Barracuda Email Security Gateway Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Barracuda Email Security Gateway

Cloud-based solution that enables businesses to manage email security with threat, spam, virus, and spooling protection. Learn more about Barracuda Email Security Gateway

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 109 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 109 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Peter G.
Transport Coordinator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“If you want secure Emails, This is for You.”

ProsI worked in the hospital transport system during a time where electronic orders were becoming more and more necessary as patient census was up and the need for rapid and efficient transport was needed. One of the biggest security risks in any hospital database is patient information. With the increase of enforcement of HIPA and the frequent JACO inspections, emailing patient information in an unsecured way was not tolerated by hospital institutions. Barracuda would allow us to encrypt patient information in a secure format so it would be near impossible for the information to be intercepted by an unwanted party. I appreciated the ease of use as both the sender and the receiver of messages. While having received more messages then I have sent, you would receive an email with nearly no information on it other than the senders name, a link to an encrypted web page where you would log in and receive the message. At this point you also had an opportunity to reply to the message with the same type of security. This is an A+++ program and is essential to anyone in healthcare dealing with sensitive patient information.
ConsI do not have much to say in regards to what I did not like about the software. The only thing I could think of was that it did slow down message exchange but was worth the security for the patient.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Sergey M.
Manager, Technology Infrastructure and Compliance
Hospitality, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2018

“Great way to get a better control of your email”

OverallMuch lighter load on my MS Exchange server, full control of all the incoming correspondence.
ProsSet it and forget it solution for your email that will help you to significantly reduce amount of unwanted correspondence. Fully automated platform, automatic updates, self learning mechanism. Outstanding customer service and technical support, when you need them. One day I needed an urgent replacement of the unit, because mine broke. Replacement unit arrived in less than 24 hours! In addition, if you host your email in-house (MS Exchange for example), it will significanlty decrease load on your server, blocking all the unwanted messages BEFORE they his your mail server. Administration is very simple and flexible. You can create custom rules in addition to the automated scanning of inbound correspondence.
ConsWhile automatic updates are convenient, there were a couple of instances, when the updates were corrupted, resulting in blocking all of my mail. Gladly, Barracuda technical support is always there for you, as I have mentioned. They were able to correct the problem within a couple of hours each time this happened.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Ebrahim F.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Secure and Powerful”

ProsWhen it comes to email security, Barracuda certainly is the right tool. A small, lightweight appliance that handles not only scanning of emails, it also does traffic routing and monitoring and gives you detailed reports about the health of your environment. Barracuda has an up-to-date database of IBL addresses, as well as advanced virus scanning built-in. Definitions are updated automatically as they come out, so you don't need any manual intervention. Firmware updates are also automatic, so it pretty much takes car of itself. Everything is manageable through and easy to use Web Interface, which lets you blacklist, whitelist, track delivery, run reports and so much more. Honestly though, the only time you really need to log into the console is to check on a blacklisted address, which is very rarely. You do get your occasional false-positive and even rarer false-negative, but it happens so rarely that I really find it insignificant. In terms of reliability, I have found that the Barracuda hardly needs to be rebooted(Maybe once a year, if even) and quickly comes back online and continues what it does best.
ConsI honestly don't have anything I dislike about the Barracuda. It works and works well. Aside from email security, I have used it as a traffic router and proxy server and a NAT firewall, so I really find nothing wrong with it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Katy J.
Hospital Manager
Veterinary, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2017

“USED THIS FOR 10 Plus YEARS”

OverallMany fewer pieces of junk mail in my outlook software!
Prosmost junk mail never makes it to outlook, I can still review all the junk mail that comes through in case the wrong thing got categorized as junk. Easy to change it to deliver to my mail box, or delete. Easy to view it to determine if it is junk. NEW FEATURE at the bottom of the list of junk, just select, delete all shown mail. I do this for all my reception desk email. They have about 35-50 pieces of junk mail a day. I can pull a single piece of mail out, deliver it then delete the rest in a snap
Consthey used to be slow to pull up, so I would hit delete on one piece of mail and ignore it for a little while opened in my browser until it loaded, that has really improved in the last few weeks. Also if you leave it open and ignore it after a period of time it logs you out so you have to go to the original and hit the link again. Truly minor for the headaches it clears for me. I receive 100+ emails a day I HAVE to read, eliminating a bunch really helps.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2017
Bryan B.
Network Administrator
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Good mail security solution”

