Authorize.Net Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Authorize.Net

Cloud-based point of sale solution for businesses that helps manage payments made in person, online, and over the phone. Learn more about Authorize.Net

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 95 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 95 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Think Tanks, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018

“It's been great for our business”

OverallAuthorize.net has been super simple and straight forward to use. I've been able to cancel a charge that was made in error before it even hit a card. I get full details of who is purchasing and how much. I can look up transactions easily. It's been a great second backup system for us as far as credit card records. It's been very easy to implement on our website and we've been very happy.
ProsI have loved using Authorize.net. Often I have to go back thru our credit card records to check how much was charged or how much was refunded. It's great to be able to look up via credit card number or names. Customer service has always been excellent whenever I've needed to contact them. I also like that I'm able to run reports of all of our transactions when I'm trying to compartmentalized different amounts and categories. It works well with our registration system.
ConsI wish that we were able to issue refunds after the 3 month period. I know we can lose some of our security measures to allow our system to automatically refund but we don't want to do that. Instead we take the cc number and manually enter it into a different refund system for those return that are past 3 months. I think the security issue is a mandated issue and there is not much Authorize can do. I do wish the downloads went to a simpler to read excel format but I tend to take the CSV file and do what I need to do to make it work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Brian W.
Marketing Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019

“Very Useful CC Gateway”

OverallAuthorize.net is really a payment gateway for your site or business. We have utilized the mobile application for 1 off transactions and have been pleased with how it works. It is not made to be your whole inventory tracker in the least bit, but it does its job for the occasional transaction. We have been using the gateway on our sites for years. We have used Magento, and WooCommerce and now Shopify for our site. We did have some issues with WooCommerce and finding plugins for the payment gateway that worked for all we needed it to. That being said, for the majority of the time it has worked. Thank you
ProsIt really has never failed us when utilizing the application to run transactions on the go. It has worked for us for years.
ConsIntegrations with WooCommerce has proven difficult at times. We have utilized the official plugin for some time, but that has recently started to have problems for us. We ended up switching to a new backend for our site. We'll probably still be utilizing Authorize.net though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019
Lori M.
Finance Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Authorize.net”

ProsWe have been using Authorize.net as our payment processor for a number of years for both credit cards and bank fund transfers. Their service has been extremely reliable, they have added services as technology continues to evolve. As a non profit we are processing donations and use it for processing ticketing for events that we host. Because we aren't really doing retail we strictly use a virtual terminal with computers or mobile devices so I can't comment on any point of sale machines. Recurring donations are easy to set up and have run without issues for us. Any time I have had contact with customer support both online and on the phone the have been helpful and able to resolve any problems or issues.
ConsI don't really have a least like about Authorize.net It has done what we have needed it to do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Keyana K.
Internal Operations Assistant
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Gets the job done with hardly any issues ever.”

ProsAuthorize.net is our payment gateway, as we are a company that runs several credit card transactions daily. The fees are minimal, the customer service has always been great (even if, at times, the reasons I had to call we're not so great), and the website is about the simplest one I've ever used, considering all of the information it processes. We don't use any POS devices, just the website, but that's still MORE than enough for us.
ConsI wish it was easier to edit ARB subscriptions; for example, if I want to simply change the date that a customer's auto-charge runs, I have to actually delete the whole thing, and create a new one to reflect the date change. That's pretty annoying, but for a website that hasn't really changed much in the 12 years since I first began using it, I can only expect so much at this point.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Kenneth M.
Chief Operating Officer
Military, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018

“AUTHORIZE FOR NON PROFIT DONATION MANAGEMENT/PROCESSING”

OverallCustomer service and adaptability of the system with our CRM has been very positive for us. When we adopted our new CRM system along with the the hosted website managed by the same CRM system, we were not sure how everything would integrate, but our donation links and sponsorship links that take contributors directly to Authorize for processing have never let us down.
ProsAuthorize integrated flawlessly with our CRM system. It was one of several options for donor management and processing that was compatable with our CRM. We researched each available system and Authorize was both suggested by a fellow non profit as well as seemed to meet our requirements.
ConsTransaction charges seem to be the biggest issue that we have. There are industry averages for processing various cards, and Authorize is on par with other systems. It is unfortunate that Authorize does not offer a non-profit processing rate or possibly a flat rate that is well below what would be offered to a for profit organization.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018
Katharine T.
Lead Box Office Representative
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019

“Authorize.net is a good standard for authorization terminals!”

