GoodSync Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Service
4.2/5

About GoodSync

GoodSync for Business provides complete enterprise data backup and synchronization solutions for any data source, destination, or system. In addition, the GoodSync Control Center provides centralized management and reporting of file synchronization, backup, and publishing activities of GoodSync workstations and servers. Learn more about GoodSync

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 79 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 79 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Daniel B.
Dir of Ops - datacenters
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019

“Solved our problem - reliably”

OverallWe had a unique situation where remote locations in central/south america all needed to sync files securely into our repository for reporting purposes. Given that none of the entities involved would allow inbound connections, and that the data was 'sensitive' in nature, we needed a solution that would be reliable, automated, secure, etc. and that would 'phone home' on a regular schedule. Problem solved.
ProsReliable - it is able to xfer files over the worst connections, and do so reliably and accurately. Never had any problems with corruption. Flexible - we can configure just about any parameter needed to setup a bi-directional sync, or just a backup. Easy - being able to select which files and folders, browse local and remote directories, etc. is all intuitive.
ConsRarely - but on 0ccasion, we would get a sync conflict that causes the process to stop. It would be nice if it had the ability to realize it was hung (hadn't progressed in 24 hours or whatever) and restart. But this has been less that half-dozen times in 3 years across 25 remote locations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019
Sherry F.
Project Analyst
E-Learning, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018

“A MUST for everyone backups made EASY!”

OverallMy life is better with this software. I have never had a bad experience. I am constantly recommending it. I believe everyone should own it. If your hard drive crashes, you are screwed... unless you back up regularly. Good Sync only updates the most recent file. There is no need to resave a file that has not changed, so the process is very fast.
ProsThis software is simply amazing! The user interface is easy to understand, no instructions needed. Simply browse to select folders. Sync in either direction, exclude specific files or file types. Very easy to customize how to handle. Create multiple tabs allowing more specific customization of your back-up. I do mine daily - onto a flash drive, and I have 4 tabs... one of which pulls files from another computer in my network at home. The cost is minimal, but the benefit is worth it's weight in gold.
ConsNothing.... I have used it for 15 years now... only wish I discovered it before then!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2018
Joshua E.
Creative Director
E-Learning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017

“It's What The Name Says: Good! ”

OverallThis software caters to a small niche, and it caters to it well! (Or, "good."). I have yet to find a backup/syncing software that is both powerful and easy. Honestly, I have yet to find many that work  period! While Goodsync is a paid option, it's ridiculously affordable as far as software goes. I highly recommend!
ProsCheap. Highly affordable. Customizable (e.g. Create routines, specific sync jobs, etc...) Updated CONSTANTLY. (I don't even say this exaggeratively: I think this software receives more frequent updates than any I know. Which is reassuring with software that you're trusting with daily automated tasks  especially ones likely involving the backup of your life's data.)
ConsWhile I think the UI is pretty outstanding relative to the challenge it's trying to solve, it can still be daunting at times. When you're reviewing the sync analysis for thousands upon thousands of files, it seems like there might be a slightly better way to display things to the user to inform them of important notices, etc...
Recommendations to other buyersThe software is a bit overwhelming at first, but that's because it's trying to tackle a task that nobody faces in day-to-day life with software available to the masses. After you get acclimated to the environment, it really begins to click. Given that nature of the job (i.e. backing up REALLY important documents and/or potentially overwriting files), I'd still tread lightly no matter how comfortable you get.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Hospitality, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018

“The only tool that is required for Sync and Backup”

OverallWhen we have too much data it is really easy to forget back up or sync. We also need to keep track manually of the changed files and update. In some cased it can be easily overlooked. Having a software like GoodSync, we don't really have do any manual tracking. It takes care of comparing and we just have to choose what actions needs to be taken. Saves a lot of time and make the whole process easy.
Pros-Both Backup and Sync can be done. No need to have different tools for different jobs. -Synchronizing tool is very powerful and accurate -There is built support to sync with many cloud storage accounts (google drive, onedrive, box etc) -Portable version of the software is handy as it can be used in many computers. (the price is slight higher) -Ability to save sync or back jobs is very convenient and being able to group is quite nice. -I have 9 hard disks and i back up and sync between all of them using GoodSync. It is really fast and makes the easily done.
Cons-User Interface for synchronization can be improved. It took some time to realize how exactly it works so first time users can find it a bit difficult. The way the data represented (conflicts, copy left to right and vice versa) and also the action that needs to be taken presented in a better way. This is not really a bad thing as once understood or after using it for a while it be very easy to use. People who have used tools compare and merging tools will not have any issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Goodsync is a great tool for syncing servers and the cloud”