Overalle-mail is probably the largest threat vector we deal with. We've been using Barracuda for a number of years to protect our company and have great success protecting our desktops from receiving e-mails with Malware and bad links. Phishing attacks are hard for any protection service to adjust to and I feel Barracuda has done a great job taking care of us. Good support with expertise technicians have always made it easy to resolve any problems I was unable to resolve myself.
ProsSolid mail security solution. Works great in protecting our domain from the barrage of mail we get each day. Tons of features including the ability to adjust how tight we want to scrutinize incoming mail. Easy to work with regarding reviewing and releasing captured e-mail and Spam tagging. Very customizable for adjusting protection
ConsTakes time for items tagged as SPAM to propagate and protect from similar e-mails coming in
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“Expensive product, when it works, it works well, beware when it does not.”

OverallIt was a replacement for a Cisco Spam Blocker/Ironport device. As far as a replacement, it works when it works.
ProsIt's easy to deploy, and once deployed it is a standalone device that works as the filter. No resource drag on your other systems.
ConsThe hardware it sits on has issues. The first device I received would periodically freeze and had to be manually powered off and then on. There is no warning when it happens and there is no pattern. After several rounds with the tech support, they sent me a replacement. The second one doesn't freeze but sometimes will hold a bunch of emails in queue and not process them for no particular reason. Seems to have something to do with their energize updates eating up all the system's resources.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Bob J.
IT Director
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2017

“Works very well at blocking and quarantining email spam.”

OverallAn easy way to filter email spam and viruses, while proving whitelisting and blacklisting of specific users and domains.
ProsFairly easy to administer. easy to check if email from a specific user or domain is being blocked so it can be whitelisted. Blacklisting email from a specific user or domain is also easily done. We subscribe to Barracuda Energize Updates, which checks the Barracuda corporate site for the latest spam and virus rules, and automatically installs them on our Barracuda. Telephone tech support has been great at solving a couple random issues and with very quick response times.
ConsRequired some advanced initial setup configuration by a local Barracuda reseller. Have not really had any major issues with our unit.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2017
Lynn S.
Technology Innovator
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“Okay experience with the spam firewall ”

OverallIt protects your email users from outside attacks and spam, but it really has been the same product for 10+ years, and I get better false positives using other open source anti-spam products today.
ProsEasy to use. Enjoy the product flexibility with both public and private cloud products to protect both public and private cloud email servers. Supports non-Barracuda black and white lists as well. Has both virtual and physical solutions. Great technical support.
ConsPhysical and virtual appliances are expensive, but the spam and virus definitions subscription fees are the normal costs. They really have not improved the product much, and the email encryption is something that needs work (not easy to use).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018

“Protect your server like no other, it works like a charm!”

ProsWe've had a Barracuda box for 10+ years and no other appliance nor software could match its performance. One, it was truly plug and play (unlike others). Two, their support/consultants are extremely helpful. Three, the comprehensive layers of protection are in a class of their own. There are many other reasons to list regarding what I like but those three alone are what make Barracuda our leading solution for defense.
ConsNo cons to list. However, if you're sending spam yourself - your efforts won't even come through as tests. That may be a problem for some but it's more of a personal issue due to their own marketing practices. You'll get what you paid for!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Senior Manager System ¿ Microsoft
Logistics and Supply Chain, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Awesome Email Security !”

OverallBefore purchasing Barracuda Email Security Gateway our 4 to 5 mailboxes on Office 365 Cloud were blocked on daily basis. Then we re-route inbound traffic from Office 365 Cloud to Barracuda Email Security Gateway, now all threats filtered out before reaching emails on Office 365 Cloud. Single Sign On (SSO) and deployment of Encrypted SSL are very likely features of this product.Multi Domain integration also supported by Barracuda. Another feature is its energizer updates, specially when Barracuda subscription expires its worked fine. Lot of other superb feature are bundled with this product.
Pros1. Cloud-based service that pre-filters messages before they even arrive to the system's firewall. 2. Instead of blocking suspicious emails entirely, Barracuda sends them to a quarantine folder. 3. Fastest process of Large Emails Queue. 4. In-Depth Email logs. 5. It working fine with Hybrid Exchange 365 as inbound and outbound virtual appliance. 6. Its integration Single Sign On (SSO) feature that integrate Barracuda with Active Directory.
ConsIts physical appliance licensing cost is very high instead of virtual appliance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018

“It is the best spam firewall I have ever used.”

