QuickBooks Non-Profit Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About QuickBooks Non-Profit

Accounting software for Non-Profits including donor & grant tracking, donation process & fundraising, and tax preperation. Learn more about QuickBooks Non-Profit

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 118 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 118 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Bob T.
Online Radio Expert/Host; Podcast Host; Ordained Minister/Award Winning Author/Prof. Public Speaker
Non-Profit Organization Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Over 10 years of complete satisfaction!”

Overall100 percent satisfied. I have been approached with offers to switch. I turn every single one of them down. QuickBooks has proven to be to be the absolute best software for me to use in this area.
ProsI love QuickBooks for Non-Profits! I have used this software exclusively for the past 10 years with no problems at all. I have received numerous compliments from Board Members of the accuracy and detail I provide when it comes to our financial reports. I have been told I provide the best reports they have seen (many are members of other non-profit boards). It is all accomplished with just a few clicks and the reports printed out!
ConsIt does take a bit of getting used to. Especially when you are first setting up the system. Once it is set up, it runs along fine. One thing to make sure of is the category of the items you are entering. Otherwise, your reports will contain mis-categorized information. Be sure to check over your reports for accuracy in that area. If identified, it is a simple fix - but you must check it over.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on September 11, 2019
Hearing that you've enjoyed using QuickBooks for so many years makes our day, Bob! We're thrilled to know that you're able to confidently present accurate data with the reports you've created without breaking a sweat. You can continue rely on us to have your back for years to come. It sounds like you're a pro, but if you ever need any assistance, we recommend checking out the Community. Here, you'll find detailed articles and advice from fellow users and QuickBooks Team members: https://community.intuit.com/ Thanks for an awesome review! Morgan, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Curran H.
Admin Assistant
Public Policy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019

“Complicated Software, With Deep Capability”

OverallOverall I find it very helpful. It is easy to enter and find bills. It had a steep learning curve, but once overcome, it is extremely helpful software.
ProsThe ability to find any transaction, bill very fast. There are reports that can be deeply customized, bills can be searched easily, and it is easy to switch between companies.
ConsIt has too many features! It has a million options, and options within options. If you are inexperienced with the software, it can be hard to find what you are looking for. Once you do find things it becomes quite simple.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on August 22, 2019
We love knowing you've been able to locate the transactions you're looking for quickly and easily, as well as create customized reports to view specific data, Curran! We wanted to make sure to provide as many options and features as possible to meet your business needs. To find out more about how certain features work in QuickBooks, we invite you to check out our video tutorials: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/tutorials/ Thanks for a great review! Morgan, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019
Sue E.
Executive Director
Motion Pictures and Film, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“My experience with quickbooks has been very positive.”

Overalleasy to use and teach makes our ability to do work very easy
Proseasy to use easy to teach functions are compatible with our organization's operations Allows a lot of customization for reports
Consnot cheap tech support is too expensive some updates are not necessary. Seem to occur just so it can be said that it was updated.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on June 15, 2018
I want you to have all the info you deserve about why support incurs a fee and the reasons behind updates, Sue. While many subscription-based products have support included in the monthly charge (like Online), our standalone Desktop products are billed once upon purchase. Instead of charging more for the product itself, the price is kept at a lower rate by offering advanced support separately. There's more about support plans, and what you can still get without them, at https://community.intuit.com/articles/1501198. Additionally, the need to upgrade the program, and discontinue older products, is a decision predicated on the assurance you will receive top of the line software and support. As older products are retired, all attention can be given to the most secure and feature-laden service on the market. Before I forget, thanks for reaching out with your review. Happy filming to you and your team at Rehoboth Beach Film Society, by the way. Break a leg! Jess, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Theresa K.
Operations Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“QuickBooks Nonprofit”