OverallIt allows for our business to run far more smoothly in contrast with our clunky patron CRM software. It's a solid product to use and while it has it's flaws, is nothing short of consistent. Less frills and smooth than Square but in many ways far more direct and clear.
Pros- Very easy to use towards transactions, refunds and troubleshooting any and all patron issues within our site. -Allows to run reports for settled transaction, dispute declined transactions and see where fraudulent purchased might occur. - Has access to extended actions that allow us to void transactions, go into our accounts linked to the terminal and locate specific details we cannot always locate otherwise.
Cons-Can be a bit slow with processing requests or locating specific transactions. -Is temperamental with the variables (i.e. first, last name, zip code, etc.) when running reports. Have to be careful when entering data, must be exact or actions may not always be carried out clearly. -Running reports will not show transactions within the last business day, setlled or unsettled. -Processing refunds has a 90 day limit.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019
Jamie R.
Supervisor of Client Services
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2018

“Authorize.net!”

ProsThe greatest thing about Authorize.net is that their merchant portal is so easy to navigate. If we need to void, issue refunds, or manually authorize a card-- it's so easy to do and find on the left-hand side of the website. If there is something we're not able to quickly do, their FAQ/help page/customer support is great. Receipts/confirmations are automatically sent to the internal contacts that we've chosen--there's even an option to send the receipts directly to the customer. This program is incorporated into our other main software (ShopVox) and works seamlessly.
ConsThere isn't anything that I dislike about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Sports, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Authorize.net Review”

OverallAuthorize.net helps us take and track payments. We have been using it for 8+ years with my company and haven't had many issues. We use it with several different POS systems and the support provided whenever there are issues is great. They have one of the most effective chat for help options I have ever used.
ProsAuthorize.net makes it super easy to take payments through our ticketing system. If we weren't able to link these programs getting payments would take a lot more effort, but this provides ease for the front and back end.
ConsThe software uses another third party processor that adds additional fees, but overall doesn't harm the effectiveness of the program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“A wonderful way to process payments”

ProsThis software makes it so easy to process payments. It was very easy for us to build the bridge between our main software and authorize.net to process all payments through them. The website requires no training and doesn't have a million options of choices to pick from like some do- everything is very self explanatory! Their customer service is great and gets back to you quickly.
ConsI don't have many complaints about Authorize.net except the reports. They are very confusing and it is hard to know which report you are supposed to be using and when. They don't provide a great description of each report.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“We've relied on Authorize.Net for over 10 years”

OverallWe've used Authorize.Net with our website shopping cart for over 10 years. Along with that, we've used the virtual terminal for manually keying phone / mail orders. It is easier to use than PayPal Manager.
ProsAuthorize.Net provides good, helpful API documentation. Its web-based virtual terminal is also easy to use.
ConsI would give their support a grade of B. Fortunately, it is rarely needed. A few years back, there were some rough patches where the service was down or unreliable for brief periods. We have not had reliability problems for the last few years.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Jessica L.
Volunteer Director
Medical Devices, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Authorize.net - Easy to Use”

ProsAuthorize.net is extremely easy to use. I'll be honest - I probably don't use it to the full extent of the software. I generally do 3 things. 1. charge a credit card. 2. Look at our daily reports and 3. Use the transaction search. From time to time, I may look at unsettled transactions and change a setting but that is about it. You don't need to be tech savvy to understand the platform. It is easy, convenient and worry-free.
ConsHonestly, nothing. I've been using it for over 11 years with ease.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Entertainment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019

“Straightforward payment processing! ”

ProsAuthorize is really easy to use. Some payment processing platforms can be difficult and frustrating to use. When processing a payment using Authorize, you simply fill out the necessary information and you're done. If the transaction is declined, it will even tell you why, which is helpful when people want to know why their payment didn't go through.
ConsI like pretty much everything about the software... at least the functions that I use regularly and am familiar with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Bryan M.
Product Director
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“The payment gateway we've preferred for ecommerce development projects”

OverallReliable and trusted payment processing
ProsAuthorize.net is the standard in payment processing. For a complex and established ecommerce website, Authorize.net will offer the features needed and provides a trusted payment solution. Processing fees will be lower than competition like Stripe which larger volume businesses will benefit from.
ConsThe interface, lack of reporting, and complexity in setup is an issue for us in 2018 when options like Stripe can be setup and running in a few hours vs days with Authorize.net
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
Jessica L.
Operations Director
Medical Devices, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Authorize for Small Businesses”

ProsWe have been using Authorize.net for over 10 years with no complaints. We use it strictly for online credit card processing both manually and on our website. The website is super easy to use and navigate. We recently added the fraud detection suite to our account that Authorize has available. We are very happy with the results and the filters you are able to place to control fraudulent activity.
ConsNothing. We have been very pleased with this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Dawn M.
Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2017