OverallIt filters and prevents data leak. It shields against email threats. It prevents threats from affecting the network. It safeguards sensitive data. It really simple to use.
ProsIt is a very user friendly and secured software. The authority gives updates frequently. It protects from common spam and viruses with cloud-based service that filters messages before they even arrive to the system's firewall.
ConsIt is a bit expensive for mass users. Barracuda does not block suspicious emails entirely rather sends them to a quarantine folder. Individual users can access quarantined email, which opens them up to the possibility of accidentally clicking on spam or downloading a virus.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“Security for your email like no other”

ProsIt is a trusted software for us which keeps our emails safe and separates junk emails from important emails. An amazing feature is the possibility to scan through junk emails at the end of the day in case an important email gets mixed up with junk ones. Tech support has been great as well, response was fast and concise.
ConsSome important emails have been ending up in my junk mail for a few times already. I have made it a habit to check my junk mails in order for me to not lose any important emails. I hope that updates can fix this problem, it is really a bit bothersome.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Blake B.
Ecommerce Product Manager
Mining & Metals, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“No News is Good News”

OverallGreat anti-spyware software that runs unobtrusively in the background. Most antispyware software that runs in the background really slows things down and causes latency. Barracuda provides a smooth experience.
ProsIt definitely works like it's supposed to. Each day we get a summary of all of the spam emails that we received and most were malicious in nature. Very few false positives get stuck through the filter!
ConsI didn't purchase it, but I hear it's not really the economical option. We maintain sensitive engineering prints and this level of security is essentially a requirement to win some contracts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018

“Great Protection”

OverallThe overall experience with Barracuda has been great. It cut down the amount of spam messages that were received and does a great job of encrypting emails. The cons are only minor annoyances, but very much tolerable.
ProsBarracuda is great at stopping threats coming through in emails. It stops a majority of spam mail and can blacklist a sender if one does happen to make it through. It also allows for email encryption, which is vital for user security. If an email gets quarantined, it will let the user know via email that they can log into Barracuda and check the email information before deciding to release or delete it.
ConsThe management interface is somewhat slow to respond. If in a high volume environment, email communication can be slow at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Medical Practice, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“Great value for excellent protection”

OverallThis software helps us maintain HIPAA compliance when sending information, and keep our infrastructure secure by blocking all spam messages.
ProsI like how simple this system is to use. Additionally, it just works. I haven't seen a piece of malware slip through and the false positive rate is relatively low. The added ability to encrypt email with keywords or by it identifying protected information is a wonderful addition.
ConsThe only issue I've had with this is that we get no notification when emails are automatically encrypted based on protected infomation, so we cannot notify recipients that aessage will be encrypted and occasionally it's a little sesnitive to information it determines as "protected".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Ben W.
Information Systems Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2017

“I have used Barracuda's Spam Firewall 300 appliance for 5 years. ”

ProsThis product simply works. There are new virus/spam definitions automatically sent out multiple times a day. Firmware updates are very easy to install (and uninstall, if necessary). Users are able to modify their personal quarantine and white/blacklist settings to suit their needs.
ConsThe web management interface is rather slow to respond. They need some more advanced security functions built into the software. And the syslog messages generated by the appliance are difficult to translate (and their is limited documentation from Barracuda).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2017
Avatar Image
Dustin S.
Superintendent of Information Technology
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“The right tool for the job”

OverallWe used BSF to reduce overall spam e-mail and improve network security; it has accomplished those goals.
ProsThe Barracuda Spam Firewall simply does what it is supposed to do -- it stops spam. Since implementation we've seen a significant decrease (to less than 2% of all attempts) in spam getting through to our users.
ConsThe user interface is slow and sometimes hides options in strange tabs (for example, Administration vs Advanced Networking -- why not just a single "networking" tab where you can do it all?)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Ali M.
Information Security Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019