ProsCould not do my job without it. QuickBooks is easy and intuitive to use, and it's easy to fix or undo mistakes. I can't imagine doing the bookkeeping any other way. Since it is so widely used, there are plenty of classes and tutorials available. I love the specific nonprofit features, such as classes.
ConsStill impossible to do true fund accounting with Quickbooks. We use classes for each program and subclasses for each project, which is a lot of work but is necessary to properly track our employees' time. Producing a correct balance sheet by class is technically possible but very difficult and prone to error.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on September 5, 2019
Sharing the workload to make your job easier is our goal, Theresa! We think it's awesome you've enjoyed using QuickBooks for all of your bookkeeping needs and that we've been a key component of your day to day business life. To learn tips and tricks on how other non-profit organizations are getting the most out of the software, we recommend checking out the Community: https://community.intuit.com/ We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us! Morgan, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Maurice T.
Accounting Supervisor
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 12, 2017

“QB Nonprofit easy to use”

OverallUser friendly.
Pros QB Nonprofit desktop is easy to use with its flexibility and options which includes name search for customers and vendors and its versitility in financial statements. The classes allow us to get financial statements by class or department which are also very useful. Along with our main department (church) we also have 2 schools, so the software allows us to get financial statements for just the schools. We also use the budgets and get financial statements that show comparisons to budget projections. Dollar to dollar and percentage comparisons. Budgets are easy to prepare. Numbers that are exactly to same from month to month can just be copied across the entire year and don't have to be entered into each month individually.
Cons1. Sometimes have to wait a long time (as much as 45 minutes) to get telephone support. 2. No name search for employees.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 12, 2017
Alissa W.
Operations Director
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018

“A must for non-profits”

ProsOf course QuickBooks is the must have financial program for all your financial needs. The non profit version allows you to also track donations and the reports are titled for non profit reporting.
ConsA bit tricky when you have a question, but I do like the forum for users.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on September 12, 2018
Thanks a ton for the review, Alissa. I'm delighted to read we're meeting the needs of your non-profit, as we're more than proud to be backing you and your team. I'm glad you've had a chance to check out our aptly-named Community forum space (https://intuit.me/2rJQ95o), so have you had a chance to find us on Facebook (Intuit QuickBooks) and Twitter (QBCares) yet? We have chat-based representatives monitoring the customer comments and messages coming through those channels, and it'd be their pleasure to answer any questions you may have. Keep up the excellent work, by the way! Jess, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018

“Quickbooks is a basic accounting software that helps to keep the books up to date.”

OverallI would recommend Quickbooks to small organizations that need a basic accounting software, small to mid volume of vendors/invoices.
ProsEasy to use (General Ledger) Some flexibility downloading information to Excel (General Ledger) Price
ConsFixed Assets functionality is only available in Single-User mode Merchant activity is not applied automatically as promised if you have more than one GL account Reports are very rigid It does not have a report designer that gives the flexibility to download information Unable to upload activity from Excel without a 3rd party software It does not have account reconciliation system to keep track of balance sheet accounts

Vendor Response

By Intuit on February 2, 2018
This is something we can help you with. Please reach out to us at QBCares@Intuit.com so we can provide you with further support. Thanks for your feedback! Nathaniel, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Individual & Family Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Very helpful”

ProsSoftware is very helpful and easy to use especially if you don't understand the nonprofit exceptions.
ConsCan become a little pricey as you build and continue services.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on November 20, 2018
Happy Tuesday, and thanks a ton for reaching out with this review. It's affirming to read the program has been an especially helpful addition to your nonprofit. Since you mentioned price, I want to ensure you're getting the best value available for your organization. Rest assured, there are cost-efficient options in place, and it'd be my pleasure to discuss them with you. My inbox at QBCares@Intuit.com is open, and I have the tools to help. In the meantime, feel welcome to contact the product experts on Facebook (Intuit QuickBooks) and Twitter (QBCares) should you have questions. They're open M-F from 8 a.m. until 10 p.m. EST. Until we chat again, take it easy! Jess, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Sharon S.
Accountant
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019