OverallSyncing a PC folder to a server folder, syncing a server folder to a different server folder, syncing from a PC or server folder to cloud storage (using the local display of cloud contents) available when using cloud storage platforms like Dropbox, OneDrive or Sharepoint.
ProsEasy to configure software; extremely reliable. With the personal edition, as long as your PC can see the source and the target, you can sync between both sides. I lover the auto scheduling of the sync. Warning messages are also helpful. Finally running as a background service allows a PC to act as the broker to sync between servers, PC's and cloud storage (like Dropbox) and PC to PC.
ConsReally nothing. The software works as advertised and is reasonably priced for performing a very specific type of task - syncing (one-way or bi-directional) between a source and a target file folder.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Malik A.
None
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“It can compare two directories and automatically copy new files, and keep the folders in sync.”

OverallGoodSync 10 is a reliable application that can help you back up your important data automatically and on regular basis without much effort. Support for batch processing ensures that this application can handle multiple sync jobs together.
ProsThe UI of the application is simple and clean, and one can easily get used to it with little time and effort. The application offers to create two different types of backup jobs to suit the needs of the users. Backup job only modifies files in the output directory, and includes hidden and system files by default. Synchronization job changes the files on both sides, so any changes made to any of the folders is synced to the other one. This option excludes system files by default. You can sync files and folders from remote computers using FTP or SFTP. You can also sync folders and files located on GoodSync Connect, Windows Shares, WebDAV, Amazon S3, Google Drive, Windows Azure, Amazon Cloud Drive, SkyDrive or WinMobile ,OneDrive Office 365 and Box.com, BackBlaze B2. The application makes use of end-to-end AES with 256-bit key encryption to ensure safer backups. Using P2P method for backup increases backup speeds by many times making even bigger backups very quick.
ConsP2P method for backup should increase the speeds significantly, however, this isn't the case here. It is actually slower than many other similar applications.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on March 13, 2018
Hi Malik - Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. If you can please submit evidence of P2P definitely investigate ASAP. http://bit.ly/1L9QELn
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018

“Easy to use product that gets the job done”

Overallsaved us alot of time and actually worked better than expected for the doctor.
ProsUsing this product with the built in scheduler and it works very well now for several years. Implementation was simple as it does compare new to already existing files that you already have in the directories. I setup a simple task for the radiologist here and he was very happy with the way it synced up the data for him in both realtime and on a schedule. Overall I would recommend this product to anyone. Shows you a list of what was copied too that is quite nice.
ConsSome of the tasks can be kind of complicated to setup. You have to think about the file extensions and how you want to setup the transfer and where it will reside. Takes some trial work to get things going sometimes that what I am saying.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Joel L.
Founder
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019

“Very intelligent and feature rich syncing tool”

OverallSyncing files is huge these days and GoodSync has provided me a solution to sync files without storing files in public cloud storage. As well, for the files I do keep in public cloud storage, I can back them up. Long time user and big fan.
ProsI feel safe syncing files with GoodSync because of the smart algorythms for comparing files. As well there are fail-safes built in (optional) that will backup files that are deleted. I have never needed them but it is good to know they are there. The software comes in handy all the time. It integrates with your cloud accounts to back them up and via their GoodSync Connect I can easily sync files over the Internet. I have used it for years and it has provided an easy solution to many types of problems.
ConsThe server version of GoodSync is high priced.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019
Chester G.
President
Printing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“Comments from PVP”

OverallIt has been reasonable, one time when we had problems it was quite frustrating as it seemed almost impossible to just be able to call and get hands on help, but I think I finally was able to talk to a person. I understand your system, but sometimes when your problem is complex, it needs to be talked through but I eventually was able to do that.
ProsIt is reasonably priced and generally works well behind the scenes.
ConsWe have had a few issues where we would lose the licensing, and have to get it authorized again, it updates quite often which isn't really a big deal, but unless there are real improvements, would actually prefer it to be updated less. We were using Cubby, which works more as a central on the cloud system, that keeps all users updated, whereas this one works peer to peer, which doesn't seem to be quite as good. However, we have made it work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Hany A.
Product Manager
Computer Hardware, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019

