DBxtra Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About DBxtra

With DBxtra, even inexperienced report designers can create and distribute interactive web-reports and dashboards in a few minutes without the knowledge of SQL, programming or web technologies. Designing, deploying and managing interactive ad-hoc reports and dashboards has never been easier. Be Up and Running in No Time! Note: This product requires an active subscription license to Developer Express Inc.s Universal Subscription and is include in the DBxtra license. Learn more about DBxtra

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 51 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 51 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Patrick S.
Systems Development Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“A practical, good value, enterprise report server tool”

OverallHave been using it for 5 years, and now purchased another licence again for a new system. Features we use: Designer on server=yes Designer by users =no Data grids=yes Pivot grids=yes Reports (ie using designer)=yes Scheduled server=once Dashboard=no It doesn't do _everything_ but in terms of basic data grid, reports, pivot it's very good. This is because it's built on DevExpress report designer which is as solid reporting tool. Essentially the core requirements for reporting, ie user-based variables, parameter customisation, user group security, good web based reporting interface are very good. It is excellent value for money when compared to other reporting tools on the market, which can easily span into the $10k upwards. For me, the primary reason is the ease of use for creating and deploying reports. Once I have my SQL query created, just paste it into the designer, save the report, set permissions and you're done. For simple reports I can create them in 5-10 minutes, so that's extremely helpful when managmenet is on your tail to get something sorted. :-)
ProsGood value, ease of use, practical.
ConsSome quirks in the how the software auto-configures queries for parameters. Need more options for configuring parameters as its easy to void the use of indexes if you're not careful.
Recommendations to other buyersBe aware of what it is - a good equivalent to MS reporting services, though in facts its much better! But its not a drill down style enterprise data sifting tool, you won't get that for ~$5K, so just analyse your reporting requirements carefulyly, DBXtra might cover 95% of it.
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Dan G.
VP IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2015

“Generally a good and inexpensive product but it has a lot of issues”

OverallPros: Inexpensive Powerful and feature rich Web deployment capability Tech support Cons: Memory and processing hog. Make sure you have a powerful computer when developing or it will crash far too often. Doesn't have many bugs but the ones it does are very annoying and impede the use of some features Very slow to fix bugs Poor documentation (really poor - you have to contact technical support to learn how to do anything sophisticated) Last release was extremely poorly conceived, delivered, and poorly communicated. They eliminated some good features and the upgrade wreaked havoc on our installation. We had to downgrade (which is not easy) and rebuild everything. Consequently we are very gun shy about upgrading and are still waiting months later for them to repair the damage form this release. Examples: The parameters window no longer displays by default The output display is limited a window that is too small for some of our wider reports so now there are 2 sets of scroll bars The moved the function buttons from top right to top left so our logo is crowded between the buttons and the report and looks terrible. Product management needs a serious overhaul. Both because of the above bumbling and a number of features in the UI that are just plain bad design and need to be removed or fixed. For example: Displaying the report parameters in a cryptic string in the report header without the option to hide them. Users don't need to see this and if you have a lot of parameters the result is a very long string which detracts from the report aesthetics. You cannot have report parameters that are strings with commas, such as a company name as it does not work. You have to work around it in a non-elegant way to get it to work. This bug has been outstanding for more than a year. There is a similar problem with strings that contain single quotes (given that this is a SQL based report system you'd think the programmers would have had a clue about this). If you customize the display of parameters in the report (so you don't get the non-user-friendly cryptic string) every time you edit the report your customizations are overwritten with that ridiculous string. You have to save your customization in a hidden field and copy and paste it back every time. Note: All of the above has already been communicated to DBXtra. We are still awaiting a resolution.
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2015
Martyn A.
Partner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2015

“Best Report Writer and Best Support Available”