“Excellent Software”

ProsQuickbooks Nonprofit is an excellent software. Granted it does take a while to learn how to customize individual reports, but I have been using it for years and it I can't think of a more straight forward software to use for nonprofit clients.
ConsQuickbooks tends to slow down the laptop a touch.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on August 30, 2019
Excellent and straight forward are descriptions we aim for, Sharon, and we love knowing this is what you think of QuickBooks! You can continue to depend on us to help with all of your non-profit's bookkeeping needs. We recommend this article to keep everything running at optimal performance: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/community/Getting-Started/How-do-I-clear-my-browser-cache-and-temporary-Internet-files/m-p/186420 Thanks for taking a moment to leave a review. Morgan, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2019
Kat P.
Finance Associate
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Great option for small to medium size non-profits”

OverallQuickbooks allows non-profits to easily store and manage their financial data. It is very easy to learn the system and, because of this, can be easily integrated in to the workplace. Overall, I think QB is a great system for nonprofits that are too small for a large system like Intacct.
ProsThe software is easy-to-use and intuitive. What I particularly like about Quickbooks is that there are several different ways to do a task. Financial information is very easy to enter, maintain and process. One of the best features of QB are the reports, which are very customizable and helpful for understanding who owes you, who you owe, etc. Finally, there are many add-ons, which is very helpful and would allow most non-profits to run an organization entirely through the program if they chose.
ConsQuickbooks seems to be continually improving its systems and the company really seems to listen to customer feedback. That being said, there are several functions that can be frustrating. For example, undoing reconciliations. In addition, while the reports are very customizable, their features are not exhaustive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
William T.
Staff Accountant
Medical Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Great for a small to medium sized business.”

ProsMy company uses Quickbooks Nonprofit specifically for payroll services. It has certain features absent from quickbooks online. Namely the ability to use multiple classes for an individual. The software is very affordable and if you work for a small to medium sized nonprofit organization, this is probably the best value. The software is very user friendly, and even a non-accountant can be quite proficient.
ConsThe software is not easily transfered to other software programs. For instance, even when you export a report to Excel, it includes blank spaces between columns, and some include row headers in different columns. This makes some cleaning up necessary if a pivot table is desired.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Raymond Y.
Accounting Assistant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Pretty Good”

OverallQB Non Profit is just better than other Normal Version with featuring the some specially designed function that help non profits organization managing their finance more effectively.
Pros QB Non Profit has everything that you might expect any QB products with its product category; However, QB Non Profit is just better than other Normal Version with featuring the some specially designed function that help non profits organization managing their finance more effectively.
ConsCustomer Support, they try to sell you a newer version of Quick books rather than fixing the issues that you have on your current Quick Books
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“Solid choice for simple accounting”

OverallWe are able to use Quickbooks to carry out all of our financial functions and easily keep track of everything. I would definitely use it unless you need high volume programs and can afford software that integrates other functions (like donor tracking, record keeping, etc)
ProsQuickBooks Non-Profit is an excellent choice for nonprofit accounting. IT is very easy to enter information, make adjustments and run reports. As a nonprofit, we are constantly generating that information for grants and donors - so it is very easy.
ConsManaging donor data is easy to a point, if you have another donor database you might run into some difficulty trying to track contributions or donations.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on June 18, 2018
I'm beyond pleased to see how easy QuickBooks has made managing your organization, and appreciate the review. With this said. I'd like to discuss which point the donor database gives you trouble. Because the system easily integrates with other programs, I'll find steps you can take to keep tracking simple. Could you send me an email directly at qbcares@intuit.com? I'll dig right in, and look forward to hearing from you. Jess, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Barry S.
Bookkeeper
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 19, 2018

“Everything a Nonprofit needs financially ”

OverallI don't like the lack of support after two years. But the community of QuickBooks users is so large that help can be found almost anywhere.
ProsThis program is customizable to the needs of each Nonprofit. It can be used as a standalone program or a networked financial database. It has all the necessary functions to do all daily, monthly, and yearly financial paperwork for a small to medium-sized Non-profit.
ConsThe learning curve can be steep. Prior experience with the program or with accounting is very useful. Set up should be done by a professional CPA to ensure it's tracking all the needed items for IRS reporting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“User Friendly!”

