PostgreSQL Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About PostgreSQL

Free open source post-relational database system that runs on all major operating systems. PostgreSQL's 25 year development history provides a huge range of features for Developers and DBAs, delivered in a robust software server used world-wide. PostgreSQL is rated in the top 5 databases by DBEngine, above most commercial systems. With millions of deployments in embedded systems, major cloud providers and major on-premise installs, PostgreSQL is the most popular choice for new app development. Learn more about PostgreSQL

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 224 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 224 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Nairoby D.
Consultor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018

“It's free!”

OverallIn my very particular opinion I feel comfortable working with Postgres for more than 10 years, it is reliable and safe, the best thing is that it is free, which allows you to save on licenses, it is ideal for any type of development. I totally recommend it
Pros- Free code database manager, which is not used for licensing. - Easy to install and configure in any operating system. - Ideal for relational databases. - It has a large community in which you can share doubts. - It is stable and reliable, scalable and secure with the correct user management. - Can work with small and large databases. - Handles the SQL language. - Being free software, it is compatible with several graphic tools that help administration and database design. I particularly recommend working with PgAdmin in its latest version for postgres 9.6.6 onwards. - Easily works as a cluster, can be configured as active-passive or active-active which improves performance - It allows to perform maintenance, recovery of databases. - I have tested the installation and use in Windows 7 operating system and Debian version 6 to 8 and works without problems. - Likewise I have worked in postgres since its version 8.1 to 9.6.6 and a positive change has been noticed and performance improvements, but I insist on the point at which the databases should be fine designed.
Cons- Many people declare it as slow in insertions and updates compared to others Managers, however, that will depend on how well designed the database is. - For some, not having support online or with an official help center can be a big disadvantage. - It is advisable to have command knowledge to work on consoles and terminals to perform a good configuration
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Aníbal M.
Programador
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2018

“PostgreSQL is powerful and robust, it fits perfectly in large projects”

OverallWith PostgreSQL I have been able to perform my work satisfactorily on multiple occasions, my bosses and I are happy with the results we have obtained, saving hardware investment costs because we have focused on the database, I hope to have future benefits to the use it in projects for own clients.
ProsI really like PostgreSQL I have used it several times for large projects in my previous works and in the current one it is used as a database for the web page of the institution, the power of PL / pgSQL is excellent, it allows me to program commercial layers in the database without any problem this improves the response times of the final applications and allows investments in hardware in the database servers instead of in the application, the management of schemes is perfect. It is important to mention that it is free software that implies having a large database without licensing costs. A feature of PostgreSQL is the multiversion concurrency control that allows transactions consistent with time, which provides great performance advantages. PgAdmin is a graphical tool with which I can manage different databases easily and intuitively, execute SQL statements, as well as create backup copies or perform maintenance tasks. Another thing that I like about PostgreSQL is that it is available for many platforms, it is possible to install it from the repositories of the Linux version that I use. It should be noted that the PostgreSQL user community is one of the most active in the market
ConsThere are some things that I do not like about PostgreSQL, permissions allowance per user can be annoying, I have had to work many times on this and it is difficult, it is also relatively slow when I insert and update small databases. The official support does not have telephone or online support, although there are official forums available where users can express their doubts to which other users of the community respond. The syntax of some of your commands or statements may not be intuitive if you do not have a medium level of knowledge in the SQL language. I have had problems migrating from a PostgreSQL version to a higher one. Compatibility is sometimes relative.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Maryury P.
DBA Especialista I
Banking, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018

“Database Manager PostgreSQL”

