FastMaint Ratings

Overall
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Service
4.4/5

About FastMaint

FastMaint CMMS is maintenance management software for utilities, manufacturing plants, industrial and commercial facilities. Handle preventive and corrective maintenance in a single interface. Install in your premises (one-time cost) or use cloud based (monthly subscription). Signup for a free trial in minutes! From $600 (one time). Learn more about FastMaint

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 20 of 20 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 20 of 20 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
mark w.
asst dir
Publishing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Good entry level CMMS”

OverallHelps us manage assets, and assign Preventative Maintenance tasks
ProsEase of use and easy setup, low cost, can run on the network
ConsDoes not have all the features needed for a complete CMMS

Vendor Response

By SMGlobal on August 30, 2019
Mark thanks for your review. Glad to know that you like FastMaint and are finding it useful to manage your preventive maintenance. Please do contact us if you want to try out our next level up FastMaint Web/ Cloud editions if you want additional features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Kenneth G.
Head Operator Water Recovery Plant
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018

“I have ben using FastMaint for about 10rys and Dolike this programe”

ProsKeeping all my task on schedule, keep all vendor INFO in one place, inventory of stock parts, ability to look back on equipment maintenance records, Work order printed out daily,
Cons1.I could type in a task search and just a work order date for unplaned task (can add date that way anymore)2. would like some example . work order layouts to customize for print outs. Auto spell check.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018
Mick H.
Engineering Supervisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“Excellent software, it has made a definite impact on the day to day running of my department.”

ProsAccessibility is fantastic, the ability to get to parts via equipment etc. makes life so much easier, its very flexible and can be moulded to suit specific requirements.
ConsGenuine 5 star software which means i am struggling to find fault with it, more user profiles as standard would be nice but we manage with 5.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Trent L.
Network Administrator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018

“Easy to maintain”

OverallSuper helpful tech support when needed.
ProsOn the admin side, it's a dream to update and maintain.
ConsNothing. It does what it says, and says what it does.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018
Avatar Image
DAVID S.
Engineering Manager
Food Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018

“very good simple to use”

OverallTo show that you are in compliance and that all equipment is being mainlined correctly
Proseasy to use and expandable ,easy to print out work orders. also easy to change any works orders simple to customize.
Conshaving not used any other software for this job i cannot compare. but may be the custom fields could be better to give you more flexibility.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2018
Preston S.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 23, 2015

“FastMaint CMMS Review”

ProsHaving used FastMaint for several years now, I have found that the software works great, and the reports generated are what I like the best. It is easy to track costs on each piece of equipment, as well as downtime.
ConsReally, the only complaint I have is the number of steps it takes to print work orders. I would like to see one-click printing.
Recommendations to other buyersI would say give this a try, and you will not be disappointed. Be sure and try the reports.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 23, 2015
Farshid R.
Maintenance Supervisor
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019

“Good CMMS Program”

OverallI have been using it for a month and have liked the features it has. The customer support is amazing, the website help tools makes life easy as well.
ProsSome very good nifty features. I have used Maximo and EAM and this definitely holds up. The "work request" feature is amazing, ability to create and edit work requests through email is very helpful.
ConsThe search features requires some work. Searching for work orders, equipment and parts can be broadened.

Vendor Response

By SMGlobal on September 10, 2019
Farshid thank you for your good review of FastMaint. Glad to know that FastMaint compares favorably with other well known CMMS programs you have used before! We will look at broadening the search features as you suggested.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019
Gordon C.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2011

“FastMaint for a large farm/ranch”

OverallI have roughly 40 years experience with PM. Almost 30 of these years were using computer based programs. We evaluated about 10 software packages and found FastMaint was structured very simply yet was far more powerful than we needed. In the end we will have roughly 150 pieces of equipment/facility. Some pieces of equipment will have several Tasks.
ProsConsidering the power of the software package it is very easy to use. We were able to modify several features to fit our unusual application. This allowed seasonal use of equipment, weather dependent Work Order sorting, and sorting Work Orders by skill level. In sum, we were able to adapt or customize the software for an equipment and facility maintenance program of a large sheep and cattle ranch with summer farming.
ConsWe made several errors that were not covered by the documentation and the Import/Export feature seemed too complex.
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2011
Richard N.
Equipment Maintenance Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2010

“Fast Maintenance”

OverallA nice easy to use package that has a host of useful features and seems to be bug free. I have looked at a few other products but Fast Maintenance seems by far to be the easiest to use and the quickest to learn. Keep up the good customer support as this is great product.
ProsVery easy to setup and install on a shared network drive. Even though I have not used the software extensively I have found it very easy to use and most features are self explanatory. Support has been good and response times for email enquiries have been short. Fast Maintenance emails out user tips on a regular basis which is a really nice feature.
ConsIt would be good if the licensing could be more flexible so that any user can login to a computer that has the software installed. Email notification of pending work orders would be a useful addition. The documentation is quite good but a few more detailed examples would be helpful.
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2010
David W.
Maintenance Supervisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2010