OverallWe did a substantial amount of market testing before deciding on which product to settle on. We needed to improve the quality of our reports, make data easier to understand for our end users and reduce the development time associated with report generation. We evaluated a number of other competitors. We found the service to be reasonable with most of the companies we evaluated. In some products, we found very advanced features, but the development cycle would require lots of coding. We were looking for a solution that would steamline the report creation process and offer a powerful set of tools for visualising and presenting data back. After we became disillusioned with the 4th product we tried, we moved over to testing DBxtra. With DBxtra we had created and deployed our first report in less than 3 days (compared to over 7 with the other products) DBxtra works like this: You build an underlying query using a visual query builder - from this you effectively have 4 separate methods of manipulating the data: - Data Grids - Pivot Tables - Reports - Dashboards Go the website to see these. But why am I actually writing this review? During our testing of this product, the service and support we received was literally the best we've experienced. The friendly and experienced team at DBxtra never made us wait long for an answer to a support email and on a number of occasions they screen shared with us to provide advice. In about 5 situations, our requirements needed code changes in asp pages. Each time, they went away, researched our problem and came back and implemented it for us. As part of our purchase we agreed on some customization work that needed to be done at short notice. We were a little worried about whether the quality of the service would drop off after we paid. When our customisation was not completed we sent an email to ask what was going on at 23:00 - only to get an instant reply to say that it had taken longer than planned due to a major storm, but they were staying with it until it was done. It was completed at around 02:00 - and was done so because the DBxtra team understood we needed it for showcase to a client the next morning and they delivered on their promise. That's all there is to say really.
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2015
Richard F.
President
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2016

“Best Value BI Platform. Excellent Support. ”

OverallWe have used DBXTRA for over 5 years with a national user base accessing through IIS. Our customers love the simplicity of the UI, the rich features and we love the reliability and support. We highly recommend this product!
ProsEase of use, quick deployment, rich features.
ConsNo significant cons. For secure web deployment, you need to do in-house IIS set-up but it's expected, relatively straightforward and allows you to integrate into a custom web gateway.
Recommendations to other buyersWe are happy to see new features coming in the upcoming 2017 releases!
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2016
Robert B W.
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Faster, Better, Cheaper than anything else ...”

OverallI've found DBxtra far quicker to develop, test, and roll out to end users than either MS Business Intelligence or Oracle. I also like the fact that end users can easily learn it and create their own custom queries and reports. It takes a tremendous amount of workload off of IT when users are in a "I'll know it when I see it" mode.
ProsVery Rapid development and roll out cycle. I have been able to satisfy customer needs in minutes where other tools took hours of work and testing.
ConsA couple of issues, but I've already passed them along to the support/development group months ago.
Recommendations to other buyersIT departments should learn and use this software and encourage corporate departments to have an individual that knows it also. Many times IT departments don't have time for users with an "I'll know it when I see it" reporting or query need. Businesses can't wait for a two year "development" cycle when they need to fix a problem "NOW!!"
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Daniel R.
Director, IS/IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2012

“DBxtra Reporting”

OverallThe ROI for this product is incredible when compared to other database reporting tools such as, Crystal, SAP, Cognos and Business Objects, etc. I would recommend this product to anyone that may have multiple versions of a database, such as SQL, Oracle, DB2, Informix, Access, etc because of its ability to handle different versions of a database and produce professional reports quickly.
ProsCan access multiple types of databases Can create reports across application databases provided there are ways to join the data, eg billing and collection system joined with accounting application Query generation is Intuitive Creating professional style reports is intuitive and easy Installation was easy Remote access to reports via browser End user can manipulate data using the data grid 30 day Demo available Existing queries can be cut and pasted into the query designer.
ConsThe product has exceeded our expectations after trying it for 30 days. If I was forced to identify a con it would be that email support may not be as prompt as you would like; however, if you set up a call for support to answer questions, install, or training they ensure that all questions and training issues are resolved.
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2012
Frank J.
CIO
Automotive, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“DbXTra Flexible Reporting ”

OverallWe implemented DbXtra as visual dynamic reporting alternative, we realized that helped our organization to have valuable information across processes and areas without development constraints and best in value, the benefit/cost ratio compared with other Visual Reporting Tools is very high. Something to improve is about web client features. Still great for basic Analytics.
Pros- Ease to implement and distribute across users. - Unlimited viewers with several filtering and drill down options. - Designer cost is reasonable. - Excel plug-in is a useful tool.
Cons-Very limited performance on the web based version. -Focused just in Windows version, no mac, no Linux. -ETLs have been well built and debugged in external tools prior to considering DataSets in DbXtra.
Recommendations to other buyers- A complete web version Client. - A Mac Client. - A DataSet Framework. - A Nginx, Apache or alternatives to IIS and dbXtra Web Services.
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Chip P.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2011

“For the Novice and the Pro...........”