ProsThis software is user friendly and very easy to use.
ConsI can't think of anything that I don't like about Quickbooks.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on May 3, 2019
I'm thrilled QuickBooks has left a positive impression on you, as comments like yours are a pleasure to come across. It's affirming to know you've seen the software grow, as the engineers work hard to roll out exciting enhancements. So you can stay in the loop for what's to come next, I invite you to bookmark the QB Blog at https://quickbooks.intuit.com/blog/whats-new/. We wouldn't be who we are without a customer like you, by the way. Thanks for being more than a friend, but a member of the QuickBooks family! Grant, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Kellianne M.
Financial Manager
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“Great small business software”

Overallease of use and most reporting.
ProsReporting is mostly good, easy entries solving the double entry accounting needed in a single entry; vendor set up is easy;customer invoicing is streamlined; bill paying is clear
ConsThis software will not perform detailed reports for donor tracking; cannot compare actual to budgeted costs at a single point in time for actuals, that is, cannot run a report to show actuals to date versus an annual budget which is the most frustrating thing about quickbooks, reporting has to be to a month or a year compared to the same period.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Kimber J.
Office Manager
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Books made easy”

ProsIt is very user friendly. All the books for our clients are in the same place.
ConsSometimes the autofill can mess you up. It can be turned off but is usually helpful.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on August 13, 2019
Hi Kimber! We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying using QuickBooks and that it has made it easier to keep track of all your clients' books. Should you ever need assistance with the autofill not working properly, we recommend reaching our to our Community team: (https://community.intuit.com). There you'll also find self-help articles as well as discussions with your peers on a number of topics. Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Jen, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Steve I.
Treasurer and co-founder
Performing Arts, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2016

“Great software but still issues ”

OverallI used to use Quicken years ago and have been using Quickbooks non-profit for my theater company. It is accurate, fairly straight forward, but little things are still not fixed. I have favorites (e.g.: Report of checks written and not cleared) they disappear and hsvdvthey recdo them every other day. A minor problem, but I was hoping this would have been fixed by version 2016. Sadly it wasn't. Would I recommend this product for a non-profit? Yes, yes I would!
ProsFairly easy to use Great backup features Excellent reporting Use of "classes" to split my theater shows
ConsSlight learning curve Poor customer support
Recommendations to other buyersBest accounting software for nonprofits
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2016
Daniel M.
Web Development and Digital Media Coordinator
Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Overall, QuickBooks is a really helpful accounting software”

OverallIt is very easy to use and accurate!
ProsMakes it easy to make invoices and donation statements. Nice way to see customer history and keep up with who owes money and who doesn't.
ConsDirect deposit and tax payment services are kind of pricy. We changed to a different software due to the cost. A lot of times when we have to call tech support it is hard to understand the tech. I know this is farmed out overseas and that is fine, but would be nice if phone connections were better and accents weren't so thick.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Romy F.
Associate Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“Quickbooks for nonprofits good for small organizations ”

Overall20 plus years helping organizations implement and manage their finances.
ProsThe nonprofit features are good. Most helpful to us is the class structure where we can track projects and report in them, as well as role them up into functional classes.
ConsIt would be nice to be able to lock periods.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on July 30, 2019
Hi Romy! We're thrilled to hear QuickBooks is helping your non-profit keep track of projects and stay organized. Being able to choose periods of time to lock would be a great feature, so we've submitted your feedback to our developers. The best way to lock a period currently is by closing the books, however, this is limited to the end of your fiscal year. The system will do this for you automatically and you can add a closing date password to prevent changes being made in the previous year. More information on how this works can be found here: https://community.intuit.com/articles/1773838. Thank you for the review and here's to a great year for your organization! Jen, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Debbie C.
Operationa Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 19, 2019