OverallIn my experience using the software I really liked that it allows adding custom functions developed using different programming languages. The integrity of the data and the referential integrity of the foreign key are maintained. It has allowed me, in an easy and secure way, the asynchronous replication of the databases for an alternative center in case of disasters. I did not like it is that when I have any doubt about an error presented in the system where the database is working, I can not clarify it because there is no specific place to which, because and com solve the error.
ProsPostgreSQL allows to control high concurrency, offering security by domain definitions, who can access the database server, the backup copies of the database can be made completely or only a table, according to the request, restorations and tasks maintenance, in addition to replicate in case of disasters. It also allows to activate triggers to execute in tables or views in special cases or eventualities. It has a friendly graphical interface for the administrator, through which they can be done from the creation of the database, to execute query querys and updates of the data, if necessary, you can have details with the status tool of the server referring to the queries that are executed in the DB (if there are locks, duration, etc.). It allows the development of robust and efficient Databases
ConsThere is no online or telephone support. Only official forums are available where users expose their doubts that other users of the community respond to, ademas it consumes many resources
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Diego C.
Technical Director
Market Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019

“The database everyone should be using”

OverallPostgreSQL is an incredibly powerful piece of software that should be the RDBMS in every software project instead of less powerful but more famous alternatives. Personally it will be my choice for every future project.
ProsPostgreSQL is so powerful, complete and stable. This should come with no surprise given the long history behind it. At the same time it's incredibly modern and supports new paradigms (like NoSQL, JSON data types) and it's also very simple to familiarize with.
ConsIt's unbelievable how PostgreSQL is not as well-known as one of his competitors (MySQL) notwithstanding the fact that is so much more powerful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Khelvyn C.
Consultor de operaciones de tecnología de la información
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“One of the best database managers for the world.”

OverallFrom my point of view postgreSQL I consider it one of the most powerful database managers, since I use it daily, from my role as a database administrator, as well as a web developer, since it allows to manage environments put into production easily, with an acceptable and intuitive configuration.
Pros1164/5000 -Easy installation and configuration in other environments. - Pgadmin management interface of the databases, very intuitive and complete with the necessary to a few clicks, I recommend keeping the graphical tool for the stability it offers. -It has a connection balancer, known as pgpool that allows to manage the cluster structure well. -Principles of replication between active-active or active-passive servers Variety of console-level command options for restore or backup tasks and maintenance tasks -principal manager for developers for the scalability and stability it offers. -Management of free access, which allows the use of it without any problem, without any cost -Ideal manager for the management of relational databases -Allows the management of different versions on the same server with multiple database intentions with different listening ports.
Cons- Poor documentation - Functional technicians commonly report a slowness at the BD level, but that depends on how the DB is structured and especially if good database practices are applied
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Ashish A.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Open source object-relational database management system for Web Developers”

ProsPostgreSQL or simply Postgres implements the SQL and advanced SQL standard very well. It can handle workloads ranging from small web applications to large data warehousing with many parallel users. Postgres provides a easy to use tool called pgAdmin to interact with and manipulate database. It provides support for complex data types like (multi-dimensional) Array, Json, user-defined types. PostgreSQL provides higher number of connections at cheap price. It support all types of indexing for faster retrieval of data. In my company we replaced our database server from MySQL to PostgreSQL because of PostgreSQL higher db connections connections in cheaper price as compared to MYSQL. It is also available free of cost till 10,000 rows on Heroku.
ConsPostgreSQL query syntax for some complex queries like array, json, string functions and case operator are bit complicated to write . Installation and configuration of PostgreSQL is not as easy as MySQL. Documentation is not as good as compared to MySQL and it is bit harder to search for help regarding some complex queries and database functions on google. Replication is not yet as well implemented as in MySQL.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Wechuli P.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Best Database System Ever !”

