Expandable Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Expandable

Expandable is an enterprise resources planning software suite designed to help executives and managers of fast-growing companies maximize business performance by maintaining visibility and control of manufacturing operations. Expandable drives increased business valuation for your SMB enterprise with proven third party analysis showing Best-In-Class Business Performance against ERP industry average business metric bench marks. Learn more about Expandable

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Pam D.
Senior Vice President Operations
Biotechnology, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“I've used Expandable at the last 3 startup companies I was involved in.”

ProsExpandable is very straight forward to implement from the ground up. It's a very intuitive software and easy to train new users. I like the flexibility it has in handling custom parts and multiple product iterations. The part and BOM uploading utilities make adding high numbers of parts to the system quick and reduces the incidence of errors from manually adding them. The vast array of Inquiries search tables makes getting information easy and able to download into excel for further analysis. The Technical Support team answers questions quickly and provides good instructions to resolve issues or help you through something new. I have also transitioned a company from Expandable to two other ERP systems post-acquisition when the parent company decided to integrate the ERP systems. Transitioning Expandable to the other systems was more straightforward than I could have imagined.
ConsI'd have to dig deep to find something that I didn't like about Expandable. Perhaps one thing would be a report or two that I use could have a little better layout with the way the header ID fields align with the lines of the report details. But honestly there are so many great Inquiries that this is hardly an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Rick A.
Sr. Director, IT
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“Implemented as a startup and serves us well 13 years later”

OverallWe run the business using Expandable.
ProsEasy to use and can be really easy to implement. Ideal for a new company without a lot of onsite IT. Expandable was implemented kind of "on the fly" and was able to support the financials needs and operational requirements of the company. Built on MS Sqlserver, it is very easy to add custom data and even stored procedures to without difficulty. Features added a few years ago allow the user to customize their page layouts to arrange fields so as to optimize efficiency for their specific job function. Partnered with very effective tools for reporting (Crystal Reports) and report scheduling (Vineyardsoft).
ConsAdding support for customers with multiple addresses, such as a Bill To and a Ship To was very late in coming. We had to build in some workarounds to prevent treating the two addresses as two separate customers. Second, no effective way to allow customizations to be accessed through the UI. We had to build utility user tools accessed through the "Attachments" menu.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Bill M.
President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018

“Very quick implementation, great customer service, organized data structure, intuitive GUI.”

OverallFor a very reasonable investment, Expandable allows you to bring order, consistency and sanity to your business. If you are a discrete manufacturer of complex products, Expandable represents the best of both worlds in terms of handling your complex data management challenges but in a package that is easy to manage and control. The ROI on the product is almost immeidate.
ProsWe were able to implement Expandable very quickly. The company has the implementation process down to a science. Bill of Material and Part Master options were perfect for our discrete manufacturing setting. MRP processes are well defined and allowed for meaningful long term planning. GL and all subledger functions are well integrated and allow for meaningful analysis and control.
ConsThe lack of an internal financial statement generator means that you are reliant on a third party plug in, which we found to be cumbersome and confusing at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Matt M.
Director of Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“We've experienced only success with Expandable. It has met all of our needs...and we're picky.”

OverallIt supported the rapid and significant growth of our business without incident. It simply worked day in and day out when we needed it.
ProsWe love the ability to access the SQL database, the abundance of user fields, the ability to customize and the way Expandable has organized the data. Also, the amount of modules and features is great. Every time something new comes up in our business, Expandable has a way to handle it. Also, it only took us a few weeks to implement it.
ConsOf course, we all have minor, personal dislikes. He thinks that button should be there, she wonders why they can't show this in that editor, etc. However, we honestly haven't found anything of significance to dislike in Expandable. Also, the customer support is very receptive to suggested changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Jerry P.
CEO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“Excellent product and value for a small business. It's "expandable" as your business grows. ”

OverallWe've been using Expandable since 2009. This was the first ERP system that we implemented in our company. It allowed us to transition from Quickbooks and a group of stand alone applications to an integrated ERP system that was perfect for a small growing business. SQL server based, it's fast and reliable. No data has ever been lost.
ProsWe outgrew Quickbooks and needed a more comprehensive ERP system. Expandable met all of our needs. Easy to use. Robust. No data has ever been lost. Customer support is excellent.
ConsExpandable doesn't have a good PLM module. We use Arena Solutions for PLM. There is a good transfer function that brings data from PLM into Expandable. Also we use an outside standalone software system for RMA and CAPA
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Gisli H.
Corporate Controller
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018

“Very favorable for ~10 years that I have been using it”

OverallAn affordable tier 3 ERP that does the job very well.
ProsEase of use, the ability to download directly to Excel, and their great customer support, it always ties, and it is consistent with Dr and Cr signs for balance sheet accounts (if an amount is a credit it has a "-" sign regardless of the account you are looking at (asset or a liability)
ConsI am very happy with Expandable, if I have to select what I least like, it is the fact that it does not have a Fixed Asset module and it would be great if the system automatically booked the current year retained earnings to prior year rte at year end, versus needing to book a manual journal voucher.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018
Zack F.
Production and Engineering Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2018

“Expandable was quick to implement, immensely powerful, and affordable for the small company!”