“A Great backup and Sync software that replaces a DAS”

ProsFlawless, manual or Automatic (Scheduled or on change) Synchronisation; it can replace a Direct attached storage with RAID 1 configuration; it also displays a summary of the changes from the source to the destination with plenty of criteria like propagate deletions at destination, or choose to leave any deleted file at destination, or even keep the deleted files for a certain period of time in case they are needed again; can be scheduled to automatically synchronise source with destination upon file change or new file addition; multiple Synchronisation or backup jobs can be created;
Consit is not easy to arrange the jobs in the required order
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019
charith r.
electrical engineer
Shipbuilding, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Best data synchronising tool for busy world”

OverallAs an electrical engineer, I am very busy during work and after my works hours. Therefore sometimes I forgot to back up my important data or files. GoodSync is one of the software which helps me to continue my work very smoothly. Synchronizing and backup are very imported for my job because I deal with a lot of project-related documents and these documents are the most important part to increase the businesses of my shipbuilding company.
ProsGoodSync has a user-friendly interface and it is very easy to used to file synchronizing and backup. Also, there are many tool end to end encryptions, real-time data transfer, block-level data transfer, and version history control besides synchronizing. It only synchronizing the latest files only and avoid data corruption during data transfer.
ConsSever license price is very high when compared with other licensing options. Sometimes for some types of file synchronizing speed is low.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018

“The best synchronisation software available.”

OverallReliable backup to cloud and synchronisation between sites and to laptops.
ProsReliable synchronisation allowing good automation options, filtering and an excellent choice of target clouds.
ConsInability to synchronise the same set of data simultaneously means that complex setups have lots of failures until a job "gets its slot". In particular backup jobs should be bale to run without locking everything.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on January 22, 2018
Hi there - thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Locking GoodSync job root files/folders is imposed so the folders / files we are syncing / backing up are not altered during the process. If any changes happen during this lock, they will be picked up when the next sync / backup job runs. Removing this lock is not recommended, but it can be done. Under Left / Right side of GoodSync job Options, check the box "No GS_Data folder here". Again, please note, that we do not recommend removing this lock.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018
Michael B.
Editor
Online Media, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“GoodSync has been working very well for me for several years. ”

OverallAutomated backups and consolidated cloud storage software.
ProsI've been using GoodSync for all kinds of automated local and cloud backups for several years. Any issues I've run into have been minor and when I've contacted customer support they're usually very good about getting back to me with fixes and update me regularly. It's very versatile and reliable software that is pretty easy to set up.
ConsWhen updating to new versions automatically, the software sometimes fails and you need to re-install the update manually. Not a huge deal but kind of annoying that it still happens from time to time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
David S.
User
Law Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017

“Awful. Complete waste of money.”

OverallI developed great experience with debugging and anger management. It inspired me to scout the market for other solutions, and it encouraged me to learn rsync as a substitute.
ProsIt's easy to delete. That's about the best thing I can say: it can be removed by simply dropping it in the trash.
ConsI have used GoodSync on and off for several years. Here's my typical experience: * I install the latest version of GoodSync. * I encounter various intermittent errors. * I delete GoodSync and use another solution. Why do I keep going back? Because I paid for it, and I cling to the hope that they will eventually make it *minimally* effective. No dice. It remains as much garbage as it was when I purchased it. Examples: * Locks up while attempting to sync to a folder. Just becomes totally unresponsive. The process needs to be killed, and often the machine rebooted, to recover from the lockup. * "Undefined Error: 0." Constantly. This is GoodSync's version of "An error occurred." Don't bother emailing GoodSync customer support - they don't know and won't help you. * Sync jobs just fail, spontaneously, mid-sync. The sync is running perfectly, the volumes are both still available... and it abruptly stops. * The network browser is overdesigned and overcomplicated. All you want do is to specify a URL, a username, and a password. Sometimes it accepts the settings. Sometimes it just retains the old settings, and barfs out random error messages. I give up. They are never going to make this software to minimal usability. I have scoured all of my computer systems of this bloated trashware. Don't make the same mistake I did. Don't waste your time, and don't give this developer money. You will regret every dime and every moment you spend on this garbage.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on August 24, 2017
Hi David - We have escalated your support ticket and we have reached out in an attempt to resolve the issues listed in your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017
Grant M.
Manager, Systems/IT
Wholesale, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“A product that does what it says - most of the time”