OverallOverall I would and have recommended DBxtra to fellow business owners and clients.
ProsFor the Novice, DBxtra is easy to use. Connect to your database and then point/click to generate your query and report design if needed. For the Pro, DBxtra allows you to create custom queries, reports and scripts for individual fields. Assigning groups and users is an excellent feature allowing full or restricted access to multiple reports in a project. For the Novice and Pro Customer Service is outstanding! You may only have e-mail access, for the most part, but their response time is very quick. Giving you direct, consise answers to solve your problem.
ConsAs a Novice, you may have trouble navigating the advanced features of DBxtra as they are not well described and/or defined in detail in the online manual. if your not familiar with Visual Basic coding custom scripting is not something you can use due to the learning curve thrusted upon you.
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2011
Nigel B.
Managing Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2011

“DBxtra Report Writer”

OverallI would recommend DBxtra to anyone who needs an easy to use reporting package with lots of functionality but who finds other products expensive or overly complex.
ProsDBxtra is extremely user friendly, particularly for anyone with experience of other packages such as MS Access or Crystal Reports etc. Generation of reports is very quick and simple and the ability to link to a number of SQL sources at the same time is an excellent feature of the product. In one scenario which I use the product I can link a field operations MySql database on an externally-hosted server to an internal Sage SQL server and produce comprehensive reports. I have been using DBxtra exclusively for some 5 year now and have had no real problems but even when I have the response and support from DBxtra has been excellent.
ConsI genuinely can't really think of any. The help files could be a little clearer in some cases but they have been much improved recently.
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2011
Agung D.
IT manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2016

“Recommended reporting application with affordable cost”

OverallAlmost 6 years I using this solution for complex requirements and also limited budget. Users really happy cause all thing related with this solution are easy. Even for beginner developer without good basic for programming can easily setting this solution. Thank you DBxtra!!!!!!
Proseasy for developing and understanding event for beginner.
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2016
Chris H.
IT Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“An easy way to get data from database to web ”

OverallAfter reviewing many alternatives, we selected DBxtra to publish our in-house data onto the web. Implementation was straightforward, and we're publishing complex dashboards within a couple of days. Too many features to comment on, but one we find excellent is the User / Group variables. These allow us to easily publish a single dashboard to our 60 suppliers, with the data displayed restricted to their login details The online documentation covers the basics. For further instructions, you email support. The support team is impressive. All emails were replied to on the same day, with detailed and relevant instructions. Overall, I am very impressed.
ProsEasy to setup, dashboard functionality and customer support
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Harald L.
Managing partner and owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2011

“Intuitive and easy to use and yet with advanced features”

OverallAs a distributor of DBxtra in Denmark, Key2Mobility delivers DBxtra to new customers as well as our existing customer base running our Mobile Field Service Management solution PreCom. We have found DBxtra to be very powerful and flexible. The solution is easy and intuitive to use for simple reporting requirements, at the same time offering advanced reporting and analyse facilities to more professional users. DBxtra s structured use of projects, connections and objects including powerful export and import facilities makes it easy for Key2Mobility to professionally deliver added value on top of the reporting tool. Especially DBxtra s ability to run on several data sources makes the solution useful in larger organizations as a central reporting tool for consolidation of data from different systems.
ProsIntuitive and easy to use User firiendly interface Advanced features Multiple data sources Web-services Overall architecture Licensing structure Affordable pricing
ConsWe actually do not have any cons.
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2011
Jerry L.
Sr. Data Architect
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2014

“DBxtra Evaluation”

OverallWe've been looking for a reporting tool that has the flexibility for end users to modify the query criteria, sorting, and grouping data. DBxtra's data grid just provides all these capabilities. And it is easy to use. This is a great product and I recommend it to other users. It would be great if the free report viewer has an authentication mechanism. Currently, any user can double-click the report file on a disk drive to open it if the user can access the disk drive. Another thing is that the web version of the dashboard doesn't look as good as the windows version.

Vendor Response

By Advisionario, S.A. de C.V. on August 11, 2014
Thanks Jerry for your review! >>>It would be great if the free report viewer has an authentication mechanism. Currently, any user can double-click the report file on a disk drive to open it if the user can access the disk drive. The free report viewer does not consider user security; this will require the Report Web Service which takes care of it. Rudolf F. Vanek
Source: Capterra
August 11, 2014
Rex K.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014

“DBxtra - The right application, The right features at the right price.”