“Even a non-accounting person can follow the money”

ProsI am not an accountant but when thrown into that position since no one else was available, I made easy work of figuring out how to navigate around the system. I actually couldn't believe how easy it was to use especially things like entering and paying bills. I am very pleased with the system.
ConsFor some reason, this software takes forever to open. None of my other programs do this. It always seems to bog down and will sometimes freeze up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Celeste G.
Operations Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018

“Great”

ProsIt never felt like the non-profit version held back any of the features we needed in order to thoroughly account for our non-profit revenue & expenses. I loved that we could customize the chart of accounts which makes it much easier when preparing our 990 and other financial reports. Quickbooks made it very easy to connect with our bank and import transaction data, which is a huge time save.
ConsIt's restricted to use on the computer it's installed on. We've since migrated to Quickbooks Online because of the cloud-based nature.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on September 12, 2018
Happy Wednesday, Celeste. I'm delighted you found the product that works best for the nature of your non-profit, as we're proud to be backing you. You're the best part of QuickBooks, which is why we've created self-help and support spaces like our aptly-named Resource Center (https://intuit.me/2rI3OKd) with you in mind. Check it out anytime, since it's the central hub of workflow tips and how-to tutorials. I loved reading about how the customization options and feature-set in the cloud-based service have helped The First Tee, by the way. Thanks a ton for sharing your comments! Jess, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018
Kathy L.
Database Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Love the thought that went into making sure it was ready for non-profit users.”

OverallQB is very forgiving when you make a mistake.
ProsI love that QB and Intuit researched out what a non-profit needed (or could use) to better manage relationships with their constituents. They created a lot of reports that i never would have come up with myself, but that we use on a weekly basis.
ConsSometimes I get lost when trying to do certain tasks. The names they use are not in my vernacular so I stumble a bit. It also has lost settings before that cause it mess with the way my data is displayed.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Bruce C.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018

“I used Quickbooks for Non-Profits at a church where i served as pastor.”

ProsI loved the detailed reporting that Quickbooks for Non-Profits provided, and the similarity with Quickbooks for Businesses, so that volunteers who were already trained in the Business version could easily mange the Non-Profit version.
ConsI found setting up the Non-Profit version of Quickbooks a little awkward. I wish it had been transformed more into the common language of non-profits.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on January 30, 2018
Thanks for the great review! I'm glad to hear the reporting is working well for you. To have your company reflect things like Donors and Revenue & Expenditures you just need to change a couple options in Account and Settings in the Gear menu. Company settings will have a Tax form option you can switch to Non-Profit and then go to the Advanced tab for changing the Customer label to whatever your company needs. Let us know if you need any other help setting up your account for running a non-profit! The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2018
James M.
Co-Founder
Philanthropy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 28, 2019

“QuickBooks for Nonprofits: Your Best Investment!”

OverallWe were very happy to find out we could incorporate this software in to our online Merchant Account!
ProsAs a Nonprofit we have to keep track of a lot of details and Quickbooks has everything we've ever needed! Also something we weren't aware of until we purchase QuickBooks and started to use it was that it could be incorporated with online stores and merchant accounts! That was a Big Deal for our Board of Directors!
ConsThere is a little bit of a learning curve but if you've ever used any of these types of software before it's easy peesy!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 28, 2019
Lynette S.
Office Manager
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 3, 2018

“Easy to Use-Easy to Understand”

ProsThe ability to couple this product with Intuit's payroll service allows for the easiest accounting you could ask for. Also, Customer Service goes the extra mile whenever there is an issue. They stay on the line until there is a resolution!
ConsI don't like being "up-sold". I am content with the product I have and don't need to be constantly bombarded with offers to upgrade.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 3, 2018
Cristy B.
Business Manager
Philanthropy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 20, 2018

“Quickbooks makes my job a heck of alot easier.”