OverallWe do rely on the product as an alternative to One Drive, which we found to be completely unreliable. GoodSync is far more reliable, documents the work it is doing really well, and provides mechanisms to overcome issues more robustly.
ProsThe interface is great - comprehensive, giving you the details of what's going on Performance is great - doing live syncs happens quickly and does not degrade performance noticeably
ConsIntegration with One Drive is not reliable. At times the connection breaks and the syncing stops. The Central Management of clients also does not work when using a One Drive as a target for syncing.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on June 19, 2019
Hi Grant - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We have passed this information along to our support team for further review.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018

“Instead of saving data on 2-3 places, I can sync different clouds, save spaces.”

OverallThe software is great, but once I format my computer and reinstall it, it again asks for license and I've to contact customer support, but I am hopeful this will be resolved soon, and you'll link the license to my IP. It saves a lot of time for me. I love the easy to delete function that features with this software.
ProsEverything that I need about my backup data. I desperately needed to sync it to cloud and back to my PC without any other software installation. GoodSync does it. I never delete the files here, just to be sure that I don't need them anymore. I can customize sync options to different hard drives and that's the part I love most.
ConsIt took me too long to set up as it is pretty slow in getting installed. Free utilities are also present, but with same features, and automatic exception handling can really cause problem sometimes. One of my files was deleted not to be found again :-(

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on April 10, 2018
We're very sorry to hear about your file. Regarding both the lost file and the setup time, please feel free to contact our support team if you haven't already. A representative is always more than happy to assist. Thank you! https://www.goodsync.com/php/gsss/main?lang=en
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018
Michael B.
CEO
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2019

“Really perfect for keeping files in sync”

OverallKeeping local copies of network files on notebooks in sync.
ProsOn our computers I literally have to keep hundreds of gigabytes in sync. GoodSync is almost perfect in this. If wanted, it syncs in the background. E. g. we use Nextcloud as our cloud storage. It works tremendpusly together with it.
ConsLicense shifting is a bit difficult since when you want to port a license to a new computer due to hardware change, always ALL licenses of the same purchase have to be reactivated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2019
Suraj S.
Sr. Team Lead - Cloud Infra
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Source and Target Directory scanning gets slower. ”

OverallBackup small KB sized data files to other disk and S3 bucket of AWS.
ProsThe software is Easy of Implementation and very Robust.
ConsBecomes slow when scanning file list at S3 bucket (has 1million files) when syncing from local to s3 bucket. It scans full list every time that takes 2 hours even when the bucket is used to just put file to s3 with no writes from other source.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on July 11, 2019
HI Suraj - thank you for reaching out and providing feedback on your use of GoodSync. Regarding the issue you're experiencing, please open a support ticket by going to Help >> Contact Support. Create a support ticket from the GoodSync installation that is actually running that you describe in the issue. Once received, our team will review the log file, troubleshoot, and assist. Thank you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“GoodSync is a great way to implement a 3-2-1 backup solution.”

OverallGoodSync is a great file backup management application that makes it easy to backup my files.
ProsGoodSync allows me to backup by computers to my NAS and to my Cloud Storage provider Backblaze without hassle. I can easily set it up for unattended backup and have email alerts sent in case of a problem. Also it works on Linux!
ConsI don't have any issues with the software, but the settings could be a bit more descriptive to ensure I know what they do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Francis A.
manager
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018

“a robust tool”

Proswhen the product is set you can trust him completely. The number of options can satisfy most needs, even the most complex. Backup or synchronizations finally become reliable.
ConsSome minor translation errors for the French version, but nothing insurmountable.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on July 31, 2018
Thanks for the heads up about the translation issues! If it's not too much of a bother and you don't mind sending them our way, we'll gladly update. If so, you can submit them here: http://bit.ly/1L9QELn. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017

“After extensively trying GoodSync and other similar syncing software, I have found the app to marry.”