OverallWe have been using DBxtra for over a year now. It performs well and has become a standard in our organization. We researched many products and found that virtually all others were outside of our price range or too low on features to work. We wanted a tool that didn't take a developer to run and manage. A tool that created rich web reports with the usual exports. DBxtra simply does it all it even will schedule reports to be run and sent as emails (very handy). Since any review without "cons" I will supply the few we have found. 1. Some of the components are not as intuitive as you would expect, however once learned they are fine. 2. If you are interested in graphing as I am definitely take it for a test drive first. The graphing works well but there needs to be better control of labels. Finally DBxtra needs some polishing as does all software all the time but it is money well spent and we plan on being a customer for a very long time.
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014
Bryan M.
Senior Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2011

“Does what it says on the box”

OverallIf you need a reporting system that is powerful, flexible and easy to use at all levels of user experience, this is it.
ProsWe provide consultancy and support for Computerised Maintenance Management Systems in the marine industry, including administering their database systems. As well as delivering bespoke 'permanent' reports with DBxtra we also write many hundreds of one off ad-hoc reports every year. Without DBxtra we could not provide this level of support. Our clients are very demanding but with DBxtra we can meet and often exceed these demands.
ConsThe only very small criticism is that with many hundreds of reports some of which are rarely used it can be difficult to locate the report you require.
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2011
Alfonso L.
IT Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2015

“Easy to use also for our c-level”

OverallIt is already 3 years we use DBxtra as our main reporting solution. We were looking for a tool that could show reports like excell does with a pivot table. SQL is somehow limited in that because you cannot really have a presentation layer for the data you collect and therefore a report is very repetitive and static. DBxtra let you create reports that can be viewed online and let you see a summarized account of the data while letting you to go down to a detailed view if needed. The interface is easy enough to have a secretary create the report in very few time. I'd like also to point out that the customer service is very competent and quick to answer finding a way to help you out with any use or configuration problem that could arise.
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2015
Mohd S.
MD
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2015

“Our Trusted DBxtra”

OverallWe trust DBxtra so much that we let DBxtra runs LIVE reporting of our system that is fed with records every 5 seconds from our devices. We showed to our client and they were dazzled of DBxtra's features and importantly the stability of DBxtra that we achieved in our setup. We told them DBxtra did all the work unattended to produce the online LIVE reporting that could be drilled down to the last hour. Soon enough, we got the purchase order from this client as well as other projects and thanks to DBxtra for its hard work that helped us to win this client. Now we trust DBxtra even more ... to tackle our next client.
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2015
Nigel B.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2014

“InfoMagellan, Management Reporting”

OverallWe deliver mobile computing solutions on iPad and Android tablets and have been using DBxtra for nearly 10 years as our chosen reporting tool. It is easy to use and capable of connecting to multiple Database platforms. The web reporting and scheduler enable us and our clients to access valuable up to date information about their field operations activities and for us to automatically deliver scheduled management reports by email in order to provide highly pro-active information to managers. Overall DBxtra is a simple to use but powerful reporting tool without the complexity of other far more expensive solutions.
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2014
Todd W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016

“Great reporting program”

OverallThis is an excellent program that allows non-programmers to create reports. It has a very easy learning curve and the support is excellent. We use it to create reports that we can distribute to different users in our warehouse so that they can easily run themselves. It is very feature rich and allows you to tackle almost any reporting tasks you may have. The only negative is that in program documentation is a little sparse and some of the advanced functions are not documented but support is excellent and only an e-mail away.
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016
Michael H.
Mgr of Tech and Web
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014

“DBxtra Reporting Tool and Scheduler”

OverallGolden Corral has been using the DBxtra reporting tool for at least 6 years. For small shops such as ours, it greatly increases productivity by providing a truly non programming environment IDE for creating visually appealing reports. Our end users use the reporting server daily to access reports and pass parameter filters to custom select report data. The scheduler is also a tool we rely on daily to produce and email reports to a variety of departments within the company. As the software manager, my very first requirement of a new programmer in my department is to learn DBxtra.
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014
Peter C.
Exec Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2011

“DBXtra rocks”

Overall- I think I made the correct decision with DBXtra... It really saves us tons of heartache, headache, ..., stomachache. - DBXtra rocks
Pros- very quick and SINCERE response. DBXtra always tries to help. - excellent price/performance ratio. I reviewed, tested and used many different products and this is the winner. - very easy to learn and use. DBxtra makes creating query and report fun
Cons- web support: web report, scheduled report, ... but I think DBxtra already knows this and is improving this constantly
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2011
Dennis R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2016

“DBXTRA is great! is the perfect partner to programmers”

OverallIn my opinion, dbxtra have all elements necessary to create any type report. One special feature is that I can do anything with text files. That´s great. The text files are one easy option to complete something that in some native software we haven't. Then, with dbxtra we can take the text files and surprise everyone. Another thing very important is the customer support team, I am very pleased with them. Also, dbxtra never stop, always are doing new and smart improves to the tool. Congratulations!!
Source: Capterra
December 1, 2016
Bob B.
VP of Creative Services
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2014

“Great Product!”