OverallThis software has allowed us to link up our manufacturing, inventory control, purchasing, and invoicing into a single platform. We have great trace-ability through the whole process.
ProsExpandable offers a remote desktop installation, allowing any user to access the application with an internet connection. Anyone on my team can login and transact. Expandable offers very quick and efficient launches, with data migration and on-site training. Expandable seeks to learn your processes and process flows and then teach you how Expandable can fit into the system. Expandable offers endless extra functionality that you can choose to implement down the road. Customer service response times and quality of response are top notch. And they are much more affordable than their competitors, while offering a gold-standard product.
ConsThere is a steep learning curve, but luckily, Expandable does offer great training resources (online tutorials, guides, support hotline, on-site training).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2018
DAN Z.
Sr. Director of Operations
Biotechnology, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“We have implemented Expandable software since late 2013. ”

OverallExpandable is very suitable for small to mid-size company. It does not need much IT administration. If users are familiar with SQL, they can add lots of useful reports.
ProsExpandable is a SQL based MRP/ERP system, the system structure is simple and very easy to deploy. The software is strong in Manufacturing module, rich in features and easy to be customized. Users can also add customized reports using Crystal developer tool. We validated Expandable as the ERP system to pass ISO 13485 certification.
ConsExpandable is not a big brand in the market, and sometimes lack of existing 3rd party tools to interact with other enterprise systems (e.g. CRM or Quality system).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Laura W.
Accountant & Human Resources
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2018

“Expandable has been a great asset, for our company over the years. ”

OverallThe main benefit for our company is the lot tracking for our inventory and consignment inventory.
ProsThe most valuable part of Expandable for us is the use of Lot tracking along with consignment inventory. In our line of business, we must know where all of our products are at all times. We also like the feature that it works great with Microsoft Excel.
ConsFor the most part, Expandable has worked great over the years. However, I would say that what we would like the least about the software is that it is sometimes difficult to produce a report that could save time without having to customize it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“They have been great to work with and take feedback from customers to improve the product”

OverallThe ability to track consignment inventory, Control inventory and have costing available. Lot tracking and history. Dave
ProsIt is very easy to use. Exporting data and developing pivot tables is a very easy process so you can create custom reports within excel. The consignment inventory module works very well. The updated sales order entry is easy and streamlined. The ability to Query data easily. Very good inventory/lot control..
ConsThe tools for production and work center scheduling and capacity planning and lead time generation are not as powerful as they could be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Susie C.
Accounting & Finance Manager
Medical Devices, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“Expandable is great when it comes to manufacturing!”

OverallIt helps our business run
ProsManufacturing aspect. Although, I still do not fully understand all the features this software offers.
ConsStill lacks financial reporting aspect and you still have to close month end each month. Other softwares are real time and you don't have to go through that tedious process. Cannot easily make changes to existing data. Must keep a log as what was done wrong and put in a new log to correct it. Can be confusing if you don't know what you are doing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Tony N.
Operations
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“Expandable is incredibly stable and so much functionality! It grows with the company.”

OverallQuick period closing; excellent reporting; good visibility into company processes.
ProsIt is reliable. All operational and financial processes for small and medium companies are accommodated - easily and with common sense. Use the modules you want.
ConsHmmm. I can't think of anything. It never crashes; it is easy to train others to use it; its reports and inquiries are informative. Its a true scalable enterprise software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
debi f.
president
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Expandable met our needs in pretty much every way, from the functionality to the support. ”

OverallThey took us off quick books and moved us to a real ERP system!
ProsI used Expandable at a previous company. We looked extensively at their competitors and Expandable was the only vendor that met our requirements list. The software is designed to grow with your company, and it does. We didn't believe in customization, but the base product met our needs just fine. If we wanted a new feature the team listened and often it would be in the next release. The Expandable team is very accessible from the president downwards.
ConsThe only thing was you need to gauge the level of support to install carefully. Expandable will help you do this, but if you don't buy enough hours you can end up putting too much of a burden on your implementation team .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Rachelle K.
Acct. Spec.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“Great customer support”