“Excellent Product - Tons of Features”

OverallOverall we are very pleased with the product. It has prevented a lot of unwanted emails and the ease of using it (once you are familiar with it) is great.
ProsThe application has many features and tools you can use to easily find a certain email or group of emails. The reporting and graphs makes it easy to know whats been done.
ConsThere's a lot that it can do, so learning takes a while and can sometimes get confusing, however, once you are familiar with the application its easy to use
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019
Jill G.
Principal
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Great Spam Firewall”

OverallIt allows you to review the spam before it is deleted
ProsI like that the software will allow you to view without opening the email within you system. This makes it easy to find out if it is phishing or not. I also like the whitelist feature that will allow you to let them know if an email should come to your inbox or not.
ConsYou only receive an email once a day about spam mail. If something is really important that could be in your spam box, you must wait to see if it is there or not.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Laura D.
Controller/HR/Payroll
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017

“This application is a must-- Keeps me 100% protected from spam & spyware.”

OverallI would not feel comfortable opening up an email without using this software.
ProsI like that this program not only protects my email from spam, but in addition to that, spyware too. I can honestly 100% say my email has been clean and protected since beginning the use of this software. Threats are identified and quarantined as quick as they come in. Blocking sites is as easy as one click, and the program even offers training videos which make it incredibly easy to learn to use.
ConsIf something is blocked unnecessarily, it is difficult to unblock the site which only has happened once, but no longer is an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019

“VERY RELIABLE”

OverallI experience this software in my daily workflow and I am exceptionally pleased with how well it works.
ProsThis software does an excellent job keeping out unwanted sites from our company website. We use the internet daily at our company with over 5,000 employees so you can imagine how many times this software has saved our company from websites that are not safe.
ConsThere is nothing I dislike about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Andrew J.
Managing Attorney
Law Practice, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018

“No problems after 4 years”

ProsBarracuda seems to do a fine job filtering out at least the obvious threats. I haven't had any major problems with it in the 4+ years my company has used it.
ConsIt does not detect phishing emails very well. I would think it would be able to see that an email had certain traits, like being non-personalized, very short, containing a link, and sent from a Russian email address and filter it, but I don't think it can do that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“Proven Spam protection for your business”

ProsWe've been using Barracuda SPAM Firewall for a number of years. Very happy with the results. It scans emails and incoming files. The firewall connects to the Security cloud which guarantees the most up-to-date protection.
ConsAfter every Barracuda update, the Barracuda Spam Firewall would stop us from using the internet. Quick fix for that - turn off the unit and turn it back on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Michelle H.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Great customer service and spam filter. ”

ProsThe support is very knowledgeable and is very quick to help out when needed. My spam and unwanted emails are successfully being filtered out and it makes my inbox so much more manageable. I like that I can customize the filters.
ConsI haven't had many issues but it did take a little while to learn everything that the program has to offer. I love labeling spam emails.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Fabrizio C.
IT Desktop Support
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018

“Easy to use admin portal and great customer service”

ProsAnything to do with Barracuda will have quick and knowledgeable support team This product works great filtering out spam and unwanted emails Allows for users to manage their own whitelist/blacklist
ConsThis product has not given us any issues since we implemented it 3 years ago The Outlook Add-On is a nice feature allow us to submit samples of spam emails directly to Barracuda for analysis
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018
Joseph V.
System Support Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“Barracuda offers very strong spam protection”

OverallWe are using Barracuda as our spam filter for email. It has helped us block a lot of current spam issues, though sometimes it can get a little over zealous.
ProsBarracuda is good at what it does, possibly the best in the industry. It allows us to stave off most spam and search for it when it does come through.
ConsIt can be slow at times, especially when searching through our large volume of emails.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Megan F.
Owner
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Barracuda is a little too strict on spam”

ProsI like that this software removes spam from your email account. Its nice that it takes most of it away.
ConsWhat I like least about this software is that while it does filter alot of the spam emails out, it also catches alot of regular email. So then you end up having to double check your junk folder to make sure you havent missed anything important.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Ryan W.
Business Manager
Environmental Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2017

“Great support and easy to use interface”

