Eclipse Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Service
3.8/5

About Eclipse

For over 30 years, Explorer Software has set the standard in ERP software for the construction industry with its flagship product, Explorer Eclipse. Eclipse introduces leading technologies and best-in-class functionality to the construction software market. A robust real-time system designed with your construction accounting needs in mind; it's flexible enough to adjust to the requirements of any user. Operates in a multi-company, multi-currency and divisionalized environment. Learn more about Eclipse

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 27 of 27 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 27 of 27 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Sean M.
Senior Project Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 15, 2017

“Explorer Eclipse User Review”

OverallOur company migrated from a legacy product to Eclipse. We are a heavy highway contractor with multiple asphalt plants and quarry/crushing operations. This process, as with any large change, came with its own set of problems. We had AP, AR and a large Materials Handling division to bring online. Eclipse staff lead us through this with minimal pain. We needed several modifications to just about every module to suit our specific needs and Eclipse stepped up and helped us get everything we needed.
ProsEclipse has a pretty solid web based platform that allows for significant user oriented customization. Their business analytics/custom inquiries are top notch. Users have an array of tools at their disposal for data retrieval and reports. Eclipse has an implementation and support staff that has no rivals. They will work with you until its right! Need a modification? Well Eclipse can take care of those as well, large or small. The needs of the customer are a high priority with the staff. Data entry in any module of the software is easy and very intuitive.
ConsSetup can be a brute, but with that being said, the implementation team/support staff will guide you through the process. The menu tree is a little overwhelming at first. But again, with easy menu customization that problem is solved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 15, 2017
Ethan R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 10, 2018

“Very Well Thought-Out Application”

ProsI use Eclipse for automated Selenium testing with Java and I love the multitude of features created to make the software development process as simple as possible. Imports are a snap, for example: just enter a method from a given library and the import statement is added for you. Move a class from one package to another & Eclipse updates the package in the file automatically. Setting breakpoints for debugging is easy & intuitive. The list goes on.
ConsI'm still using Kepler, which works fine, but I'd be interested in upgrading to the latest version. However, I don't want to simply delete the whole application and replace it wholesale with the latest version. I know there's a way to do a piecemeal upgrade, but I'm not clear on the steps. It would be nice if that were clearer. Other than that, I can't really think of anything that qualifies as a negative.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 10, 2018
Kevin F.
Director of Finance
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 2, 2018

“Robust system with flexibility”

ProsEclipse provides a very detailed project costing system that provides great analysis from the field to the office. They have improved the financial reporting and drill down functionality significantly from previous Explorer software packages. It allows for equipment utilization reports, job cost reporting and other functions. Eclipse has many modules to choose from and allows you to purchase what you need and add more later.
ConsEclipse is somewhat complex in the setup and I would ensure that your company has someone with a background in system implementations to ensure the product is setup the way you desire. Depending on your location they do not necessarily have local support to help with the implementation and the costs to cover travel are pretty high.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 2, 2018
Kunal V.
Alumni Coordinator
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 20, 2019

“Good Solution to Enterprise Product Development”

ProsI have been using eclipse for a while for J2SE Development using Java Entity Beans and I found out the following pros Of Eclipse. 1.) It is very easy to use and is very less resource hungry as compared to other Development IDE's 2.) It supports Development languages such as C++,Java,JavaScript. 3.) It can be use by both novice and professionals to develop the rich applications. 4.) It comes with various themes and also has feature of auto completion in the Coding Editor. 5.) Window Builder Library of Eclipse seems to be very useful for developing good Desktop applications.
ConsSince it is an Open Source Project, It is updated frequently which is very annoying at least for me, because of high Internet Usage. It has less Customer Support as Compared to Other Development IDE's.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Wholesale, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 8, 2017

“this is the best out there?”

ProsSupposedly - the best for distribution - with regards to forcasting, purchasing, inventory, email, ftp, flat files, reporting is good - if you can figure out how to get the data out. most users / companies can't or spend years trying to ....
Cons1. company has been bought and sold many times in 15 years. Each time the new company tries to squeeze its users so the new company can implement cost savings and pay for their acquisition. ie outsourcing their customer service reps to other countries without having any training. so until you escalate and waste time, you don't get the question/issue resolved until you wind up back with some cust. service agent in America. 2. lacks automation. There are so many software companies popping up that automate sales and purchasing tasks, eclipse relies on Q's and user interactions instead of rules. 3. Not flexible in they SOP's you have to conform or your doing it wrong. 4. any mod is 10k plus - (if they even have time to quote you -) 5. you can't get much outside help for it - not too many people know universe databases or PIC programming language. 6. I could go on but I won't, is not a good look for a business. 7. very expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 8, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 24, 2018

“Decent IDE. Good SVN/MVN integration”