“Simple for transactions from desktop or mobile”

ProsWe use authorize.net from our desktop pcs and in the field for our technicians. The administrator features are really good. Being able to make reports and authorize devices in a breeze. And for simple card entry it is pretty straightforward.
ConsI wish there was a section that just was labeled "recent transactions" so you did not have to go through editing dates and menus. Also, it would be great to see emails of customers after your have sent the receipts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2017
Saily E.
Director of Accounting
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2017

“Authorize.net is a payment gateway which allows our school to run credit card payments securely”

Overall1. Secure processing of credit card transactions, 2. Integration with school's website 3. Creation of payment forms in flexible and suitable for a variety of transactions such as events, school store, etc
ProsAuthorize.net integrates well with our school website (managed by Finalsite). We are able to set up forms to collect credit card payments for school events. We also have the ability to collect credit card payments for our school store and sell tickets for Parent Organization events. The process to set up a form is easy to complete and Authorize.net offers flexibility with the design and options to make the form eye appealing. Credit card payments are processed securely. The reporting features offered by Authorize.net are optimal and information about cash receipts can be downloaded to simplify the reconciliation process on a daily basis.
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2017
Courtney M.
owner/manger
Tobacco, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018

“This company has been great to deal with, always there when we need them”

OverallEasily complete refunds, voids, and view all current transactions for our business. Easy search function.
ProsThat it's super easy to use, and has been extremely reliable. When dealing with your customers money, thats of the upmost importance.
ConsWe have lots of fraud transactions, but we can't prevent that without implementing settings that would block a lot of legitimate transactions. Wish we could figure out something in the middle.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018
michael g.
manager
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“I like using this application because of it's ease of use.”

OverallEase of tracking credit card transactions that were made on-line from our website. It is very simple to do refunds as well.
ProsThe reporting is simple to use and doing voids or refunds is very straight forward. Documenting and printing receipts is also a great feature.
ConsCredit card processing security is very strict. You only can do refunds that are 120 or less days old. Sometimes we have a need to go out further to refund a customer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019

“Apparel Website ”

OverallOverall, Auth was reliable and accurate.
ProsHigh visibility into transactional activity. Reports were thorough and I relied on them for my monthly finance reports.
ConsNot sure if this still applies, but since it's a payment processor, you still need a second system to house all the bank data (like a Heartland, etc). This was important when dealing with chargebacks. Would be nice to have it all one system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019
Laura K.
ADMIN
Hospitality, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2018

“Fast & Easy Payment Gateway!”

OverallWe have been using Authorize.net for online payment processing for over 3 years. Simple interface and convenient button for processing refunds. Customer service is helpful and easy to get ahold of.
ProsQuick & easy Virtual Terminal for payment processing. Links up with virtually any website or API. Simple transaction search & detailed customizable reporting.
ConsMust pull monthly statements from a separate website.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 10, 2018

“Integrated with a shopping cart program”

ProsWe used this to accept payments and integrated into a multi-store shopping cart site. Initial integration came from both Authorize and the shopping cart program. They knew the information regarding Authorize, so the integration went well.
ConsPricey in the beginning. Take a look at the fee associated with everything before committing. What is the break even point to using this program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 10, 2018
Nils N.
Wholesale Manager
Tobacco, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Our main CC Processor!”

OverallWe enjoy using it and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a CC processor!
ProsWe use Authorize.net as our main Credit Card processor and it always runs smoothly! We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good processor.
ConsWe don't have any issues with it. It is very straightforward and easy to use. We've enjoyed our experience with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019

“Reliable payment processing”

OverallWe use Authorize.net as payment processor in 3 different applications that we use to accept credit card payments. Their API is compatible with the different software and is reliable without downtime.
ProsAuthorize.net is compatible with all of the different cashiering software that we use. It is reliable and I don't know of any outages or problems processing cards or transactions. It is easy to create an account and get started.
ConsIt can be difficult to understand how to setup and use their API if you are doing your own programing and their admin website is not that easy to use when changing settings on your account. They are often changing their API for increased security but that comes with the inconvenience of reprogramming your API interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019
Rebecca B.
Admin Support
Fund-Raising, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Wonderful Product”

OverallVery good experience and a very good product. Very rarely any issues whatsoever.
ProsEase of use and the capabilities it has. Nice easy sign on, very ease and useful search options.
ConsI feel like the only issue I have is sometimes trying to look up a transaction by the cardholders last name causes confusion. Especially if they use a Jr. or a Sr. Other than that, no problems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Brian A.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2018

“Used them for years. Fantastic!”

