EGS CALCMENU Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5

About EGS CALCMENU

Work better, faster and smarter with EGS CALCMENU, your recipe for success. Our intelligent culinary management software is designed to simplify recipe management, allowing you to encode and store all your recipes in one place and choose to share them with other sites and locations. It also makes it easy for you to accurately analyze nutritional information and allergens for all your dishes and instantly calculate and track your costs when creating recipes and track your profit margins. Learn more about EGS CALCMENU

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Graham N.
Corporate Executive Chef
Restaurants, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“CALCMENU”

OverallMany years using calcmenu personally. Introduced it to Ninety Nine company and now its part of policy and procedures. All company recipes are now on their version, food & beverage.
ProsMy personal favourites are the main pages for ingredients and recipes. One time for wastage for the ingredients and setting up recipes in to categories, portions is so simple. Adding photographs was always a problem to size etc, here just click and go.
ConsNot being able to go back a page like on a computer, when its gone its gone. Back-up function could be improved or explain what you need to do, loss ALL my recipes a couple of years ago.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Jacqueline L.
Chef
Food & Beverages, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2016

“professional kitchen software ”

OverallI have been using this program for years and have had several updates . From a home based private dining company we have grown into a restaurant group with several restaurants , a catering company and a dessert commissary . Calcmenu has been invaluable in helping me accurately cost my recipes , budget my market list and manage my inventory . It even contains nutritional analysis which came handy in a recent project I did which was a dessert book for diabetics . Adjusting recipes is always a breeze .
ProsIt is very user friendly and flexible . Saves a lot of time when you need to constantly work on a lot of recipes and at the same time manage your costs and inventory .
ConsI hope o can upload excel based recipe files into Calcmenu
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2016
BJOERN Z.
Head of Fresh Services
Food Production, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Very functional tool with high service performance”

OverallWe were able to expand the program according to our needs. However, this requires a lot of support from EGS and cannot be done by ourselves. However, the support is very reliable and helpful.
ProsThe high reliability of the program and the possibility to connect further external tools.
ConsToo rigid in handling and the user friendliness which is very limited. Export of data cannot be declared by the user. Since all data fields are data fields, you should be able to select the desired exports yourself. The fact that there is no back key is very annoying.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Stacy B.
IT support administrator
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2016

“Professional Recipe Software”

OverallWe use calcmenu for recipe development that includes cost, method of preparation, and nutrition information. We can also include images of the finished product. Calcmenu helps prepare food with a consistent, cost, taste and look.
ProsEasy to use and easy to share the recipes. I also like that it is web based and we do not have to run it on one of our own computers.
ConsI found it difficult to print the first time I tried. I had to read the instructions.
Recommendations to other buyersUse the web based version. It is much easier to use.
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2016
Daniel H.
Executive Chef
Hospitality, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2016

“Calcmenu review”

OverallCalemenu software is one of the best software I came across. its really made for the industry and chefs not for accountants. its user friendly and gets updated regular to keep up with the chefs & industry needs.
Prosits gets updated regular to kep up with the industry standard and needs
Consif you not in western countries with their product you have to add a lot of ingredients into the market list
Recommendations to other buyerswonder why not more hotels and chefs use this software ...
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2016
Daniel M.
Executive Chef
Food & Beverages, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2016

“Great Exec Chef help”

OverallGreat help in a very usefull & practical way in kitchen operation planning and costings.. Good integration between marchandises, reciepes and menus. Easy way to set portions and units. New allergen integration is also very helpfull
ProsTime saving, copy & paste fonctions, alergens info, easy waste control
ConsPrice of support plan remain expensive even after many years of ownership
Recommendations to other buyersTo be recomended
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2016
Paul J.
Owner director chef of 5 restaurants
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016

“Paul James KL”

OverallHave been using the software for over 10 years now using it for 5 separate kitchen outlets .. the ability to set up new data Base could be made more user friendly and print options could be improved...
ProsEase of data entry and recall
ConsData Base set up to complicated.... needs to be a one button operation
Recommendations to other buyersPrinting options could be improved
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016
FEDERICO Y.
CEO
Restaurants, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2016

“I would like that the program has the Spanish on their website and manuals”

Overallthe program is wonderful I use many years ago in Argentina I am one of the first and few who use this program. the cost for this country is slightly elevated above updates
Proshow to calculate the losses
Conswhen I make a menu plan or very long process it takes a long time and I would like to have the program a my cell
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2016
Jerome V.
Executive Chef
Food Production, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“kiosk”

Prosi like that it is now web based. and i can use it on any computer
Consthe kiosk viewing via mobile phone is not friendly. hard to navigate and can not be completely viewed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Franz Josef E.
Executive Chef
Hospitality, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Calcmenu is the one if not the best program for the food industry”

OverallI use calcmenu over 20 years and never had any issues The program is easy for anyone to work on
ProsCalcmenu is can be linked with the front of the house, purchasing and accounting. There are frequent updates and if help is needed the calcmenu management is keen to help at any time
ConsThe program is not cheap But its recommended to purchase the yearly service contract just in case something would go wrong or your computer crashes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Matthew H.
Owner
Restaurants, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2016

“CALCMENU is serious software for Food Cost and Recipe management”

OverallCALCMENU is a good program for the serious chef or manager looking to control cost and standardize recipes. I use CALCMENU to store all my recipes so they are readily available. (No more gravy stained notebooks.) The cost analysis is easy, and CALCMENU also includes bakers percentages which is great for my business. Like all food cost software there is a significant time investment to set it up and enter all the ingredients and recipes, but once that is done, it's done.
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2016
Ray L.
Director
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2016

“Advance Recipe Management Solution”

OverallHave used calcmenu for 20 years in various locations and generally experience very good. Currently using the software for one major client. Major concern in the UK is the lack of UK style marketing and advertising campaign to provide more product awareness in the food and hospitality industry.
ProsAll features on one platform
ConsPrinting parameters and inability to use the arrow back feature consistently and the menu planner
Recommendations to other buyersNo
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2016
Ian Morris Y.
General Manager
Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Lots of Features but Clunky and Complicated ”

ProsThe software has a lot of features and it's one of the very few softwares available that offers the features we need.
ConsIt was really clunky and complicated to use
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Philip John G.
CEO
Hospitality, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2019

“CCA Powered by Calc Menu ”

OverallVery good
ProsComplete , multifunctional , Structured.
ConsTime consuming.The log slows down sometimes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2019
Brendan C.
Operations Manager/Assistant Professor
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Feedback for Calcmenu”

OverallVery good - easy to navigate
ProsMeasures are available in Imperial and Metric.
ConsI did not have any issues with this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Anthony R.
Hospitality Consultant
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2016

“Calcmenu web”

OverallThe software is very good we use the programme for our aged care business. Its straight forward to use.
ProsPictures, Allergens, diet information easy to use, cost
ConsSupport not brilliant from help desk
Recommendations to other buyersImproved training on how to use the system more efficiently would be great
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2016
Alexander S.
Chef/owner
Hospitality, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Calcmenu Web”

ProsEase of use, great support, accessible from around the World
ConsIntroduction to how to use it .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Simple P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016

“this program really helpful for our restaurant”

Overallwe had a problem before with the picture, the IT was so quick to help us. they email us the way how to fix it
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016