MicroMD PM Ratings

Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5

About MicroMD PM

Henry Schein MicroMD provides simple yet powerful EMR and practice management solutions that facilitate the delivery of superior patient care, automate incentive and quality reporting activities, and streamline operations. MicroMD EMR's full-featured 2014 Edition Complete Ambulatory certified software accelerates the progress towards a paperless environment and health information exchange. Learn more about MicroMD PM

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Garrett W.
Administrator
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 6, 2016

“Easy to Use, Lots of Flexibility”

ProsYou can customize things yourself on the fly without having to call support or pay extra fees. I'm not sure what some of the negative reviewers are talking about, but I'm guessing they didn't pay attention during training. You can easily create your own templates and even separate templates for different doctors/conditions/types of visits if you want. We are a subspecialist and there were really no specific products tailored to our practice and that is why we ultimately selected this EMR because there is so much flexibility and you don't even have to use the same templates for every provider. Some of our doctors like check boxes, while others like to free text in certain areas of the encounter. You don't have to pick one or the other with this product. Also, we evaluated several EMR's before implementing MicroMD in June 2015 and we felt this was one of the easiest products to train staff on. Much less complicated than hospital-based EMR systems we considered.
ConsLike any EMR product I am sure, there are some quirks and added functionality you would like to see. But, as another reviewer mentioned they allow users to submit suggestions for improvements. Despite my colleague's skepticism, I can vouch that even in only a little over a year and a half that we have been using the product there have already been several upgrades that have been made with updates to new versions. One other point for practices to consider is that this is a server-based (as opposed to cloud based program), we were already running our practice management on a server through VPN's for multiple offices so we were fine with this. But something to consider if you are thinking you would like Internet based login without owning a server.
Recommendations to other buyersI would always recommend looking at several products. Ask others in your specialty what they are using and the pros and cons they see. No EMR product I have seen is perfect, but this one seemed to suit our needs best.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 6, 2016
RACHEL L.
Office Manager
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 30, 2015

“Positively affirmed of choosing MicroMD daily”

ProsI researched and met with a variety of EHR and PM software vendors before deciding on MicroMD. This was a difficult process because I have a multi-specialty group practice, and wanted to find an application to properly support 2 specialties. I have been live on both software applications for over 3 years. The applications are very user friendly, and support is always available and helpful. The transition to ICD-10 was seamless. I have also successfully met Stage 1 and 2 of meaningful use plus successfully passed a pre-payment audit. The PM software is user friendly, and any new employees are easily trained to use it. My previous vendor was Medical Manager, and MicroMD was able to successfully transfer all of my Medical Manager data into their system. I didn't have to work on 2 systems like most practices have to do in the beginning. The PM billing applications are also user friendly. The multiple financial reports that can be generated are extremely helpful.
ConsAnnual support and maintenance fees are costly, but I don't know how they compare to anyone else. This may be an average cost of doing business with EHR to meet government regulations. The hourly fees for training are also a little high, but due to the product's ease of use, the amount of training needed may be minimal.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure you review all of your practice needs with the sales rep prior to purchasing. Make sure both the practice manager and physicians are in agreement, and communicate their specific needs. There are many applications built into the software that can be customized. Also, have acceptance to change. Most physicians are reluctant to change and won't use all of the features that any EHR software has to offer if they are not on board.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 30, 2015
Nicole B.
Social Worker
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2017

“MicroMD EHR review”