OverallPostgres provides everything I need in a Relational Database System, I have been using it for a while and I swear by it.
Pros- Completely and absolutely free - Open-source, so you can look at the code - Every feature you might want in a database is there - Convenient PostgreSQL admin for the management of DB servers
Cons- Making replication across several distributed regions can be quite challenging if you haven't done it before.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Petr V.
Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Object-relational open source database”

OverallWe use PostgreSQL mainly for heavy load projects because to high write performance due to its MVCC approach, it largely eliminates the need for locking, and that the database effectively meets ACID principles.
ProsSupports functions where the results are suitable for use as with tables. We can define own aggregate and window functions on that. Includes built-in support for B + tree, hash, GiST, GiN and custom index types. Support access using a system known as Multi-Version Concurrency Control (MVCC). Native support for many data types including XML support for Xpath queries or UUID. User defined objects, posibility to create new types of almost all objects in the database.
ConsPossible worse performance in read operation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Jugraj S.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018

“Best Database Management System with wide range of Features”

ProsPostgreSQL is one of the best from the range of DBMS i used in my career. Features like Stored Procedures is one of the reason i prefer this tool. It helps me take off a huge amount of workload from the API server as same data need to format differently for different APIs. Along with it the availability of builtin functions like JSON functions, Regex Functions etc helps a lot in the data processing field. Connectors support for various languages is one of the main reason for using this tool. Connection Pooling helps me execute multiple queries without slowing the system and losing any data.
ConsIt is not suitable for beginners. Designing a efficient and effective Database workflow need a skilled DB Admin so a beginner need some time to get to familiar with the system. Another drawback is its management tool pgAdmin 4. Its a disaster compare to pgAdmin 3. It is a web App and lags a lot. I face problems in multitasking in version 4 that is not the case with version 3. I Hope someday somebody provide backward compatibility of PostgreSQL 10+ with pgAdmin 3.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018
George S.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“The most advanced open-source database management system”

OverallWe use PostgreSQL in most of our projects as a primary backend and our experience has been positive.
ProsPostgreSQL is one of the most feature-rich, powerful and advanced open-source database management systems. Though this power comes at a cost. Using PostgreSQL in the best possible way takes some time. PostgreSQL is a real beast and it takes time before one becomes fully familiar with it.
ConsEven with all the power that PostgreSQL gives, there are certain things that are missing. For example, until the latest versions there was no support for partitioning. Lack of a great graphic admin tool is a con in my opinion. Yes, it's possible to use (and we do) third party tools like DBeaver but a great database system must simply have its own admin GUI.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Paolo C.
Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019

“Best ever open source RDBMS”

ProsI love the power and scalability of this wonderful open source software. If like me use it to develop geospatial application you can use the beautiful PostGIS spatial extension.
ConsReplication and backup tools could be improved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019

“Best SQL for Analytics and in terms of speed.”

OverallBy using PostgreSQL as backend database for our large applications which uses large amount of data then selling that applications to customers we are getting benefits.
ProsPostgreSQL is the best I can say. Its performance is very fast in terms of getting data and inserting data. Means if we are inserting entries in bulk then it would do it in a good speed as compared to other databases. It is very good for Analytics and it has good tooling than other databases. It supported many other features like using of arrays which is not in MySql so I would say it is good database to use to make applications.
ConsThe big disadvantage is it takes more memory than other databases if you have many connections and replication is bit difficult in PostgreSQL which might get easy in future updates else it is a good software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Jorge M.
Telecommunications Engineer
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“Rock-solid and high performance database engine”

OverallWe've been relying in PostgreSQL as the main relational database for many of our projects, and it has never let us down. Besides, it just keeps getting better version after version.
ProsHigh availability through streaming replication; High levels of parallel query execution introduced in latest release (v11); Lots of data types supported, including JSON; Transactions support in Stored Procedures; Very stable and reliable; Great community plugins available (like Timescale for TSDB and GIS for geo data)
ConsNative tooling has room for improvement, but there's lots of 3rd party alternatives available; Documentation has room for improvement;
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Trey C.
Software Developer
Program Development, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018

“Best RDBMS”

OverallPostgreSQL is my favorite database management system by a long shot. I've professionally used MySQL, Maria DB, MS SQL Server, SQLite, MS Access, and several NoSQL options and Postgres is the best by far. It has a great community around a great product. The official docs are very approachable and I learn new things every time I use it. They built a strong core around consistency and reliability and ever since 9.0 they've made the system really really fast. I can't recommend this software enough!
ProsVery strong consistency and reliability Feature set is growing rapidly Very fast and efficient Very developer friendly Very extensible
ConsThere are lots and lots of configuration options and the defaults aren't right for modern hardware
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Samantha N.
IT Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018

“The best SQL and open source database.”