OverallMy stuff is in perfect sync and so are my backup drives!
ProsI like its ease of use. Menu design, the option control is probably my favorite because I am very technical so I need the control over everything and all know what it's talking about.
ConsI can't say there's anything that I don't like. It syncs FTP, Cloud, physical drives, I mean everything with speed an precision. I suppose it can have a more simplified user interface?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017
Darren M.
web developer
Online Media, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018

“Reliable syncing software saves so much time”

Pros- cuts out the middle man and saves so much time syncing files from one hard drive/decive to another - if a file changes in one destination, it will update the file in second destination automatically again, saving time and effort - once set up, no need to "turn on" or "log in" as such, syncing will occur automatically
Cons- syncing to cloud solutions can be slow. - learning curve to set up, can take alot of time/concentration if unfamiliar with this style of software however once set up you are good to go!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 9, 2018

“This program is a Godsend!”

ProsThis program is a godsend. I have a MyCloud, a personal cloud storage device. I wanted to back it up to Dropbox, so that I had my items saved in two places for protection, especially as the MyCloud is kept running all the time. No other program allowed me to backup to Dropbox from a networked drive. It's fast, it's easy. It does what it says it does. Setting things up could not be easier, and it's so nice to be able to pick and choose what folders to save, so you can wait on longer uploads for another time if you just want to do an emergency backup. 10 stars!
ConsSometimes it can be a little buggy and try to overwrite items that aren't new. So you have to go and select "Same name, diff time" or whatever that option is, and mark to not upload those. It would be nice if it could automatically check and not upload things that haven't changed, that way you don't have to stop a sync in progress to go back and skip things. It might even be possible, honestly, I just haven't found the right combination of settings to make that work yet. :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 9, 2018
Donald C.
Technology Arcitect (Retired)
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019

“GoodSync - Does Not Sync Extended Attributes and Tech Support Is Rude and Uninformed”

OverallGoodSync has a slick website that promises a critical feature that they can't deliver and thier tech support is rude, unhelpful and technically out-of-date. Applications from other companies support syncing Mac extended attributes over SMB to a NAS albeit with a worse UI and poor documentation. I really wanted to like this product and even offered a suggestion for a workaround but they weren't interested. Here is one response a GoodSynch tech to a carefully crafted question from me that contained relevant log entries and observations. All of his responses were similar, no matter what information I provided. Tech: yes, you NAS does not support any such thing. you need to backup on Mac to actual disk formatted by Mac. NAS is not a Mac at all.
ProsGoodSync has a good UI that is intuitive and the manual is excellent. Simple file syncronization tasks are easy to setup and can be easily autimated if needed.
ConsThe GoodSync website clearly states that Mac extended attributes are preserved during file syncronization. This is absolutely not true if you want to sync to or from network attached storage devices (NAS). I engageded thier tech support team and provided them with detailed information concerning the problem and was answered by someone using incomplete sentences saying that I couldn't sync from a NAS using SMB because MAC extended attributes were not supported by SMB which hasn't been true for several years. I politely pressed the point and tried to get the request escalated but the tech just blew it off. I reported this unbeleivably rude and poorly informed tech to the company and received a refund and a statement that they have problems getting SMB to work.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on February 25, 2019
Hi Donald - we're very sorry to hear you had such a poor experience, and we want to assure you that we take technical issues, as well as specific requests very seriously. If you can please reply with your email address or ticket number, we will ensure it is properly escalated and addressed. Thank you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019
Tony M.
I.T. Consultant
Computer Networking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017

“GoodSync Enterprise backup software is truly a great product, reliable, versatile and efficient!”

OverallReliable backups with great features.
ProsIt provides a number of target options for backup. You can backup or sync to a local drive, a Server, web or to any Windows based device.
ConsThe software is great. However, when you uninstall it for the purpose of installing it on another system, it does not decrement the license count. You have to contact SiberSystems to reset the install count.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017
Prakash B.
IT Security Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“Excellent software to sync file between PC and cloud”

ProsGoodsync can sync files between PCs or PC to cloud with no other software needed. Good auditing of all activity Option to keep multiple versions and deleted files It can run as a service
ConsWorkstation and server licensing is different even though they use same software. Difficult to keep up with version changes. (Good problem to have)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Thomas R.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017

“Superb software for the money. It does exactly what it says, and I have yet to see an issue with it.”

ProsSupport has been excellent. Superb software for the money. It does exactly what it says, and I have yet to see an issue with it. Updates are prompt, work, and simply do their part to manage the backups.
ConsSo far, there have been no noticeable cons to this software. It's not free, but then again, free usually isn't worthwhile.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017
mirco b.
Engineer
Civil Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“GoodSync...is simple the best!”