ProsSolid SVN/MVN integration. As a new developer, it helps me zero in on where my mistakes are. Would recommend it to less experienced developers. Strong community support helps with the learning curve.
ConsIntellisense can be glitchy at times. Not the IDE of choice for Android developers. Takes a while to get the hang of managing numerous plugins and extensions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
April 24, 2018
Aaron S.
IT Project Lead
Construction, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2017

“Eclipse Review”

OverallExplorer is a great company. I've met several people from this company and they are all very nice, knowledgeable and eager to help. Eclipse is a good program for Construction, however, it is still lacking in some areas. One of these areas is in the mobile realm. They need apps for iPhones and iPads. They are working on these I'm told, but I believe we should already have them. Technology moves fast, our employees move fast, we need their technology able to move with them.
ProsThe software is easy to use and easy to deploy.
ConsNo apps for iPhones and iPads.
Recommendations to other buyersThe company is a great company and they truly want to do better.
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2017
Darren V.
Senior Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
May 27, 2016

“Explorer - Professional Services”

OverallFor more than 15 years in my previous position as director of information services for a large multinational construction group, I led our team that was responsible for implementing and maintaining 'Explorer'. The product has always been fundamentally very good, with plenty of functionality that is for the most part very intuitive. I have given many recommendations over the years on behalf of the software. For a small construction company, there is more functionality and timely support than you'll ever need. For medium to large sized companies, I believe you need to invest more into the product than the relatively low-cost initially paid for the software to get the most out of your initial investment and to optimize your efficiency with the software. Explorer is like most ERP's where the software gets more complicated the more that users demand additional functionality. There are also a multitude of hidden features and functionality intended for various scenarios and customizations are relatively easy and commonplace unlike other large ERP providers. Every construction company has its own environment and unique needs requiring professional services to make the software fit your requirements. You need experts to make the product fit seamlessly into your operation and have your staff focus on their jobs rather than focus on the software. Contact me to for more information about my vast experience with the software and how professional services can make Explorer the ERP solution you always hoped for.
Source: Capterra
May 27, 2016
Avatar Image
Ananya N.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2018

“Where else would you go for Java?”

OverallMaking backend programming for a tool look like a cake walk.
ProsThe best place for Java developers. It helps you with writing your code seamlessly. Provides you with a wide range of plugins and perspective to connect with your tool which uses Java as backend.
ConsNothing at all. Amazing product. Best one till date.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“I'm using this tool for more than one year to write automated test script in my organization.”

ProsIt supports 3rd party tools and we can integrate the things. And also i can create the maven projects with the dependency management which more easy when create test automation frameworks.
ConsSome times there are compatibility issues such as jar files due to various kind of releases available in the market.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
David U.
IT Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 29, 2017

“We've been with Explorer since 2007. All that time we've been confident we made the right decision.”

OverallCustomer support is one of the strengths of the company.
ProsWe are a multifaceted company, Explorer\Eclipse fits us well and eliminates the need for stand alone software.
ConsUnderstandably, custom work can take some time. We don't always have the time needed for the custom work to be delivered, so we get bogged down with work-arounds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 29, 2017
Edward O.
Vice President
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 28, 2017

“Eclipse Software”

OverallIn general has all the tools we need to manage our business.
ProsFlexibility to build my own reports. Easy to manage project costs, budgets and profitability. Up to date data.
ConsWorking with multiple states on reciprocity issues. In particular unemployment across multiple states can be challenging.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 28, 2017
Djordje B.
Junior developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“Great for java programmers.”

ProsI have been introduced to this software in college on my java classes and have been using it ever since. Everyone likes it.
ConsWhile it is great it can be a little bit confusing when you start using it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“Best IDE for coding Java”

ProsCtrl+Space for suggestions and all shortcuts that make the life of a Java developer easy
ConsNothing in particular. A guide for the shortcuts would be handy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Cynthia G.
Student Verifier
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 31, 2017

“Great IDE for Java code”

ProsI find Eclipse very easy to use and like all the functionality it has. I recently updated to Eclipse Oxygen, and have had the same positive experience. I enjoy being able to create JUnit tests and check my code coverage through Eclipse (I don't believe I had to download anything), as it was already integrated. It's fast, the pop up boxes help you code faster, the pointers on debugging are great, and it has many uses, but most importantly it fits my need of creating and testing java files perfectly.
ConsFor new users, Eclipse installation may be confusing and daunting. It has many packages and plugins you can choose to get. I found it difficult to instruct a person in high school on how to get it up and running as well as start to code. Most people without the technical knowledge will need to take their time to get to know the environment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 31, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“Eclipse - Great to use for a developer”