“FastMaint, SM Global”

OverallSo far I have been able to do all I really need to do for scheduling and logging maintenance. I have not utilized personnel or purchasing management. so I can't comment on those. I'm very satisfied with what I got for the price.
ProsInexpensive, performs most tasks quickly and easily from a single interface window. Configurable HTML report format included. Support response has been very helpful and timely.
ConsLike any program, not everything works just the way you want it to. There is no mechanism for tracking changes to the configuration, such as task instructions which is not necessarily an issue unless you are in a regulated industry like ours. I had a hard time getting custom reports to look like I wanted but was ultimately satisfied.
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2010
Preston S.
Maintenance Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2011

“PM software review”

OverallI recommend this for any company looking to start a computer base PM program. It is very easy to learn and extremely affordable.
ProsEasy to setup and use and tracks all of the important information
ConsI would like to see the planned work orders for longer than two weeks. We sometimes get behind or have to wait on parts and the work order does not show on the list.

Vendor Response

By SMGlobal on June 28, 2011
Preston thank you very much for the positive feedback! I would like to mention that from version 5.4 you can see work orders on the main screen for periods that you specify, not just for a two week period. For the version you have, you can use the work order history report to see work orders for different periods.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2011
Craig S.
Maintenance Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2009

“Excellent CMMS Choice For Our Company”

OverallFive out of Five Stars
ProsOne of the easiest CMMS programs to setup and use. The ability to add photos and drawings to parts and equipment in FastMaint is a blessing. This is often a option in other CMMS packages. Reports, Work Orders and Purchase Orders are very professional in appearance and functionality. I currently have planned maintenance work scheduled out 4 months ahead and know well ahead of time what parts to have on hand and when I need to order them. No more last minute next day air orders for lost or forgotten PMs
ConsNone that I have found.
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2009
Leif H.
Maintenance Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2009

“Excellent!”

OverallFullfill all needs to effectively run a maintenance program with a lot of breakdowns and routine tasks. It also is a good tool for controlling your spare parts stock and cost monitoring. Highly Recommended.
ProsHandles breakdowns and routine tasks. Excellent spares handling and purchase. Support fraction of parts. Supports special characters for different languages. Good cost control.
ConsLong overdue workorders don t stay on workorder list. Have to check them via the task listing.
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2009
Mark H.
Production Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2011

“FastMaint Professional V5.3.1”

OverallI have used some of the larger CMMS systems in the past, and have found this software package to be absolutely superb for the small to medium sized enterprise, and is a brilliant tool for getting to grips with managing machine maintenance.
ProsVery easy to install and setup for multi-users. Intuitive screens for data input. Very simple to operate and use. Superb reporting templates built in as standard.
ConsHaven't found any yet !!
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2011
Mike W.
Maintenance Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2011

“review”

OverallOK for a few dozen items of inventory, but we have hundreds!
ProsThe program does keep track of past and pending tasks/work orders well. I do like the way past due goes to red.
ConsThe process you have to go through to write up an unscheduled repair could be made easier. You should not have to basically "erase" an existing "any other maintenance" task to create a new one and get a wo number assigned. There is no trigger to automatically send pending wo's to the printer.

Vendor Response

By SMGlobal on September 12, 2011
Thank you for the feedback. Please note that this review is for a very old version of the software (the current version is 5.4). Some of the concerns have been addressed in newer versions of the product.
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2011
John C.
Network Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2008

“Good. For multiple user access through a browser off the shelf, it's a fairly economical.”

OverallGood. For multiple user access through a browser off the shelf, it's a fairly economical good product for tracking equipment.
ProsHas good structure & program organization.
ConsDifferent screens required to drill down & then having to back out (quit) to go back and drill down into another.
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2008
Mitchell L.
Engineering & Maintenance Superintendent
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2011

“BNTCL - E&M Department”

OverallThe package is good but can be upgraded is some areas.
Pros- The software is easy to upgrade - The ability to email my PO to purchasing
Cons- The Feedback should have the ability to contain a Form to allow technicians to complete at the end of a task. - The equipment Tabs should be upgraded to allow an attached parts list or PDF file with parts listing.
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2011
Laura D.
IT Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2009

“FastMaint Review”

OverallI don't have recommendations since I don't use the product regularly.
ProsEasy install and user friendly
ConsA few program issues: 1. reset button 2. program hangs when exiting
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2009
Carlos R.
Maintenance Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2011

“software”

OverallWould definetly recommend
ProsEasy to use lots of features
Consnone that I have found yet
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2011
alex g.
technical Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2008

“Very good for the buck invested.”

OverallVery good for the buck invested.
ProsEasy to use straight to the point and not too fuzzy.
ConsYou can not add DWG files to the parts.
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2008