OverallBecause range queries are integrated, it is much less effort to query compared to MySQL.
Pros It is fast and reliable, manages inserts and updates of tens of thousands of lines impeccably. PostgreSQL implements SQL standards very well and supports advanced SQL stuff, the PostSQL database works very well with hibernation HPA and we have been using it extensively together with the Spring framework, the consistency is also very good, you will never lose data or lose data. JSON support in the latest version has made things easier for us now, since we do not need to migrate the schema as always before.  Finally, the backup methods through pg_dump are easy to use and ensure that you can always back up before any major changes.
ConsIt is not very intuitive, in my opinion, and I think those problems must be solved before I can get the kind of traction that MySQL has, also more open sources admit mysql but not postgres. These are some of the problems with postgres.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018
Avatar Image
debasis m.
dba
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2019

“postgres review”

ProsI like it is very easy to install and very light weight
ConsIt does not scale horizontally so it is difficult to handle large DBMS system
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2019
Avatar Image
ravi r.
Associate Software Developer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 24, 2018

“Very simple yet powerful”

OverallIt has helped us to remove unnecessary distractions and focus on the main task of reducing time taken for queries. It is very fast and reliable with it's transactions. It helped us with high volumes of data. Postgres FDW was used to connect our existing SQL server databases.
ProsIt has a clean interface and does not tries to get an attractive UI for you. It has very less query time. It provides a good architecture for code first approach projects. We set it up on Linux and it does behaves pretty nice on it. We get to see what what we need to see while querying. It is quiet easy to edit the datatypes and design your schema. Also it provides some nice mining tools which can operate on our data. And the best thing about it is source code availability. We can do whatever we want.
ConsIt is slow for small database sizes but the issue erodes with database size increase. Also it has different syntax which might look complex to some.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 24, 2018
Srikanth V.
Sr MTS
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018

“Very good open source database”

ProsOne of the best open source RDBMS database. Easy to integrate with services and works in high read/writes env. Advanced features like master slave replication are easy to implement and doesn't take too long for training or implementation. Used across the software industry, so it has good forums and blogs to support any issues.
ConsIt is very difficult to install postgres on production servers that doesnt have access to internet. Earlier versions of postgres doesn't support upsert functionality. Doesn't have a good database client. Doesn't have a good monitoring mechanism
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018
Avatar Image
ritesh t.
Senior Software Engineer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018

“Wanted to use an open source object-relational database for our project and postgres worked well”

Pros1)Easy installation with good user guide 2)Scales pretty well for big applications 3)Support for high availability can be easily implemented by going through the documentation 4)Have yet to find any database related issues in our application since the time application was launched 5)Good Java-sql mapping of data types 6)Works wonders with JPA implementations 7)Postgresql's query optimiser is one of the best i have seen so far
ConsAgain since the software has so much to offer it can be sometime hard to learn all the features.Other than that there is no cons as such
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Alvaro I.
Director of Web Development
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018

“Best database for RoR apps”

Pros- Scalability is a key factor in a database and PosgreSQL handle this large amounts of data without breaking a sweat. - Rich text queries runs smoothly as well. - The integration with ActiveRector is awesome!! - I think is the most famous free database in the market right now, so that means that when an error happen you will have a good community that will have your back.
Cons- There isn't many thing to say about PosgreSQL, I will say that the most traumatic part is the installation but once you have it up and running this should be a walk in the park for a developer to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018
Phil S.
Sr. Developer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Runs a 150GB DB containing a quarter million records without breaking a sweat”