Pros1. Ease of usage 2. Online support 3. Community of users
Cons1. REST API support better in Intellij 2. Groovy support missing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Sarah E.
Office Administrator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“Not as Intuitive as I'd Like”

OverallMy overall experience with Eclipse has been mediocre. Once I learned to use the system in all of the areas needed for my workplace, it became much easier to navigate and understand. Learning the system was somewhat of a challenge for me, as I was new to the construction field and I had to use step by step instructions repeatedly until it became second nature. So, the issue is not with the software itself, it is a combination of my lack of knowledge of the field and being a new employee with the company. Once I learned all the steps and used it regularly, it became much easier to use as expected.
ProsI like the amount of information you can view; how you can add and remove columns to include the data that you need and remove the data you do not need.
ConsI dislike that the software does not seem to be very intuitive. In order for me to learn to use the software, I had to use step by step instructions, as many of the features and fields were not obvious as to what they are used for and what they can do. I also dislike that there are many visible fields in data entry areas that were to be left blank and I would have liked to see those fields completely removed to eliminate confusion when first learning to use the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
Jane D.
Controller
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“many system issues with no support”

OverallThis accounting system could be good if they had support that actually supported you and fixed and solved issues as they came up instead of ignoring you hoping you will forget about the problem or find a work around the problem. I have never in my 25+ years of working in accounting have I worked with a system with so many issues and problems.
Proshas many features that are good for job costing.
Consthere are system glitches and errors on a regular basis with little to no support. I have one work order that has been outstanding for almost 6 months and they haven't even set a time frame of when they can even start working on it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Grant K.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2017

“Great construction software!”

OverallOur underground utility construction company has used Explore Eclipse for more than 12 years. It has served us very well. It is as important to our company as any other piece of construction equipment, something we can't do without. We have continually upgraded to the latest version of the software, always keen to incorporate the latest capabilities and functionality. Although there have been hiccups along the way we are always able to gain access to quick support. A couple of issues have taken longer to correct but they are usually related to needed programming changes. The software has many features and is constantly evolving to incorporate the latest needs in our industry. Training is always available and yearly conferences help to learn the software's intricacies and latest capabilities. I feel that the Explorer is progressive and is a strong company in the construction software industry. All-in-all I think Explorer Eclipse would make a great addition to any company. It has great job costing and accounting capabilities.
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2017
Della K.
Office Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2017

“Eclipse Review”

OverallWe have used this software for years. With recent upgrades, several modules have not been user friendly, do not provide the functions as sold and support doesn't have proper training to provide assistance as required.
ProsHas a lot to offer for our scope of work.
ConsNot user friendly, several modules have a lot of glitches that cannot be a "quick fix". Too many issue have to be sent to programming and researched which leaves a client "hanging" and unable to move forward until it is researched and eventually fixed
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2017
Andrew Chun-Wen C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 8, 2019

“Eclipse Review”

ProsEclipse is a very customizable and top notch with their business analytics and custom inquires. There are plenty of tools that one can use for retrieval of data. Their support staff is very helpful and
ConsThe setup for Eclipse may get tedious and tiring but staff has put in support to guide you through process. At first, it's hard to understand the menu but after customization, that would be solved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 13, 2018

“Amazing IDE”

ProsIncredibly full featured IDE makes it easy to focus on coding and problem solving. Minimizes errors and makes it easy to set up tests and debug
ConsSteep learning curve takes a few months to master. It's worth it in the end and there's a ton of online help
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 13, 2018
Nikki C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2017

“Great construction management solution”

OverallEclipse is a 1st rate construction management solution. Their team is innovative, are experts in their fields, and have an ear for their customers. The software is customizable, not a one size fits all. Eclipse invests in R&D and holds customer round tables and is constantly evolving and developing tools to help run your business more efficiently and with more transparency.
Source: Capterra
January 20, 2017
Crystal K.
NA
Construction, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2016

“Fire TV Stick”

OverallThe Explorer Eclipse makes the fire TV Stick really easy to use
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2016
Chad W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2017

“Powerful Solution for the Construction Industry”

OverallWe really enjoy using Eclipse. The inquiries are extremely powerful and quick. The dashboards are flexible and can be viewed in many different formats.
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2017
Thomas S.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2010

“Contract Manager V6i”

OverallI would recommend this product to all construction firms.
ProsExcellent software with all the functions we need in our business. Customer service from Explorer has been fantastic when required.
ConsA few bugs that were quickly rectified by Explorer.
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2010
jeff c.
IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2016

“the horrors of Explorer”

Overallin my 20 years of being in IT, Explorer is by far the very worst vendor i have ever had to deal with. The worst support team ever! They love to blame the customer. We are running v7 and each week we encounter many issues. Tickets remain untouched for months. They don't communicate within their groups. I would never recommend this company or software to anyone. Keep looking.
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2016