OverallSpam filtering and email management from anywhere.
ProsThey have a very robust online interface that allows for customization and if you need supoort they are there to help. They are very knowledgeable and are easy to work with especially it you are not an IT professional.
ConsThe plan we have is a 5 year commitment and it is fairly pricey if you don't need all the features available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2017
Amanda M.
Teacher
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“Great For Students”

ProsMy school uses this to keep kids off YouTube and Facebook, etc. during class. It's a huge help for me to keep them on task.
ConsWhile I appreciate that it keeps students on tasks, sometimes I want them to go to controversial websites, commercial websites, or even social media for a project, and I, as a teacher, cannot unblock them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Barracuda”

OverallOverall experience has been good with Barracuda. I do wish there was a way to stay logged in so you could just accept/deliver right from your email screen.
ProsBarracuda is for the most part an easy to navigate system. In my experience, Barracuda is set up to block unsecure email/email addresses from coming to my inbox, sort of like a Spam blocker. Barracuda then sends an email alert to my inbox showing the email address and subject line that has been blocked. You can choose to click "deliver" if you want to access the message and it takes to the log in page. From there, you sign in to your account, click "deliver" and within a couple minutes the blocked email will arrive in your inbox.
ConsWith ANY Email Security that I've ever used, there's still some Spam messages that make it through, luckily these are usually very easy to detect.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018

“A reliable spam filter, which performs well.”

OverallWe have used the Barracuda Spam Firewall for many years, starting with a hardware appliance and moving to a virtual appliance. It has always served us well, providing a good level of spam and virus catching.
ProsEase of use and reliability, the support has always been pretty good.
ConsLack of SNMP support on our model, but this is available on the higher level models
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018
Sven S.
Supervisor
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“Continual screening of emails for spam and malware. ”

OverallContinuous tangible reduction in BS emails that reduce productivity across the workspace.
ProsIt has drastically reduced the bloated, spam filled inboxes of all our employees and the wasted time dealing with this issue.
ConsNo real complaints, not easy to access, but it should only be accessed by a minimum of personnel so that is a non-issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Marc L.
Senior Systems Engineer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018

“Great multi tenant span filter”

ProsWorks good, can be setup for multiple domains and tenants, does email encryption too. Been using for many years.
ConsMy one hang up is that if you want to send encrypted mail, the domains cannot be on the same spam firewall. We have to have multiple virtual appliances for customers who send encrypted email to each other.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Arthur H.
Systems Engineer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“We use this for all of our email and our customers hosted email”

Prosit is pretty effective at reducing spam The blacklists and whitelists are easy to modify It is easy to manage several different domains Support is really good
ConsThe appliance can be slow when looking through spam history It can be a bit difficult to figure out why exactly something was blocked. The filter levels can be a little confusing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Amanda C.
Lending Assistant
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“Saves me a lot of trouble”

OverallSecurity and peace of mind knowing my computer will not crash due to spam and malware.
ProsBarracuda is easy to set up and junk mail/ spam never gets into my email. It gives me piece of mind and allows me to feel secure when working off our servers.
ConsThe price is high. It took a bit of research before taking the plunge and buying it. Well worth it though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Hillary G.
Student
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018

“My university's email utilizes Barracuda Spam Firewall for our email server.”

Overallsimplicity, ease of use, efficiency
ProsBarracuda Spam Firewall keeps hundreds of emails from overflowing in my inbox. It does a good job of sorting through "junk" and unknown senders.
ConsI still have a junkmail, so I go through multiple inboxes a day to sort through emails.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018
Chris M.
Lead Desk Technician
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017

“Barracuda is fantastic for taking preventative measures when blocking or allowing emails. ”

ProsI love that it gives us the ability to whitelist specific email domains, or to block such email as spam. We can see what was blocked with ease and even re queue emails if needed.
ConsSometimes it is a little hard to navigate such as when placing an email address on block or whitelisting for a specific domain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017
Guy W.
IT Director
Automotive, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2017

“stops 99.9% of all spam for our company”

Overallmakes my job and the security of our company easy.
ProsEase of operation and great support. regular visits from Barracuda as well as wonderful phone support
Consi cannot think of a single issue we have had that was not handled in a timely manner. Even when one of the appliances acted up there was another delivered within 8 hours.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2017
Rick S.
AVP of IT
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 11, 2018