OverallWe've been using DBxtra for nearly a year and have found it to be an invaluable tool. It has really allowed our project to progress rapidly by providing a fast way to write custom reports and provide access to helpful business intelligence data on the fly. We love the dashboard reports! Showing our clients interactive data visualization with real-time data has been a god-send. We reviewed several possible solutions before deciding on DBxtra. It has outperformed all them from ease of set-up, ease of use and cost. We highly recommend it.
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2014
Agung D.
Mr
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2012

“Afforable solution With Big Benefits”

OverallNow IT is backbone for Company and expected to deliver perfect services with limited budget. Specially at reporting solution with limited budget IT should fine solutions. DBxtra as like "hero" for IT leader with limited resources and knowledge to deliver reporting application. For user point of view is very user friendly as they using spreadsheet application. This application is very helpful and easy implementation with big benefits.
ProsDBxtra is one of the best solution i had.
ConsNeed more effort from development team to make query more faster
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2012
Joshua W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2014

“Many Happy Customers”

OverallA few years ago I setup DBxtra for a consulting client of mine as it was a very nice and affordable solution. They loved it and since then I have recommended it to every client and installed and used it many more times to solve all types of reporting, dash-boarding and data delivery issues. It is simple to setup, easy to use, and full of great features. Plus their support is second to none (and I work with a lot of software vendors). I would highly recommend this product.
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2014
Pat R.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2011

“Excellent but affordable reporting software ”

OverallAfter searching and trialling many different reporting software DBxtra is not only the most affordable and easy to use, it also has extensive features that challenge most of the more expensive reporting software.
Pros* Easy to create queries and basic reports * Web Service is an excellent way of sharing data throughout the company *Affordable *Report scheduling service is excellent
Cons* Creating graphs is difficult * Needs easier conditional formatting.
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2011
Gerhard N.
IT-Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2014

“Easiest Intranet Report Tool”

OverallIn Our Company we use it for displaying almost 30 different AS400 Queries in out Intranet. The big advantage is the flexibility in complex Report programming. It is very easy to but our own code with only little knowledge of visual basic. Response Time of customer Service is surprising fast and efficient. Even remote support was possible. After some installation Problems DBxtra runs 24 hours for almost on year continuous.
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2014
Alexey C.
System Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2015

“OLAP support is a fiction”

OverallI see the Features Checklist saying that DBxtra supports OLAP. This is simply not true. You will not find any mention of OLAP support on DBxtra website or documentation besides this news article dating back to 2008: http://www.dbxtra.com/blog/?p=103 DBxtra can't use SSAS or similar OLAP tools as a data source. The built in table pivoting doesn't have multidimensional data processing functionality. So far I'm having pretty rough experience with DBxtra. After working with it for a month I'm running into numerous bugs and minor annoyances: slow initial load time, various UI elements not working. Customer Support response is very quick, but they can't really solve any of my issues or provide estimates for resolution. Well I guess it's what you get for this kind of price.
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2015
Gabriel P.
Technical Advisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2014

“The best standalone reporting/bussiness intelligence tool”

OverallPros: - Lets you design a report completely, from query to a printed design, by drag and drop. - You can send reports in an scheduled fashion. Cons: - Can be only integrated loosely with other tools. I'm amazed about how DBxtra makes the creation of reports and dashboards easy even for non-technical people, yet, you can make full use of your technical expertise if you need to.
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2014
Marco K.
IT Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2014

“DBxtra rocks!”

OverallA very easy to use report designing software with an intranet reporting web service where all of your employees can access any report depending on their user group rights. The software comes along with a schedule server where you can automatically send reports to printers or mailboxes at certain times. Active Directory Authentication would be very appreciated for future releases. Anyway, DBxtra rocks!
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2014
S D.
IT Head
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014

“Can be used as an option to help us ”

OverallDear Team, So far we are satisfied with the performance of DBxtra team, because it always develop new innovations to suit customer needs. We always look forward to you to be able to continue to help us especially in case of large data query speeds and another thing to schedule server please more developed not only raw data that can be emailed but also report/dash board TVM, Daniel
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014
Günter B.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2014

“ECS DBxtra”

OverallWe have been using DBxtra since about 5 years and are very happy with it. We mostly like the automatic report delivery with the scheduling server component, where we send new pricelist, new products and accounting statements to our customers. We're not much experienced with SQL but their support team has always been very responsive to help us get going.
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2014
Avner B.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014

“Great tool for custom reports”

OverallA powerful, easy to use, custom reporting tool. Dbxtra can work with multiple databases and data files and is very easy to work with. The report designed and report web service are both powerful and user-friendly. A must for ant IT department who needs to generate custom reports to complement and enhance their business systems' data visibility.
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014
Michael M.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2015

“DBxtra is is fantastic!”