OverallThis product is not user-friendly at all. The reporting systems are so antiquated and not easy to use. The reporting is not geared towards reporting outcomes for CMS (UDS reporting and meaningful use). To print reports Micro-MD requires you to use plus signs and equals signs, it is 2017. It should be a lot easier than that to print reports. Not UDS friendly, you cannot filter reports any way you want too. Micro-MD cannot build interfaces (flat-file transfers) with companies to streamline reporting and sending patient encounters to insurance companies.
ProsSupport is okay they respond to request quickly.
ConsCannot build flat file transfers (interfaces with other companies). Reporting is antiquated. Micro-MD does not have the ability to scrub invoices which create more work for our billing dept. We are an FQHC and have very specific billing and reporting requirements, Micro-MD has not been helpful with any of this. The PM and EMR applications are not well integrated. When we asked them about UDS reporting and flat-file transfers they informed us that they could not do that it would take to many hours of work to create these interfaces. Their solution was a new add-on they creating might be able to help but it would cost extra and still would have the information we needed at our fingertips. And no one from the company even discussed what this new software add-on would do or presented it us to see if it was something that could possibly work to resolve our issues with Micro-MD.
Recommendations to other buyersLook elsewhere, Micro MD is old and antiquated, not a good fit for a FQHC.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2017
Brad B.
Dental office owner
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Awesome software”

OverallHave used Henry Schein software for years, easy to use robust and updated consistently. The only software you'll ever need to buy
Prosease of use but full of features.
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Nicole M.
Receptionist
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 22, 2018

“Easy ordering!”

ProsI have been with at least two practices that order from here and have never heard a complaint in regards to ordering and they will always keep you updated if something is on back order or delayed.
ConsI personally did not order from them but other staff members have and did not hear one complaint from them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 22, 2018
Jennifer S.
Office Manager
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 5, 2016

“Adaptable software makes my life easier”

ProsThe EMR has a great deal of customization. We are able to adapt to multiple workflows and needs. The company also tries hard to adapt the software based on user feedback.
ConsI wish that customer service response was a little faster.
Recommendations to other buyersLearn as much as you can about the software and have an office champion.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 5, 2016
mary s.
billing manager
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2017

“Micro Survey”

Overallplease go back to your customers being able to have a human contact in place, instead of entering and putting in a ticket and feeling as if they are a number.
Prosthe reports- if you want specific detail, you have it. if you wish to make new CPT codes and add something to them for reporting you have it.
Consthe reports. some do not make sense. when you enter- no credits and credits appear anyway. this is frustrating
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2017
Dean S.
CEO
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 20, 2015

“Teview of software”

ProsIt fits our clinic's needs for quick charting. I also like the interface with billing.
ConsIt's a little pricey on monthly fees for everything. The fees add up if you have multiple providers.
Recommendations to other buyersIt's good if it fits your practice style. Also compare billing components. MicroMD is pretty effective.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 20, 2015
Emily L.
Benefits
5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 11, 2018

“Great System and Functionality”

ProsThe system for products was easy to use and very user friendly. I do not use often but when I do I found it easy to pick up where I left off.
ConsI do not have any specifics that would be classified as negative. I found that the system was easy to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 11, 2018
DOROTHY M.
Podiatrist
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 1, 2018

“GREAT PRODUCT”

Overall. Certainly worth looking at in trying out. Very good for specialty care and specialist doctors
ProsThis is a great company and the support is helpful hintEasy to use online.Company has been around a long time.
ConsJust the usual problems of connectivity into downtime in the Internet. That's really more issue with the Internet locally and not the service used by the software company
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 1, 2018
Sue L.
Nurse Practitioner
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1.5/5
Ease of Use
1.5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1.5/5
Value for Money
2.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 3, 2016

“extremely cumbersome”

Prosflow of patient visit is logical, other than that I don't like much about this product.
ConsTo create a phone message from a lab result screen requires ELEVEN clicks!!! Transition from ICD9 to ICD10 has been terrible - codes are not accurate and specific wording from the ICD10 coding book is often nowhere in the EMR. Unable to minimize current screen to look at other information in the patient's chart
Recommendations to other buyersGet thorough evaluation from the people who are going to actually use the product - doctors, midlevel providers, nurses, MA's, etc
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 3, 2016
Bonnie H.
Ophthalmic Technician
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 20, 2018

“Convenient ”

ProsVery competitive prices compared to other local medical carriers. Fast shipping and flat rate over a specific amount order.
ConsThe website itself is not too user friendly. I can be changed a bit to wear it can be more user friendly. Product names must be pretty specific in order to locate them correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 20, 2018
Carol H.
CEO
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 26, 2016

