Squirrel POS Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Squirrel POS

Squirrel is your operation on its best day, every day. In the mid-1980s, we were the first in the world to offer a touchscreen point-of-sale system. We were the first to build on an open architecture, and the first to meet the challenge of EMV compliance. We were the first truly multi-platform system, giving our world-class customers the choice to bring iOS, Android, or Windows devices onto the floor. We elevate your guest experience by giving you everything you need for better flow. Learn more about Squirrel POS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jennifer A.
Property Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2018

“Squirrel is a great way to make your restaurant run faster and more efficiently. ”

ProsSquirrel is a very effective way not only to take orders from customers, but to expedite the service. When a server enters the order into the pos system, it goes directly where it needs to go.. Drink service goes to the bar, hot service goes to the kitchen, etc, etc. It's easy it impute menu changes and 86 anything that you've run out of for the day. IF your a restaurant that makes changes to your menu daily, this system is an amazing help. It also helps with back end stuff for payments and tips etc... You can also incorporate management functions and set up different users which really helps with theft and promotion abuse. Did I mention that it was compatible with your cell phone? The program also is very secure for the cardholders at your restaurant. NO worries about employees taking information and using it in an unlawful manner.
ConsI like squirrel. There's not too much I can say negatively about it. I would like to know if we open another location, if there is a way to transfer all the menu data into the other location without having to reconfigure the system? I know there has to be a way to do it because mass restaurant chains use this system.

Vendor Response

By Squirrel Systems on June 1, 2018
Thank you for your comments Jennifer! Yes, Squirrel is great when you're looking to grow! Contact us in our general mailbox or to your salesperson directly when you're ready to expand and we'll help you set that up!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Publishing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Comprehensive and easy to use”

ProsWhat I like the most about this software is the reporting function. It provides the management many options of reports that help to control the cash and inventory, including the tip distribution. The reports can be used directly for the audit work which was essential for our accounting department.
ConsWhat I like least about this software is there was no associated mobile app back then. But now the company has developed Squirrel Mobility.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“Good for very basic POS. Other than that, avoid.”

ProsQuite a bit of information can be entered/customised with the software, although it's difficult to get it exactly the way you want it. It's also nice that it has multiple currency options.
ConsLike with anything, if you use it enough you get used to it and become quicker at it. This might be fine if the software could keep up, but unfortunately it's very slow and very inneficient. Freezes quite often. Not very intuitive for new staff, and the tickets are very hard to read. The UI is very archaic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Richard M.
Restaurant owner
Restaurants, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2016

“Restaurant owner”

OverallI have used the Squirrel system for over fifteen years. It has been a great tool to manage my restaurant. I have gone through a number of upgrades. Squirrel has worked hard to keep their product up to date. Their support is excellent. I have always had a quick response and resolution. I highly recommend Squirrel POS for your business.
ProsIt is up to date. Highly reliable. With great support.
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2016
Cecilia L.
Accountant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“A reasonable software for restaurant use”

ProsI have used this program while I worked at a restaurant. It does its job. Inventory counts, tracking sales
ConsThis software could be a bit more user friendly. I wish they could provide free training as it isn't as easy to navigate.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
himanshu b.
Analyst
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2019

“Best database management tool ”

ProsThis is one of very best database software I have ever used to maintain my tables and queries. It is just so easy to handle with easy simple scripts
ConsMaybe more integration with other desktop management tools
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“Easy to use and stable”

ProsGreat little POS system and very stable. I like the program and its simplicity, very fast and does a good job
ConsRequires support and does not have a mobile option Not much integration with payment systems and works with certain printers not all

Vendor Response

By Squirrel Systems on May 8, 2018
Thank you for the review. We have a number of mobility options if you're interested. Give us a ring if you want more information!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Eric W.
General Manager
Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019

“Squirrel has solid presence and reputation in the restaurant industry”

ProsSquirrel is always on top of their game by providing updates and upgrades. I have used Squirrel for 15 years and find it to be the best POS out there.
ConsI can't say many bad things about this POS. They are still around and continue to have a solid presence in the restaurant world. No bells and whistles which I like
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019
Danielle D.
Director of Business Development
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017

“I used Squirrel at my previous Host job, it got the job done.”

ProsI felt like Squirrel was easy to navigate. It had no frills or extras - just straight forward and got the job done.
ConsThe design felt outdated and clunky to me. It seemed to lack the extra features and the "wow" factor that would make it stand out against other systems I've used in the past.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017
Rodney G.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2015

“Loyalty is worthless”

OverallFirst installed system in 1988. Went through many problems including company bankruptcy, no support, re branding, and upgrading. Service from Boston branch became non-existent but still paying 400 per month for support. Company's attitude became arrogant. When not paying for a pre-paid contract, refused to even answer the phone for support. When I finally gave up after being with them for over 25 years and paying over 100,000 dollars for service contracts, I was then threatened with legal action if I did not pay them more money even though the annual contract had expired. I will do everything possible to keep anyone from buyng their product.
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2015
Rebe S.
Music Booking Agent
Entertainment, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016

“Squirrel old system but does in a pinch”

OverallHave used squirrel throughout the years waiting tables, bartending and managing various bars and restaurants around the country. One of the oldest and out of date systems.
ProsSince it's so old, many servers know it across the board.
ConsNot super user-friendly, slow.
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016
Marshall H.
Executive Chef
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2015

“A true "pos"”

OverallI've never encountered a worse pos system in my life. It would take a book to go over all of the problems with this system so i will be short. It crashes constantly, i don't think i've gone a week without having to deal with there "customer service"(usually miltiple times a week), the calibration of the touch screens goes out of wac constanly leafing to misrung tickets and confusion and upset tables. Don't ever buy this horrible system.
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2015