OverallAllows us to have solid ecommerce websites. Never fails us.
ProsIt is rock solid and very easy to implement. Their support team is fantastic and available 24 hours a day. Used them for many years for every e-commerce website we own, which is 4.
ConsHonestly, do not know any. It is another great software company with a product that works as promised over and over again.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2018
Jess k.
Marketing
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2017

“Simplified credit processing for in the field applications!”

ProsThis program is great for our service techs in the field. It does not require the use of a card reader, although it is certainly supported. Our tech's can quickly run cards through the app without a lot of screens and hassle.
ConsThe program tends to have a lot of "timing out" issues and will appear logged in, but once you start processing the transaction it kicks you out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2017
K.C. S.
Sr. AR Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017

“Get's the Job Done”

ProsI have used Authorize.Net for about 2 years now and I have rarely ran into any problems. I love the clean format and it's easy to get the job done. I would recommend this product.
ConsThe interface of Authorize.Net hasn't changed in the 2 years I've used the software. So I'd say my only request to improve the software is add some cool new features every once in a while.
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017
Joel U.
Head Admissions Coach
E-Learning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016

“Company Focused Software!”

OverallLight University Online has been using Authorize for the last 5 years and we have been very happy with their program and focused on any customization needed for our company. The integrations that we need, reports, and user-friendly services for sales are perfect for our daily income.
ProsIntegrations for customization needed for our services.
ConsArchive dates of transactions going back later and import of data from other software.
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018

“easily access and apply credit card activity charges for clients”

OverallGreat processing of credit cards and checks.
ProsVery user friendly on the charging of credit cards and checks. Reliable and quick to use. Daily use is excellent for these purposes
ConsThe reporting of void transactions or credit card chargebacks isn't easy. Searching for a transaction is not easy. The reporting functions do not fully work for me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2018
Daniel C.
Business Development Manager
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“A wealth of functionality, but a huge barrier to ease of use”

OverallThey were helpful in their support, which improved over time, however ultimately many of the issues we faced had to be resolved by ourselves.
ProsI enjoyed the fact that it offered recurring billing, customer information management for secure card tokenisation, and it is widely compatible with many systems.
ConsThe worst thing is the interface which is incredibly outdated. The processing time for transactions is overly long and while the payment is pending you cannot refund or cancel the transaction.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Easy to use”

OverallThey are always willing to help. I've been using them for 3+ years and only had an issue once
ProsIt allows you to find transactions quickly. Love that you can keep track of declined transactions
ConsI wish you could search for settled/unsettled transactions at the same time when searching with a card number
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Dave O.
Sr Network Administrator
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019

“Good Product - Solid”

OverallThe days of waiting for a modem to connect and bring back the results in 30 seconds are gone. If you have an internet connection, you can authorize credit cards.
ProsThis software is always up, ready and waiting. We have never had an issue with down time, and the response is almost immediate.
ConsWe had an issue where the bank and Authorize.net had an issue, and we were the middle man. I dont feel like they proactively tried to help and fix the issue our bank was having.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Brandie A.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018

“Integrates well with Wordpress site”

ProsAuthorize.net is fairly simple to set up, customize, and connect with other software. Giving customers the option to pay invoices online saves me a ton of time.
ConsOf course, there are fees to use any payment processor like this. I feel like the fees can be a little high, but it is what it is.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Maricela G.
Wholesale Sales Support Specialist
Warehousing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Secure Credit Card Processor!”

ProsProcessing credit card payments with Authorize.Net gives our customer's the piece of mind they need. Information is kept secure and ultimately protect us from fraudulent charges.
ConsIt's pricey, from set up, monthly as well as per transaction percentage.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Nicholas S.
Sr Accountant
Accounting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“Excellent payment gateway system!”

ProsWe simply love the ease of use that Authorize.net provides as well as the consistent support and reliability. It has hardly ever given us any issue.
ConsThe reporting tools are sometimes difficulty or cumbersome to use but they have evolved over the years.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Kelly K.
Admin. Asst. Finance
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“Authorize.net keeps our customer's information secure! ”

ProsWe use Authorize.net for the credit card processing needs of our small non-profit. Easy for us to invoice customers without needing to secure their credit card information in-house.
ConsThe invoicing feature has a 'due date' field that auto-populates to the date the invoice is sent unless manually adjusted. It then sends a 'past due' message if it's not paid that day. It would be nice to have that automatically date for a month out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
Rebecca B.
Mini-THON Administrative Asst.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“Very Efficient and User Friendly”

OverallIt is seamless.
ProsAuthorize.net is very user friendly and easy to use. The search functionality is superb, and allows use to locate transactions with ease.
ConsI have had no problems using this software at all. There is nothing I can say that I have had problems with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Alexandra C.
Finance Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“Reliable gateway to processing payments”

ProsWorks with most merchant processors. Offers both credit cards processing, as well as ACH (eCheck) payments processing. Variety of reports available.
ConsSometimes Authorize.net is down, this is rare, but when it happens you can't process your payments. They usually try to fix it fast.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Maria I.
Freelancer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2018

“Having Authorize.net in our business is a like having your own bank !”