“MicroMD for Pediatric Practice”

OverallOverall, the software serves our purpose but it has very limited reporting for benchmarking or population management reports without running several reports to obtain the data you need. We have family charts and accounts and it is unable to print the entire family balance on the encounter form so it can be collected at the time of service. It will only provide the balance on the patient/child who is being seen. This presents a problem because another child in the family could have a balance but not be being seen on that particular day. Therefore, we have to check the entire balance in advance and write it on the encounter form in order to collect family balance. Very manual system that is labor intensive.
ProsEasy to use
ConsAntiquated reporting and limited ability to obtain data.
Recommendations to other buyersCheck it out and ensure that it meets your needs prior to purchase.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 26, 2016
Mark L.
Doctor
Mental Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1.5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 28, 2016

“Is not user friendly for clinicians.”

ProsNot much positive to say. I dread coming to the clinic to use this system as do other staff members.
ConsLack of versatility. One dimensional with limited ability to modify data. Painful drop down menus without ability to comment or text past history information.
Recommendations to other buyersI would recommend considering other EMR systems. This system has poor support and lack of versatility. Staff are plagued with time wasting drop down menus.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 28, 2016
Amy B.
FNP
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2016

“Very frustrating product”

OverallVery frustrating product. Not able to find patient's main information on the same page. I have to close current notes in order to review previous charting. The area for typing notes is really narrow and letters are tiny - which is very easy to generate typo. Trouble to find accurate ICD 10 code. Many different buttons have same function, but not easy to located them when you need them. Has been using this product for 2 years. Just find out some new "tricks" to access patient's info quicker. Not user friendly.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 3, 2016
Steve S.
CEO
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2018

“Physician who uses it at the hospital.”

ProsThis program makes my day easier. It allows me to get work done that would normally take me longer the previous way.
ConsNot much to dislike. Tutorials are weak. More utube videos would help. Background colors are kinda boring.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2018
Annie J.
Billing Mng
Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2017

“Overpriced”

OverallWas only used for a very short time but it did have all the things we were looking for to use in our practice but it was just a charge for everything. I don't want to say it's not a good product to use but if you feel that it would be beneficial for your business go for it. But for our small practice, we would not use all the features that they offered.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2017
Leonard V.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2015

“Maddening.”

ProsThe entire experience is "user-surly."
ConsThe entire experience is "user surly. " When issues come up, customer service says to upload your issue to an issue board and then it will be voted on to see if they will fix it. Or, that it cannot be fixed.
Recommendations to other buyersThis is a very difficult and frustrating EMR. It will frustrate all of your providers and staff alike. Everyone in your office will hate coming to work. Do not buy or even evaluate this product. I have committed to use this monster for the last seven months and can't wait to dump it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2015
Larry C.
Medical Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 10, 2014

“Trials and tribulations of usuage”

ProsThe drug history interface is useful. The memo note is helpful to keep track of interoffice private comments, but thats about it.
ConsYou name it. There's no real flexibility to note. Every request for template changes has been unanswered. I'm unable to produce any practice-specific templates.
Recommendations to other buyersBe very careful. I suggest going to an actual user's office and evaluating their use. If you're a specialist, follow a similar specialist.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 10, 2014
Avatar Image
Daniel Q.
Research & Developer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“ With family members it has been very useful, it adapts to the needs”

OverallIt is good but it can be improved a lot, I trust it
Pros I really like the fact that any questions we have had have answered us, and are patient with any suggestion that is made either of interface or functionality of the application
Cons It is very slow at times and sticks, in case of an emergency I think it would not be the fastest option and therefore makes it a bit tedious
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Tagreed A.
I am student
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017

“Henry Schein MicroMD provides simple yet powerful EMR and practice management solutions that facilit”

ProsThe EMR has a great deal of customization. We are able to adapt to multiple workflows and needs. The company also tries hard to adapt the software based on user feedback.
Cons Have used Henry Schein software for years, easy to use robust and updated consistently. The only software you'll ever need to buy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017