ProsPretty much everything, although there are a few features from commercial databases that I'm hoping will make it in. After having used it for several years, and a certain "M" competitor for several years prior, I can confidently say that it's really hard to go wrong in recommending PostgreSQL to anyone with even a small amount of technical knowledge.
Cons- Setting up replication can be a bit tricky - There isn't really a good repository for an up-to-date (or per-version) list of common tips, tricks and queries. Often can be some googling to track down what you're looking for
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Gedson S.
Senior Production Engineer
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“A solid and reliable relational database”

OverallWe've used PostgreSQL as a RDS in several projects, with great results. Its very reliable and robust, which are the best facets you look for in a database.
ProsPostgreSQL has great support for many data types, including JSON. This makes it a very flexible RDB, because you can integrate schema-free documents in your tables, query on the and select their properties. PG 11 also brought a high performance parallel query engine, which greatly boost it's performance.
ConsSecurity and encryptions features have room for improvement, but you can count on some 3rd party plug-ins to fill the gap.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Jordan V.
Developer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2019

“PG is the future”

ProsPG is about as good as it gets. It's a fantastic database solution with every and any feature you could need. It's extensible and very reliable. PG is extremely fast and predictable. If you can get PG offered as a service while hosting your app in the cloud it's a no brainer.
ConsI don't really have any complaints about PG. It can be difficult to upgrade between versions as it's quite strict with how it handles versioning and data, but this can be seen as a pro and not necessarily a con in tight infrastructure scenarios since it is so strict.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2019
Matt M.
IT Support Specialist
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Post-Postgres”

OverallWe have issues with data corruption on our postgres machines that requires full re-installation of the software. I have not experienced this issue with other platforms, luckily this is more "blue moon" type of consistency, and isn't a problem that we need to deal with very often.
ProsPostgresSQL is a fine database manager, and has come as part of an application that we are using every day. As far as configuration on our end, it's literally as simple as installing it - the rest of it basically took care of itself.
ConsNot very intuitive, and it runs a little slow compared to other offerings.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2018

“Easy to setup and configure...”

OverallVery positive. It's a lightweight DB suite that has a ton of power and flexibility.
ProsI really love how easy it is to setup PostgreSQL without having a ton of knowledge about the product. Setting it up on Windows is a breeze (even easier than Microsoft SQL), and you're up and running within 10 minutes. There are also some graphical tools that you can install that allow you to easily manage your PostgreSQL instances via a GUI if you prefer that over a command line interface.
ConsSometimes it can be tough due to version differences to get the proper ODBC connector installed on your Windows box. You end up with multiple connectors that all have slightly different versions, and your application must be sure to specify the exact correct version otherwise it could throw errors. It would be nice if the connectors just stuck with major versions that supported all of the minor releases in that branch.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Cristiano D.
sistemista / programmatore
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018

“Very reliable database”

OverallPostgreSQL is a very reliable, stable and quick RDBMS. In my experience it has no problems managing hundreds of millions of records. From a DBA point of view, has a very low TCO since once configured it seldomly needs further intervention by the DBA. It comes with PostGIS plugin, so it is very easy to manage geographical data types
ProsA very powerful RDBMS at the best price point: free Integrated with spatial extension PostGIS Very quick and stable, it manages flawlessly hundreds of millions of records
ConsTable partitioning is limited Multimaster replicas are available only through a third party distribution
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018
Priyansh S.
Database Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“JSON+RDBMS = Perfect Database”

ProsPostgreSQL is a very special kind of database, it lets you store data in tables in rows and columns form, while giving you flexibility to JSON data types to make your application flexible. It provides support for a large number of complex data types say JSON, JSONb, Text Array, Integer Array, thus giving you a very powerful database tool.
ConsIt gives very good performance for the first few million record in database, but after that you will need to write your SQL queries very carefully as performance is not that good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Jose G.
Consultor Java Senior
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018