“Barracuda Email Security Gateway”

OverallWe dumped our email security appliance, not Barracuda, and moved to the cloud based gateway and it was 1/4 of the price for what we were paying for.
ProsBarracuda is a great company with a reputation of building products which do what they were designed to do. The email security gateway is great. Easy to configure, easy to use. The virus scanning feature with sandbox is fantastic. Questionable emails are placed in a sandbox, exploded, and reviewed for behavior. Makes it easier for the IT team to sleep at night.
ConsNone that I can think of. Product price, configuration, management are great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Matt E.
Network Architect
Consumer Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“One of the best spam solutions to date”

ProsThis appliance has all the bells and whistles of most spam solutions, however, It also has an abundance of advanced in depth features too.
ConsThe price to buy in I feel could be a bit lower. If you go the appliance route, you are looking around a 3 - 10k buy in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Bob B.
Director Of Corporate Communications
Biotechnology, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2017

“Pretty easy to use and fairly effective too”

OverallIt works well behind the scenes without being too intrusive.
ProsThe ease of usability along with the fairly accurate screening makes it a decent solution for spam filtering.
ConsOccasionally it is necessary to alter settings or tweak existing ones after a spate of new spam suddenly starts appearing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 9, 2017
Nicolle G.
Physician Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018

“Personal email”

ProsBarracuda allows me to filter through unknown senders, but not junk mail. It scans the difference between spam and a new sender.
ConsI have to check multiple inboxes and be redirected to Barracuda's website in the event that an email is not spam.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Kasey B.
Adjuct Professor of Political Science
Management Consulting, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018

“Worked great when I used it.”

ProsOne of my previous schools I worked with was targeted repeatedly by spam, fishing, and malware and they actually purchased this software to stop the spam train from exposing out teachers. It worked great for me, reduced spam almost entirely without having anything important filtered out like many others.
ConsHonestly, I liked when we used it, I wish my current school had it currently, but what can I say. The biggest concern for my field is the pricetag and I'm not sure if they are competitive enough, that being said, it does everything you need it to do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018
Lauren C.
support engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Gets the job done”

ProsAble to black list spam and and key words in subject line. very handy for our company. sends alerts of potential spam
Consnot good at handling large volumes of emails all at once. think it can only have 750 emails sent at a time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Jadwiga D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2017

“Haven't seen spam since!”

OverallKeeps my computer safe and keeps me worry free!
ProsThis product is extremely easy to set up, use, and understand. Not only is it user-friendly, it also does an outstanding job of keeping my emails safe. I also really like the automatic updates.
ConsWhen reading the detailed reports, it almost makes me worried to see how much is out there that potentially could have harmed my computer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2017
Deborah S.
Clinical Research Manager
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“Barracuda review”

OverallIt does the job of securing documents within the portal.
ProsIt has an easy login process. Rarely have to change passwords
ConsWhen replying to an email, the reply is difficult to see. It becomes jumbled.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Tyler H.
Educational Consultant
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Secure Email Option”

Overallit met a requirement that I needed to fulfill.
ProsThe HIPAA and FERPA compliancy, allowed multiple entities to communicate with one another without the worry of compatible platforms and downloading different products.
ConsWas not able to forward emails. Had to save the email as a file to the desktop in order to forward onto another user.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Kris M.
Training and Development Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“Great software that allows users and admins to access and setup various settings and modules.”

ProsGreat algorithms that stop 99.9 percent of all spam that we receive. I work for a copy that recently added this service and it's so much better than what they previously had.
ConsA little pricey for and sometimes not intuitive when setting up certain features. Front end users have limited abilities to change the way the back end works.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
derek h.
loan officer
Facilities Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2019

“like a great gatekeeper”

Prosfilter almost all unwanted email and spam.
Conswould like to have all emails delivered from specific addresses once you elect for the 1st one to be delivered.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2019
Rebecca B.
BI Report Dev
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Great software that is easy to use”

ProsThis software is great for filtering out unwanted spam. You can easily search for keywords to block, block from specific regions, block languages - the options are plentiful.
ConsI do not really have anything bad to say about this software. It did everything that I needed it to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018