OverallI've been using Quickbooks for a little over 5 years. I'm always learning better processes and how to financially manage my non-profit with ease and comfort.
ProsI enjoy the ease of setting up new company files and effective recording. Automatic updates is awesome!
ConsThere is not enough hands on training available in my area. I'm a quick learner but sometimes it's difficult to find the best solution to my questions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 20, 2018
Michelle H.
Business Manager
Philanthropy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 2, 2018

“Great experience”

Pros- All of the basics are here! Even has nonprofit-specific reports. Any CRM should integrate with Quickbooks seamlessly.
Cons- To use the Nonprofit-specific reports, you must be using customers (donors). Some CRM's do not import with customers here (for example, one organization I work with's CRM imports the donor name into the Memo field, so the nonprofit reports are useless to them).
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 2, 2018
Tony G.
Data Analytics Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2018

“Great financial package for non-profits, at a price”

ProsEveryone knows QuickBooks. If you are a non-profit, then even better! You now have Quickbooks functionality, built with all the things a 501(c)3 needs to keep their books in order. You no longer have to worry about the IRS audit. Instead, just keep up to date on your QuickBooks Non-Profit tasks, and you will be set!
ConsPricing model for this is a bit funky. You are paying for a higher end system. But I feel like QuickBooks should do more to cater to the budget strapped non-profit corporations. If you are looking for something for more value, you can certainly find it.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on February 1, 2018
It's possible that the version you are using has more features than you need. Take a look at our products page to see if there is a better fit: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/pricing/. Thanks for your review! Nathaniel, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Kudos to Quickbooks”

ProsGreat way to track income and expenses for our small non-profit organization. Quickbooks is a well-established and recognized name that is trustworthy and reputable. The software is stable and reasonably easy to use, considering its scope.
ConsGetting it setup can be a bit intimidating if you're not familiar with accounting terminology.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on August 19, 2019
Referring to us as trustworthy and reputable is music to our ears! We're happy to assist you with tracking income and expenses for your organization. To learn tips and tricks on setting up your account, we recommend checking out our video tutorials (https://quickbooks.intuit.com/tutorials/). To get familiar with accounting lingo, we invite you to check out our Community page: https://community.intuit.com/ Thanks for a great review! Morgan, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Lynette S.
Office Manager
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2018

“Great Customer Service ”

OverallHad a problem with end of the year tax withholding. It was brought to my attention by QuickBooks. The rep, walked me through the correction, made sure the appropriate forms were retroactively corrected, and got my returns done within 72 hours!
ProsQuickBooks is easy to understand and navigate. If something doesn't make sense, customer service will stay on the line until there is clarity and/or a correction.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 9, 2018
JaNae F.
Operations Director
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 21, 2017

“Helpful Software”

OverallThere are glitches in the system sometimes such as the register balance not totaling correctly or a payroll item that has been added not showing up when payroll is done. Overall it is a great program.
ProsIt makes payroll very simple. The automatic tax updates ensures that I'm always using the correct rates.
ConsThe learning curve. QuickBooks can do just about anything, but you have to know where and how to find it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 21, 2017
Ricardo R.
Assistant Finance Officer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017

“Pleasant Experience!”

ProsI like the organization that the Quickbooks provides and the ease of software. Great for anyone starting a small business. Quickbooks worked great during our company golf event. Was able to charge everyone via an iPad which made things so easy.
ConsThe software needs to be refined a little more. The desktop edition consumes more RAM than it should. A strong PC is definitively needed to run the software effectively and efficiently. Also some of the software features need to be made a little more user-friendly.
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017
Avatar Image
Tarcea W.
Founder
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2019

“QuickBooks makes financial management Easy!”

