Praesto AE Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Praesto AE

Our AE solution is created specifically for Architects and Engineers. It includes, Job Tracking, Project Management, Time Slips, Invoicing, Correspondence, Notes Diary, and other practice management modules. Our FC solution is designed for facility managers who need to track CIP projects and related them to Facilities and/or Campuses. This tools also tracks your funding sources. Learn more about Praesto AE

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 20 of 20 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 20 of 20 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Shirlene C.
Accountant
Architecture & Planning, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 19, 2015

“LOVE Praesto!”

ProsThe staff at BaseBuilders have been so easy to work with! After spending 16 months unsuccessfully trying to implement a different software, we were leery of investing a lot of time and money into yet another product. I made an online query about price and within an hour we got a phone call. We were able to schedule a webinar for the next day and a second the following week for our owners. We were already using QuickBooks (QB) prior to the unsuccessful launch so Praesto seemed to be a natural fit for us. I created a new QB file so it would be easy to track how Praesto integrated with QB. With BaseBuilders support and the tools they have available, I was ready to go live in less than 6 weeks. It would have taken less time if I started the process before the 1st of the year and not 6 weeks after. That 6 weeks included the time it took to create the new QB file with all year-to-date transactions. The software is easy and almost fun to use, the data it provides is very useful and it all just makes sense! If we have questions or problems, the staff at BaseBuilders is super responsive! They regularly reach out to us if they haven't heard from us to make sure we are happy with the program. A huge selling point to this program was that we got all of the features WITH unlimited technical support for one very affordable price.
ConsAfter 5 months, I haven't found anything I don't like about BaseBuilders or Praesto. I might be a little biased after the experience with the product we were unsuccessful in implementing, but any issues we've had have been quickly and successfully addressed.
Recommendations to other buyersI would highly suggest asking if the company has a demo file or if they will allow you to test the program with minimal investment. Our first program was VERY cumbersome and nothing about it was easy, including running reports. A huge factor in looking for a program besides QuickBooks was that the owners and project managers should be able to access project data without waiting for the bookkeeper/accountant to generate bunch of reports, out of a software or Excel. QuickBooks is a great accounting program but isn't able to do direct/overhead at the project level. Once I got the projects set up, got the fees in and timesheets year to date in, the owners could see their projects and were highly impressed. I would also do research to be sure your network can handle the new software. Make SURE you search for customer reviews! We found a number of options before deciding on Praesto but quickly dismissed them after reading reviews.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 19, 2015
Anthony P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2012

OverallWe have been using Project Management software on the Macintosh for the last twelve years and this is simply the program "You Must Have" if you are in the A/E community. Not only is this a robust solution to Digital Project Management, but it also runs on the Macintosh by using Filemaker as the database. We have been working with BaseBuilders for over a year now and have watched this program blossom into a very robust solution that covers every aspect of a project's life from proposal to closeout. Implementation was straightforward. We where running ArchiOffice and the data generated from that program was easily transferred to the new system. BaseBuilders to this day have always been simply a phone call away and the Owner actually calls you to help you resolve problems. The program allows you to develop proposals, track time and cost and then convert that proposal into a live project. Forecasting of cash flow and the project tracking of payables and receivables has been an invaluable tool for our firm. We recently installed the latest upgrade and where happy to see a few of the upgrades we had requested from BaseBuilders to handle administrative duties during construction. Simply stated, software is only as good as the customer support behind it, and everyone writing and selling software should take a lesson or two from these guys.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 12, 2012
Judy W.
Office Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2015

“LOVE PRAESTO!!”