“PostgresSQL And web development”

OverallI have used PostgresSQL in my Java Web developments with absolute confidence as its results are as expected in terms of data manipulation.
ProsPostgresSQL is a pretty good product as it allows with an easy installation to access the functionalities of a powerful database manager without sacrificing disk space and ram memory. On the other hand, the fact of using standard SQL ansi provides users with a known syntax.
ConsIn my personal experience postgresSQL does not work well with large volumes of data and it can be tedious to use stored procedures.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Morgan C.
CIO
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018

“De facto RDBMS for the Internet”

OverallWe have run many sites on PostgreSQL with Django at high performance. We use NoSQL where appropriate, but in every case we have still used Postgres for the main data store, and used the key value stores for caching and queueing.
ProsPostgreSQL is open source. We use it for pretty much every site or system we build. It scales well and needs a minimum of tuning. We only fall back to MySQL when absolutely necessary.
ConsWe still encounter software which can only run on MySQL, especially PHP applications. For those we'll tolerate MySQL but otherwise we would prefer PostgreSQL support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Denis V.
MS SQL Server DBA
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“PostgreSQL free RDBMS.”

OverallThis RDBMS can be used in various scenarios, probably more suitable for hosting site data, stable in operation, quickly works with large databases.
ProsIn General, a good performance suitable for systems with weak iron. The system as a whole works very steadily. Flexibly customizable functionality plus extensive plugin support. Large community. The presence of integration with ETL solutions pleases us. I would also like to mention the SQL editor, which implements syntax highlighting in different colors, which gives excellent readability of the code. And the most basic and the main thing is that it is a free open source database management system.
ConsNot very suitable for beginners, requires significant additional time spent on the study. It does not have high availability solutions, nor does it have clustering. Difficult to install and configure. Not very well written documentation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Shreya A.
Quality Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“Fast and Powerful - Best RDBMS”

OverallOur application uses this RDBMS and it works wonders. It makes testing easier and faster. Overall, I'm having a good time working with PostgreSQL and it's features are expanding rapidly.
ProsIt is easy to setup and configure. It's free, robust and reliable to use for heavy duty projects. It also has a perfect UI environment i.e. Pg Admin to run and save your SQL commands. It has a wonderful support page and can be integrated with any language.
ConsThis could sometimes be relatively complicated to operate and understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Jose Antonio M.
Technicall Support Engineer
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Scalability for all apps”

OverallWe thought to use Oracle, but it was too expensive.
ProsOne of the best database servers on the market. With PostgreSQL we can handle high load and high volume data without delays, the documentation is awesome and really clear. Also, the community and support have both the question that normally we search for.
ConsSome queries require a lot of high computability time, but besides that the database establishes good connection and speed. My recommendation would be: use it as your first option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019

“A great free solution”

OverallA great, free solution that is easy to use once you get the hang of it. In fact, you don't really have to write any SQL at all to create, modify and add things to your database.
ProsI love that this software is free. It has an easy to use interface, especially with the more recent updates. It is very easy to find your databases, and create new tables and fields within them.
ConsThere is a steep learning curve when it comes to SQL, but that is the same with any "programming" language. It is something that gets easier over time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019

“Postgresql”

OverallI like the experience with Postgresql, you have not given me the details and it has been my right hand in all developments, it is the engine that is always in my personal and business projects.
ProsMore powerful database engine from my point of view, it can handle large amounts of data, create many functions for processing, compatible with all programming languages, fast response, integration with other tools, enough documentation on the web.
ConsDue to the number of functions and configurations I do not know all of them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Chris d.
Senior Software Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018

“One of the many free but well supported Database products out there.”