OverallFor small to mid-size organizations looking for a web-based business intelligence tool, I haven't found anything better than DBxtra. It lets you build beautiful presentations and reports at a fraction of the the cost of other reporting tools. I highly recommend it!
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2015
Roderick G.
Partner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2014

“DBxtra in consulting projects”

OverallAs a consulting firm, we are always looking for software to use in our projects and make our life easier. We came across DBxtra like 6 years ago, and since then it has solved a lot of our problems. Our customers usually have the data, but they need a simple and affordable way to analyze it. That´s were DBxtra comes in with simple reporting, graphics, dynamic tables, and what I like the most, schedule server. For us, that´s what the customer wants, not depending on anyone for his data. The only thing I wanted them to include, was a dashboard, and they have already done it. In a few words, all our customers and ourselves, feel that we got a lot of value for what we paid.
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2014
Nigel B.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Long Time User”

OverallI have been using DBxtra for many years now and I am always happy to tell people how good a product it is and how easy it is to use. The customer support is also second to none!!
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
JUAN ANTONIO P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016

“DBXTRA GREAT SOFTWARE”

OverallI BEEN WORKING WITH THIS SOFTWARE AND FINALLY I DID RESOLVE A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH MY INFORMATION, I HAVE A FANTASTIC REPORT, FANTASTIC SUPPORT.. GREAT DBXTRA SOFTWARE.
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016
Jan v.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2014

“Extracting valuable information out of meaningless data”

OverallDbxtra has helped us to extract the information we need out of dispersed and different databases. Now we can make informed decisions which without this tool were not possible. Well worth the investment !
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2014
Erica C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2014

“NYS Health Department is a happy customer”

OverallOverall we are very pleased with DBxtra. The tool meets most of our users needs and when we have problems, customer service is very responsive to our needs. Our users love the flexibility the reporting tool provides!
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2014
Malcolm M.
Managing Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014

“DBXtra - Excellent value for money”

OverallDBXtra BI Suite with the enhanced Dashboard functionality represents provides great value for money. It's easy to install, easy to maintain and has great flexibility when it comes to developing reports.
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014
Annie Y.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014

“A user friendly tool”

OverallWe have used DBxtra for several years and with multiple Databases. We find it to be very user friendly and intuitive to use. It provides a simple, quick and efficient way to query data.
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014
Dody T.
Sales tracking and automation report
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2014

“DBXTRA is best solution for your report tools.”

OverallI have been using DBXTRA since v1 until now (v8) , almost nothing issues on techincal and support side , DBXTRA is very easy to used and support team is very quick in respon.
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2014
Dennis R.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2015

“Ease of use and complete”

OverallI am new in use of product., but I think that have the best tool business intelligence. Congratulations!
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2015
JULIO N.
SYSTEM MANAGER
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2011

“Comments 23-jun-2011”

OverallAdd Graphical interface to use data
ProsEasy of use and Implementation.
ConsThe product don't have a graphical interface
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2011
Rob C.
CSG Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2011

“DB Extra ”

OverallExcellent product, absolutely no complaints
ProsMeets our customers analytical requirements
Consnone to speak of in the sector it is aimed at
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2011
Malcolm M.
Managing Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2011

“DBxtra V5.0.0.0 Review”

OverallAffordable BI tool.
ProsEasy to install and intuitive to use.
ConsNone that come to mind.
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2011
Arjan S.
Director Of IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2011

“SQL Report Writing ”

OverallRecommend for implementing report writing solutions for customers.
ProsEase of use
ConsDon't see any .
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2011
sharif m.
MD
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2013

“webapplication for business”

OverallA web report platform for business
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2013
Jitka S.
analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2011

“DBxtra”

Overallcan fully recommned
Prosfully satisfactory
Conshaven't found any
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2011
Todd B.
Web Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014

“DBxtra”

OverallSo far DBXtra has met our needs in a 1500 plus member business, using multiple databases for our reporting needs. DBxtra's support staff provide a high level of service and are very knowledgeable about their products and responsive to customer needs.
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2014