ProsI found the software to be logical and easy to use (after a learning curve, of course!). We replaced software we had used for 28 years with Praesto and Quick Books. Moving the necessary data to Quick Books is very easy - even more so after this last update. I have called for technical support several times and the attitude is always "I can help you with that." We were able to get our data imported in easily and began to use the program for basic functions. We have used it for several months now and are beginning to utilize more of the functions as we become more familiar with the software
ConsI don't have any complaints about the product or the vendor.
Recommendations to other buyersTake advantage of a money back trial period. We subscribed on a monthly basis to be sure we wanted to continue to use it. After 3 months, we purchased the annual subscription to save money.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2015
justin a.
Project Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 16, 2018

“Good software to track time, mileage, and project billing”

ProsIt is easy to set up projects and have multiple people log their hours. Far easier than doing it manually. Makes end of the month timekeeping and billing much easier. Being able to link Praesto with Quickbooks is a huge plus.
ConsThe program tends to slow my computer down when using the software. It would be nice if the software was cloud-based rather than server-based
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 16, 2018
David H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 24, 2012

OverallAs a small engineering firm we handled all of our accounting through QuickBooks but needed something to help our Project Managers manage their project budgets, schedules, and office manpower. We found Praesto AE and after learning more decided Praesto looked like it was written for us. We now use Praesto timesheets for all of our time entry, which allows us to see real time staff utilization, monitor project budgets, easy invoicing, proposal tracking, etc. Praesto has been easy to learn and use. The customer support has by far been the best I have ever seen from any company in my career. Praesto AE has greatly benefited our firm and all of our project managers. Each manager can quickly and easily check budgets so they can spend more time focused on clients and projects.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 24, 2012
Mike K.
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 7, 2014

“Great Product !!! ”

ProsWe looked for years to find a product that would fit our small firms. We had trial copies of the Delteks of the world, but for a small company, we needed a product that was easy to implement, had great service help, and integrated completely with Quickbooks! Praesto did all that for us. It's priced right for the small business and gives us the reporting that we need to be profitable.
ConsI would like for it to be web-based instead of server-based.
Recommendations to other buyersUse the team at Praesto to help you get up and running. That is what they are there for.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 7, 2014
Arthur G.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 29, 2012

OverallPreasto AE is the replacement for another Filemaker based accounting and management system our design firm had used for years. As we were already familiar with Filemaker, the transition was easy. The Preasto team has been very diligent in helping move all our data to the new system and extremely helpful in showing us the myriad of new accounting and management tools at our disposal. We look forward to populating the central database with past and future project data to help identify project costing; in the past it was scattered throughout office computers. Also, from an accounting standpoint, being able to push all entries directly into Quickbooks from Praesto AE will eliminate duplicate entries.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 29, 2012
Wayne B.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2012

OverallWe are a mechanical engineering firm and are an original user of Praesto AE, maybe even the first one! It solved a lot of our project organization woes, and assembled all of the data, both project and billing, in a single, easy to use format. Promotional material and job history is easier than ever to compile, and we don't forget relevant projects anymore. We have over 1,000 projects on our database now, with easy access to any information on them. I highly recommend Praesto AE as a simple to use, cost-effective database tool to manage a business. We still use Quickbooks for tax and accounting purposes, but Praesto AE does everything else! Call me for a reference anytime.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2012
Paul H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 6, 2012

OverallWe are a one-person design office that receives a mountain of email and phone calls each day on many projects. Praesto AE allows us to record, manage, and keep on top of all the information. Nothing gets "lost"! Apart from information storage, we now have control over our time, costs, fees and profitability. Having a thorough centralized record of our projects means we also satisfy our PI insurer with our record keeping procedures. Start-up and implementation went smoothly. It took us about a month to work out what we needed and how to do it. Customer Support has been excellent. We are in Australia, and we either get an immediate email or phone call to our requests, or it is there the next morning.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 6, 2012
Philip G.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2012

OverallI work for a Civil-Site Engineering consulting firm with about 12 people. We were looking for software that would track our projects from inception to completion, including billing and time/task capabilities. We currently use an old DOS based database to track our projects and do our billing by hand. We have been very pleased with the customer support and help in getting all of our existing information transferred over. It took a little longer than we expected, but we didn't exactly have the template. We are still in the process of fully integrating the office to this system, but so far it has been very intuitive to use.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2012
Dave T.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
2.5/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2012