ProsExpandable is a user friendly software. They provide knowledge and skills to enable you to use the software to the best fit within your company. They also have many great resources at your fingertips to enhance your experience.
ConsExpandable offers many add on's which can become quite expensive. It also requires additional software to run reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Richard F.
Vice President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 11, 2016

“Expandable Software: Feature rich, great support, easy to use”

ProsEasy to use, feature rich software with exceptional customer support.
ConsNo access to source code; however, this ensures business logic is not compromised.
Recommendations to other buyersExpandable is a SQL based, manufacturing and accounting software product that allows for easy access to the data structure. With continued evolution of the software, as witnessed by the recently introduced EDT (EDI) module that covers most electronic documents that are required in the supply chain, and Web Service API's that will allow seamless integration into the database with access to the underlying business logic, Expandable stays in touch with its' users needs. The software can be installed in a typical client/server mode and recently they introduced a cloud based version. All in all, this is a well designed, well supported, and well run company that has a vision for the future and follows the road map that they have crafted. Thumbs up to a great company and great software. Well done.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 11, 2016
Avatar Image
Ryan C.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“Both Expandable the company and the software have made our jobs much easier to do! ”

ProsSoftware is user friendly, customer support is very helpful whenever we call, and the documentation on the Expandable website is very thorough and easy to reference when necessary
ConsNo "import from bank" functionality on bank reconciliation utility, most reports are quite useful, however they are not user friendly once exported to excel
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Brian B.
Staff Accountant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“The overall software is user-friendly. ”

ProsSince the software is user-friendly it was really quick to learn how to navigate throughout the software. There are a lot of neat features which reduces time and cost.
ConsThe cell formatting of a exported reports to excel isn't can be hard to sort out information. Needs automated AP invoice vouchering feature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Cherie H.
Materials Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“Great customer service!”

ProsClean user interface. Easy to follow User Documentation. Wide variety of built-in reports which can easily be modified to fit individual needs using Crystal Reports.
ConsFrom a manufacturing standpoint, some modules like Quality and Mobile Bar Coding should be included. Add-on modules tend to be a little pricey but are very robust.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Erin R.
Operations Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2018

“Expandable is very user-friendly.”

ProsCustomer service is fantastic, the software itself is very intuitive and user-friendly, and it's easy to find the information you are seeking.
ConsWe do come across glitches every now and then that give us pause, but customer service is very helpful with solutions. Tracking serialized inventory is not easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2018
Peter A.
CEO
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018

“Lighthouse is the IT Department for 5 Expandable-using clients in addition to many other clients”

OverallOur clients consistently report better visibility into their bushiness, better controls, and improved processes.
ProsTight straight-forward inventory control, Lot & Serial Number traceability. Ease of use, including mobile applications. Great Implementation & Customer Support Team (really fast complete implementation!) Great scalability from small pre-revenue to large enterprise.
ConsDoesn't have rich features for large/complex multinational enterprises requiring localized support. Expandable is a relatively small company with limited general public knowledge available on the Internet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018
Jeff O.
Managing CFO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“I had a great experience installing Expandable and working with their team! Their team is the best!”

OverallFunctionality Ease of Use Low Total Cost of Ownership High user satisfaction
ProsEasy to install, all the functionality I needed. I have worked with multiple systems all the way up to Oracle for a business and found that the functionality in Expandable meet every need I had. I was prepared to run a square foot manufacturing facility and 5 reporting entities in multiple currencies in Expandable. The Expandable team is great. We signed a contract Thanksgiving week and went live the first week of January -- 7 weeks over the holidays! Loading Master Data was a breeze -- Excel templates made it easy to prep data and load. Total Cost of Ownership was superb. Implementation cost was low and we were fully supported.
ConsReally can't think of one -- we had a great experience. We had to work a bit on the Consolidation of entities, but overall we were happy with the outcome.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
Tannaz L.
Director , Supply Chain
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“Overall, easy to use software and great customer support.”

ProsSoftware is fairly easy to use. Training documents available for all modules. Option to to have a client server or cloud base is a plus.
ConsI would like to see the reports updated with standard features and requirements instead of customization.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Avatar Image
John G.
Founder, Managing Partner
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Great software, great API's for extensibility, great support organization and management team.”

ProsGreat company to work with. We have helped integrate external apps including eCommerce stores with Expandable many times. Pros include software stability, support organization, API's, ROI.
ConsI don't have any cons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018