OverallWe make several transactions as a church and we want to be honest and accountable for our financial activities. QuickBooks makes this simple and easy for us to do.
ProsQuickBooks makes it super easy for our church to manage finances and keep track of every transaction. It also makes it very easy for us to manage tax information and payroll.
ConsNo complaints at all about QuickBooks. The software contains all that we could ask for to help with managing our finances all around.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on August 15, 2019
You can rest easy knowing that QuickBooks has your back with managing finances and taxes, Tarcea. We recommend our free webinars to ensure you're getting the most out of the software for your organization: https://intuit.me/2rDBlWL Thanks for the stellar review! David, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2019
Paula A.
Office Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2018

“User friendly”

ProsQuickbooks is pretty user friendly. Gives prompts to let you know if what you are doing could cause a problem.
ConsProbably customer service. Hard to get a hold of someone and when you do they are hard to understand.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on February 13, 2018
It's great to have an accounting program that make sure your accounting is done right! Thank you for the review. Aaron, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2018
Julie W.
District Administrative Secretary
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2018

“Excellent program for non-profit bookkeeping.”

OverallProgram fits the needs of our small non-profit business and reduces significant time for accounting and bookkeeping records.
ProsEntering data, printing reports, searching for transactions are simple to do. Multiple users can be limited to their specific bookkeeping tasks. Year end information and tax information is easily accessible.
ConsThe interface isn't as intuitive as I'd like for searching "how to" do a particular task. Such as setting up your email preferences.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on February 6, 2018
Happy to hear QuickBooks is giving you some time back in your days! If you're unable to find help in-product, we also provide a Community site that can help, especially with email setup: https://community.intuit.com/articles/1501520-set-up-your-email-service-in-quickbooks-desktop Aaron, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2018
Terry S.
Bookkeeper/IT Support/Development Team
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2017

“Does a great job with reporting and A/P”

OverallWe to all our accounting functions and reporting for our non profit
ProsEase of use, user friendly. How it alerts you that it can handle the adjusting journal entry for you. Good reporting features and integration to Excel
ConsTrying to find answers through the help system is cumbersome. Needs more help in being more user friendly in creating custom forms.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018

“Working with Quickbooks”

OverallQuickbooks is a very effective software with great advantages. It is user friendly and makes keeping the books organized.
ProsI like that this software provides use for non-profit organizations. The accounting is a bit different for such entities and Quickbooks considers these factors into the program.
ConsYou can only use accounts receivable or accounts payable accounts in one transaction. If there are various entries to edit you must do them one at a time. Net income for restricted funds closes to the unrestricted equity account rather than the restricted fund balance. This causes a need to create an additional entry to adjust this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Justin H.
Garden Director
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“Simply the best solution for keeping our books in order”

OverallWe find it very useful for our small business.
ProsI like how QuickBooks has been at the top of the market for so long and continues to improve
ConsThe pricing change when QuickBooks went cloud based.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on September 24, 2018
Hi Justin. I'm thrilled we're doing our part to keep your books in order, as we're proud to be by the side of PowellsWood Garden. Since we're always working to improve our product, swing by our Blog at https://intuit.me/2L2zqTv. We use this space to post about new and coming changes, so bookmark it and check back anytime. Should you have any questions about pricing, please feel more than free to reach out to me directly (QBCares@Intuit.com). I have the tools and visibility to discuss some cost-saving options, so I'll be on the lookout for a message with your name on it. Jess, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Ariagiegbe K.
Finance and Administrative Manger
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 12, 2017

“Experience with Quickbooks ”

OverallQuickBooks is generally a user friendly software and I highly recommend it to mist small not for profit organizations
ProsQuickBooks is user friendly accounting software for non profit organizations. Posting and reviewing
ConsBudget inputs and analysis need to be improved on. It is difficult to do your budget evaluation on it
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 12, 2017
Darleen L.
Business Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017

“Have used for 30+ years ”

ProsLove the ease of usage. Reconciliation process is easy. Updating vendor and customer information is easy esp merging records
ConsThe update feature can be glitchy after it downloads them. QB wants to use DNS already in use. Using on a shared server can cause problems if users don't update at the same time.
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017
Tacita H.
Mental Health Specialist
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Great Software to help keep track of any payments and recipts. ”

ProsWhat I like most about this software is that it keeps track of your important documents and you can always go back and track them if need be.
ConsThere is nothing least I like about this software it is great.

