Aeries Ratings

Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
2.5/5

About Aeries

The Aeries Student Information System is a comprehensive solution that incorporates multiple technologies to meet the diverse and ever-changing needs of schools, districts, and education agencies. The design and development of this robust, user-friendly system is rooted in over 40 years of experience in educational technology. Aeries is both flexible and scalable to meet and exceed the needs of both small and large districts. Learn more about Aeries

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Lytchcov Z.
Teacher
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2017

“Take it from a teacher: I'm REALLY FRUSTRATED with this S L O W system”

OverallI don't care if it's at school or at home, every page takes 5, 10, 15 a minute (swear to God) to load. "Sometimes" it operates "OK," but mostly - lately (as of February 2017) this is the most frustrating experience. God Forgive if you have to enter just one student's late grade or something... It will take you 5 minutes just waiting for each screen to load. Yesterday, I had to phone 2 parents - after school, so you'd think the demand would be low. This was on a wireless district network at school... after contract hours mind you. I needed to look up 2 parent contact phone numbers. 10 minutes LATER I finally got the ones I needed. (and wouldn't you know I got message machines...) If you work on a laptop, be prepared that the "information" header panel whatever you call it, will take up more than half your screen and the list of students on any given assignment will be about 1/4 of your screen so you'll have to scroll endlessly up and down. I am not going to use my real name - I complained a couple of years ago to the "contact email" for Aeries, and the next morning I was called into the principals office and read the riot act. For simply given them an honest assessment of their software - no more "offensive" than this - unless you're offended by legitimate criticism.
ProsI do like the integration with the Attendance/Gradebook/discipline/interventions etc.
ConsIt's slow and VERY FRUSTRATING! (Can you tell I took time out of my scoring of papers to look this site up and vent?) I believe they must be tinkering with the code while we try and use it. Because it's online, sometimes features or buttons have disappeared and reappeared, some things all of a sudden don't work as expected. The number of clicks, for instance, to navigate through Narrative Grades differs from day to day. It's a bit like trying to fly a plane when they're putzin' around with the engines and flaps.
Recommendations to other buyersI believe they have boxed themselves in to Babble Code and need to start all over. They "fix" one thing and screw up another.
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2017
N. K.
Teacher
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2015

“New "upgrade" seems a backward step for teachers”

OverallI was happy with the original product, but after we transitioned to the new system it is evident that the teacher "waiting" time has significantly increased. I used to be able to click on different screens to enter grades, attendance, etc. and have the screen populate immediately, but now clicking a new screen requires several seconds of wait time until the new screen is queued up. It doesn't sound like much, but if you are processing information for well over a hundred students it is frustrating and time consuming. I first thought that this was just a problem with our school server, but no. It is just as slow when I access my internet at home. One of the reports that I used routinely last year, which was visible simply by clicking on a student name, now requires that I download the report to Excel , so I can't instantly answer student questions about grades in the classroom. The formatting of the report is not very user friendly - I have to significantly manipulate the data in order to post it in the classroom. It lists all the assignments from the beginning of the year, not just those in my current term gradebook. My "Homelink" no longer shows total grade points for students or parents; apparently they are expected to count up points using a calculator. I was also inquiring as to how we could modify our report card. The Aeries help line simply referred me back to my district organization, who didn't have a clue. Apparently the Aeries folks don't want questions from teachers on some issues. I was told this software upgrade was to make the screens of administrators and teachers more similar. Maybe it did that, but to the detriment of teacher data entry, report production, and parent/student access to information.
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2015
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2017

“Aeries streamlines school system.”

ProsI love the gradebook! Easy to use attendance, and easy to navigate all of the students in the school/ district.
ConsI do not like how you have to switch years to access prior students. I wish that you didn't have to log out and back in under the previous year, because sometimes I can't remember which year it was.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2017
Richelle R.
production manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018

“Easiest gradebook”

ProsWe love Aeries! You can use this for any grade level, and it's easy for students, parents and teachers.
ConsWe are now trying to figure out how to use Aeries for mastery based grading. We would also like to develop a yearlong gradebook, instead of being tied to the semesters / quarters.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Misty P.
Attendance Technician
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2019

“School Software”

OverallThis is a good system once you know how to use it.
ProsWith recent updates you can easily switch between district and school level databases, as well as between school years.
ConsSometimes the whole system is down or running very slowly
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2019
John V.
8th grade Teacher
Primary/Secondary Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2016

“Aeries should be an abandoned nest”

OverallTeachers cannot see what students & parents receive, and that is often filled with errors. Always use a second program to record grades first, as Aeries grade program often looses data, deletes entries. Many features that are user unfriendly, along with Aeries Help being limited to school district staff, not teachers.
ProsAccessible from home.
ConsLooses grade entries. Cannot see what a student sees. Will not accept grades from other sources - Excel, Numbers, etc. Cannot set dates for grade books thus cannot use triad or quarter grades. Only accepts semester grading.
Recommendations to other buyersThis program offers a "one program does everything" mentality. Unfortunately, it has performed for this teacher, very poorly in what I need and share to parents.
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2016
Brianna C.
Substitute Teacher
Education Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“Great”

OverallAttendance records are streamlined and easily accessed.
ProsEasy to use. The students are in order alphabetically and the printed role sheet matches which helps lessen the amount of mistakes. It also saves each entry as you select it.
ConsIt's picky about which internet browser you use. The page won't load if you're in a certain browser.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Alexandra C.
Teacher
Education Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“Aeries is a must!”

ProsI use aeries everyday in the classroom to take attendance. I can also look up information on each individual student and classroom data.
ConsWhen looking for specific information on my student CEDLT scores, it can be hard to find at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Araceli Z.
Clerk I
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019

“Aeries”

OverallI'm informed when it comes to student's profile.
ProsThe software has many features that are useful.
ConsI don't have any negative input yet. I find Aeries very helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019
Jen O.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2017

“Clunky 90s interface with the worst customer support”

ProsIt can serve as the baseline product for an educational organization. It has the capabilities to cover most attendance, grade book, and compliance reporting needs.
ConsIt seems to be built on a shoestring budget. Forms are clunky and non-intuitive. The interface is from a bygone decade. Customer service is extremely bad, and most reps either don't know the product or blame the customer for not knowing the product.
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2017
Karen S.
Parent
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 18, 2017

“Slow Site Performance Needs to be Addressed”

ProsSimple user interface.
ConsPerformance is EXTREMELY slow when loading student data (>2 minutes). After updating student data and clicking on Save, it takes up to 3 minutes for page to come back. I am a parent and work in the software load testing industry. This is completely unacceptable and should not have passed Quality Assurance. Please fix the performance issue. I am up at 11:30pm at night because the first day packet is due on the 2nd day of school. I can imagine hundreds of other parents are in the same situation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 18, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Information Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“Its basic but good”

ProsIts easy to use and gives u info you want quickly.
ConsTheres just a few ways of access info, seemed a little badic
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Maha K.
Math Teacher
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2015

“Aries this year is miserable! No one I know likes using it. Please go back to the old version”

OverallI had been using Aries for grades since 2006. This year, after the "improvements," It has been extremely slow and the interface is not user-friendly at all! Please revert back to the previous version! Everyone loved it then.
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2015