ProsPostgreSQL is one of the most simple to install database systems out there. It supports all standard ansi sql types, and is stable enough to use in production without having to splash out on professional support at extensive costs. Getting support can assist in business uses though, but either way, it works well for basic SQL and data storage.
ConsThe package types for advanced management are non-standard and can be a bit of a learning curve if coming from Oracle PLSQL or Microsoft T-SQL
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Best free Database”

OverallI've been using PostgreSQL as a persistence layer for multiple applications, and I didn't have any problems so far - and did I mention that this DB is free?
ProsThis is a free database with all functionalities you expect from your RDBMS. You can connect to it with pretty much anything and it works like a charm. I've been using MS SQL, Oracle and MySql as well, but with PostgreSQL I've had the best experience.
ConsI don't like the new pgAdmin IV tool for accessing DB, it is much slower than the older pgAdmin III.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Eyamir del Valle U.
Ingeniero en Informática
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“It is a fairly complete database manager, with a lot of functionality and a lot of documentation. Be”

OverallIt really is a fairly robust database manager, which allows an excellent data management and a quite complete security implementation, as well as the implementation of procedures that allow to take care of the integrity of the data easily.
Prosits easy use, the robustness in the implementation of the security of the database. Its great functionality, which allows safe and easy use of data.
ConsActually up to now I have not found features that I do not like. The only thing is that sometimes it is a little complicated to get hosting that provide the service for PostgreSQL
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019

“The best SQL database.”

OverallPostgres is my choice for sql database. It is very modern, secure, scalable.
ProsPostgres is the most comprehensive and fully featured database among all sql databases. It is very modern and has some no-sql features.
ConsSetting up Postgres requires some time and resources, it is not as easy to start with as other databases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“PostgreSQL - SQL as we know it”

ProsThe ability to handle huge datasets, ability to query through them efficiently, the ease with which one can use PostgreSQL as a backend for web-applications, all of these facilitate with it being at the top.
ConsWhen datasets grow to a gargantuan amount, PostgreSQL does lag in a way, and if you'd compare it to BigQuery, BigQuery is definitely the champ, but it doesn't have all of the features of PostgreSQL. PG service does need good computational resources.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Muhammad T.
Web Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“The best relational option”

OverallPostgreSQL is a very powerful, great option for large companies that will establish a large database that requires the maximum database manager and needs to squeeze all its benefits.
ProsPostgreSQL is a robust database that provides highly scalable value, offers superior performance to the options presented as their competitors specially for complex queries, provides flexible data types ,it have many extensions one of them is postgis that adds support for geographic objects.
ConsHard learning curve, a lot of GUI controllers are buggy and that is very clear when working on multiple server versions (Backups & restore), the documentation is a bit messy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019
Avatar Image
M. Serhat D.
Lead Software Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“Complete RBDMS and NoSQL Solution”

ProsPostgreSQL is one the best database systems out there. It's a complete solution including rich RBDMS and NoSQL features. PostgreSQL is highly scalable and can deal with huge amounts of write and reads.
ConsPostgreSQL is not easy to learn and configure. It definitely requires much more effort when compared to other database management systems. PostgreSQL administration is a huge topic, and without a good configuration it's hard to obtain performance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Román Josué d.
Data Science Team Lead
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“PostgreSQL took my DB heart”

OverallBeing a database developer has been a much better experience since I met PostgreSQL.
ProsDatabase development is one of my favorite areas in Systems Engineering. But I did not get to know the best of this world until I got into PostgreSQL. In my opinion, PostgreSQL is the best open source choice for databases, and possibly the best choice of all databases engines. It's a very solid choice regardless of OS, or programming language which you are using. The database backups are highly compressed, easy to share and import. The PL-SQL version is one of the best, with object-oriented aspects and arrays. Functions, triggers, and views are also very robust and with high performance.
ConsThe interface to PostgreSQL, namely PgAdmin, is not the greatest GUI to access and manage the databases. It has some bugs and forces you to be active or it will disconnect the session.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Best Production Database”