OverallI have been using the program for over a year. Admittedly, I do not have an accounting background, but it has taken me this long to feel like I am starting to understand how the program works. There are no contextual help notes; you just have to figure things out on your own as you go. For example, you just have to know somehow that you have to add and refresh any new billable rates and/or staff to each job; why should you have to do that in the first place? Seems like that database would be available automatically. It would be great to have some cancel buttons when you start to set up a job, or an invoice. If you change your mind, you have to delete it, or allow it to be created and then go back and delete it. I almost always get a quick response when I e-mail a question. Doug has been great to get on-line and show us how things work. Some training videos would be nice. We have devoted many, many hours to get the Proposal and Invoice modules to work pretty well, but we still have to remember to check every box, fill in every line, etc., or we get unpredictable results.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2012
Ryan L.
Architecture & Planning, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2014

“Praesto is solid!”

ProsPraesto keep track of my project hours and ordinates on how I am to bill my clients. Also Praesto allows me to smoothly edit time on my time sheet.
ConsThe software can be very slow at times, and it is hard for me to multitask with it open on my computer.
Recommendations to other buyersI would have to recommend that you put in effort to set up all the preferences and billing types early on to save time later on.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2014
Heather A.
Architecture & Planning, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2014

“Praesto AE”

ProsIt easily tracks my time, and I love the ability to add comments on each task.
ConsWhen searching for a specific contact, I have to remind myself to select between "Companies & Contacts" after I enter something in the search toolbar.
Recommendations to other buyersI always type the time I start and end a task with a brief description in the comments portion of each entry. It helps tremendously when going back to enter my time for IDP.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2014
Sabrina C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2012

OverallI am more of the technical support person in our office, I installed Praesto AE, do the updates, and trouble shoot. For the most part we really like the system and when we have questions or concerns, Doug himself usually addresses them right away. That is probably the biggest advantage over our previous software; we had a very hard time getting answers or things fixed. We have been running Praesto AE about 2 years.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 21, 2012
Eric D.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 14, 2012

OverallAbsolutely LOVE Praesto and now that we're a few months in we're really leveraging some of the information that we always had scattered through 10 different locations and multiple software problems. Our projects are more profitable simply because I, as the project manager, have immediate access to the projects' status. The customer support is top-notch. Have a question, or need help? Call them up!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 14, 2012
Lauren B.
Architecture & Planning, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 17, 2014

“Praesto for Architects”

ProsPraesto has helped us transition from keeping track of projects and time entries in Excel workbooks to software. It has been a tremendous help.
ConsI have come across issues with running certain reports.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you have problems, the Praesto team is willing to help.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 17, 2014
Anne D.
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2014

“Generally good. A good value for the price.”

ProsThe product does what it says it would. The vendor is helpful.
ConsThis software is slow. As we use it a lot during the day, it slows down more until it freezes.
Recommendations to other buyersPay more attention to transfer of data. Ask lots of questions.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2014
Jacob B.
Architecture & Planning, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2014

“Works Well”

ProsIt's easy to use and set up.
ConsIt takes a few minutes to start up, but that could be the PC I'm using.
Recommendations to other buyersThis is the one. No need to look elsewhere. The time tracking portion of this software is great.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2014
Lauren F.
Architecture & Planning, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2014

“Praesto review”

ProsI like that we are able to see if we are profitable or not on a project. It allows us to see how much we are actually paying versus what we are charging.
ConsIt is not user friendly. There are a lot of things you are not able to manipulate, and therefore we are not able to get a real reading of profit or loss.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure you ask a lot of questions. You need to be sure you are getting what you are paying for.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2014
Amy B.
Architecture & Planning, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2014

“Employee Use”

ProsIt stores a lot of information and has lots of functionality. We're just starting to use the more in-depth features. It's a great addition to our company.
ConsIt's difficult to navigate to the information it stores and tracks. It's not the most intuitive and user-friendly.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you're willing to learn how to use it, it's a fair amount of bang for not a lot of buck.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 2, 2014