All without having to get custom reports built by the accounting software vendor.
ConsIf connecting to multiple databases, report generation is often slow. Can take time running very detailed reports. Can have issues when enabled in Excel when opening a new Excel document.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018
Dale L.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2017

“Great Product”

OverallWe use Spreadsheet Server extensively. It has great functionality, is easy to use and saves us quite a bit of time. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Vendor Response

By insightsoftware on June 26, 2017
Awesome feedback! Great to hear about your positive experience with Spreadsheet Server, Dale!
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2017
Greg B.
VP-Controller
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2017

“This helps enable you to build reports in our accounting software and make then look the way we want”

OverallBetter reporting with being able to customize the look.
ProsThe best thing is that I get to use excel to build the reports and make them look the way I want. All without having to get custom reports built by the accounting software vendor.
ConsIt takes a little time and training to fully understand the queries, how they work and associate one query to another.

Vendor Response

By insightsoftware on July 28, 2017
Great to hear from you, Greg! We¿re excited that you¿re experiencing so much success with Spreadsheet Server. We¿re here to make sure your experience is always a positive one. Our latest version has many enhancements, including ease of use! Contact us at customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com to upgrade.
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2017
Akhilesh P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 16, 2018

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 16, 2018
Dann M.
Controller
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2017

“Cool new tool for Financials”

OverallSo far with the free license it is pretty cool to use. Going to discuss other options with our rep soon.

Vendor Response

By insightsoftware on June 26, 2017
Hi Dann, Thank you for your review! We look forward to your continued deployment of Spreadsheet Server!
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2017