ProsThis software can do all things that you want for a sync software. Is very symple to use and to configure. Also work between web so this is a must!
ConsI can made a lot of sync programation and i can use in multiple pc station dislocated in multy placement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Menrad H.
Leiter IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2017

“daily I synchronize about 80 devices”

ProsIngenious, that I must no longer have to access directly to the affected devices. The overview in the dashboard is very good. The view on the status is very important to me. Automated synchronization is a big help for us.
ConsIt is a pity that I can not search / filter the individual devices in the dashboard. It would be great if you could group the individual devices.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on November 20, 2017
Hi Menrad - thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Regarding the ability to search/filter individual devices, while GoodSync Server does not have this functionality, the GoodSync Control Center does. You can find more info on the Control Center here: https://www.goodsync.com/business/control-center
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017

“Always a solid product!”

OverallSimple - it does the job, both to sync and copy.
ProsEasy to set up with an intuitive interface. Can either backup files to another volume or synchronize files between two volumes.
ConsThe enterprise version seemed quite expensive as compared to the standard version, especially since I'm simply copying files from one server to a second.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017

“Works as advertised”

ProsSpeed, configurability, Cloud Connections, visibility into what it's processing, works in the background, easy to setup
ConsThe inability to start and stop jobs based on a time schedule. Inability to have multiple clients syncing from the same drive/folder without having to re-analyse every time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017
tracy w.
Executive Assistant to Managing Director
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2019

“TTG's Reivew of GoodSync”

Overallsecurity of files and continuous backing up of those files
Pros- reliable synchronisation - easy to set up - reasonably priced - security of data
ConsOur clients have not experienced any issues in using this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2019
Ronald v.
Supervisor
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Reliable File Syncing/Backup”

OverallBackup, backup, backup. I use this to keep a redundant backup going between a NAS Drive and 2 external backup drives. The best software I have ever bought.
Pros- Backup options - Sync options - Delayed sync/backup - Sync, files, folders, external drives
ConsI have yet to find anything bad to say about this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
voris s.
Admin
Shipbuilding, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Experiences”

ProsReliable, accurate the server handles multiple connections well
ConsSync over slow lines, it takes a lot of time to complete. It would had been a nice feature if we could only sync a specific folder rather than the whole folder structure, when needed Server price... very expensive
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Sunil M.
co-owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“Great software. Some quirks. ”

ProsOverall, this is an excellent utility that is quite versatile! The interface is fairly intuitive, and the options and features list cover pretty much any normal file sync scenario you would run into. It's nice to have some of the community support to help answer questions and muddle through a specific set up you'd like to see, but for the most part, it's pretty easy to figure out.
ConsFrom time to time it would crash randomly. No real indication as to what exactly would cause it, and tough to pin down a repeatable error. Also, there are free utilities that have almost exactly the same features and are a bit lighter on resources.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Jonathan W.
IS Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017

“Receive prompt response when ordering and with tech support”

ProsLots of options, but simple to use if you want to be minimalist. However, lots of options to address various scenarios. We use the WebDav connectivity feature which is great for Cloud storage connectivity.
ConsBug fixes (Version Updates) seem to come haphazardly on no real set schedule. Would like to be notified of the the updates, instead of finding them available when I log in to check the sync processes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017
Ziya B.
System Engineer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“GoodSync”

ProsUser interface very friendly and have a lot of features.
Consboth of site replication should be more easy and understandable because this part of application really very complex..
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018

“Very Reliable - even in poor connectivity/remote environments”

ProsReliable! It is easy to set-up and once in place it consistently does what we need, regardless of size or connection speed.
ConsI would like to be add some additional features in future releases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018
Wendy M.
Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2018

“Renewal process is a pain. ”

ProsNow that we finally got it working, it is fine! It really does a good job now! It is pretty reliable.
ConsTook too long to get it up and working correctly. I think you even had to make some minor changes to get it working for us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2018
Michael D.
Director of IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017

“Good Synch is a solid product. We've been using it for years to cross backup data on SANs and NASs”

OverallPeace of mind that my data backed up.
ProsThe flexibility of the synch and the ability to have multiple synchs configured and be able to manage the timing of those synchs to not interfere with production.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017
Scott T.
Associate IT Director
Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2018