OverallAuthorize.net is reallyeasy to useand makes payment processing a breeze!
ProsYou can accept any card payments which gives ease of payment and receipt, processing sales is never easier!
ConsAs a business you wanna cut down costs and though their rates are fair, youre expecting more options to cut down costs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2018
Melissa B.
Database Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“We are trying to switch to a new platform, but Authorize.Net is making the transition difficult.”

ProsThe settlement reports are quite clear and user friendly. The processing is smooth, and the system rarely has issues. We also like the email receipts that can be automatically emailed.
ConsThe few times I have contacted the support team they have not been helpful, nor friendly. The options for customizing receipts and the overall look is lacking. The credit card fees are also a bit high in comparison to similar software.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Mindy L.
Preschool Teacher
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“very detailed”

OverallIt is really helpful for what we need it for. We can look at all transactions with ease.
ProsAuthorize.net really covers payment processing from start to finish. I use it in my summer job and although I don't really have to use it that often, I do check it with my supervisor if we find errors while inputting the data that we need to correct and this really helps us find those errors rather quickly.
ConsThe look of the website is a bit daunting. It's very technical so I suggest only using it if you are ready to sit at a computer looking at very boring screens. Maybe Authorize.net can make their software more clean, modern, and simple.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Carlos R.
Director Of Ecommerce
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018

“Authorize.net is one of the easier merchants I've been able to integrate into my eCommerce Business!”

ProsThe fact that it is compatible with WordPress makes my life a lot easier. The per transaction fees are very competitive as well.
ConsMonthly fees are always a con. It would be great to have fees strictly calculated based upon volume of sales.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018
Melissa W.
Owner
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2017

“Great for a mobile business with multiple service vehicles in the field”

OverallEast of use! Technicians can run credit cards in the field directly from their cell phones! Payments are process quickly!!
ProsThis program is so simple and easy for my technicians to use in the field to get direct payment - and allows us to have minimal accounts receivables!
ConsDoesn't work when there is not cell phone coverage. We also have to change the passwords quarterly - and the system does not give us any warning on this.
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Tobacco, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“No frills, easy to use payment gateway”

ProsWe like that the integration, management, and overall quality of the software is great!
ConsI don't care for the password reset functionality, but customer service is helpful if you ever find yourself in a bind.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Jennifer M.
General Manager
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Authorize.net”

ProsWe are not a huge card processor so this software fits us well and is compatible with our internal processing software.
Conssomewhat convoluted when trying to process credit cards. Not very self-explanatory.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
JESSICA D.
Manager of Sales
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Use Daily”

OverallVery please. The company has been using for over 10 years.
ProsYou can charge credit cards safe and securely.
ConsIt is sometimes difficult to find charges if you do not have the last 4 of card.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Drew S.
Manager, Brand Development & Merchandise
Sports, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2019

“Easy for collecting payments!”

OverallWe use Authorize.net as the primary way of collecting payments for anyone that is purchasing merchandise from our online store. Our organization uses Authorize.net for more than just our online store, so it's nice having most payments come in via the same means.
ProsEasy way to collect payment from our online store.
ConsDon't really have anything bad to say. Last time a fraud order came in, we tried refunding via authorize.net and it didn't go through initially while refunding from the backend of our store. Then went in directly to authorize.net and we were able to successfully refund.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019

“A great payment processor with capable support”

OverallAuthorize.net is one of my preferences when making a recommendation to merchants.
ProsThe solution can do almost anything for your payment needs.
ConsI would like a more fully baked B2B option for Invoices.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Authorize Net”

OverallAuthorize.Net is the best credit card software I have found.
ProsThis software is so easy to use. I love that it can store credit cards or I can store them on my own depending on what you want. I love the reports.
ConsI do not like that when you need to refund somebody you have to enter a transaction number it is a pain to go back and see the number.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Scott C.
Web Specialist
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Easy to subscribe and recurrent payments”

ProsThe very best thing I like about utilizing Authorized.net is the capability to develop repeating billings for the deals. makes it more distinct as well as the users like this function as they do not have to provide their card information whenever when the renewal occurs.
ConsWe can create the deal reports just for approximately 3 months, if we require the deal information for the last 1 year then we have to create the information every quarter and after that combine it to one file.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018