OverallWe are using Postgres as our main database, we use it to store our client's information, from their personal information to their addresses.
ProsEase of use - since it uses the same principles as MySQL of tables I would highly recommend this DB. Support and tutorials. There are plenty of resources on how to use Postgres, and hence when you happen to get stuck on any functionality there is always a resource to help you out. This is one of the reasons we use it as our production DB.
ConsIts hard to set up. One of the major issues I had was the initial setup locally, Its not as straight forward as expected for such a valuable product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Jash T.
Crazy Senior Software Developer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 25, 2018

“My favourite one”

ProsThe best of databases available in Linux-based hosting. Very efficient, fast, relational and transactional. It has many more possibilities than MySQL, among other things, a lot of unique keys in one table, UUID as a primary key. This is my favorite database, I have been programming it for over 5 years. I recommend to all those who value order and stability.
Consit has no weaknesses, well, maybe only those in love with their MySQL bases :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 25, 2018
Nathan M.
Reports Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Native JSON data type Support!!”

OverallThis is a great solution for adding in JSON datatype support along side standard data types; allowing for mixing and matching of JSON based queries and standard SQL in the same table/schema. Very powerful when leveraged in web services based applications.
ProsPostreSQL has native JSON and JSONB data type support built in, with some really convenient methods for traversing JSON structures.
ConsDocumentation isn't the greatest - I had to use a lot of trial and error for some of the json convenience methods they've added in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Tomas D.
Analista de Base de Datos
Telecommunications, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“A step towards evolution”

Pros I like most about Postgres is its versatility and ease of use, all in a single database engine. It is robust, versatile, simple and there is a great documentation that can be useful in times of difficulty, in addition to that's free and can be used comfortably in production environments (where exist high demands of data) or for environments where it is not necessary to have a high performance. In my company we use Postgres for environments different (quality, production and development) with excellent result.
ConsThere are really some things that I don´t like about Postgres, I could comment on is that when errors occur, I would recommend that in the different information LOGs the errors are shown by code (error code), as happens with other database engines.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
Levi S.
Senior Software Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018

“YES”

OverallPostgreSQL is my go to for databases for the web development work I do. It has a ton of datatypes that are super useful and has a lot of the features found in the giant (and expensive) competitors. This is a fantastic tool.
ProsPostgreSQL is powerful, performant, and a snap to integrate with the languages I use.
ConsThe documentation sometimes doesn't make it immediately obvious which version you are looking at. You have to be really careful you aren't using old documentation with a newer version of the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018
Jorge M.
CTO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2017

“Love your relational database again!”

OverallPostgres is by far the strongest database relational engine, it's a one package solution, it will hold tons of transactions with no problems, it is highly reliable and high performance based. We use Postgres to hold the data for both our web app and Mobile apps, we use a web service layer that interacts directly with the data base and it works like a charm. It will also allow you to store things like JSON objects (JA! Take that MongoDB!) and use those objects and even create search queries based on that data.
ProsEasy to install, high performance, hold many kinds of data fields, highly reliable
ConsThe CLI is not the best option when your tables have several columns
Recommendations to other buyersIf you come from MySql world this is by far the best open source db option that you might use
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“PostgreSQL is my first choice”

OverallI've been working with postgres for more than 2 years. At work, postgres is a standar for database developers so me and the rest of the team have experience working with postgres
ProsPostgres is very fast when it execute sql scripts and I like to program triggers and function on it, it's very easy to work with postgresl in software developing
ConsIt's very difficult for me when I need to restore a backup, sometime it works but sometimes it doesn't, but this is something I can resolve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Carlos Alberto P.
Especialista de Desarrollo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“The best database manager in the market”

ProsGreat distribution of resources for complex queries,highly configurable allowing thus adapting it to the needs of those who implement it, Allows you to set limits on incoming connections to avoid unwanted timeouts by developers
ConsThere are few negative things that can be said about postgresql, however the PGADMIN, which is its graphical interface, has been its achilles heel from version 4.0 onwards, using the console preferably
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018