“Good backup software at a reasonable price”

ProsByte level copy. Fast copying. Works on Mac.
ConsInterface is hard to understand. Only ticket system support. Hard to troubleshoot errors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2018
David B.
Computer systems administor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“great for syncing 2 computers”

Overallgreat backup solution
Proseasy to sync for cloud or to another pc. Checks folders for syncing new files. easy to setup and great interface
ConsWorkstation and server licensing is different even though they use same software, could load folder with lots of files and folders faster.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Jake P.
IT support & Maintenance Co-Ordinator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2017

“Straight forward and easy to use”

OverallThe benefits we received was two perfectly synced servers in two different towns via vpn.
ProsNot scary to use. Abundance of features. Powerful but easy to use. Support is helpful and knows their product.
ConsNot much to say here. Product works as expected. Would recommend to anyone. Sometimes takes long to sync.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2017
John S.
Marketing Manager
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Professional backup software and you don't have to be an IT expert”

OverallHave a Network attached storage (NAS) device and wanted the ability to backup several PC's and floating laptop to the NAS. GoodSync is perfect, cost effective, easy to set up jobs, quickly shows you backup difference/discrepancies and the latest version is quick. Much easier than any manual backup process
ProsGreat new interface, great visibility on file synchronization being able to see the differences between files. Quick analysis and quick backup.
ConsNot really clear on how to connect to NAS, but plenty of support available to figure it out
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
John S.
Director of IT
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017

“Fantastic. Exactly what I was looking for, and support was quick and helpful.”

OverallI was able to keep user directories synced while we moved systems from an old server to a new one so downtime was minimized.
ProsPeer-to-peer synchronizing large server directories with enough advanced options to allow me to get the maximum throughput.
ConsExtremely large directories take a long time to analyze. Directories that had a large volume of rapid changes overloaded the server when when syncing was set to Auto: File Change (adding a delay helped)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Banking, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018

“The product works very well and it does what it is advertised.”

Pros-no manual intervention required, once set up -sync over the internet works flawlessly -GoodSync customer service is great and very responsive. I was able to work out a fair price for a particular situation, specific to my case - easy to set up Overall this is a great product and I am very satisfied with both the product as well as customer service.
ConsThere are only two versions available to purchase Pro (desktop) Enterprise (anything that has a server OS as an end point) There would be useful to have a Pro version that can be used on a server OS with a specific number of connections/licenses (my case) Some of the options in the GUI are not as explained as maybe they should be
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2018

“For Well-Synced Teams”

ProsGoodSync provides feature such as data backup and file and activity log synchronization. GoodSync delivers what it advertised, a good data backup and synchronization. It is fairly easy to use and easy to maneuver around. Not much complications were faced with GoodSync.
ConsNot many disadvantage were faced with GoodSync. It provided what it promised.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2018
Isaiah A.
BUYER
Medical Devices, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018

“Great Software”

OverallWe did have several paperwork and issues we needed attention from goodsync and they quickly responded and provided what we needed.
ProsIt was easy to use, efficient and if I needed any additional help, the customer care team would gladly respond to my questions. Very easy to work with.
ConsThere was nothing I did not like about the software. it worked great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018
Paul K.
Manager, IS
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2018

“Software performs as advertised”

ProsIt works without intervention. We can install, set to run as a service and forget it. You can choose automatic exception handling as well.
ConsCould be a bit faster on folders with loads of files, but that is to be expected, we are talking a directory tree structure with thousands of folders and million files.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2018
Julie L.
Director of Client Success
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“I mainly use GoodSync because OneDrive Sync is so unreliable.”

ProsI like that I can use Dropbox to sync all my laptops and then I use GoodSync to sync specific drives back to my company OneDrive.
ConsI was forced to upgrade to keep the OneDrive sync feature. I purchase this with my personal funds so I would prefer not to be forced into ugrades.

Vendor Response

By Siber Systems on April 24, 2018
Hi Julie - thank you for taking the time to review GoodSync. Regarding OneDrive, it was originally offered as a beta feature for an upcoming version. Subsequently, once GoodSync 10 was released, upgrades were required in order to maintain this feature. With that being said, we certainly understand the need to stick to a budget and we're happy to offer discounted upgrades when possible. Please do not hesitate to contact us regarding pricing should a future upgrade arise.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018