Vendor Response

By Intuit on August 13, 2019
Hi Tacita! It makes our day to hear QuickBooks has helped you keep track of your finances and stay organized. Having access to your important documents when you need them is essential to ensuring your business runs smoothly. We'll be sure to continue enhancing our software to make handling daily task even easier. To hear news on what our developers are currently working on, be sure to check out our blog: (https://intuit.me/2L2zqTv). Thank you for the wonderful review and we wish you continued success! Jen, The QuickBooks Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Naomi B.
Front Desk / Accounting
Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 27, 2018

“Worth it!!!”

OverallI love this system and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a donor management system that can do it all !
ProsIts got all the bells and whistles. it can pull donation information directly from the donation page.you can keep lots of information on donors and use that information to do searches.
ConsIt can get really pricey but you pay for what you get also it take awhile to learn but the customer service line is always there to help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 27, 2018
Brian B.
Founder/President
E-Learning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2017

“Perfect for Non-Profits of Any Size”

OverallWe've been using Quickbooks Non-Profit edition for several years and found it found helpful in meeting all of our needs. The integration with our online donation tools is a wonderful feature that saves us a lot of time. It is the perfect fit for a non-profits of any size.
ProsAll of these features make it a great tool: Send and track custom invoices, Track income and expenses, Create and manage estimates, Sync bank accounts and apps, Manage and pay bills Instant sales and profit reports, Track inventory, Prepare and print 1099s.
ConsWe have not found anything that we don't like and the new versions always include new features.
Recommendations to other buyersQuickbooks Non-profit edition is an incredible value for a small investment!
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2017
Avatar Image
John C.
Educational/Leadership Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018

“Best accounting software out there”

ProsLove it -- it helps us keep up to date on our budget with numerous users; it's also very easy to use with much online support.
ConsThe monthly price is a little steep especially for nonprofits. Also, the phone app only has limited functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2018
Beth D.
Administrator, Accounting & HR
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2018

“Administrator, Accounting & HR”

ProsThis product is easy to use. The report features allow you to report on anything. I also like being able to download reports into Excel.
ConsSometimes Quickbooks will not start and we have to reboot the quickbooks server to get it to work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2018
Mary R.
Finance
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 5, 2017

“Quickbooks non profit”

ProsLove that this accounting software is easy to use and efficient to maintain. Purchase through tech soup and the price is discounted
ConsWould like the ability to open multiple companies at the same time, but that is only available when using Enterprise version
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 5, 2017
Jason H.
Finance Officer
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Excellent Product for the Small to Medium Enterprises”

OverallProductivity and efficiency at a low cost.
ProsQuickBooks Non-For-Profit is an inexpensive tool with powerful features. Ease of use being one of the best pros.
ConsNot being able to collapse and expand reports like the older version of the non non-for-profits version.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Christine T.
IT Manager
Fishery, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“QuickBooks Non-Profit - easy to use”

OverallOur accounting department is running smoothly with this software!
ProsWe had 2014 non-profit software and it was so easy to upgrade to newer version 2017 non-profit software. Things went smoothly with the upgrade to our server and for other 2 users.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2017

“Quickbooks is very user-friendly.”

OverallI would rather use this program than any other bookkeeping software that I know.
ProsQuickbooks is very easy to use. From reporting to creating budgets to check writing to bank recs, this program is super!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2017